Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure describes Patient 1st, Alabama's Medicaid managed care program, and explains how it works. Tips for program participants on how to access health care, including how to obtain referrals and make appointments with health professionals, are provided. The brochure also presents information on participant rights and duties, doctor's office or clinic rules, and emergency room guidelines. Self-care information, such as how and when to call a doctor and how and when to take medicine, is also included.

Contact: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501 Dexter Avenue, P.O. Box 5624, Montgomery, AL 36103-5624, Telephone: (334) 242-5000 Web Site: http://medicaid.alabama.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Consumer education materials, Medicaid

Annotation: This kit is designed for parents to use at home to help prepare for most kinds of disasters. It consists of an overview booklet, a "4 steps to safety readiness" guide, a child identification card, a list for recording local emergency phone numbers, and fact sheets on earthquake, flood, hurricane, terrorism, tornado, tsunami, and winter storms.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disaster planning

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents and family caregivers, contains information to help children cope during a parent's deployment. The fact sheet presents commonly asked questions and their responses. General tips for communicating with children of all ages, as well as advice for communicating with children from age 3 through adolescents according to their ages, are also included.

Contact: Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 4301 Jones Bridge Road, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (800) 515-5257 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usuhs.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Child mental health, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Coping, Families, Military, Parent child relations, Parents

Annotation: This resource provides downloadable breastfeeding-education pamphlets for new mothers. Topics of the pamphlets include breastfeeding, milk quality, how to breastfeed, breast milk expression and storage, taking care of sore nipples and breast engorgement, and what to eat while breastfeeding. Each pamphlet is available in English and Vietnamese.

Contact: University of California, Berkeley, College of Natural Resources, 101 Giannini Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720, Telephone: (510) 642-7171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nature.berkeley.edu/site/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infants, Nutrition

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward mothers experiencing pregnancy or postpartum mood or anxiety disorders, provides questions for mothers and families to determine whether a mother needs help. Information about Postpartum Support International and the services it offers is provided, and a membership and donor form is included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Postpartum Support, International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disorders, Family support, Parents, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure is for parents taking home their newborn that has been discharged from the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). It defines sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and provides advice on safe sleep positioning and environments for the infant at home. Topics also include the increased risk factors for SIDS of infants that have needed special care at birth, the importance of breastfeeding, not sharing a bed with an infant by parents or siblings, "tummy time", proper bedtime clothing and temperature, the use of a pacifier, and a safe crib. It mentions differences between how things were done in the NICU and how they should be done at home.

Contact: American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians, 528 Raven Way, Naples, FL 34110, Telephone: (239) 431-5425 Fax: (239) 431-5536 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaspp.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, High risk infants, Hospitals, Infant health, Injury prevention, Neonatal intensive care units, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: This brochure is intended to serve as a starting point for new parents looking for information about Down syndrome and related resources and support groups. It includes talking points to use during a diagnostic consultation with a physician and answers to frequently asked questions such as (1) What is Down syndrome? (2) Where do I begin to help my baby? (3) How might Down syndrome affect my baby's health? (4) Where can I find more information about Down syndrome? and (4) How can I find other parents of children with Down syndrome? The brochure is available in both English and Spanish.

Contact: University of Southern California University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities at Children's Hospital Los Angeles, 46550 Sunset Boulevard, Mailstop #53, Los Angeles, CA 90027-0980, Telephone: (323) 361-2300 Secondary Telephone: (323) 480-4192 Fax: (323) 361-8305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uscucedd.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Down syndrome, Infants with special health care needs, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This flyer provides quotes from mothers who breastfeed and summarizes why breastfeeding is good for babies, mothers, and families. It is available in Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Indonesian, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/ Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure provides information for parents of children with hearing loss. The brochure discusses genetics and hearing loss; insurance and paying for genetic testing; what parents should do once hearing loss has been diagnosed; why it is important for children with hearing loss to be seen by a geneticist; how to prepare for the genetics appointment; and what happens at the appointment.

Contact: American College of Medical Genetics, 7220 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 718-9603 Fax: (301) 718-9604 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acmg.net Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Genes, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Infants

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This illustrated flyer describes the proper sleeping environment for babies in cribs. It is available in Arabian, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese, Khmer, Lao, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: SIDS and Kids Australia, 98 Morang Road. Suite 1, Hawthorne, Victoria, Australia 3122, Telephone: +61 3 9819 4595 Fax: +61 3 9818 4596 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsandkids.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Non-English Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of Fragile X syndrome (FXS). It describes what Fragile X is; explains what causes it; and discusses the conditions that are common among children with Fragile X. It also lists some of the signs of FXS and explains what parents should do if they think their child has FXS. One side of the fact sheet is in English and the other is in Spanish.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disabilities, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure for parents of a premature baby discusses safe sleep practices that should be followed once the infant is discharged from the hospital. It discusses practices suitable for the NICU that are no longer needed and may be unsafe once the infant is at home. It provides tips on following the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines on back sleeping, safe cribs, not covering the baby's head and face, no smoking, no overheating, talking with others who care for the baby, and tummy time for the awake infant who is closely supervised.

Contact: Sudden Infant Death Services of the Mid-Atlantic, P.O. Box 799, Haymarket, VA 20168, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsma.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Hospitals, Neonatal intensive care units, Premature infants, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations and explains why it is important for young children to receive comprehensive vision and eye examinations conducted by a doctor before they start school. The fact sheet explains the essential elements of a comprehensive eye examination used to ensure that learning is maximized through good vision.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Eye diseases, Screening, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: This brochure is designed for coroners or medical examiners to give to families of an infant or a young child who has died suddenly. It outlines the roles of the professionals that may be involved in investigating the death, gives time estimates for the investigation process, and lists national resources. It can be used for all manners of sudden pediatric deaths. A sample of this brochure is available online; agencies can order a customized version that includes their local information. It is available in three versions: coroner only, medical examiner only, and coroner/medical examiner combined.

Contact: Sudden Unexplained Death in Childhood Foundation, 549 Pompton Avenue, Suite 197, Cedar Grove, NJ 07009, Telephone: (800) 620-SUDC Secondary Telephone: (973) 239-4849 Fax: (973) 559-6191 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sudc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Coroners, Death scene investigation, Infants, Medical examiners, Role, Sudden death, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children