Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

Annotation: The purpose of the Oklahoma Pediatric Injury Control Project was to increase the functional capacity of the Maternal and Child Health Service of the Oklahoma State Department of Health to address the problem of pediatric injuries. The objectives of the project address the leading causes of childhood mortality in Oklahoma - motor vehicle crashes, submersions and burns. The overall methodology focused on utilization of intra- and interagency coalitions. Specific strategies included car seat loaners programs, drowning and burn prevention education activities, and smoke alarm programs. The project successfully carried out objectives related to prevention of motor vehicle injuries, drowning and burns. By empowering collaborating agencies and programs, the project has assured continuation of a focus on prevention of pediatric injuries in Oklahoma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161569.

Keywords: Burns, Car Seats, Child, Community-Based Education Programs, Drowning, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicle crashes, Parents, Poisons, Safety

Annotation: This project developed a model integrated service system of educational, health, and social service programs for families of Hawaiian children (prenatal to age 5 years) who are disproportionately at risk for health, social, and educational handicaps. Four Native Hawaiian Family Based Education Centers were established, with three core educational components: A home visiting program, a traveling preschool program, and a center-based preschool. Activities included conducting an extensive assessment of community needs and developing ongoing ties with institutions of higher learning in the State. Strong health promotion and social service programs complemented the educational focus, and a case management system helped families assess their own goals in each of these areas. Community participation and ownership of the program were critical components. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147023.

Keywords: Community-Based Education Programs, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Education, Family-Based, Hawaiians, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Learning Disabilities, Low Birthweight, Parents, Prenatal Care

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: This timeline tracks historic highlights from the Children's Aid Society's (CAS) founding in 1853, tracing changes in poverty in New York City along with the evolution of CAS programs and services. Topics include emigration programs such as the Orphan Train, foster care and adoption programs, lodging houses, industrial schools, convalescent homes, health centers, and farm schools.

Contact: Children's Aid Society, 105 East 22nd Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 949-4800 Secondary Telephone: (212) 949-4936 Fax: (212) 377-4705 Web Site: http://www.childrensaidsociety.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Community programs, Comprehensive programs, History, Homeless persons, New York, Oral health, Poverty, Schools

Annotation: This two-part policy tool is designed to support a facilitated process for state oral health stakeholders to collectively make decisions about priorities based on suggested criteria. It also provides a planning checklist to move forward strategically. Part one assists state oral health programs in assessing opportunities for socio-political, policy, and systems change. It considers scientific data collection, professional judgment, community input, and feasibility in needs assessment and policy development to improve oral health resources and services. Part two focuses on developing policy actions or systems-development plans to take advantage of or create new opportunities to advance the public’s oral health. The guidebook contains a series of templates that can be reproduced and adapted to meet specific project needs. This tool was previously issued as "The policy tool guidebook: Steps for creating a successful oral health policy tool session" (2009).

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Community coordination, Health policy, Manuals, Needs assessment, Oral health, Public health programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This document provides information for crafting a pitch (a brief, persuasive speech to spark interest in an organization, project, idea, or product that is succinct while conveying meaningful information, aimed at delivering information) to introduce issues to a maternal and child health (MCH) director or Title V coordinator. The document provides an overview of a pitch, lists steps to follow to produce a good pitch, and provides a sample pitch that can be modified to fit specific needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, MCH programs, Oral health, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This summary discusses changes to the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant application, needs assessment, and reporting process and resulting opportunities to promote oral health in states. It describes the national performance measure on oral health, a national outcome measure for oral health, and recommended strategies for action. State performance measures are also discussed.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Community action, Measures, Needs assessment, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents an overview of important elements to consider when incorporating social determinants of health (SDoH)--defined as the nonmedical factors that influence health outcomes--into a community health strategy. It describes SDoH factors, including education access, quality healthcare, strong neighborhood and built-environment, economic stability, and social and community context, and it explains how data provides an additional layer of valuable information. Principles for the ethical use of SDoH, importance of SDoH in identifying barriers to care, tracking the policy landscape, assessing SDoH programs, and common challenges are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Health equity, Initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Public health, Social factors

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources related to the project, including a community-engagement survey available in English and in Spanish, an oral health status and knowledge survey, a discussion guide for facilitators to use with communities to learn about children’s oral health needs in the Worcester and Holyoke communities, and oral health profiles for Worcester and Holyoke. A data sheet that provides information about efforts to improve access to oral health care for black and Hispanic children ages 10–14 in these Massachusetts communities is also available.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Community programs, Health equity, Hispanic Americans, Massachusetts, Oral health

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about implementing oral health services in Washington’s rural health clinics (RHCs). It discusses assessing a community’s oral health needs and how an RHC can address these needs, procuring funding and equipment, determining a dental encounter rate, recruiting staff, collaborating with primary care and emergency services, selecting health records software, and managing costs and patient processes. Getting started, implementing a program, program impact, and looking ahead are also addressed.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, Financing, Oral health, Rural environment, Rural health, State materials, Washington

Annotation: This guide provides information about adjusting fluoride in drinking water across the state to optimal levels to improve oral health outcomes for all Idahoans. The guide introduces the issue and covers the following topics: an overview of Healthy People 2030, including its recognition that community-level interventions like community water fluoridation can help improve oral health by emphasizing healthy equity; an overview of community water fluoridation in Iowa; goals, objectives, and an action plan; and program management. Promotional resources are provided.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health services, Fluoride, Health equity, Iowa, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Minnesota is engaging community health workers in a variety of ways to improve oral health education and access to oral health care. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Minnesota; the Healthy Teeth, Healthy Baby campaign; and the Healthy Brain Initiative pilot. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Minnesota is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Kansas is using community health workers (CHWs) to expand oral health education and care in the state. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Kansas, incorporating oral health into each core competency of the CHW training curriculum developed by the Kansas Community Health Worker Coalition, and reimbursement and certification of CHWs in the state. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Kansas is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Kansas, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about certification programs for community health workers (CHWs) and describes what services CHWs can provide. The brief provides background and discusses how states can determine whether and how to pursue certification. An interactive map showing whether each state has a state-operated program, a privately operated program, a program under development, a program under consideration, or no program is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health, Health care disparities, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Training

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Crescent Community Health Center (CHC) in Iowa has implemented a care-coordination effort using community health workers as a part of the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, which supports the efforts of community health centers in Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Ohio to increase access to oral health care among children. The brief describes the CHC’s goals, activities, and accomplishments; offers background about the CHC; and discusses its plans for expansion. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Iowa, Oral health, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, District of Columbia, Fluoride, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs