Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This 4-part resource provides background information and definitions of rapidly-changing food and nutrition security terms, offering insights into the origins of terms and underscoring the power and importance of terminology. Included is a table with terms and definitions used by national food, nutrition, and health programs and organizations.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Language, Nonprejudicial language, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This webinar features three presenters who describe the Equitable Evaluation Framework and explain how equitable evaluation activities can be applied to telehealth work. Included are telehealth examples based on equitable evaluation. The recording is from the virtual roundtable presented on May 17, 2022 by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's Equity, Epidemiology, & Evaluation Team,

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Evaluation , Health equity, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This handout describes the culturally responsive and equitable evaluation (CREE) approach that involves integrating diversity, inclusion, and equity principles into all phases of an evaluation.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Ethnic factors, Evaluation methods, Health equity, Research design

Annotation: This publication examines the history of dietary guidelines for Americans and the cultural biases that may have influenced their development. It explores the evolution of the dietary guidelines; addresses claims of racism within the guidelines; and examines whether the current guidelines are culturally appropriate and free of racial bias.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Dietary guidelines, Health equity, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of children's population health needs and resources in Philadelphia. Contents include findings from statistical and spatial (mapping) analyses to better understand the effects of modifiable neighborhood characteristics on mental health and a proposed method for using population-level risk factors to assess service need and adequacy of community resources.

Contact: Thomas Scattergood Behavioral Health Foundation at Friends Center, 1501 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Web Site: http://www.scattergoodfoundation.org Out of print.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to care, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Labeling, Mental disorders, Mental health, Neighborhoods, Protective factors, Research methodology, Risk factors, Social support, Trust

Annotation: This book defines concepts and provides general guidelines for assessing and treating multicultural populations and provides specific guidelines for populations of African Americans, Hispanics, Asians, and American Indians. It also deals with issues of prevention, epidemiology, and guidelines for accurately interpreting data from culturally biased measures.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: Item No. 54964.

Keywords: Assessment, Cultural barriers, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Ethnic groups, Evaluation, Outreach, Patient care, Therapeutics, Training materials

Annotation: This document describes competencies for dental public health and the performance indicators by which they can be measured. Contents include background on the development of the competencies, definitions,and what a specialist in dental public health will do. Topics include planning oral health programs for populations; selecting interventions and strategies for the prevention and control of oral diseases and promotion of oral health; developing resources and implementing and managing oral health programs for populations; incorporating ethical standards in oral health programs and activities; evaluating and monitoring dental care delivery systems; designing and understanding the use of surveillance systems to monitor oral health; communicating and collaborating with groups and individuals on oral health issues; advocating for, implementing, and evaluating public health policy, legislation, and regulations to protect and promote the public's oral health; critiquing and synthesizing scientific literature; and designing and conducting population-based studies to answer oral and public health questions.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• Current Version
• Original Preamble Published In The Journal Of Public Health Dentistry 58(Suppl 1):119–122

Keywords: Administration, Advocacy, Collaboration, Communication skills, Competence, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Dental education, Dentistry, Ethics, Health promotion, Oral health, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health dentists, Research, Work force

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist is designed to help personnel provide services and support to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth and their families that are culturally and linguistically competent. The checklist covers the physical environment, materials and resources, communication practices, values, and attitudes. It provides concrete examples of the kinds of values and practices that foster cultural diversity and cultural competence.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Assessment, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Homosexuality, Youth

Annotation: This archived webinar highlights best practices in engaging Latino families in home visiting programs. Panelists from three different home visiting models share approaches and tools that have led to their success in serving the needs of children and families. Topics included strategies for recruiting and retaining families in the program, specific training for home visitors, program and curriculum adaptation, and research on Latino families’ participation and outcomes.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Archive
• PowerPoint Slides

Keywords: Community programs, Audiovisual materials, Cultural sensitivity, Family support services, Hispanic Americans, Home visiting, Newborn infants

Annotation: This report describes the recommendations of an expert panel to ensure that students acquire cultural competencies in their chosen fields to prepare them for successful practice, including the development and delivery of appropriate health care and population health programs, services, and policies for an increasingly diverse U.S. population. Contents include recommendations for embedding cultural competence education within and across curricula of medicine and public health, exemplary case studies, and a road map for the future.

Contact: Association of American Medical Colleges, 655 K Street, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20001-2399, Telephone: (202) 828-0400 Web Site: https://www.aamc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Curricula, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Medical students, Professional education, Public health education, Racial factors

Annotation: This report outlines best and promising practices for tobacco use prevention and control for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community using the World Health Organization’s best practices model, MPOWER (Monitor, Protect, Offer, Warn, Enforce, and Raise), which outlines the key steps for effective tobacco control programs and additional letters -- E for Evaluate (and disseminate) and D for Diversify -- to address all of the key challenges that LGBT and overlapping disparity populations face. The target audience for the report includes policy makers, grant makers, grant applicants, and tobacco control program administrations.

