Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (704 total).

Davidson GB. n.d.. Toward the control of lead poisoning in children: A cost/benefit analysis. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 46 pp. (Study series no.: 1-6 (9a))

Annotation: This paper evaluates the general worth of a specified lead poisoning control program confined to the Children and Youth Projects' child population only. The sensitivity of the cost/benefit model to the assumptions of the paper as well as to the input data considered is considered. The expected benefit of the proposed lead poisoning control program is compared to the expected cost. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Cost effectiveness, Federal MCH programs, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Title V programs

Green G. n.d.. Systems development project integrated cost reporting system for Children and Youth projects: System users' documentation–Appendix to: Comment series no. 21—Calculating the cost of delivering health care in children and youth projects–A conceptual model and a case study. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, ca. 75 pp. (Comment series no.: 0-4 (21))

Annotation: This appendix to Comment Series no. 21 includes specimen reports, data collection documents with instructions, and sample instructions. These are designed for personnel involved in the data collection process for generating cost data to assist in the application of cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness studies in health care delivery and planning new health care facilities and programs for Children and Youth Program projects. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Cost effectiveness, Data collection, Health care delivery

Larsen B. n.d.. A generalization of the volume effect and its application in cost-effectiveness analysis. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 36 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-6 (18))

Annotation: This paper discusses the problems of the Children and Youth Program projects in obtaining cost reporting data to provide comparable data for inter-project comparisons and for comparisons of a specific project to an image of itself of theoretical perfection. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Cost effectiveness, Economics, Program evaluation

Davidson L. n.d.. Demonstration Projects for Pediatric EMS Systems Components: [Final report]. Mobile, AL: University of South Alabama College of Medicine, 104 pp.

Annotation: The overall goal of the this project was to demonstrate effective models for the necessary components of an emergency medical services for children (EMSC) system and the integration of those components into currently operating adult-oriented systems. The project has outlined the six major components of an EMSC system: (l) System description, (2) prevention, (3) education, (4) standards of care, (5) quality assurance, and (6) research and development. The project comprised seven subprojects whose activities included educating the public, the prehospital care provider, and the rural physician about the assessment and management of pediatric emergencies; comparing the efficacy of ground versus air transport; defining the degree of psychological impairment caused by head injury; identifying the rehabilitation facilities available locally, regionally, and nationally; and increasing compliance with safety belt/child restraint legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103332.

Keywords: Cost-Benefit Analysis, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency medical technicians, Facilities For, First Aid, Head Injuries, Health Professionals, Paramedics, Rehabilitation, Seat Belts/Restraints for Children

Oklahoma City-County Health Department. n.d.. Keep your baby safe from tobacco smoke. Oklahoma City, OK: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program. n.d.. Protecting your child's teeth: Fluoride varnish. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for parents about fluoride varnish (FV). Topics include what FV is, why FV application is recommended for children, how to tell if a child needs FV,and at what ages FV should be applied. Also discussed is what parents should do after FV is applied to their child's teeth, the cost of FV application, the safety of FV, and how long FV lasts. The fact sheet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Public Health Communications Collaborative. n.d.. Fluoride: What it is, and why it matters for individual and community health. [No place]: Public Health Communications Collaborative, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It describes what fluoride is and how community fluoridated water with 0.7–1.2 milligrams of fluoride per liter of water is safe to drink and helps strengthen teeth, prevent tooth decay, and decrease the need for costly dental treatment.

Contact: Public Health Communications Collaborative, Web Site: https://publichealthcollaborative.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Cost, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Drinking water, Safety, Fluoride, Oral health, Treatment

Burns A, Hinton E, Rudowitz R, Mohamed M. 2025. 10 things to know about Medicaid. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 16 pp.

Annotation: This brief highlights ten key things about Medicaid. It provides information on the number of Medicaid beneficiaries, coverage, and financing; Medicaid’s share of all health care and long-term care spending and how Medicaid spending is divided among children vs. those who qualify based on age or disability; and the effect of state Medicaid spending on cost per beneficiary across states. Also discussed are the share of beneficiaries who receive care through managed care organizations, how Medicaid coverage impacts beneficiaries, section 1115 demonstration waivers, and public views on Medicaid.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Costs, Health insurance, Long term care, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid

Bhaumik D, Hedges I, Zaborowski M, Mujicic M. 2025. What happens if the adult Medicaid dental benefit goes away?. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 15 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief estimates the fiscal impact on states of removing adult Medicaid dental benefits for the 41 states and District of Columbia that offer benefits at the limited or enhanced level. It analyzes medical care costs incurred for emergency department visits, for those with conditions such as diabetes or heart disease, and for pregnant women. The brief also provides a review of previous policy changes to several states' Medicaid dental benefits and examines the impact of these changes.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency rooms, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women

Maven Clinic . 2025. Maven’s state of women’s & family health benefits: How rising costs and evolving needs are reshaping workplace benefits . New York, NY: Maven Clinic, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings on the state of women's and family health benefits in the workplace based on two surveys conducted in October-November 2024. It addresses challenges facing employees and employers, including rising healthcare costs, burnout among working parents, and increased anxiety around reproductive health. The report highlights how companies are responding through expanded benefits, with 69% planning to increase family health benefits vendors in the coming years. It discusses the benefits of offering comprehensive women's and family health support, including improved employee retention and reduced healthcare costs. The report includes specific statistics on employer and employee priorities, testimonials from benefits leaders, and guidance for designing effective family benefits programs. Sections cover topics such as fertility support, parenting challenges, men's reproductive health, and the role of digital health solutions in improving outcomes.

Contact: Maven Clinic , , New York, NY 10013, E-mail: https://www.mavenclinic.com/contact Web Site: https://www.mavenclinic.com/

Link

Keywords: Employer health costs, Family support services, Health Benefits Plans, Employee, Insurance benefits, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Reproductive health services, Statistics, Surveys, Trends, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Hannan C, Espinoza L. 2024. Statement on the evidence supporting the safety and effectiveness of community water fluoridation. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp.

Annotation: This statement focuses on the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation (CWF). Contents include evidence showing that CWF programs are an effective, cost-saving, and safe intervention for preventing tooth decay and promoting oral health across the lifespan. The effectiveness of CWF compared with other methods of fluoride delivery is discussed, along with the return on investment of CWF, both for families and for the health care system as a whole. Risks that may accompany CWF are addressed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Community based services, Cost effectiveness, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Life course, Oral health, Safety, Water

Oral Health Ohio and Carequest Institute for Oral Health. 2024. MORE care in Ohio: Medical oral expanded care. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, a program in Ohio conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children’s oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and the CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Hashmi S. 2024. Children's oral health matters for school success. [Sacramento, CA]: California Department of Public Health Center for Healthy Communities and California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about why it is important for children and adolescents to have good oral health to succeed in school. It provides information about the impact of tooth decay on school attendance, the number of children and adolescents who missed at least one school day due to oral health problems in the past year, and the cost to school districts of students missing school days. Information on how parents can help ensure that their child has a healthy mouth and teeth and is successful in school is also presented.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Costs, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

National Council on Disability. 2023. Incentivizing oral health care providers to treat patients with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Washington, DC: National Council on Disability, 94 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on a study of oral health professionals conducted to explore factors and policy incentives that influence their decisions on treating people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and on participating in government programs that provide oral health care coverage for this population. Topics includes research questions, input from the population, input from health professionals, demonstrating a return on investment, and promising practices.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Public policy, Research, Special health care needs

Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association. 2023. 2023 MSDA national profile of state Medicaid dental programs. Washington, DC: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 89 pp.

Annotation: This profile provides information on state Medicaid dental programs. For each state, the following topics are discussed: category of care provided (e.g., diagnostic, exam, screen, preventive, restorative); diagnostic code; description of category; whether adults over age 21, adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and pregnant women are covered; adult fees; whether the category is part of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program; and EPSDT rates for pregnant women.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Reimbursement, State information, State programs

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, Division of Quality and Health Outcomes. 2023. 2023 Medicaid & CHIP beneficiaries at a glance: Oral health. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the oral health of Medicaid and Children’s Oral Health Program (CHIP) beneficiaries. It presents statistical information on the following selected topics: Medicaid and CHIP oral health care expenditures for 2018–2021; children’s and adolescents’ receipt of oral health care, oral examinations, and topical fluoride treatments; and oral health professional participation by number of Medicaid-enrolled children and adolescents served. Also included is information on oral health and overall health of publicly insured children and adolescents, Medicaid coverage for adult oral health care, adults’ emergency department visits for nontraumatic oral health conditions, and oral-health-related opioid prescriptions.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid: Costs, Oral health

mours Children's Health System. 2023. How to find affordable health care . Jacksonville, FL: Nemours Children's Health,

Annotation: This online resource describes pathways to children's health insurance for parents who can not afford adequate coverage or who have limited coverage under an employer's plan. The site includes information on Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), community health centers, and private insurance options. It also describes ways in which parents can reduce the cost of medications, physician care, and hospital services for children with and without special health care needs.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org

Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Children', Costs, Health insurance, Medicaid, s Health Insurance Program

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2023. Medicaid access in brief: Children and youth with special health care needs . Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 14 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief uses data from the 2018 and 2019 National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) to examine differences in health status, access to care, referrals, needed care, and the cost of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) covered by Medicaid with those covered by private insurance and those without insurance. Included are selected demographic and socioeconomic characteristics of CYSHCN (Ages 0-17); their health status, use of care, and quality of care according to insurance status; and the percentage of CYSHCN in each state and the source of their health insurance coverage (Medicaid, private only, or both).

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Costs, Data, Health status, Medicaid, Statistics

Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health. 2023. Office of Oral Health. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Connecticut Department of Health's Office of Oral Health. It provides an overview of the office and discusses its vision, oral disease prevention, school-based dental sealant programs, community water fluoridation (CWF), oral health surveillance, and medical-dental integration in the state. Statistical information on the percentage of students in third grade with dental sealants, adult dental visits, and amount saved as a result of CWF and dental sealant placement is provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Connecticut, Costs, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs, School health services, State agencies, State programs

Hawaii Oral Health Coalition. [2022]. Reinstating Hawai'i adult Medicaid dental benefits in 2022. Honolulu, HI: Hawaii Public Health Institute, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the effects of reinstating Hawai'i's adult Medicaid dental benefits in 2022. Statistics are presented on the number of Hawai'i Medicaid beneficiaries with no diagnostic, preventive, or dental coverage and who visited the emergency department (ED) with a dental-related diagnosis between 2016 and 2020, the total cost of ED visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period, and the percentage of ER visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period who were Medicaid beneficiaries. Also provided are estimated savings from reinstating the benefits as well as information about the association between poor oral health and several chronic conditions and other negative health outcomes. [Produced by District of Columbia Department of Health]

Contact: Hawaii Public Health Institute, 707 Richards Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 591-6508 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hiphi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency room data, Hawaii, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Statistical data