Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines covered benefits, limitations, and premium and cost-sharing provisions in 2013 for 42 separate Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIP) in 38 states. Contents include an overview of findings on separate CHIP benefits and cost-sharing policies and state-level summary tables of selected benefits and cost-sharing. Topics include benchmark choices and comparison to Medicaid benefits; outpatient and inpatient mental health and substance abuse services; physical, occupational, and speech/language therapies; dental services; and vision and hearing services.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Child health services, Children', Cost sharing, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet compares benefits and cost-sharing requirements in separate non-Medicaid Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) and child-only qualified health plans available to families with low and moderate incomes in five geographically representative states -- Colorado, Georgia, Oregon, Texas, and West Virginia -- that enroll all or almost all of CHIP-eligible children in separate programs. Contents include a brief summary of each state's current CHIP eligibility levels for its separate CHIP programs, type of CHIP benefit package, and type of health insurance exchanges. Additional topics include coverage for 28 mandatory and optional service categories defined under the CHIP statute.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Colorado, Comparative analysis, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Georgia, Health care reform, Individualized health plans, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, Texas, West Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents findings from an analysis of the benefit and cost-sharing differences of health coverage provided through the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and qualified health plans (QHPs) offered through the marketplaces. The analysis provides information on the potential benefit and cost-sharing impact to CHIP beneficiaries should CHIP not be continued, resulting in current enrollees migrating into QHPs available through the marketplaces. The analysis focuses on 35 states including states that operate CHIP separate from Medicaid and states with CHIP combined with Medicaid.

Contact: Wakely Consulting Group, 9777 Pyramid Court, Suite 260, Englewood, CO 80112, Telephone: (720) 226-9800 Fax: (720) 226-9820 Web Site: http://www.wakely.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cost sharing, Health care reform, Medicaid, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This chart describes Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provisions and implementation activities that aim to reduce asthma triggers in home and community environments, including a grant program to help state improve early childhood home visitation services for families in at-risk communities; development of a uniform national prevention, health promotion, public health, and integrative health care strategy; an educational outreach campaign to raise public awareness about and encourage use of prevention services; and Medicaid covering of smoking-cessation services for pregnant women without cost-sharing. The chart describes potential areas for asthma stakeholder engagement; policy research and development; and advocacy at the national, state, and local levels.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Asthma, Child health, Cost sharing, Families, Grants, Health care, Health promotion, High risk groups, Home visiting, Initiatives, Legislation, Medicaid, Outreach, Pregnant women, Prevention, Programs, Public awareness campaigns, Public health, Public policy, Research, Smoking cessation, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This issue brief reviews the following Medicaid provisions in the Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2006 that affect children and families: (1) changes in the Medicaid benefit standards, (2) changes to federal cost sharing and premium standards, (3) new citizenship documentation requirement, and (4) health opportunity account demonstrations. For each topic, pre-DRA rules, laws, and provisions; DRA options and provisions; and key implications are discussed. A conclusion and endnotes are included.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Cost sharing, Costs, Families, Immigrants, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid

Annotation: This issue brief examines the similarities and differences between Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) as well as the implications of applying some SCHIP design features to the Medicaid program. The brief provides an overview of Medicaid and SCHIP, describes differences in program design (financing, benefits, and cost sharing) and offers a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the brief.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Cost sharing, Federal programs, Financing, Health insurance, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief reviews key findings from a review of studies of states' recent implementation of new or increased out-of-pocket requirements for beneficiaries in their Medicaid program, State Children's Health Insurance Program, or other public coverage programs. The brief, which includes an executive summary, discusses the impact of these new cost-sharing requirements on enrollment, access to care, and providers. A conclusion that discusses the implications of the findings is also provided. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. The brief includes one appendix that lists and briefly summarizes the studies included in the review. References are included, as well.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cost sharing, Costs, Enrollment, Low income groups, Medicaid, Research, State Children', State health insurance programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report focuses on how the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) is responding to budget pressures. The report discusses how SCHIP programs changed in various states in 2004 in terms of eligibility, enrollment procedures, outreach, benefits, cost sharing, provider reimbursement, and crowd out. The report also discusses SCHIP in TANF states vs. the nation and provides conclusions and an outlook. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Endnotes and references are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Outreach, Reimbursement, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief examines premium assistance programs implemented under section 1115 waivers in five states (Illinois, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Utah) to determine how they are financed; their eligibility, benefits, and cost-sharing requirements; their methods for determining cost-effectiveness, and cost savings. (Premium assistance programs use federal and state Medicaid and/or State Children's Health Insurance Program funds to subsidize the purchase of private health insurance and may also use employer or enrollee contributions to help pay premium costs.) The brief, which includes an executive summary, provides background, discusses findings, and provides a discussion. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief includes a list of sources.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Financing, Health insurance, Illinois, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, State Children', Utah, Waivers, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report on an annual 50-state survey of enrollment and eligibility policies in Medicaid and the Sate Children's Health Insurance Program presents survey findings and decisions made by policymakers regarding strategies to make programs available, affordable, and easy to obtain. The report also discusses where states stand on eligibility, enrollment, and renewal procedures and cost-sharing rules and practices. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes an executive summary and the survey methodology.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, Public policies, State Children', State programs, Surveys, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This paper discusses a proposal to reduce federal Medicaid spending put forth by the Energy and Commerce Committee on October 27, 2005. The paper outlines issues that the proposal would raise, including the following: (1) new costs for children currently enrolled in Medicaid, (2) the effect of a 5% cap (which is part of the Energy and Commerce package) on individual eligible for Medicaid, (3) changes in standards under the proposed package, (4) The addition of cost-sharing measures included in the package, and (5) how the package would impact people with disabilities and chronic conditions. A conclusion and footnotes are included.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Cost sharing, Costs, Low income groups, Medicaid, Standards

