Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Society of American Archivists. 2009. Orphan works: Statement of best practices. (Rev. ed.). Chicago, IL: Society of American Archivists, 16 pp.

Annotation: This statement describes what professional archivists consider to be be best practices regarding reasonable efforts to identify and locate rights holders of orphan works (works for which the owner of a copyrighted work cannot be identified and located by someone who wishes to make use of the work in a manner that requires permission of the copyright owner). Topics include principles, search strategies, documenting the search, and resources.

Contact: Society of American Archivists, 17 North State Street, Suite 1425, Chicago, IL 60602-3315, Telephone: (312) 606-0722 Secondary Telephone: (866) 722-7858 Fax: (312) 606-0728 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archivists.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Copyright

Medical Library Association. 2007. The copyright law and the health sciences librarian. (Rev. ed.). Chicago, IL: Medical Library Association, 55 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses the application of the copyright law on health sciences libraries. It describes pertinent sections of the law, the library's responsibilities within the institution, infringement and permissions. It also gives guidelines for service. Appendices include the text of relevant documents, including guidelines for the use of videotapes and software.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $15.00, nonmembers; $10.00, members.

Keywords: Copyright, Health sciences libraries

Association of American Publishers, Rights and Permissions Advisory Committee. 2000. The new and updated copyright primer: A survival guide to copyright and the permissions process. Washington, DC: Association of American Publishers, 101 pp.

Annotation: This revised edition provides a reference for copyright and permission licensing. Topics include an overview of copyright law, registration, renewals, reversion of rights, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, the Sonny Bono Term Extension Act, amendments concerning exemptions for the blind, and the Copyright Office report on digital distance education. Contents also include a chart listing international treaties on copyright, sample letters and contracts, resource listings, and a glossary.

Contact: Association of American Publishers, 50 F Street, N.W. Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 347-3375 Fax: (202) 347-3690 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publishers.org $15.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-933636-37-7.

Keywords: Copyright, Guidelines, Reference materials

Special Libraries Association. 1999. Content management: Putting knowledge to work. Washington, DC: Special Libraries Association, 86 pp.

Annotation: This book is a compilation of papers and presentations from the 1998 State-of-the-Art Institute on content management. Topics include: acquiring content; licensing knowledge; copyright; managing content; information architecture and metadata; competencies in cataloging in the virtual environment; knowledge mapping; and intranets.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Contact Phone: (202) 939-3633 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org $40.00 list; SLA members $32.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-497-6.

Keywords: Cataloging, Copyright, Databases, Evaluation, Information, Information sources, Knowledge management

Kirsch J. 1995. Kirsch's handbook of publishing law: For authors, publishers, editors, and agents. Venice, CA: Acrobat Books, 276 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is a survey of the laws that apply to the publishing industry in general and to the work of authors, editors, agents, and publishers in particular. Topics addressed include: idea protection; co-authorship and copyright; agents and packagers; book publishing contracts; manuscript preparation; copyright formalities; electronic and other subsidiary rights; and remaindering, reversion, and copyright termination. The book concludes with a collection of briefs and legal forms.

Keywords: Copyrights, Publishing law, Reference materials

Gasaway LN, Wiant SK. 1994. Libraries and copyright: A guide to copyright law in the 1990s. Washington, DC: Special Libraries Association, 271 pp.

Annotation: This book focuses on the current application of the U.S. Copyright Law in libraries. It considers various aspects of this issue such as photocopying and others forms of reproducing materials; licensing; audiovisual and nonprint items; computers, software, and databases; and special problems including unpublished works, educational copying and library reserves. It also provides information on international copyright issues, and considers British and Canadian copyright laws.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-407-0.

Keywords: Copyright, Libraries

Johnson P, MacEwan B, eds. 1994. Collection management and development: Issues in an electronic age - Proceedings of the Advanced Collection Management and Development Institute, Chicago, Illinois, March 26-28, 1993. Chicago, IL: American Library Association, 148 pp. (ALCTS papers on library technical services and collection; no. 5)

Annotation: These papers deal with various aspects of collection development in a time of tight budgets, cultural diversity in staff and clients, need to compete for resources, and ever more expensive yet important technology. Sections cover administration, financing, and the impact of new technologies.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433 ext. 5036 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8389-3447-1.

Keywords: Computers, Copyright, Financing, Information systems, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Planning, Program evaluation
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.