Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (187 total).

FrameWorks Institute. [2018]. Reframing oral health: A communications toolkit for advancing oral health reform. Washington, DC: FrameWorks Institute,

Annotation: This toolkit provides strategic framing recommendations and communications tools to equip health advocates to communicate more effectively with the public. The toolkit is divided into three sections. The first section includes framing recommendations, the research behind them, and tips for applying them in practice. The second section provides a suite of messaging resources, including an integrated mix of frame elements such as values, metaphors, explanations, and solutions statements; annotated examples of applied framing; and communications materials. The third section explains how cultural models affect communication. An introductory video is included.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: info@FrameWorksInstitute.org Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Advocacy, Communication, Cultural factors, Oral health

Golden J. 2018. Babies made us modern: How infants brought America into the twentieth century. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press,

Annotation: This book examines how babies shaped American society and culture and led their families into the modern world to become more accepting of scientific medicine, active consumers, open to new theories of human psychological development, and welcoming of government advice and programs. The book also examines the influence of cultural traditions and religious practices upon the diversity of infant lives, exploring the ways class, race, region, gender, and community shaped life in the nursery and household.

Contact: Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473, Telephone: 212-924-3900 Secondary Telephone: (914) 937-9600 Fax: 212-691-3239 E-mail: information@cup.org Web Site: http://www.cambridge.org/us/

Keywords: Community role, Cultural beliefs, Infants, Regional factors, Religion, Social change, Social factors, Sociocultural factors

Lorenzo SB, Wilhite BC. 2017. Health and health care for all: Resources for families (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief presents resources for finding care, services and support and websites about health and health care for all families. Resources about the health of specific population groups are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Barriers, Bibliographies, Blacks, Cultural barriers, Electronic publications, Ethnic factors, Families, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Minority groups, Racial factors, Women

Epstein R, Gonzalez T. 2017. Gender & trauma: Somatic interventions for girls in juvenile justice–Implications for policy and practice. Washington, DC: Georgetown Law Center on Poverty and Inequality, 37 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a foundational understanding of the relationship between trauma and gender -- with a focus on system-involved girls -- and provides an analysis of somatic interventions. In particular, the report maps the ways in which trauma-informed, gender-responsive, and culturally competent yoga and mindfulness programs can address the short- and long-term impact of trauma on girls in the juvenile justice system. Topics include the core components of somatic interventions for traumatized girls, data documenting positive effects, and specific policy and practice recommendations to increase access for system-involved girls.

Contact: Georgetown Law, Center on Poverty and Inequality, 600 New Jersey Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 661-6692 E-mail: povertycenter@law.georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.law.georgetown.edu/academics/centers-institutes/poverty-inequality/index.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent females, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Intervention, Juvenile justice, Policy development, Sexuality, Therapeutics, Trauma care

Institute of Medicine, Committee on Educating Health Professionals to Address the Social Determinants of Health. 2016. Framework for educating health professionals to address the social determinants of health. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 170 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a framework for educating health professionals to address the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, as well as the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life including economic policies, development agendas, cultural and social norms, social policies, and political systems. Contents include theoretical constructs and examples of programs and frameworks addressing elements of the social determinants of health. The framework aligns education, health, and other sectors to meet local needs in partnership with communities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Continuing education, Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health occupations, Inclusive schools, Mentors, Model programs, Models, Professional education, Public health education, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Work force

Pinderhughes H, Davis RA, Williams M. 2016. Adverse community experiences and resilience: A framework for addressing and preventing community trauma. Oakland, CA: Prevention Institute, 34 pp., exec. summ (6 pp.)

Annotation: This paper explores trauma at the population level and how it impacts efforts to prevent violence and improve other aspects of community health. The paper also presents a framework for addressing and preventing trauma at the community level. Topics include the community environment, the production of trauma from violence, community strategies to address community violence, elements of a resilient community, and promoting community resilience.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Culturally competent services, Economic factors, Emotional trauma, Geographic factors, Health promotion, Models, Prevention programs, Resilience, Social conditions, Social support, Sociocultural factors, Standards, Trauma, Trauma care, Violence prevention

Truong Q. 2016. Place matters: Perceived neighborhood safety and social support during childhood and its impact on mental health in Philadelphia–A GIS analysis of children's population health needs and resources. Philadelphia, PA: Thomas Scattergood Behavioral Health Foundation at Friends Center and the City of Philadelphia Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services, 34 pp., exec. summ. (7 pp.)

