Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This database provides a comprehensive online compilation of court decisions, laws, and policies related to community water fluoridation from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The database has four primary sections: search, case law, state and local action, and federal action. Searches may be conducted using any combination of keyword, content type, and case topic type. Multiple state and content types can be selected and unselected.

• Link

Keywords: Court decisions, Databases, Fluorides, Legislation, Public policy, Water

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes the federal requirements for Medicaid's Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment Program (EPSDT), discusses legal and policy trends, and provides an annotated docket of federal and state court cases.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Court decisions, EPSDT, Federal programs, Medicaid, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses recent court cases that have decided questions about Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT). The cases discussed decide substantive (as opposed to procedural) questions about how states must implement EPSDT to comply with the Medicaid Act's minimum standards. After listing the cases, the fact sheet discusses the trends emerging from them and then summarizes each case.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Out of print.

Keywords: Court decisions, EPSDT, Federal programs, Medicaid, Trends

Annotation: This report examines congressional intent regarding the treatment of children with behavior problems and, by examining administrative and court decisions, compares those intentions with actual implementation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 1997. The report also includes a brief discussion of the research supporting the use of Functional Behavioral Assessments and Positive Interventions and Supports, two tools for addressing emotional and behavioral problems in children.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior problems, Child behavior, Court decisions, Disabilities, Emotional development, Research, Treatment

Annotation: This publication is designed to inform practitioners—attorneys and advocates for the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) who are not familiar with Medicaid, and Medicaid attorneys and advocates who do not know IDEA or who have little experience in using Medicaid—how they may obtain the services and supports needed by children with emotional and behavioral disorders. It explains the benefits and limitations of each program as highlighted through litigation around the country. It covers these topics: class actions, individual claims for out-of-school mental health services under IDEA, coverage of residential treatment under IDEA, and Medicaid cases seeking access to comprehensive services.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Children with special health care needs, Court decisions, Federal programs, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Medicaid, Mental disorders

Annotation: The focus of this dictionary is to explicate the meanings and perspectives of various terms that are used in multicultural education. Both the literal meanings of words and terms as well as the contextual meanings and exemplars that help create those means are addressed. Entries include terms, court cases and legal precedents that have influenced thinking about issues of diversity and multicultural education, and methodological and theoretical-conceptual terms. No biographical entries or terms that describe groups of people are included. Bibliographical references are also included for further reading.

Contact: Greenwood Publishing Group, Customer Service Department, 130 Cremona Drive , Santa Barbara, CA 93117, Telephone: (805) 968-1911 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.greenwood.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-89774-798-4.

Keywords: Court decisions, Cultural diversity, Dictionaries, Education

Annotation: This book gives a year-by-year summary and assessment of events related to young children and early childhood education in the twenty years between 1971 and 1990. Bibliographical references are included.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-935989-41-2.

Keywords: AIDS, Child care, Chorionic villi sampling, Court decisions, Early childhood education, Fetal alcohol syndrome, History, Infant mortality, Legislation, Public policy, Trends, Young children

Annotation: This manual, directed to an audience of people who provide care for parents with mental retardation, is designed to provide an overview of the way the Wisconsin juvenile court works, as controlled in part by the Children's Code of the Wisconsin statutes. The manual presents basic procedures, terminology, and principles involved in juvenile court actions to make it easier to work with court-related staff and to understand how court actions can affect a family. The manual discusses the temporary custody stage, the jurisdictional and dispositional stages, and post-dispositional procedures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Council on Developmental Disabilities, 201 West Washington Avenue, Suite 110, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (888) 332-1677 Secondary Telephone: (608) 266-7826 Fax: (608) 267-3906 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wcdd.org/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Court decisions, Courts, Developmental disabilities, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Wisconsin