Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides guidance for businesses and manufacturers about U.S. government standards and requirements for full-size infant cribs. Contents include the definition and purpose of the infant full-size crib. Topics also include limits for surface coating and lead and phthalate content, testing and certification; registration cards; and tracking labels. The type of mattresses that should be used in a full-size crib are also discussed. Companion guidance on non-full-size infant cribs is also available.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer protection, Infant equipment, Infants, Product safety, Standards

Annotation: This resource provides guidance for businesses and manufacturers about U.S. government standards and requirements for non-full-size infant cribs. Contents include the definition of the non-full-size infant crib, the reason for the standard, where the full standard can be found, which cribs must comply with the standard, and principal requirements for the cribs and their mattresses. Companion guidance on full-size infant cribs is also available.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer protection, Infant equipment, Infants, Product safety, Standards

Annotation: This resource describes types, ingredients, and components of electronic nicotine delivery systems (ENDS) including vaporizers, vape pens, hookah pens, electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes), and e-pipes. Additional topics include what ENDS look like; statistics about ENDS use; FDA regulation of ENDS; manufacturing ENDS and e-liquids; nicotine warning statement; retail sales of ENDS, e-liquids, or their components or parts made or derived from tobacco; vape shops that mix e-liquids or modify products; importing ENDS and e-liquids; and reporting adverse experiences and product violations.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Office of Consumer Affairs, , 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-9767 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fda.gov/consumer/default.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Consumer protection, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Public health, Regulations, Smoking

Annotation: This resource provides information about actions taken to regulate the sale and use of electronic vaporizing products. Contents include a summary of policies from states and territories that prohibit sales of electronic cigarettes or vaping/alternative tobacco products to minors. Information from states that have passed legislation but are waiting for governor's action is also provided. The content is updated as new laws are adopted.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer protection, Nicotine, Public policy, Regulation, Smoking, State initiatives

Annotation: This supplement includes a set of articles that emerged from learning communities convened to explore health care purchasing strategies for children and youth special health care needs (CYSHCN) from multiple perspectives. Topics include dimensions of values-based purchasing (VBP), values-based insurance design (VBID), and other innovative financing strategies, and their impact on CYSHCN.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer protection, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Pediatric care, Reimbursement

Annotation: This document for young adults ages 18 to 34 contains information on health insurance. Topics include the Affordable Care Act, what's available to young adults, how tax credits work, and what's included in preventive care.

Contact: Young Invincibles, 1411 K Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 734-6519 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://younginvincibles.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Tax credits, Young adults

Annotation: This report looks at how well the health insurance marketplace, composed of the federally-facilitated marketplace (Healthcare.gov) and 14 state-run marketplaces, is providing consumers with key information about available health plans. The report also assesses tools and promising practices that marketplace websites are employing to enhance the consumer browsing experience and to support informed decision-making.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1725 Eye St. NW, Suite 950, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 986-2600 Fax: (202) 986-2539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• 2018
• 2016

Keywords: Consumer education, Consumer protection, Consumers, Decision making, Federal health insurance programs, Health insurance

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of the landscape of value-based purchasing, recommendations for monitoring and evaluating these innovative financing strategies, and care delivery models and the potential impact on children with medical complexity. Topics include pay-for-performance models, accountable care organizations, and bundled payments; and population, clinical, and quality metrics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer protection, Evaluation, Financing, Health care delivery, Health insurance, Model programs, Policy development, Reimbursement, Special health care needs

Annotation: This plan describes how the federal government views the health information technology (health IT) landscape and articulates federal values and priorities. It also identifies government actions that will be most impactful in the future. Topics include the federal health IT vision and mission, principles, and goals for improving health and well-being and progressing to a person-centered infrastructure; how health IT helps users manage systemic transformation; federal efforts to modernize the nation's health IT infrastructure; strategic plan development and implementation; and measurement and reporting.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Confidentiality, Consumer protection, Federal initiatives, Health care delivery, Health information, Measures, Public health infrastructure, Standards, Strategic planning, Systems development, Technology

