Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: These 12 case studies report on cutting-edge programs and innovative approaches to address the leading causes of death and disease in cities.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Case Studies Separately

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Cities, Data sources, Health status, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Public health infrastructure, Systems development

Annotation: This report is part of a series that provides an overview of activities to promote oral health during pregnancy. This issue focuses on the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), a surveillance project that collects population-based data on maternal and child health indicators. The issue describes the PRAMS questionnaire and PRAMS alternative questionnaires and features resources, including publications and data dashboards, that states have produced to share their PRAMS findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Health promotion, Oral health, Oral health care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Questionnaires

Annotation: This road map outlines how data can be used as a tool to help end structural racism. It consists of a collection of guiding questions, tools, and resources to assist programs in taking concrete steps to better identify, understand, and act to address racial inequities. The road map contains seven sections: (1) Looking at health issues with a focus on the impact of racism; (2) Determining if a program is ready to use data to address racism; (3) Understanding what the data says about differences in health outcomes by race and ethnicity; (4) Using other sources of data to uncover causes of the differences; (5) Making plans to act on differences that are unjust or avoidable; (6) Presenting data in ways that help people make sense of the numbers; and (7) Moving from data to action.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity

• Link
• Overview

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Outcome evaluation, Racial factors, Racism, State initiatives

Annotation: This document provides federally available data, detailed data notes, stratifier information, and Statistical Analysis System coding for national maternal and child health–related outcome and performance measures. Topics include preventive medical and dental visits, cesarean deliveries, perinatal regionalization, breastfeeding, safe infant sleep, developmental screening, hospitalization for nonfatal injuries, physical activity, bullying, medical home, transitions to adult health care, smoking, and adequate insurance.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Data sources, Measures

Annotation: This report examines state-based policies and activities linking Medicaid claims and live birth certificate data; identifies examples of states that have conducted and validated such linkages; describes barriers that hinder data linkages and strategies for improving linkage efforts; and explores the use of linked databases for patient-centered outcomes research in the field of maternal and infant health. The findings are based on structured literature reviews and discussions with select state representatives involved in data linkage efforts.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org

• Final Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: , Data collection, Data linkage, Data sources, State initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about PRAMS in Georgia. It offers background on the importance of oral health care during pregnancy. Data from Georgia’s 2017–2019 PRAMS on the percentage of Georgia women who reported having a dental cleaning during pregnancy and the percentage who reported having dental insurance during pregnancy are presented. Also included is the percentage of Georgia women who needed to see a dentist for a problem during pregnancy and, of those, the percentage who visited a dentist or dental clinic; the percentage who knew it was important to care for there teeth and gums during pregnancy; and the percentage who were told by a health professional how to care for their teeth and gums during pregnancy.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Dental insurance, Georgia, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about the Arkansas Office of Oral Health Surveillance System (AOHSS), which drives the objectives and activities within the Arkansas Office of Oral Health and is used to measure the prevalence of selected indicators that determine the state of oral health in Arkansas. The report presents 2021–2026 AOHSS objectives and an AOHSS logic model. It discusses oral health indicators and data sources, data dissemination and use, resources and sustainability, and privacy and data confidentiality.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Population surveillance, Statewide planning, Statistical data

Annotation: This resource guide provides information on sources of oral health data that are available at the state level and that can be used for a state-based oral-health-surveillance system. Contents include indicators by topic area and population group and information on the primary data source.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data sources, Oral health, Population surveillance, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in South Dakota. Topics include oral cancer; chronic disease; PRAMS, including information about what PRAMS is; and South Dakota health professional shortage areas. The report presents data from South Dakota’s PRAMS related to each topic.