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of children's population health needs and resources in Philadelphia. Contents include findings from statistical and spatial (mapping) analyses to better understand the effects of modifiable neighborhood characteristics on mental health and a proposed method for using population-level risk factors to assess service need and adequacy of community resources.

Contact: Thomas Scattergood Behavioral Health Foundation at Friends Center, 1501 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Web Site: http://www.scattergoodfoundation.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Labeling, Mental disorders, Mental health, Neighborhoods, Protective factors, Research methodology, Risk factors, Social support, Trust

Continelli T, Bruce C, Roberts E, Martiniano R. 2015. A profile of oral health providers in New York State. Rensselaer, NY: Center for Health Workforce Studies, 4 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This research brief provides information about the dentist and dental hygienist work force in New York state, including the concentration of dentists vs. dental hygienists, the concentration of dentists in urban vs. rural areas, the diversity of the oral health work force compared with the diversity of the state’s population, the ages of dentists and dental hygienists, and the educational attainment of dental hygienists. Sources and limitations of the data are described.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: chws@health.ny.gov Web Site: http://chws.albany.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Age factors, Cultural diversity, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Educational attainment, Health disparities, New York, Oral health, Rural environment, Urban environment, Work force

Orange County Health Department. 2015. Betel nut provider guide: The importance of screening for betel (areca) nut. Hillsborough, NC: Orange County Health Department, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document for health care professionals provides guidance on screening for betel (areca) nut use. Topics include what betel nut is and how it used, who is likely to chew betel nut, how to tell if someone chews betel nut, and why it is important to talk to patients about betel nut. Additional topics include adverse health effects of betel nut use for oral health and pregnancy outcomes, and what health professionals can do. Sample screening questions are included.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Web Site: http://www.orangecountync.gov/departments/health Available from the website.

Keywords: Cancer, Communication, Culturally competent services, Drug effects, Nicotine, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Smokeless tobacco, Substance use screening, Tobacco use

PolicyLink and University of Southern California, Program for Environmental and Regional Equity. 2014–. National equity atlas. Oakland, CA: PolicyLink, 1 v.

Annotation: This tool provides data on demographic changes and racial and economic inclusion for the largest 150 regions, in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States as a whole. Contents include data summaries that provide a snapshot of how a community is doing on key indicators of demographic change and equity; charts, graphs, and maps; and stories about how local leaders are using equity data to catalyze conversations and implement equitable growth strategies and policies.

Contact: PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: info@policylink.org Web Site: http://www.policylink.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Community action, Cultural diversity, Data analysis, Economic factors, Equal opportunities, Geographic regions, Inclusion, Policy development, Racial factors, Social change, Statewide planning, Statistical data

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Back to Sleep Campaign. 2014. Safe sleep for your baby: Reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) (upd. ed.). Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 12 pp. (Safe to Sleep® )

Annotation: This brochure provides answers to common questions about sudden infant death syndrome and encourages parents and other caregivers to share the messages with everyone who cares for their infant or for any infant under age 1. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. It has also been adapted for outreach to African Americans and American Indians and Alaska Natives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-5355 (African Americans), 12-7040 (English), 12-7040(S) (Spanish), 12-7462 (American Indians/Alaska Natives).

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Cultural factors, Infant death, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Child Trends. 2014. World family map 2014: Mapping family change and child well-being outcomes (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Child Trends, 67 pp.

Annotation: This report provides indicators of family well-being worldwide. Topics include family structure, socioeconomics, processes, and culture. The report also includes an essay on union stability and early childhood health in developing countries, as well as a brief analysis of psychological distress among children and adolescents ages 9-16 in the European Union.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comparative analysis, Cultural factors, Data, Educational factors, Families, Geographic factors, International health, Socioeconomic factors, Trends

My Brother's Keeper Task Force. 2014. My Brother's Keeper Task Force report to the president. Washington, DC: Executive Office of the President, 61 pp.

