Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual offers information about what mental health professionals, crime victim assistance professionals, and faith-based counselors need to know to provide appropriate mental health support following incidents involving criminal mass victimization. The manual also provides a training course designed to enable human service providers to help victims, survivors, and family members cope with trauma and loss and participate in the criminal justice process, help the community at large recover, and understand and manage service providers' own work-related stress responses. Manual topics include (1) human responses to mass violence and terrorism, (2) mental health intervention, (3) organizational preparation and response and the mental health role, (4) stress prevention, management, and intervention, (5) setting up training, (6) comprehensive training course outline, and (7) additional training needs and options. An overview of resources is also included.

Contact: U.S. Center for Mental Health Services, , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1310 Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/about-us/who-we-are/offices-centers/cmhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Counselors, Crime, Emotional trauma, Families, Intervention, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Prevention, Resource materials, Stress, Survivors, Terrorism, Training, Victims

Annotation: This manual is one in a series of manuals that provide guidance on child protection for multidisciplinary professionals and community members. This manual examines the roles that teachers, school counselors, school social workers, school nurses, special education professionals, administrators, and other school personnel have in helping maltreated children. Topics include (1) identifying reasons why educators are concerned about child abuse and neglect; (2) recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect; (3) what schools can offer to provide support after the report; and (4) programs and individual actions to prevent child abuse and neglect. The manual includes six appendices that contain a glossary, resource lists, an educators' checklist for recognizing possible child maltreatment, a sample list of contacts for reporting suspected cases of child abuse and neglect, and a sample report of suspected child abuse and neglect.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Communities, Counselors, Health care, Intervention, Mental health, Role, School nurses, School personnel, Social workers, Special education, Teachers

Annotation: This manual, available in English and Spanish, uses a participatory training model to help peer counselors promote breastfeeding in the Puerto Rican community in Hartford, Connecticut. The title translates into English as "Breastfeeding: Heritage and Pride." The authors include material that will help peer counselors reach the target population more effectively. The two main training themes are the breastfeeding family and reclaiming breastfeeding as a cultural practice. The guide contains materials for eight training sessions that cover the benefits of breastfeeding, the breast and how it works, breastfeeding and the Puerto Rican community, prevention and management of breastfeeding problems, and counseling skills. Appendices include forms, supporting materials, and transparencies for use in the training sessions; and information about Puerto Rican history, culture, language, and diet. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hispanic Health Council, Center for Women and Children's Health, 175 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06106, Telephone: (860) 527-0856 Fax: (860) 724-0437 Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.com/hhc/womenandchildren $30.00 for each language, $50.00 for both English and Spanish includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Peer counselors, Puerto Ricans, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: This report is the centerpiece of an eight year research initiative to study mentoring and to explore the policy and operational implications of creating adult mentoring relationships for at-risk youth. A focus of the initiative was a case study of California's Big Brothers/Big Sisters mentoring program. Following an introduction describing the background of the study, Chapter 2 lays out in detail the infrastructure and standards in the BB/BS program. Chapter 3 describes the design of the evaluation. Chapter 4 describes the characteristics of youth who participated in the study. Chapter 5 then presents the evidence on how youth who participated in a BB/BS program differed, 18 months later, from similar youth assigned to a control group. The final chapter summarizes the positive impacts of BB/BS on youth, and then draws policy implications for and about mentoring programs. A bibliography is included at the end of the report.

Contact: Public/Private Ventures, 2000 Market Street, Suite 600, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 557-4400 Secondary Telephone: (215) 557-4411 Fax: (215) 557-4469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ppv.org Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Case studies, Counselors, Data, High risk adolescents, Mentors, Research design, Research methodologies, Surveys, Volunteers

Annotation: This manual presents issues and information about the rapidly emerging issue of grandparents as caregivers for their grandchildren and how that is impacting schools. The five modules of the manual are: background of the problem, understanding the caregiver, the child in the school setting, legal and financial issues, and skill development and promoting healthy families. Each module contains references and resources.

Keywords: Caregivers, Grandparents, Manuals, Mental health professionals, School counselors

Annotation: This guide is for child welfare workers and other human service providers involved with foster children and children who are being adopted. The objective is to equip child welfare workers to obtain genetic family histories from clients with diverse cultural backgrounds. Genetic counselors and other human service professionals will also be able to use portions of the guide. The guide explains a procedure for obtaining family genetic histories, reviews basic genetics, describes genetic services, discusses attributes of cultural competence, presents a content and process framework for task-focused ethnocultural learning. Finally, it offers suggestions for working with interpreters, and gives pointers on interviewing involuntary clients. A list of ethnocultural and genetic resource organizations and a bibliography are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Family health, Genealogy, Genetic counseling, Genetic counselors, Genetics, Medical history

Annotation: These proceedings include contributions on the following psychosocial aspects of genetic counseling: process issues; cross-cultural issues; decision making in the context of genetic risk; the reproductive decision-making process after genetic counseling; support in decision making processes in the post-counseling period; reproductive choices in couples at risk for genetic disease; a protocol to address the depressive effects of abortion for fetal abnormalities discovered prenatally via amniocentesis; psychosocial intervention strategies for professionals; genetic counseling and mental retardation; Prader-Willi syndrome; pitfalls in counseling for predictive testing in Huntington disease; hemophilia and the use of genetic counseling and carrier testing within family networks; psychological implications of genetic screening; and lay conceptions of genetic disorders.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Abortion, Albinism, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic counseling, Genetic counselors, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Huntingtons disease, Neurofibromatosis, Prader Willi syndrome, Prenatal diagnosis, Psychosocial factors

Annotation: This book is designed to help those learning to be counselors develop an understanding of different cultural groups, including identifying characteristics of cultures, making comparisons between the dominant culture and the culturally different groups, making comparisons among culturally different groups, and using that information to develop strategies or interventions for students or clients. Groups covered are African Americans, Amish, Native Americans, Japanese Americans, Chinese Americans, Vietnamese in the United States, Korean Americans, Mexican Americans, and Puerto Rican Americans.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $14.95 plus shipping and handling; prepayment required for orders under $25.00.

Keywords: Counselors, Cultural diversity, Ethnic groups, Multicultural populations, Professional education

Annotation: This manual provides an overview of the Positive Adolescents Choices Training (PACT) program whose goal is to empower adolescents to make informed decisions about issues affecting their personal health. It covers sexuality, unplanned pregnancy, drug and alcohol use, sexually transmitted diseases, eating disorders, suicide, and relationships. PACT's objectives are to introduce accurate information and resources directly into the peer network by training adolescent facilitators in sexuality, health information, decision making, and communication; and by providing structured, supervised opportunities for these adolescents to share information with their peers, their parents, and other adults. The manual reviews the components necessary to establish a PACT program and addresses issues such as conducting a needs assessment, recruiting and selecting adolescents, developing training guidelines and budgets, and raising program funds.

Contact: YWCA of the U.S.A., 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 550, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 467-0801 Fax: (202) 467-0802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ywca.org $25.00 plus $2.50 shipping and handling. 50 percent discount for community and student YWCAs. Make checks payable to YWCA National Board.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Dating, Eating disorders, Empowerment, Health education, Peer counselors, Program development, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

Annotation: These proceedings of a Genetics Associates Conference held April 22-25, 1979 in Williamsburg, VA, provide information on the four topics considered at the meeting: curricula of genetics associate training programs, funding for genetic counseling services, continuing education programs for genetic counselors, and evaluation of training programs and graduates. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Genetic counselors, Genetic services, MCH training, Professional training