Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This survey provides information about the oral health of young children in Nebraska during the period 2021–2022. Topics include the statewide Head Start survey, the statewide third grade survey, the Lancaster county third grade survey, oral health disparities, and trends. The oral health status of young children in Nebraska compared with the oral health status of young children in the United States as a whole is discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Health care disparities, Nebraska, Oral health, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information on the cost and prevalence of emergency department (ED) visits for non-traumatic oral conditions (NTOCs). It offers an overview of problems associated with using the ED for oral health care. It presents statistical information on topics including the number of people who visited the ED for NTOCs in 2019, 2021, and 2022; the estimated total cost of visits; the rates of ED visits; the rate of visits by age groups; and the rate of visits by people living in different types of rural and urban areas.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Costs, Data, Emergency medicine, Emergency room data, Income factors, Medicaid, Oral health, Rural population, Trends, Urban population

Annotation: This data book presents data on Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Contents include an overview with key statistics on Medicaid and CHIP; trends in Medicaid; Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and spending with information on benefits, managed care, and program administration; Medicaid and CHIP eligibility; and measures of beneficiary health, use of services, and access to care. The final section of the data book contains a technical guide that describes the data sources used, the methods used to analyze the data, and guidance in interpreting how specific data may differ from each other or from those published elsewhere.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• 2024

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Medicaid, Statistical data, Trends, s health insurance program

Annotation: This brief provides data on variations across states in the recognition of and reimbursement for select oral health services for children. Content build upon two editions of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's resource, Are Your Kids Covered? The brief also presents information on the importance of selected services. Time trends in state coverage for selected services for children are included, and data and methods are discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Reimbursement, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This report examines international maternal mortality data from 2022, comparing rates across high-income countries with particular focus on racial and ethnic disparities in the United States. It presents data on the timing of pregnancy-related deaths, showing that 65% occur during the postpartum period, and analyzes healthcare workforce capacity by comparing the number of obstetrician-gynecologists and midwives per 1,000 live births across countries. The report also compares federally mandated paid maternity, parental, and home care leave policies among high-income nations, highlighting significant disparities in access to care and support services.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Data, International health, Maternal mortality, Public policy, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This series of reports is a compilation and analysis of national and U.S. state-by-state data on child population, child poverty, family structure, family income, housing and homelessness, hunger and nutrition, health, early childhood, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence. Changes in key child and national well-being indicators are included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Report
• Search For Other Editions

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Ethnic groups, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

Annotation: This brief describes the maternal health crisis in the United States, noting that the U.S. has the highest maternal mortality rate among high-income nations, with more than 80% of pregnancy-related deaths considered preventable. It explains how the crisis disproportionately affects people of color, particularly Black women who die at three to four times the rate of non-Hispanic White women from pregnancy-related complications. The document outlines key factors contributing to these disparities, including implicit and explicit racial bias, systemic bias, barriers for people with disabilities, limited access to healthcare facilities, lack of skilled providers, socioeconomic challenges, and domestic safety concerns. It presents the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, which identifies five goals and more than 50 action steps to improve maternal health, and introduces Evidence to Action Briefs developed by the Maternal Health Learning & Innovation Center to facilitate implementation. The brief includes detailed data visualizations depicting maternal mortality trends by race, ethnicity, geography, and causes of death, and features the ROOTT Framework that illustrates how structural and social determinants affect maternal health outcomes.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Data, Federal initiatives, Health care disparities, Health care systems, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Quality improvement, Service integration, Social determinants of health, Trends

