Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (21 total).

Fiser D. n.d.. Demonstration Project: Emergency Medical Services for Children: [Final report]. Little Rock, AR: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, 44 pp.

Annotation: The Arkansas Demonstration Project utilized a broad-based approach to evaluate and improve the outcome of pediatric emergencies in Arkansas. It involved interaction with many statewide agencies, including various offices of the Arkansas Department of Health and the Area Health Education Centers (AHECs) of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. The project was designed with four primary purposes: (1) Increase the level of knowledge regarding the consequences of critical illness and injury in children in the State of Arkansas; (2) improve the emergency medical services provided to those children during the project period and after, particularly to handicapped and minority children; (3) determine the effectiveness of the proposed methodologies for the reduction of morbidity and mortality associated with childhood illness and injury; and (4) determine effective methods of imparting the knowledge gained to other States in a manner resulting in the adoption of effective programs by those States. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196947.

Keywords: Ambulances, Child Education of Health Professionals, Data Bases, Data Collection, Disabled, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs), Emergency medical technicians, Minorities, Morbidity, Mortality, Networking

Pendley. n.d.. Native American Adolescent Injury Prevention Project: [Final report]. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Health and Environment Department (HED), 12 pp.

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the rate of unintentional injuries and deaths among Native American adolescents in New Mexico and the Southwest. Specific goals were to: (1) Improve existing data bases on deaths and disabilities from unintentional injuries among Native American teens; (2) improve culturally relevant injury prevention materials and methodologies for these teens; (3) improve the knowledge, attitudes, and prevention practices regarding unintentional injuries among this population; (4) increase the availability of injury prevention materials and methodologies in Native American junior and senior high schools; and (5) increase the quality and quantity of injury prevention services provided to these teens by health care and tribal agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199206.

Keywords: Southwestern United States, Adolescents, American Indians, Data Bases, Indian Health Service (IHS), Information Clearinghouses, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Mortality

Simmons E. n.d.. Youth in Transition—The Alabama Experience: [Final report]. Montgomery, AL: Alabama Department of Education, 32 pp.

Annotation: This project focused on developing a systematic approach to integrate medical, vocational, educational, psychosocial, and developmental services for adolescents with physical disabilities and/or chronic illness who are at risk in their transition to maturity. Project objectives were to (1) create an administrative structure at the State level and in two pilot sites for provision of an integrated continuum of health and education services; (2) enable service providers, through training and collaboration, to coordinate service planning for the target population; (3) enable the adolescent and family, through counseling and training, to function as their own "case manager"; and (4) monitor and evaluate the model to determine the feasibility for replication in Alabama and/or other states. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147031.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Interdisciplinary Teams, Rural Population, Urban Population

Freedman S. n.d.. Case Management Information/Consultation Base for Services to Children with Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities: [Final report]. Gainesville, FL: Institute for Child Health Policy, 49 pp.

Annotation: The goals of this project were to disseminate information and to provide technical assistance on case management services for children with special health care needs and their families. The project served organizations engaged in the design, implementation, and assessment of case management activities. Activities included the collection of documents, the creation of a case management database, an analysis of case management services, and the development of a working paper "Focus and Functions of Case Management." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147106.

Keywords: Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data Bases, Data Collection

Benford M. n.d.. MATCH II: A Merged Database for Health and Developmental Disabilities [Final report]. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Thomas R. n.d.. Child and Family Support Project [Final report]. Seattle, WA: Children's Hospital and Medical Center, 144 pp.

Annotation: The Child and Family Support Project was designed to facilitate and support access to and coordination of health care services for children with chronic conditions and their families in order to strengthen family capacity to care for their child in the community setting. The project included activities to identify and develop models for services through: improvement of communication and coordination between community-based services; development of a data base of resources for the populations; enhancement of transition from institutional to community or least restrictive environment; and support for the families of children with chronic conditions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106291.

Keywords: Chronically Ill, Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Family Support, Family-Based Health Care, Networking

Buttrey J. n.d.. Emergency Medical Services for Children [Final report]. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, 56 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to enhance existing capabilities in emergency medical services for children (EMSC) to reduce mortality and morbidity from injuries and critical illnesses among infants and children. This scope of the project was regional, in collaboration with Idaho, Oregon, and Washington EMSC projects. In addition, specific funding targeted project activities to enhance EMSC capabilities in Wyoming, Montana, and Utah. The four major goals of the Utah EMSC program were to: (1) Develop a comprehensive intermountain pediatric emergency medical services (EMS) data base; (2) reduce the morbidity and mortality of Native American children living in the region; (3) educate emergency care providers in the region about the capability, availability, and response times of existing intermountain regional air transport systems; and (4) establish consistent regional protocols and educational programs for EMS systems throughout the intermountain region. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121883.

