Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents results of a survey of parents with children and adolescents ages 2 to 17 to measure parents' attitudes about food marketing and other influences on children's eating habits and their support for policies to promote healthy eating for their children. Topics include parents' opinions about food industry self-regulation, including the ages of children who should be protected from unhealthy food marketing and whether they believe that individual food companies have delivered on their pledges to limit food advertising to children. The report also examines parents' willingness to participate in a variety of actions to encourage companies to reduce unhealthy food marketing to their children. A series of infographics is also available.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Infographics

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Beliefs, Children, Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Food consumption, Marketing, Nutrition, Parent participation, Parenting attitudes, Policy development

Annotation: This brief examines best practices for and common challenges to engagement of consumer advocates in state-led health care payment and delivery reform efforts. Contents include the results of an evaluation of consumer advocate engagement in State Innovation Model (SIM) decision-making in the six states that received Round 1 SIM Testing grants: Arkansas, Maine, Masschusetts, Minnesota, Oregon, and Vermont. Topics include consumer advocate involvement in SIM governance, support for consumer advocates, transparent SIM planning and implementation, and opportunities for public engagement.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer surveys, Federal grants, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Model programs, Policy development, Process evaluation, Reimbursement, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief presents public awareness about and knowledge of the Affordable Care Act's pediatric dental insurance provision, the consumer experience when shopping for dental insurance within the health insurance marketplaces, and consumer preferences related to medical and dental insurance. Contents include information about the data source and methods, results, and a discussion.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Attitudes, Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Dental insurance, Knowledge level, Market research, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This brief describes adult Medicaid beneficiaries' understanding of the dental benefits available to them and, where applicable, to their children. The brief also describes oral health knowledge and oral-health-care-seeking behavior, comparing outcomes among adult Medicaid beneficiaries with outcomes among those enrolled in other health insurance plans.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer surveys, Dental insurance, Health behavior, Knowledge level, Market research, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This report describes the results of a nationwide telephone survey of Text4baby participants, in the areas of reminders for appointments and immunizations, accessing health information, informing women of health information and medical issues, facilitating communication with medical providers, and helping women access services and make healthy choices for them and their baby. It also describes the perceived usefulness of Tex4baby and linguistic appropriateness for Spanish speakers,

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Mobile applications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, Surveys, Technology

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of U.S. women ages 18-45 who gave birth to single infants in a hospital from July 2011 through June 2012. It compares actual experiences of childbearing women, newborns, and families with mothers' values and preferences, as well as with evidence-based care, optimal outcomes, and protections granted by law. Topics include planning for pregnancy and the pregnancy experience; women's experiences giving birth; coming home with a new baby; choice, control, knowledge, and decision making; variations in experience; and trends.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consumer surveys, Decision making, Outcome and process assessment, Pregnancy outcome, Trends

Annotation: This document describes the results of a survey conducted to evaluate the customer satisfaction of end users of 38 resource centers in order to obtain information about the overall services provided by resource centers and to determine general information about the population served by the resource centers. The document points out areas of greatest satisfaction and areas where improvements can be made.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Consumer satisfaction, Federal initiatives, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Resource centers, Surveys

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward consumers, presents highlights from the Maternity Experiences Survey, a large Canadian survey conducted in 2006 and 2007 to learn about the experiences of Canadian women with pregnancy, labor and birth, and the early months of motherhood. The booklet also discusses recent research and recommendations. Topics include pregnancy, labor and birth, and after the baby is born. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: Public Health Agency of Canada, 130 Colonnade Road, A.L. 6501H, Ottowa, Ontario, CANADA K1A 0K9, E-mail: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/contac-eng.php#general Web Site: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-100-11861-1.

• PDF

Keywords: , Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Labor, Mothers, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Surveys

Annotation: This paper describes a national survey about the social impact of the Internet on health care. Topics include types of Internet or traditional sources used by consumers, how information gathered is used to communicate with health professionals, and who is likely to be using which services. Contents include a summary of findings, the shifting landscape, social media and health, readers and listeners versus writers and creators, the impact of online health resources, and trends to watch.

Contact: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4500 Fax: 202-419-4505 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewinternet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health attitudes, Health literacy, Information sources, Internet, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Social media, Surveys, Trends, World Wide Web

Annotation: This web page provides information about the A Healthy Baby Begins with You baby shower held on April 30, 2009, in Oklahoma City, OK. The purpose of the shower was to improve birth outcomes and reduce infant mortality among African Americans in Oklahoma. The site includes links to the shower agenda (which also presents facts about infant death), a survey for shower participants designed to improve awareness about infant mortality,and a PowerPoint presentation about the survey. Also included are links to three tool kits. The first provides information about how to plan and implement a community baby shower to help individuals, groups, and communities improve birth outcomes. The second present information for media committees in charge of contacting media outlets to publicize the event. The third is a brochure that can be modified for any baby shower event, and then printed.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Community programs, Community surveys, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Oklahoma, Prevention

Annotation: This report provides readers with a sequenced view of how the information consumer finds, uses, evaluates, and favors information resources, including physical and online libraries. The findings, which are based on responses to an online survey, are presented in five parts that are organized to categorize information consumer actions, attitudes, and brand values. Part 1 revies consumers' familiaritywith and use of libraries and information, as well as the information sources most frequently selected. Part 2 reports on how libraries are used and how newer information sources are impacting behavior. Part 3 looks at library brand determinants such as positive and negative attributes, trust, price, and lifestye fit. Part 4 provides unedited consumer views and advice about libraries' services, resources, and facilities. Part 5 looks at consumer differences across geographic regions. A conclusion summarizes findings, and appendices offer supporting data tables and sample verbatim responses to the survey.

