Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This appendix to Comment Series no. 21 includes specimen reports, data collection documents with instructions, and sample instructions. These are designed for personnel involved in the data collection process for generating cost data to assist in the application of cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness studies in health care delivery and planning new health care facilities and programs for Children and Youth Program projects. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Cost effectiveness, Data collection, Health care delivery

Annotation: This paper shares the development of an outpatient data system by the Columbus [Ohio] Children's Hospital which was revised at the time their Children and Youth project was initiated in June, 1966. The data system describe complies with the Children and Youth Program reporting requirements but is of broader scope. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Data collection, Ohio, Outpatients

Annotation: The overall goal of the this project was to demonstrate effective models for the necessary components of an emergency medical services for children (EMSC) system and the integration of those components into currently operating adult-oriented systems. The project has outlined the six major components of an EMSC system: (l) System description, (2) prevention, (3) education, (4) standards of care, (5) quality assurance, and (6) research and development. The project comprised seven subprojects whose activities included educating the public, the prehospital care provider, and the rural physician about the assessment and management of pediatric emergencies; comparing the efficacy of ground versus air transport; defining the degree of psychological impairment caused by head injury; identifying the rehabilitation facilities available locally, regionally, and nationally; and increasing compliance with safety belt/child restraint legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103332.

Keywords: Cost-Benefit Analysis, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency medical technicians, Facilities For, First Aid, Head Injuries, Health Professionals, Paramedics, Rehabilitation, Seat Belts/Restraints for Children

Annotation: The Arkansas Demonstration Project utilized a broad-based approach to evaluate and improve the outcome of pediatric emergencies in Arkansas. It involved interaction with many statewide agencies, including various offices of the Arkansas Department of Health and the Area Health Education Centers (AHECs) of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. The project was designed with four primary purposes: (1) Increase the level of knowledge regarding the consequences of critical illness and injury in children in the State of Arkansas; (2) improve the emergency medical services provided to those children during the project period and after, particularly to handicapped and minority children; (3) determine the effectiveness of the proposed methodologies for the reduction of morbidity and mortality associated with childhood illness and injury; and (4) determine effective methods of imparting the knowledge gained to other States in a manner resulting in the adoption of effective programs by those States. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196947.

Keywords: Ambulances, Child Education of Health Professionals, Data Bases, Data Collection, Disabled, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs), Emergency medical technicians, Minorities, Morbidity, Mortality, Networking

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Heighten awareness of adolescent health insurance problems and potential solutions among policymakers, health care professionals, educators, business groups, and parents; (2) strengthen State-level capacity to plan and implement strategies for improving financing of health services for adolescents; and (3) update and expand our knowledge base concerning the financing of health services for adolescents. Activities included conducting workshops, providing technical assistance, and publishing reports and educational materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161536.

Keywords: Adolescents, Data Collection, Education of Health Professionals, Financing Health Care for Adolescents, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Minorities

Annotation: The Primary Care Assistance and Accountability Project (PCAAP) was designed to identify the leadership roles of state Title V MCH and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) programs and address accountability for planning and ensuring the delivery of effective, comprehensive and coordinated services, especially in regard to primary health care services for children. The project was implemented by staff experienced in State Title V programs in consultation with a national advisory committee and workgroups, additional national MCH experts, the Association's Executive Council, and with the participation of interdisciplinary teams of State Title V directors. Activities included development of an information base on state Title V programs from surveys and analysis of state and national reports; in-depth study of Title V roles and activities through site visitation to 10 state programs; development of draft model guidance for state accountability documents and contributions to guidance and policy frameworks developed by federal agencies or other national policy entities; and assistance to states both on an individual basis and through information dissemination to all states through the AMCHP Updates, conference and training workshop presentations, and production of eight major publications. Information was provided on State Title V programs and local counterpart programs to over 9,000 individuals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161577.

Keywords: Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Data System, Financing of Health Care, Medicaid, Primary Care

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: The goals of this project were to disseminate information and to provide technical assistance on case management services for children with special health care needs and their families. The project served organizations engaged in the design, implementation, and assessment of case management activities. Activities included the collection of documents, the creation of a case management database, an analysis of case management services, and the development of a working paper "Focus and Functions of Case Management." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147106.

Keywords: Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data Bases, Data Collection

Annotation: This project developed a model integrated service system of educational, health, and social service programs for families of Hawaiian children (prenatal to age 5 years) who are disproportionately at risk for health, social, and educational handicaps. Four Native Hawaiian Family Based Education Centers were established, with three core educational components: A home visiting program, a traveling preschool program, and a center-based preschool. Activities included conducting an extensive assessment of community needs and developing ongoing ties with institutions of higher learning in the State. Strong health promotion and social service programs complemented the educational focus, and a case management system helped families assess their own goals in each of these areas. Community participation and ownership of the program were critical components. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147023.