Keywords: American Indians, Burns, Data Collection, Data bases, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Poisons, Rural Population

Fleming J. 1992. "High Tech" Home Care for Children with Chronic Health Conditions [Final report]. Lexington, KY: University of Kentucky, 9 pp.

Annotation: The objective of this study was to create a data base that will aid in further describing technology-dependent children being cared for in their homes. Specific aims are to: (1) Identify selected demographic characteristics of technology-dependent children and their families; (2) define home care of technology-dependent children in terms of consumption of resources; (3) test selected hypotheses regarding the effects of the illness of these children on their families; and (4) provide the means for these data to be used by others in the development of recommendations for nursing practice relating to the care of technology-dependent children and their families. Thirteen cities in the United States served as areas from which data was collected. Children were between three months and nineteen years of age and had been technology-dependent and being cared for at home for at least a month. Using structured interviews, data was obtained from parents receiving services from private and public home health agencies. Among the study's findings were the following: (1) The financial burden and social impact on the family and personal strains vary depending on the type of dependency; (2) depression does not vary significantly among the four types of dependency; (3) satisfaction varies significantly with caregivers; and (4) the quality of life of technology-dependent children is apparently affected by persons who work with them in their home. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-181857.

Keywords: Chronically ill, Data bases, Data collection, Families, High technology home care, Technology dependence

Brownstein D. 1991. Washington emergency medical services for children [Final report]. Seattle, WA: Washington Department of EMSC Health, 37 pp.

Annotation: The goals of the project were to: (1) Eliminate excess morbidity and mortality in pediatric emergencies resulting from inadequate knowledge, equipment, and support of prehospital care providers and hospital-based medical personnel; and (2) eliminate excess morbidity and mortality among minority children due to cultural, language, and economic barriers to emergency care. The objective of this project was to address the technical information needs of prehospital and emergency room providers, focusing on trauma, seizures, and drowning. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-187042.

Keywords: American Indians, Asians, Data Bases, Data Collection, Drowning, Emergency Medical Services, Immigrants, Migrant Workers, Minorities, Morbidity, Mortality, Trauma

Garell D. 1991. ACMS/Community-Based Care Coordination Project for CCS Children and Their Families in Los Angeles County [Final report]. Los Angeles, CA: California Children's Services of Los Angeles County, 58 pp.

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Develop and implement an automated case management system in Los Angeles County to improve and enhance the existing California Children's Services (CCS) system; (2) establish a CCS community-based care coordinator program within Los Angeles County to coordinate and implement an individual service plan for children with special needs and their families; and (3) test the feasibility and desirability of these goals in Los Angeles County, California, and other States. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147098.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Data Collection, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Medicaid, School Based Health Services, University Affiliated Facility

Palfrey J. 1991. State Census of Technology-Dependent Children [Final report]. Boston, MA: Children's Hospital, 28 pp.

Annotation: This study was a census of all children defined as depending on extraordinary nursing services on a daily basis. Because this study was longitudinal, investigators were able to trace the prevalence of these conditions over time and look at changes within device use or in specific diseases, as well as changes in the etiologies of medical dependency. These data should be useful for program planning purposes as well as for tracking preventable causes of long-term disability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-161132.

Keywords: Chronically Ill, Data Bases, Data Collection, Pediatric Care Providers, Technology Dependence

Zipenis K. 1989 (ca.). MCH Management Information System = Family Health Services State Program Staff Development Project [Final report]. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, 16 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and pilot test an integrated MCH data base, which is linked to related data bases within the Division of Family Health Services and to other important data bases. Data entry occured at the local level, where it could also be manipulated to meet local needs. Program objectives included reducing paperwork at the State and local levels, enhancing the ability for local data entry and manipulation to meet local needs, improving the ability at the State level for MCH programs to review contractors' performance and ensure quality assurance and contract compliance, and enhancing the management and planning capabilities of MCH program managers at the State level. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB91-225169.

Keywords: Data Bases, Data Management, Health Professionals

Bryant D. 1989 (ca.). Quality Assurance in Arkansas Maternity Clinics = Arkansas Staff Development Grant [Final report]. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Department of Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This project sought to ensure delivery of quality clinical care that is consistent with current prenatal standards. A maternity nurse practitioner was hired to revise public health nurse protocols, develop quality assurance testing protocols for local health departments, establish a management information system as a data base for administrative tracking of clinical quality assurance activities, and conduct inservice training sessions and quarterly clinical conferences for public health nurses in each region. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB91-225532.

Keywords: Continuing Education, Data Bases, Education of Health Professionals, Health Professionals, Laboratories, Public Health Nurses

Gossert D. 1989. Family Assessment Project: [Final report]. Denver, CO: Colorado Department of Health , 19 pp.