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the safety net for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) provided by public insurance coverage and addresses the effect that increased cost sharing in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program would have on access to to health care among this population. The brief discusses access and medical bill problems for CSHCN and policy implications. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. Endnotes are provided.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Cost sharing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public policy, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents information from focus groups of parents of current and former State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) enrollees about what these parents think about cost sharing policies in the SCHIP. The focus groups were conducted in winter and spring 2005. The report, which includes an executive summary, findings in brief, and the methodology in brief, is divided into the following main sections: (1) what do families think about SCHIP overall?, (2) what do families think about cost sharing amount and policies?, (3) what do families think about their ability to obtain other coverage?, and (4) what do families think states could do to improve communication? The report contains one appendix: the methodology.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cost sharing, Families, Focus groups, Low income groups, Parents, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a study about the impact of state budget problems on the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). SCHIP directors in the 50 jurisdictions operating SCHIPs in March 2004 were asked about policy changes made in 2003 or the first quarter of 2004 in the areas of eligibility, enrollment, benefits, and cost sharing. Contents include the following sections: controls on SCHIP eligibility and enrollment, changes in benefits, increases in cost-sharing requirements, future of the program, and conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Budgets, Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care financing, Oral health, State children', Surveys, s health insurance program

Annotation: This report identifies and compares states' Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) beneficiary contribution requirements for children and adults, and determines the extent to which beneficiary contribution requirements have changed since 2001. Report section discuss these findings: (1) children were more likely to be subject to beneficiary contributions in SCHIP than in Medicaid; (2) for adults in Medicaid, nearly half the states assessed premiums and a majority required cost sharing; and (3) state programs were reviewed for increases or decreases in the amount of beneficiary contributions. A report summary, topical background, and agency comments are also included. Appendices discuss service utilization rates, premium requirements, copayment requirements, and cost sharing amounts

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-04-491.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Children, Cost sharing, Costs, Health care financing, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes how the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) has changed in response to ongoing state budget deficits. The report discusses (1) SCHIP programs in the Assessing the New Federalism Program states, (2) How SCHIP changed during 2003 (in terms of eligibility, enrollment procedures, outreach, benefits, cost sharing, crowd out, and administrative cuts), and (3) how seriously SCHIP has been affected by budget cuts. Conclusions and an outlook are also presented. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of endnotes.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Outreach, State children', s health insurance program

Annotation: This document highlights decisions made by states in developing their Children's Health Insurance Programs. It presents information about eligibility criteria, benefit packages, access-to-care issues, cost-sharing requirements, outreach and enrollment, coordination with Medicaid, crowd-out concerns, and family coverage. For each decision, the document identifies one or more states implementing or proposing to implement that approach, briefly describes the policy decision made by the state(s), and supplies, in many cases, relevant language from state child health plans or authorizing legislation that can provide a model for advocates in other states.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Contact Phone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Cost sharing, Eligibility determination, Enrollment, Medicaid, Outreach, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This background paper examines the health services and economics literature to learn what is known about the effects of patient cost-sharing (that is, annual deductibles, coinsurance, copayments, and out-of-pocket maximums) on patients' use of health care services, on plan expenditures, and on patients' health outcomes. In particular, it examines the lessons and limitations of the Rand Health Insurance Experiment. A glossary of terms and references are included. A four-page report brief is also available.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OTA-BP-H-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Cost sharing, Health care reform, Health insurance