Keywords: Community-Based Education Programs, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Education, Family-Based, Hawaiians, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Learning Disabilities, Low Birthweight, Parents, Prenatal Care

Annotation: Project AIMS worked to strengthen the capacity of Maine's service system (including P.L. 99-457 efforts) to meet the emotional health needs of young children (birth to 5 years old) and their families. The project objectives were to: (1) Establish a multidisciplinary network of project associates; (2) develop and field-test an emotional health brief assessment tool for children birth to 5 years old; (3) recommend to the service network methods of conducting comprehensive psychosocial assessments of children/families with emotional difficulties; and (4) strengthen treatment services which facilitate attachment, interaction, mastery, and support within families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158608.

Keywords: 99-457, Community-Based Health Services, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Emotional Health, High risk children, High risk groups: Families, L, P, Parent-Child Interaction, Screening Tools

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and recommend an appropriate hearing screening model to be used in Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICUs) in the state or nation. The project was designed to compare three of the most commonly used screening procedures to determine the incidence of hearing loss, to identify the most predictive procedure or cluster of procedures for screening hearing loss in the NICU, to study the relationship between hearing screening procedures and the outcome of independent audiometric and developmental measures, and to identify the most cost effective mass hearing screening procedures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152825.

Keywords: Data Collection, Hearing, Hearing Loss, High risk infants Hearing Impaired, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Screening

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106358.

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: This project provided comprehensive services (including early diagnosis, continuity of treatment, and case management by an interdisciplinary team) to juveniles with connective tissues diseases. Activities included providing services in forty-eight counties in Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia; collecting clinical, treatment, and demographic data on all patients; and developing regional networks of health professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161883.

Keywords: Adolescents, Appalachians, Chronically Ill, Connective Tissue Diseases, Data Collection, Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, Patient Education, Rehabilitation, Rheumatic Diseases, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Annotation: This project addressed the issue of transitioning of late adolescents and young adults with cystic fibrosis from pediatric care to the adult health care system. The project was developed in order to study the issue of transitioning in terms of the health care delivery system. The goal of the project was to develop an appropriate adult health care delivery model and to study this process and the process of transitioning patients from a pediatric hospital to an adult hospital in separate locations. The objectives of the project were to examine four issues: (1) The effect of the transition on patients and families; (2) determining what services are needed in the adult care setting to provide appropriate care; (3) determining whether interinstitutional issues can be overcome to successfully develop such a program; and (4) studying the financial impact on patients and institutions of this transition. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198372.

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronically Ill, Cystic Fibrosis, Data Collection, Stress, Youth in Transition

Annotation: This project was part of an ongoing effort to identify and address issues related to developmental disabilities among Native American children in Wisconsin to assure that proper diagnostic and followup services are provided to this population. Tribes, State and local agencies, and volunteer organizations were involved in a collaborative effort to design and establish a long-term, community-based, high quality program in each tribal community in Wisconsin to serve the special health care needs of Native American children. The two main goals of the project were to: (1) Become an integral part of the tribal service systems, and (2) improve those systems in such a way that they address both the needs of developmentally disabled children and the issues related to the prevention of disabilities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161941.

Keywords: American Indians, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

Annotation: The goal of this project was to reduce the barriers to obtaining health and educational services for children with special health needs by providing a community-based, family-oriented system of comprehensive and coordinated services. Strategies included increasing community awareness of services; establishing interagency collaboration; and developing a centralized data collection system related to health status, service, and educational needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196954.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community-Based Health Care, Data Collection, Family-Based Health Care

Annotation: The mortality, morbidity, and economic burden associated with childhood trauma and illness represent a serious public health problem in New Mexico. This is particularly true for rural and minority families. The long term goals of this project were to reduce the frequency and seriousness of negative outcomes for children and families who have suffered an emergency and to promote preventive activities directed at reducing injuries that generate pediatric emergencies. The project demonstrated progress in reaching these long term goals through: (1) increased childhood injury prevention programs statewide including promoting EMTs to be prevention advocates in their communities; (2) improved clinical care in the pediatric emergency medical system which includes prehospital and hospital care providers; (3) improved data collection and analysis for pediatric injury and illness; and (4) coalition building. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-155716.

Keywords: American Indians, Bilingual Services, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Injury Prevention, Rural Population

Annotation: The goals of this regional pediatric data surveillance system were to: (1) Convert a regional manual data collection system (developed with a previous EMSC grant) to a computerized one using existing data bases at each hospital and modern computer technology; (2) expedite centralized data acquisition via diskettes/modems; (3) expand the data set to include data about prehospital and inpatient utilization and outcomes; (4) enhance the accuracy of the data by using ICD-9 coding for final diagnoses; and (5) provide the data to area hospitals and health agencies for local and regional improvements in care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121925.

Keywords: Clinical coding, Computers, Data, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children