Annotation: This brochure for consumers explains health insurance terms. Topics include costs such as premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, and out-of-pocket limits; rules about how to get health care; and tips for choosing a health insurance plan. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of some of the provisions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) that help improve access to coverage and care for children who are deaf or hard of hearing (D/HH). Topics include how consumer protections in the ACA impact children who are D/HH, provisions that help children who are D/HH receive needed health benefits, how implementation of the ACA varies by state, how the ACA supports hearing screening of infants and young children, coverage for hearing screening, and how programs and families can help improve future policies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah Sate University, 2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322, Telephone: (435) 797-3584 Web Site: http://www.infanthearing.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer protection, Deafness, Health care reform, Health insurance, Hearing disorders, Infants, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Screening, Special health care needs

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find resources about the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and learn more about the ACA and how it will affect them. The brief includes resources to help families learn more about their health coverage options under the ACA and find health insurance and health care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Directories, Families, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This guide for families uses frequently asked questions to explain the children’s dental benefit (a provision of the Affordable Care Act) and how it works. Topics include guidance on buying coverage through a state marketplace, eligibility, covered services, the difference between dental coverage sold separately vs. as part of a medical plan, premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, out-of-pocket limits, and consumer protections. Information on financial assistance, coverage requirements, and buying coverage for adults is also included.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Consumer protection, Costs, Dental insurance, Eligibility determination, Families, Financing, Health care reform, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This paper presents findings from two studies on electronic cigarette (e-cigarette) advertising and its impact on youth. Contents include information about use and awareness among adolescents and young adults, and industry advertising. Topics include awareness of e-cigarette advertising, spending across channels and by brand, and advertising reach across TV and print among adolescents ages 12-17 and among young adults ages 18-24. The appendix contains information on the demographics of study participants and the e-cigarette brands included in the analysis.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Advertising, Consumer protection, Mass media, Nicotine, Poisons, Research, Smoking, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This report describes key ways in which tobacco companies design and manipulate their products to attract new youth smokers, create and sustain addiction, mislead consumers to think that they are reducing their risk of disease, and make it more difficult for users to quit.

Contact: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, National Center for Tobacco-Free Kids, 1400 Eye Street, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-5469 Fax: (202) 296-5427 Web Site: http://www.tobaccofreekids.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education, Consumer protection, Drug addiction, Industry, Marketing, Nicotine, Tobacco, Product safety, Research, Risk assessment

Annotation: This report documents alcohol industry self-regulatory initiatives designed to address concerns about underage exposure to alcohol marketing. Contents include data about how industry members allocate marketing expenditures; compliance with its advertising placement standard; online and digital marketing, including privacy practices; product placements in entertainment media; and external review of complaints related to self-regulatory code compliance. The report provides the data in an aggregate, anonymous fashion.

Contact: Federal Trade Commission, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20580, Telephone: (202) 326-2222 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ftc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Advertising, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Consumer protection, Costs, Data, Industry, Marketing, Regulations

Annotation: This brief describes the barriers that people of color face disproportionately in gaining access to necessary health care, components of an adequate health care provider network, and policies to help achieve such networks in private insurance plans. Topics include health disparities; geographic distribution, numbers, and types of health care providers; transportation, language, and culturally-competent care; hours and timeliness of care; and consumer rights under the Affordable Care Act including access to community essential providers. The brief provides examples from states and information on advocating for provider network standards to protect diverse communities.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer protection, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Health insurance, Networking, Patient rights, Policy development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief identifies key issues affecting access to sensitive services for young people in California under health reform, summarizes current federal and state confidentiality guidelines with special attention to the role of electronic health records (EHR), and highlights EHR challenges and opportunities to protect confidentiality while providing sensitive services.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, California, Confidentiality, Consumer protection, Guidelines, Health care reform, Medical records management, Policy development, Young adults

Annotation: This brief presents public awareness about and knowledge of the Affordable Care Act's pediatric dental insurance provision, the consumer experience when shopping for dental insurance within the health insurance marketplaces, and consumer preferences related to medical and dental insurance. Contents include information about the data source and methods, results, and a discussion.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Attitudes, Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Dental insurance, Knowledge level, Market research, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This brief describes adult Medicaid beneficiaries' understanding of the dental benefits available to them and, where applicable, to their children. The brief also describes oral health knowledge and oral-health-care-seeking behavior, comparing outcomes among adult Medicaid beneficiaries with outcomes among those enrolled in other health insurance plans.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer surveys, Dental insurance, Health behavior, Knowledge level, Market research, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act