Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Ranji U, Gomez I, and Salganicoff A (KFF); Rosenzweig C, Kellenberg R, Gifford K (Health Management Associates). 2022. Medicaid coverage of family planning benefits: Findings from a 2021 state survey. Menlo Park, CA: Kaiser Family Foundation , 54 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a 2021 survey of state Medicaid agencies on their policies related to coverage of family planning services. The survey was conducted by the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) and Health Management Association.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Emergency contraception, Family planning, Health policy, Medicaid, Oral contraceptives, Reproductive health, Surveys

UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health. 2016. Birth control after baby: Family planning guide for new moms. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health, 19 pp.

Annotation: This family planning guide for new mothers describes and illustrates the various forms of contraception available after giving birth, including IUDs (intrauterine devices), hormonal implants, hormonal injections, hormonal patches, the ring, the pill, condoms, tubal ligation, and vasectomy. It compares the various options according to their effectiveness, protection against STD's, discreteness, and cost. It also addresses the importance of timing, birth spacing, breastfeeding as birth control, and resuming sexual relations after birth.

Contact: UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health, , UNC School of Medicine , Room 216 MacNider , Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/

Keywords: Condoms, Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Family planning, Intrauterine devices, Oral contraceptives, Postpartum care

Community Preventive Services Task Force. 2015. Social determinants of health: School-based health centers. Atlanta, GA: Community Preventive Services Task Force, multliple items

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) recommendations for the implementation and maintenance of school-based health centers in low-income communities to improve educational and health outcomes. Educational outcomes include: school performance, grade promotion, and high school completion. Health outcomes include: delivery of vaccinations and other recommended preventive services, asthma morbidity, emergency department and hospital admissions, contraceptive use among sexually active females, prenatal care and birth weight, and other health risk behaviors. The findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of 46 studies published through July 2014. This web resource also provides links to supporting documents and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Contraceptives, Health education, Health status, Health status disparities, Literature reviews, Mental health services, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School based clinics, School health programs, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Kolander CA, Ballard D, Chandler C. 2011. Contemporary women's health: Issues for today and the future (4th ed.). New York, NY: McGraw Hill, 462 pp.

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women', s health

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals. 2010. The facts about emergency contraception (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 2 pp. (What you need to know)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about emergency contraception. The fact sheet discusses different types of available emergency contraception and the mode of action and side effects of each. Available brands are listed, and regimens are described. A website for more information is included.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Emergency contraception, Intrauterine devices, Oral contraceptives

Morrison J, Borchelt G. 2007. Don't take "no" for an answer: A guide to pharmacy refusal laws, policies, ad practices. [Upd ed.]. Washington, DC: National Women's Law Center, 17 pp.

Annotation: This guide explores laws, regulations, and other authorities that govern the dispensation of prescription medications, with a focus on contraceptives, and provides resources to help advocates find governing and supporting authority to fight against religious, moral, or personal refusals to fill lawful prescriptions. Part one provides an overview of state laws, regulations, policies, and administrative decisions directly addressing pharmacy refusals. Part two discusses other support against refusals in state law and regulation. Part three summarizes other national and state policy statements and guidance, such as those from national organizations. Part four outlines pharmacy policies on refusals, transfers, and stocking. Part five highlights selected cases brought by pharmacists claiming a right to refuse. Conclusions are offered along with extensive references.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptives, Emergency contraception, Patient rights, Pharmacies, Prescription drugs, Professional ethics, Regulations, Right to refuse treatment, Right to treatment, Treatment refusal

National Women's Law Center. 2007. Pharmacy refusals 101. Washington, DC: National Women's Law Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines issues over refusals of pharmacies to fill prescriptions for contraceptives, particularly emergency contraceptives. Topics include (1) prescription contraception as basic health care for women, (2) increases in refusals to dispense contraception, (3) laws governing the practice of pharmacy, (4) legislative and administrative responses to pharmacist refusals, (5) public opinion, and (6) how to respond to a pharmacist's refusal.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptives, Emergency contraception, Patient rights, Pharmacies, Prescription drugs, Professional ethics, Right to refuse treatment, Right to treatment

National Women's Law Center. 2007. Fact sheet: Emergency contraception. Washington, DC: National Women's Law Center, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about emergency contraception (EC). Topics include its time-sensitive nature in preventing pregnancy, the importance of contraception in preventing unwanted pregnancy and family planning, the safety and effectiveness of EC, barriers to obtaining EC, and how to get EC. Footnotes are provided.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptives, Emergency contraception, Family planning, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Abma JC, Martinez GM, Mosher WD, Dawson BS. 2004. Teenagers in the United States: Sexual activity, contraceptive use, and childbearing, 2002. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 87 pp. (Vital and health statistics: Series 23, Data from the National Survey of Family Growth; no. 24)

Annotation: This report presents national estimates of sexual activity, contraceptive use, and births among males and females ages 15-19 in the United States in 2002 from the National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG). Data are also presented from the 1988 and 1995 NSFGs and from the 1988 and 1995 National Survey of Adolescent Males. The report, which includes an abstract and highlights, also discusses the background and the methods and provides results and conclusions. Extensive statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Three appendices include technical notes on methods, definitions of terms, and supplementary tables. References are included.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 2005-1976.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Childbirth, Contraceptives, Data, Surveys

Emans SJ, Knight JR, eds. 2001. Bright Futures case studies for primary care clinicians: Adolescent health. Boston, MA: Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health, 248 pp.

Annotation: This manual is part of a three volume set designed to provide information to teachers about the many facets of the Bright Futures Pediatric Education Project. Part one of this manual discusses screening and health promotion in the young, middle, and older adolescent. Section two presents issues of sexuality and reproductive health at the adolescent stage. Topics include sexually transmitted diseases; contraception, pregnancy; HIV and dysfunctional uterine bleeding. The third section presents three case studies in mental health: anorexia nervosa, depression, and substance abuse. The manual concludes with Bright Futures evaluation questions for adolescent health. In 2015 the cases in this manual are available separately at the program website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN100 (3 vol set.).

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Anorexia nervosa, Bright Futures, Child health supervision, Contraception, Depression, Dysfunctional uterine bleeding, HIV, Health promotion, Health screening, Oral contraceptives, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Young adults
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.