Contact: Network for LGBT Health Equity, The Fenway Institute, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 927-6451 E-mail: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com/contact/ Web Site: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention, Program improvement, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit for practitioners and researchers working with lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning (LGBTQ) youth outlines specific evidence-based programs, practice models, and assessment/evaluation tools used by agency staff working with LGBTQ youth who have run away from home or who are homeless. It highlights available training curricula on cultural sensitivity and standards of care for agency staff and the LGBTQ youth they serve, and includes sample agency non-discrimination policies. The toolkit draws its findings from interviews, literature reviews, and empirical research.

Contact: National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections, Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, 2180 Third Avenue, 7th Floor, New York, NY 10035, Telephone: (212) 396-7562 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nrcpfc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Curricula, Homosexuality, Professional materials, Professional training, Program improvement, Youth

Annotation: This video discusses the many risks faced by Native Americans in obtaining health care and other culturally specific services for those located in urban areas away from tribal connections. Topics include health, learning about Native culture and history for the next generation, and pregnancy support and advice for mothers and fathers,

Contact: Urban Indian Health Institute, Seattle Indian Health Board, P.O. Box 3364, Seattle, WA 98114, Telephone: (206) 812-3030 Fax: (206) 812-3044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uihi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: American Indians, Cultural beliefs, Cultural sensitivity, Family support services, Multimedia

Annotation: This book covers the unique food traditions of over 50 different cultures as they apply to health. The text explores the importance of cultural sensitivity and competency in today's work setting, addresses health literacy issues, and helps readers identify customer communication techniques that enable professionals to establish trust with clients of different ethnic origins. The first section provides an overview of food traditions and practices within various religions, while the remaining sections focus on distinct regions around the world. Individual chapters cover specific countries, focusing on the various contexts that contribute to nutrition and health: lifestyles, eating patterns, ethnic foods, menu planning, communication (verbal and non-verbal), and more. This book is consistent with The American Dietetic Association s Cultural Competence Strategic Plan.

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Ethnic groups, Food habits, International health, Minority groups, Nutrition, Nutrition education

Annotation: This document provides multicultural principles for Head Start programs and reviews research on multicultural principles. Contents are presented as 10 principles: individuals and culture, culturally relevant Head Start programming, learning about cultures of different groups and discarding stereotypes, cultural relevance and curriculum choices/adaptation, identity and functioning in society, English- and non-English-language learning, staff who reflect and are responsive to communities and families served, multicultural programming for children that respects differences, examining and challenging institutional and personal biases, and incorporating cultural and diverse programs in all systems and services.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Cultural beliefs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Head Start, Oral health, Program development

Annotation: This book provides medical information and advice for Hispanic women. Part One covers environmental and psychosocial issues, including barriers to health, understanding the medical system, preventive care for Latinas, and the care of family and other loved ones. Part Two covers sexuality, pregnancy, and common diseases and disorders; and Part Three covers medical decision-making, record keeping, and health resources. The book includes advice to help Hispanic women prepare for an annual wellness visit, keep good health records, develop healthy eating and exercise habits, nurture the spirit, and address diseases and disorders that are more prevalant among Hispanic women such as arthritis, depression, overweight, diabetes, and cervical cancer. Tools for self care and a quick reference health section are included. It is also available in Spanish.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55704-854-7.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Recordkeeping, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This archived webinar from December 15, 2010 discusses the MCH Training Diversity Initiative, peer learning collaborative objectives, context for addressing diversity, team strategies, and collaborative resources.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, MCH training, Multimedia, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This bulletin explores the cultural traditions of African Americans, Iranians, Somalis, and hard of hearing families grieving the loss of an infant. It summarizes a panel presentation from the National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program’s Fifth National Conference, held in August 2007 in Alexandria, VA. It includes a brief summary of studies on grief along with insights on the grief responses and customs of families from a variety of cultures. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Blacks, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Grief, Muslims

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist, which is geared for personnel providing services and supports to children with disabilities and special health care needs and their families, is designed to heighten the awareness and sensitivity of personnel to the importance of cultural diversity and cultural competence in human service settings. The checklist provides concrete examples of the kinds of values and practices that foster such an environment. The checklist includes questions in the following categories: (1) physical environment, materials, and resources; (2) communication styles; and (3) values and attitudes. Information about how to use the checklist is also provided.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Families, Guidelines, Health personnel, Human services, Questionnaires

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist, which is geared for personnel providing services and supports to children with disabilities and special health care needs and their families, is designed to heighten the awareness and sensitivity of personnel to the importance of cultural diversity and cultural competence in human service settings. The checklist provides concrete examples of the kinds of values and practices that foster such an environment. The checklist includes questions in the following categories: (1) physical environment, materials, and resources; (2) communication styles; and (3) values and attitudes. Information about how to use the checklist is also provided.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Families, Guidelines, Health personnel, Human services, Questionnaires