Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 5 (5 total).

Ranji U, Gomez I, and Salganicoff A (KFF); Rosenzweig C, Kellenberg R, Gifford K (Health Management Associates). 2022. Medicaid coverage of family planning benefits: Findings from a 2021 state survey. Menlo Park, CA: Kaiser Family Foundation , 54 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a 2021 survey of state Medicaid agencies on their policies related to coverage of family planning services. The survey was conducted by the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) and Health Management Association.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

Link

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Emergency contraception, Family planning, Health policy, Medicaid, Oral contraceptives, Reproductive health, Surveys

UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health. 2016. Birth control after baby: Family planning guide for new moms. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health, 19 pp.

Annotation: This family planning guide for new mothers describes and illustrates the various forms of contraception available after giving birth, including IUDs (intrauterine devices), hormonal implants, hormonal injections, hormonal patches, the ring, the pill, condoms, tubal ligation, and vasectomy. It compares the various options according to their effectiveness, protection against STD's, discreteness, and cost. It also addresses the importance of timing, birth spacing, breastfeeding as birth control, and resuming sexual relations after birth.

Contact: UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health, , UNC School of Medicine , Room 216 MacNider , Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/

Keywords: Condoms, Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Family planning, Intrauterine devices, Oral contraceptives, Postpartum care

National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy. 2013. Contraception calling: Why aren't more young women listening?. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 15 pp.

Annotation: This paper discusses a 2013 nationally representative survey of adolescents and young adults about what women think about contraception. Topics include pregnancy intention versus behavior, what method of contraception single women use, contraception concerns, how their choice of method was made, and what contraception methods young women want.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Contraceptive use, Family planning, Surveys, Women', Young women, s health

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals. 2011. Update on emergency contraception. Washington, DC: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 16 pp. (Clinical proceedings)

Annotation: This monograph provides information on the use of emergency contraception (EC) in the United States. It includes background information and statistics on unintended pregnancies and explains the laws regulating access to emergency contraception (including over-the-counter availability and regulatory status). The monograph describes the types of EC's available in the United States; provides an overview of the literature on the effectiveness of EC's; and discusses the various mechanisms of EC action that prevent pregnancy. Safety issues; the impact of EC's on risk-taking; the impact of EC's on the rate of unintended pregnancies; and the barriers to EC access and use are also discussed. The monograph also examines the role of clinicians and pharmacists as consultants to patients.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive use, Emergency contraception, Regulations, Unplanned pregnancy

Food and Drug Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2011. Birth control guide. [Silver Spring, MD]: Food and Drug Administration, Office of Women's Health , 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide for consumers provides information about the different kinds of medicines and devices for birth control that have been approved by the Food and Drug Administration. The guide includes an introduction to birth control and covers the following topics: barrier methods, hormonal methods, emergency contraception, implanted devices, and permanent methods for men and for women. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Office of Women's Health , WO Building 32, Room 2325, 10903 New Hampshire Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (301) 796-9440 Fax: (301) 847-8604 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ByAudience/ForWomen Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Contraceptive implants, Contraceptive use, Emergency contraception, Pregnancy, Prevention, Spanish language materials