Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to provide technical assistance to individuals working to improve student performance in American public schools. Examples of specific techniques that address barriers to student learning and data to support these techniques are highlighted within this document. Areas covered include (1) enhancing classroom-based efforts to enable learning, (2) providing student and family assistance, (3) responding to and preventing crises, (4) supporting transitions, (5) increasing home involvement in schooling, and (6) outreach for greater community involvement and support. [Support in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Community participation, Knowledge level, Learning, Mental health, Parent participation

Annotation: This document presents things to think about as an organization considers how an advisory board might enhance the values it provides. Topics include goals, types of boards (families only, families and providers), size of the board, board terms, member recruitment, preparing and orienting board members, structuring meetings, and empowering family partners.

Contact: Center for Resilient Families, Institute for Translation Research, University of Minnesota, 1100 Washington Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55415, Web Site: https://itr.umn.edu/crf/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Community participation, Family relations

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This toolkit introduces community-based strategies for addressing vaccine equity, drawing lessons from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials' Vaccine Equity Project. It provides guidance on partnering with community organizations, tailoring outreach to diverse populations, and implementing evidence-based practices to increase vaccination rates among racial and ethnic minority groups and in rural areas. The document outlines key strategies, shares case studies and insights from community action agencies, and includes a comprehensive resource section with tools for advancing vaccine equity. It emphasizes the importance of trust-building, addressing social determinants of health, and planning for program sustainability. The toolkit is intended for state and territorial health agencies and other organizations working to improve equity in public health initiatives.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community participation, Health equity, Outreach, Vaccination

Annotation: This resource is intended to guide an organization’s approach to data interpretation, with the goal of interpreting study data in collaboration with members of the community or communities where research is taking place. The guide explains how collaborative interpretation, or co-interpretation, can make an evaluation more equitable by disrupting dynamics that otherwise prevent community members from exercising agency over research about their own communities.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com

• Link

Keywords: , Collaboration, Community participation, Data analysis, Health equity

Annotation: This brief highlights two promising examples of partnerships between child care providers and food access initiatives. Both partnerships received grant funding form Walmart Foundation's Healthier Food Access program, which provides support to innovative programs addressing food access. The brief focuses on three strategies: One that supports children and families directly; one that fosters the capacity of child care providers and their ability to support child nutrition in their own care settings; and one that organizes at a systems level to better coordinate efforts that target families with young children. Included are recommendations for building similar partnerships in local communities.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care services, Child nutrition, Community participation, Food, Model programs, Partnerships, Program development, Young children

Annotation: This brief looks at the rapid rise of advanced analytics and explores the controversies, ethical challenges, and opportunities that it creates for youth- and family-serving agencies. It also presents four principles for identifying effective and equitable advanced analytics tools and includes real-world examples of jurisdictions that are using data science in ways that live up to—or fall short of — the social sector’s quest to develop better and fairer solutions for children, families, and communities.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Community participation, Data analysis, Data collection, Family support services, Initiatives, Model programs, Social services, Youth services

Annotation: This guide is designed to help individuals and organizations in every community strengthen families and prevent child abuse and neglect. Topics include strengthening individuals, families and communities; working with families using the protective factors; using protective factors as a framework for a community partnership; protecting children from abuse and maltreatment; tip sheets for parents and caregivers; and resources. The tip sheets are presented in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Community participation, Families, Maltreated children, Materials for consumers, Primary prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief describes a framework for assessing social determinants related to oral health and creating partnerships to improve oral health among children from families with low incomes. It discusses identifying the social determinants of oral health in a community, mapping and mobilizing community resources through partnership, selecting approaches to take action, and evaluating implementation and impact. Example indicators potentially related to oral health, intervention metrics, and a description of how the framework was applied to select an intervention are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community participation, Low income groups, Models, Needs assessment, Oral health, Outcome evaluation, Process evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resource allocation

Annotation: This document defines the term "family leader" and describes the roles for family leaders in the Association for Maternal and Child Health Programs' activities. Topics include title, eligibility criteria, selection process, timeline, and duties.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Contact Phone: (202) 775-1472 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community participation, Consultants, Employment, Families, Leadership, Mentors, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Teaching, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Volunteers, Work force

Annotation: This paper proposes community schools as a strategy for school improvement. Topics include what a community school looks like at the school level, how community schools support provisions in the Every Student Succeeds Act, and how states can support community schools. Information about community school and initiative exemplars, resources, and partners are included.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 X111 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.communityschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community participation, Equal opportunities, Families, Learning, Models, Organizational change, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Relationships, School districts, Schools, Service integration, Social support, Systems development