Contact: South Dakota Department of Health, 600 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 773-3361 Web Site: https://doh.sd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Pregnant women, South Dakota, State information

Annotation: This annual report card measures the progress in reducing the nation's preterm birth rate by comparing each state's rate to the goal. Topics include prevention strategies and recommendations. Topics include women who are uninsured, late preterm birth, women who smoke, and preterm birth rates by race and ethnicity. Indicators, definitions, and data sources for the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico are included. Information about the grading methodology is also provided. State fact sheets are included in the report.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data sources, Ethnic factors, Premature infants, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Prevention, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information about prenatal oral health care trends in Florida between 2009 and 2015. It explains what PRAMS is, offers background on the importance of oral health care during pregnancy, and discusses trends in oral health care before and during pregnancy based on the state’s PRAMS data collected during this period. Data related to discussion by a health professional about having a dental visit before pregnancy, and about receipt of oral health care during and after pregnancy, are provided.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399, Telephone: (850) 245-4444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.floridahealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Florida, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, State information, Trends

Annotation: This report provides data for Vermont on oral health care before and during pregnancy for 2012–2015 and overall estimates for 34 PRAMS sites for 2015, which allow comparisons between Vermont and other PRAMS sites. The report shows that women in Vermont were more likely than women in other PRAMS sites to know it is important to care for their teeth and gums during pregnancy, more likely to talk to a health care worker about care of teeth and gums, and more likely to have insurance for oral health care during pregnancy.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7606 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7701 Web Site: http://www.healthvermont.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Dental insurance, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Vermont

Annotation: This measures compendium provides states and other key stakeholders with a reference tool that highlights relevant quality measures aligned with key domains of the National Standards for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN). Topics include family-professional partnerships, cultural competence, indentification, screening, assessment, referral, insurance coverage, access to care, medical home, community-based services and supports, transition to adulthood, and health information technology.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Data sources, Standards, Young adults

Annotation: This report provides PRAMS data for 2012–2014 and 2015 in Virginia. It presents data for teeth cleaning before and during pregnancy, oral health care during pregnancy, and barriers to oral health care for Virginia as well as for 34 PRAMS sites for 2015. The report includes graphics illustrating core and standard question data and proposes four public-health-action items.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public health, State information, Virginia

Annotation: This document provides data on key indicators of oral health in Oregon for the period 2002 through 2015. Contents include a description of each indicator and the source and frequency of data available by year. Topics include preventive oral health services for pregnant women, toddlers, children, adolescents, and adults. Data on work force, Medicaid, cancer, cleft lip/palate, and water fluoridation are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Data sources, Dental care, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Special health care needs, State surveys, Statistical data, Toddlers, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief highlights national- and state-level enrollment-related information for the Health Insurance Marketplace open enrollment period for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. An addendum contains detailed state-level tables highlighting cumulative enrollment-related information, including enrollment in stand-alone dental plans. These data are available for states using the HealthCare.gov enrollment and eligibility platform as well as for states using their own platforms.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Addendum Including State Data Tables

Keywords: Data sources, Dental insurance, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance

Annotation: This chartbook for families, advocates, policymakers, and researchers provides a national portrait of how children in the United States receive their diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), how their daily lives are impacted, and how their families are doing. Topics include the prevalence of ASD, diagnosing ASD, the child's health, health care and related services, school and social wellbeing, and coping with ASD. The appendices contain information on the ASD data presented in the chartbook including a glossary, a crosswalk of the data sources, methodological information, and guidance for accessing the data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Autism, Child health, Child with special health care needs, Coping, Data sources, Diagnosis, Early intervention services, Family health, Prevalence, Relationships, Special health care services, Statistical data

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures whose goal is to prevent and manage dental caries in children. Topics include utilization and access, cost, and quality of oral health services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review, the review process, the call for public comments, user groups, code updates, and efforts to streamline the starter set of measures.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment

Annotation: This website allows users to search U.S. Department of Agriculture food-composition databases, including the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and the Branded Food Products Database. Users can search the databases by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for food items. Users can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content. In addition, data from the Special Interest Databases are shown, along with the corresponding food items from the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Jamie L. Whitten Building, Room 302A, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-3656 Fax: (202) 720-5427 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data sources, Federal programs, Food additives, Nutrients, Nutrition