Annotation: This report describes progress on a national initiative to address persistent opportunity gaps faced by boys and young men of color. The report outlines the building blocks for success across key life stages and presents initial recommendations and areas of opportunity for each of the key milestones. The focus areas include entering school ready to learn, reading at grade level by third grade, graduating from high school ready for college and career, completing postsecondary education or training, entering the work force, reducing violence, and providing a second chance. Cross-cutting areas of opportunity that span all focus areas are also discussed.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent males, Barriers, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Graduation, Juvenile justice, Learning, Life course, Men, Minority groups, Reading, School to work transition, Social factors, Violence prevention, Work family issues, Work force, Young adults

Desiderio G, Garrido M, Garcia M, Eisler A. 2014. Lessons learned in providing health care services for Native youth. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, 7 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes agency efforts to provide health care services for Native youth and their lessons learned. Topics include health issues Native youth commonly face, ways youth use health services, youth-friendly services and ways to provide them, and integrating Native culture and traditional practices with medical practice. The report concludes with a discussion of areas and issues that need to be addressed in order to increase the number of youth accessing services, as well as suggestions for other agencies and clinics trying to establish health services for Native youth.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: info@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Service integration, Youth

Hughes D. 2014. A review of the literature pertaining to family-centered care for children with special health care needs. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes findings from a review of selected research related to family-centered care (FCC) for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Contents include highlights from studies that examine the following components of FCC: family-provider partnerships, coordinated care, racial/ethnic and linguistic barriers, and culturally competent care. It also examines access, unmet need and satisfaction for CSHCN and outcomes of FCC and medical homes.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: info@lpfch.org Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Families, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Language barriers, Literature reviews, Parent professional relations, Service coordination, Special health care needs

Krueger J. 2014. Policy options to increase access to oral health care and improve oral health by expanding the oral health workforce. St. Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 17 pp. (Oral health care: Science and law brief)

Annotation: This brief for policymakers, public health professionals, and community members outlines concerns for oral health and explores policy options to increase access to oral health care and improve health by expanding the oral health work force. Topics include the shortage of oral health care professionals; expanding the role of community dental health coordinators, community health workers, dental hygienists, and dental therapists; addressing Medicaid reimbursement; encouraging oral health education and care in the primary care setting; targeting recruitment to address geographic and cultural gaps; expanding geographic reach of existing work force; and data collection to support and evaluate policies to improve oral health.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Allied health personnel, Cultural factors, Data collection, Dental care, Geographic factors, Health education, Health status, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Recruitment, Reimbursement, Work force

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2013. Health literacy fact sheets. Lawrenceville, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 12 pp.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets help clinicians, patient advocates, and other stakeholders improve care for individuals with low health literacy. The fact sheets define health literacy; describe ways to identify low health literacy; provide strategies to improve print and oral communication for low-literate consumers; provide information about the intersection of health literacy and culture; and highlight key policies relating to health literacy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer educatio, Cultural factors, Health behavior, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Literacy education, Low literacy, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health . 2013. Health snapshot: Hispanic adolescents in the United States. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health , (E-updates)

Annotation: This website provides information about Hispanic adolescents in the United States related to health care coverage, adolescent pregnancy, educational attainment, mental health, substance abuse, and weight. For each topic, links to information and programs are included. Background information about this population is also included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: oah.gov@hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Cultural factors, Educational attainment, Mental health, Ethnic factors, Health insurance, Hispanic Americans, Obesity, Programs, Substance abuse

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 2013. Ensuring access to adequate information on medical products for all: With special focus on underrepresented subpopulations, including racial subgroups. [Silver Spring, MD]: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of how the Food and Drug Administration operates in terms of its communications and describes how the agency communicates the benefits and risks of medical products to health care providers and patients, especially underrepresented populations, including racial subgroups. Topics include communications with the general public, including MedWatch, social media, staff and advisory committees, and external stakeholder meetings; as well as designing communications for populations with limited English proficiency, health literacy, and outreach. Appendices include highlights of the risk communications strategic plan, and the Office of Minority Health web site on Federal Health Information.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Cultural competency, Federal agencies, Health literacy, Limited English speakers, Public health, Racial factors, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Child Welfare League of America. 2013. National blueprint for excellence in child welfare: Standards of excellence—Raising the bar for children, families, and communities. Washington, DC: Child Welfare League of America, 142 pp.

Annotation: This blueprint presents a vision for the future of child welfare that all children will grow up safely in loving families and supportive communities. The blueprint is intended to be a catalyst for change and also to serve as the basis for updating and creating Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) program-specific standards of excellence. The blueprint discusses CWLA vision and values and presents eight core principles and standards on the following topics: rights of children; shared responsibility and leadership; engagement/participation; supports and services; quality improvement; work force; race, ethnicity, and culture; and funding and resources.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org $24.95 for non-members, $19.95 for members; also available as .pdf , $11.95 for non-members, . Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58760-152-1.

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Children's rights, Communities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Families, Family support services, Financing, Leadership, Programs, Racial factors, Safety, Standards

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.