Annotation: This resource defines school readiness and provides frameworks for understanding school readiness, and outlines goals and core strategies to promote school readiness in Head Start programs. Additional contents include frequently asked questions applicable to agencies serving preschoolers and/or infants and toddlers and those serving infants and toddlers only. Information about ways programs can establish goals for school readiness and take steps to achieve them are also available.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Community programs, Emotional development, Families, Head Start, Infant health, Infants, Language development, Learning, Parent participation, Psychosocial development, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This document presents a model for helping adolescents and adults integrate oral health advocacy, learning, and teaching opportunities into their schools and communities. Contents include activities to increase oral health literacy by changing beliefs, activities to change oral health habits by changing behavior, and activities to affect whole populations by changing the environment. The plan also outlines steps for adolescents and youth groups to become members of the #MySmileMatters Youth Movement, a national initiative to engage adolescents in oral health and wellness.

Contact: National Children's Oral Health Foundation, 4108 Park Road, Suite 300, Charlotte, NC 28209, Telephone: (704) 350-1600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 559-9838 Fax: (704) 350-1333 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncohf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavior change, Beliefs, Community action, Community participation, Health behavior, Learning, Models, National initiatives, Oral health, Policy development, Schools, Strategic plans, Teaching, Youth

Annotation: This toolkit presents strategies for implementing community water fluoridation (CWF) or preventing a rollback attempt. Contents include information and resources for assessing community readiness, talking about CWF, finding community champions, talking to policymakers, and addressing opposition to CWF. Links to websites and other resources about fluoridation, sample messages, talking points, a focus group guide, a worksheet for identifying champions, and a sample organizational support letter are provided.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Communities, Community health services, Community participation, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program development, Resources for professionals, Water

Annotation: This document describes family engagement as a critical part of Title V maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs and ways that states are engaging diverse populations. Contents include case study examples in Kentucky and Texas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Case studies, Community participation, Cultural diversity, Families, Kentucky, Leadership, Public private partnerships, Role, State programs, Texas, Title V programs

Annotation: This paper provides a framework for health care organizations to improve health equity in the communities they serve. Topics include making health equity a strategic priority, developing structure and processes to support health equity work, deploying specific strategies to address the multiple determinants of health on which health care organizations can have a direct impact, decreasing institutional racism within the organization, and developing partnerships with community organizations to improve health and equity. The paper also describes practical issues in measuring health equity, presents a case study of the Henry Ford Health System, and includes a self-assessment tool for health care organizations to assess their current state related to each component of the framework.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Improvement , 20 University Road, Seventh Floor , Cambridge , MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 301-4800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0831 Fax: (617) 301-4830 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihi.org Available from the website.

• Download (free) Requires Registration

Keywords: Community participation, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health care delivery, Health disparities, Health systems agencies, Inclusion, Measures, Organizational change, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Self evaluation, Social bias

Annotation: This fact sheet for people who assist health care consumers living in rural areas provides information about health insurance eligibility and enrollment barriers and what assisters can do to bolster education and outreach efforts in rural areas. Scenarios and resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Communication, Community participation, Costs, Family support services, Health insurance, Outreach, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Rural populations, Transportation, Trust

Annotation: This paper presents findings from a study to assess the population health strategies and models that critical access hospitals (CAHs) have undertaken, the challenges they have faced, and the factors that have contributed to their successes. Contents include discussion of initiatives and experiences of eight CAHs and how states and others can assist and support CAHs with population health and community health improvement initiatives. Topics include responsiveness to community health needs assessment; strong board and hospital leadership; a well-developed infrastructure; skilled and dedicated staff; an organizational and governance strategy that allows for community partnerships; and a willingness to share responsibility, resources, and credit with community partners.

Contact: University of Southern Maine, Rural Health Research Center, P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104-9300, Telephone: (207) 780-4430 Secondary Telephone: (207) 780-5646 Fax: (207) 780-4060 Web Site: https://usm.maine.edu/muskie/cutler/mrhrc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community participation, Hospitals, Leadership, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This fact sheet highlights the variety of ways that the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs engages families across programs and policy activities. Topics include engaging family leaders as critical elements of the organization infrastructure; developing family leaders and helping them obtain the tools and resources they need to be active participants in the work force; and engaging family leaders in the development of, and a target audience for, program and policy activities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community participation, Families, Leadership training, Parent participation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, State MCH programs, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about a multiyear initiative to increase access to oral health care for children and adults in Missouri. Topics include increasing access to oral health services, increasing the number of providers, and expanding insurance coverage and acceptance. Additional topics include establishing the Missouri Coalition for Oral Health, hiring a state dental director, financing data collection, and disseminating and implementing a state oral health plan.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Coalitions, Community participation, Data collection, Financing, Grants, Health insurance, Missouri, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Statewide planning, Work force