Annotation: This joint report presents key findings on cases of pregnancy-related deaths in the state of Texas, including health conditions and factors that disproportionately affect the most at-risk populations. It reports underlying causes of death and disparities in maternal deaths based on race/ethnicity, socioeconomic factors, demographics, and other variables. Descriptions of best practices and programs aimed at reducing pregnancy-related deaths in other states are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data Statistics, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Texas, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health trends in Arkansas. It presents graphs and charts illustrating the impact of preventive oral health practices on oral disease risk factors on Arkansas residents. Topics include: dental visits, permanent tooth extractions, edudentalism, and diabetes. Information is presented for children, adolescents, and adults. Background information on oral health, oral diseases and conditions, oral health disparities, and good oral hygiene practices is also included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Dental caries, Diabetes, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State materials, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: Using data from the Health Reform Monitoring Survey (HRMS), this brief examines how food insecurity among households with nonelderly adults changed between March/April 2020 and June 2022. Overall food insecurity trends, food insecurity among families with children, and insecurity rates among communities of color are among the statistics highlighted. The brief also explains how the HRMS data compares with other national survey data on food hardship.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Food, Hunger, National surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report presents data tables and figures based on findings from the Alabama Smiles 2020–2022 oral health survey of kindergarten and third-grade children in Alabama. The report provides definitions of terms, an explanation of sampling and data analysis, and quick facts. Tables and figures include data about children with tooth decay experience and untreated decay, demographic characteristics of participating children, their oral health status, the percentage with dental sealants, the percentage needing early or urgent oral health care, the percentage with treated tooth decay, and trends over time.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This data brief presents information on the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of kindergarten and third grade children in Alabama compared to the general U.S. population screened between 2011 and 2016 as part of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. Topics include prevalence of decay experience and untreated decay, prevalence of dental sealants, and oral health disparities. Data sources and methods are discussed, and definitions of terms are provided.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, Oral health equity, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This data brief provides information from the Oregon Smiles Survey. Topic include trends in the percentage of children in the state with treated, untreated, or rampant tooth decay between 2012 and 2017; the percentage of children needing oral health care; cavity rates among children, by region; and percentages of American Indian and Alaska native and black children with tooth decay.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: African Americans, Alaska natives, American Indians, Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Oregon, School age children, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This brief reports insurance coverage and access inequities based on 2013–2019 data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) and the American Community Survey Public Use Microdata Sample (ACS PUMS). Included are trends in Black and Latinx/ Hispanic disparities across the following measures, with a particular focus on the effects of Medicaid expansion on equity at the state level: (1) adults ages 19 to 64 who are uninsured; (2) adults ages 18 to 64 who went without care in the past 12 months due to cost; and (3) adults ages 18 to 64 who report having a usual health care provider.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Data, Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health insurance, Racial factors, Trends

Annotation: This issue brief presents recent data on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on Black families’ access to stable housing in the United States and, at the local level, in Newark, New Jersey. It places the problem of housing instability within geographical context, comparing national findings on Black families' housing needs with those found in the South ward of Newark. The brief highlights the need for a policy agenda that addresses disparities in access to basic needs and provides recommendations for local policy makers and community leaders in support of equitable access to stable housing.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Child health, Data, Families, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Housing, Policy development, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet is an installment of the Massachusetts Oral Health Series, developed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH). The series focuses on oral health issues in the state through topic-specific installments. This issue discusses oral health programs and presents oral health statistics for Massachusetts. It presents facts on oral health in pregnant women and in early childhood, oral health trends in Massachusetts and in the nation, and next steps for the DPH, Office of Oral Health.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, State programs, Trends, Young children

Annotation: This report describes oral health trends and disparities in Missouri. It includes key findings, national comparisons, and trends. Other topics include demographics, community water fluoridation, oral health status of school-age children and adults, preventive health care for school age children and adults, tobacco use and cancer risk, older adults, perinatal oral health,hospitalizations and emergency department visits, and access to care. Regional and local data are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Missouri, Oral health, Population surveillance, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This data brief examines trends and disparities in maternal mortality in the United States, with particular focus on racial inequities and state-level variations. It presents comprehensive data showing that the U.S. maternal mortality ratio of 17.4 deaths per 100,000 pregnancies ranks last among industrialized nations, with Black women experiencing 2.5 times higher mortality rates than white women. The document analyzes timing and causes of pregnancy-related deaths, showing that more than half occur after delivery, many during the postpartum period. The brief examines how factors like education level and insurance status impact outcomes and discusses policy implications for improving maternal health care delivery and addressing structural racism in healthcare. The analysis draws on multiple national data sources including vital statistics, CDC surveillance systems, and maternal mortality review committees to present both historical trends and current state-level comparisons.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Data, Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal mortality, Policy development, Racial factors, Racism, Trends