Annotation: This project developed and refined a family assessment questionnaire and data base, collected data on previously unsurveyed populations of chronically ill children, established the prevalence rate of psychosocial distress among families with chronically ill children, and assessed their readiness for intervention. The goal was to separate out those families at high risk who were not connected to any agency from those at high risk who were using community services. Those high-risk, unconnected families were to have first priority for social work intervention. Through this screening process, scarce staff time was to be directed to those families most in need of services. Services were to be targeted for the coordination of all the agencies involved with a family. Intervention was based on communication from the family. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-149672.

Keywords: Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Families, Handicapped, Hemophilia, Parent Education, Screening Tools, Social Work

Roghmann K. 1989. Cost of Followup Care for Prematures [Final report]. Rochester, NY: University of Rochester Medical Center, 119 pp.

Annotation: The research objective of this study was to evaluate a regionalized perinatal program's impact on the population served in terms of additional care needed to compensate for prematurity and its sequelae. This research complemented ongoing followup efforts which are currently components of the service program. The main focus was on utilization of inpatient and outpatient services by graduates of the neonatal intensive care unit, up until school entry. The study findings were encouraging despite major methodological difficulties. When compared to the control group, excess ambulatory utilization by cases was minor and of short duration. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB90-147984.

Keywords: Data Bases, Prematurity

Myerberg D. [1988]. West Virginia Statewide SIDS Prevention Project [Final report]. Morgantown, WV: West Virginia University, 83 pp.

Annotation: This project addressed the high incidence of postneonatal infant mortality approximately 40 percent of which is related to sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in West Virginia. The project sought to assure better health care for at-risk postneonatal infants; develop physician standards with respect to home Apnea/Bradycardia monitoring; and develop third party payer criteria to assure payment for medically indicated procedures or monitors. The first goal was to: identify infants in West Virginia who are at risk for postneonatal mortality; link these infants with a primary care provider who will follow this at-risk group more closely during infancy; assure payment from third party payers for this additional followup; and create an extensive database of all infants scored that can be used to improve the system and to provide research opportunities. The second goal attempted to: establish a statewide protocol for infants considered for home monitoring; register these infants into a statewide registry; track these infants for one year; generate an extensive database on monitored and nonmonitored infants for research, evaluation, and improvement of standards; and assure payment of medically indicated monitors by third-party payers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-178144.

Keywords: Data Bases, High risk infants, Primary Care, Reimbursement, SIDS

Melton E. 1988 (ca.). MCH Rural/Community Health Center Demonstration—Missouri = Rural Primary Care MCH Prenatal Initiative [Final report]. New Madrid, MO: New Madrid County Group Practice, 13 pp.

Annotation: In this project, which focused on perinatal services, six community health center projects in rural areas across the country were awarded funds from both the MCH Improvement Project (MCHIP) category and the Section 330 authority of the Public Health Services Act to demonstrate effective linkages between the two program emphases. Transportation, tracking, and case management services were planned. Additional funds were used to establish an integrated prenatal risk management data system. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Community Health Centers, Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Rural Population

Contrucci V. 1988 (ca.). Improving Community-Based Services to Chronically Ill and Disabled Children Through State and Local Cooperation [Final report]. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Division for Handicapped Children and Pupil Services, 40 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to devise a system that would promote effective decision making by professionals in the State of Wisconsin as they address the interrelated health, psychosocial, and educational needs of children with chronic handicapping conditions, and the coordinated delivery of the required services at the community level necessary to satisfy those needs. The goals included: (1) Establishment of effective ongoing decision-making and feedback processes at the state, regional, and community levels which were responsive to the needs of chronically ill and disabled children and their families; (2) facilitation of effective community based services to families of children with chronic illness or disabling conditions; (3) development and field testing of a model communications system which established ongoing partnerships between schools and health care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198190.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Data Collection, Family-Based Health Care, Financing Health Care, Parents, School Based Health Care

Hollinshead W. 1988 (ca.). Integrated Maternal and Child Health Information System (IMCHIS) [Final report]. Providence, RI: Rhode Island Department of Health, 45 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to design, implement, and evaluate an Integrated Maternal and Child Health Information System to support both maternal and child programming and planning at the Title V provider agency level as well as program evaluation and policy analysis at the MCH State Health Department level. The database was developed on state Title V clinics to provide information on the following: services to high-risk populations; pregnancy outcomes by ethnicity and for immigrants, refugees, adolescents, and the uninsured; relationships between perinatal events and diseases and disabilities in the infant's first year; and the quality and content of prenatal care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103274.

Keywords: Data Bases, Integrated Information Systems, Prenatal Care, Public Policy

Glasser M. 1988. Network of Services for Families with Chronically Ill Children [Final report]. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, 3 pp.

Annotation: This network sought to improve the care of children and adolescents with hemophilia and cystic fibrosis. To this end, the network developed a computerized medical information system which allowed health professionals to quickly enter and retrieve patient information. It also provided a series of workshops for parents on psychosocial issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147122.

Keywords: Chronically Ill, Cystic fibrosis, Data Bases, Education of Parents, Families, Hemophilia, Networking, Parent Networks, Stress

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.