Contact: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 6565 Kilgour Place, Dublin, OH 43017-3395, Telephone: (614) 764-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 848-5878 Fax: (614) 764-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oclc.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-55653-364-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Information, Information services, Information sources, Libraries

Annotation: This report provides data from a survey of physicians and patients with chronic illnesses on their use of online medical information and tools. It provides data on physicians' use of online courses and conferences, access to Web sites for professional information, electronic prescribing, electronic medical records, remote disease monitoring, and electronic communications with patients. It also provides data on patients' use of the Internet to locate information about their health conditions, how they use that information, and their desires for electronic communication with their physicians. A final chapter provides suggestions for how health-related companies, including pharmaceutical companies, managed care organizations, health delivery systems, and e-health vendors, can use the Internet in developing their businesses.

Contact: Boston Consulting Group, One Exchange Place, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02109, Telephone: (617) 973-1200 Fax: (617) 973-1339 Web Site: http://www.bcg.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumers, Internet, Patients, Physicians, Surveys, World Wide Web

Annotation: This companion document to Oral Health for Ohio Head Start Children: Compendium of Promising Approaches presents the results of interviews of parents and staff in the evaluation study. Selected Early Head Start and Head Start staff and parents of children in the programs were interviewed about their attitudes and practices related to oral health care for young children in Ohio. Tables provide the interview results on program, staff, and family demographics; child age; staff and parent comments about age recommended for a child's first visit to the dentist; difficulty in finding participating providers and reasons for the difficulty; oral health care payment sources; needs and access to care; assistance to parents; strategies used by staff in oral health education; and additional strategies to improve oral health services for those in need. The appendices include the survey instruments used for Head Start staff and parents.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: State surveys, Case studies, Children, Consumer satisfaction, Early Head Start, Head Start, Ohio, Oral health, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Questionnaires, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This report compares the experiences of California Child Health Plan members with those of Kaiser Permanente (KP) children enrolled through other sources (Medi-Cal, commercial, and Healthy Families) and summarizes the results of four different analyses resulting from this study. Topics include "crowd out", a theory of that parents and/or employers drop private insurance in favor of less expensive, public alternatives such as Healthy Families and Medi-Cal, or private subsidized alternatives like the Child Health Plan; the experience and satisfaction with KP services among publicly and privately insured children; cost and utilization patterns; and policy implications. Endnotes and references are provided. Statistical information is presented in tables and charts at the end of the report.

Contact: California HealthCare Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, California, Child health, Child health services, Consumer satisfaction, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care financing, Health insurance, Low income groups, Parents, Surveys, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This survey report compares the perceptions and experiences of uninsured, limited English proficiency (LEP) adults in primarily safety net hospitals in 16 cities who needed and easily got an interpreter with those who did not get an interpreter. Survey topics include perceptions of hospital attitudes toward the uninsured, satisfaction with medical and support staff encounters, understanding medication instructions and paying for prescription drugs, paying for general medical care, availability of signs and written materials in Spanish, effects of financial experiences on likely future health care use, and implications of survey findings. Survey methods and data samples are outlined. The appendix lists the urban and suburban hospitals included in the survey. Statistics are provided in graph and chart formats throughout the report.

Contact: Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 7th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 654-9911 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.accessproject.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer satisfaction, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Language barriers, Limited English speakers, Surveys, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This policy brief uses new questions in the 1999 National Survey of America's Families to assess the reasons why low-income uninsured children do not enroll in Medicaid or State Children's Health Insurance Programs (SCHIP). Parents were asked whether they had heard of the SCHIP or Medicaid programs in their state; whether their child had participated in Medicaid or SCHIP at any time in the preceding year; whether those who had heard of the programs had inquired about coverage; for those who had inquired about coverage, whether they had applied for either program in the past year; and the main reason why they did not inquire about or apply for coverage. The survey findings are presented followed by a discussion of the policy implications. Tables and charts of the respondents' answers are included throughout the brief. Endnotes and references are provided.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer surveys, Enrollment, Health insurance programs, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: This study guide presents information on conducting telephone and face to face surveys. The study guide is intended for use by students in the social and health sciences. Information is given on telephone and in-person interviews, questionnaire construction, and selection and training of interviewers. Also included are exercises and suggested readings.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $18.95 plus $3.50 shipping and handling for the first item and $1.00 for each additional item.

Keywords: Community surveys, Consumer surveys, Interviews, Questionnaires

Annotation: This book is designed to assist federally qualified health centers in conducting an environmental analysis of their market area in order to more fully participate in managed care. Sections cover the characteristics of communities served, consumer preferences, trends in health care delivery, traditional partners, market position of managed care plans/networks, and alternatives for integration. Each section contains a brief discussion, suggested sources of information, a series of questions, and an action plan. Appendices include a patient satisfaction survey; a list of state, regional, and national organizations; and managed care organization performance indicators.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Community surveys, Consumer surveys, Health care delivery, Managed care, Market research, Program evaluation, Resource centers, Trends

Annotation: This report contains the results of surveys of adolescent patients at family planning clinics. Their answers and the aspects of clinics that were most important to them are highlighted, confidentiality, location, and convenience. Copies of the surveys used and a list of related organizations are included.

Contact: Urban and Rural Systems Associates, Pier 1-1/2, San Francisco, CA 94111, Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Consumers, Family planning, Family planning clinics, Federal programs, Surveys

Annotation: This is the executive summary of a report which contains the results of surveys of adolescent patients at family planning clinics. Findings, constraints, and recommendations are discussed.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Consumers, Family planning, Family planning clinics, Federal programs, Surveys