Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This kit provides information for people in Nebraska about how to promote oral health in infants and children. Topics include oral hygiene for infants, the importance of primary teeth, and tooth eruption. Also discussed are oral hygiene tools (e.g., oral finger swabs, toothbrushes, timers) to use for infants and children of varying ages.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Letter
• Parent Fact Sheet

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Nebraska, State information, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for pregnant women focuses on the importance and safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. Common oral health issues experienced during pregnancy, as well as their causes, are discussed, along with myths and facts about receiving oral health care during pregnancy. Steps for maintain good oral health during pregnancy are included.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, Oral Health Branch, Family Health Services Bureau, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Suite 1350, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5675 Secondary Telephone: (334) 206-2950 Web Site: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/oralhealth/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer information materials, Gingivitis, Health care utilization, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnant women, Prevention

Annotation: This mobile application for pregnant women provides access to health advice and health care services offered by the Wyoming Department of Health. Features include week-by-week updates, a due date calculator, a weight gain calculator, pregnancy milestones, daily tips and affirmations, symptoms and issues, personalized healthy pregnancy actions, pregnancy programs from major health plans, and the BabyBoost relaxation tool. A version for women enrolled in Medicaid provides access to a nurse-staffed call line and other Medicaid-specific referral services.

Contact: Wyoming Department of Health, 401 Hathaway Building, Fourth Floor, Cheyenne, WY 82002 , Telephone: (307) 777-7656 Secondary Telephone: (866) 571-0944 Fax: (307) 777-7439 Web Site: http://wdh.state.wy.us Available from the website.

• IOS
• Android

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Information services, Medicaid, Mobile applications, Pregnant women, Public health services, Referrals, Technology, Wyoming

Annotation: This website for parents of infants provides information about gastroesphageal reflux (GER) in infants.Topics include what GER is, GER symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, points to remember, and research.

Contact: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niddk.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 06–5419.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer information materials, Diagnosis, Gastrointestinal diseases, Infant behavior, Infant health, Research, Treatment, Vomiting

Annotation: This video for parents and expectant parents, which is available in English and Spanish, present opinions of experts and parents on the newborn screening process. It depicts how screenings are conducted, what happens afterwards, and how newborn screening results are used. State screening policies are discussed, and parents' concerns about newborn screening are addressed. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: Save Babies Through Screening Foundation, P.O. Box 42197, Cincinnati, OH 45242, Telephone: (888) 454-3383 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://savebabies.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer information materials, DVDs, Genetic disorders, Infant health, Multimedia, Neonatal screening, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website for parents of children who attend child care programs contains current, expert information and resources about health and safety issues for young children. Content is presented within the following categories: caregiver; cleanliness; emotional health; healthy habits, illness, chronic conditions, and special needs; and safety. The web site is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Information sources, Parents, Spanish language materials, Web sites, Young children

Annotation: This electronic resource guide outlines quality health information sources gathered by medical librarians in support of clinical and scientific decision-making by doctors, scientists, and other health practitioners responsible for the nation's health. Contents include an introduction, getting started, content evaluation guidelines, additional help, Medical Library Association (MLA) "top ten" most useful consumer health Websites, and MLA recommended Websites for cancer, diabetes, and heart disease. Each entry provides the Website URL and a description of the sponsoring organization.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education, Health, Information services, Information sources, Public health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brochure for parents of newborns provides information about newborn screening conducted to detect hidden disorders. The brochure explains what newborn screening is, how it is done, and its purpose. The brochure also discusses what hidden disorders are, why screening is important, whether parents can elect not to have their infant screened, screening costs, what happens to blood samples, whether infants can be screening for other disorders, and where to go for more information. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Wisconsin Newborn Screening Laboratory, University of Wisconsin at Madison, 465 Henry Mall, Madison, WI 53706, Telephone: (608) 262-1293 Fax: (608) 262-3257 Web Site: http://www.slh.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer information materials, Disorders, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infant health, Neonatal screening, Screening tests, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource handbook is designed for librarians and others who help the general public locate consumer health information. It covers standard resources for answering health-related questions, discusses the art of the health-reference interview, and touches on such related matters as the legal implications of providing health information to consumers. The handbook provides librarians with resources in consumer health in three parts. Part one discusses consumer health essentials such as decoding medical terminology, understanding health concerns of a variety of diseases, and exploring complementary and alternative medicine. The second part provides recommended resources in both electronic and print formats, and includes a section focused on children's health. Part three gives specific tips for librarians on providing consumer healthcare information including the creation of services, evaluating resources, creating publications, and building successful consumer health Web sites. This handbook also contains a CD-ROM which includes a Web-ready HTML list of recommended health Web sites and a template of the Hathaway Medical Center Library Consumer Health Web Site for use in Web design.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-418-2.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diseases, Information services, Information sources, Library services, Medical terminology, Reference materials, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This Web site hosts text, links, and multimedia resources on breastfeeding benefits, methods, myths and facts, as well as breastfeeding advocacy materials, materials for fathers, and links to similar organizations. Materials include brochures for families, a rap DVD and other videos available for purchase, and free videos and materials from the WIC program.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Sacramento, CA Telephone: (916) 558-1784 Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Consumer education materials, Infant nutrition, Infants, Information networks, Multimedia