Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This starter kit contains resources to help health centers better understand health equity as a broad framework to explain and address structural factors, social determinants of health, and health disparities. The kit includes a collection of innovative strategies, as well as examples of data and measures to track and evaluate health equity efforts. A 13-minute video offers an overview of the starter kit as well as tips for easily navigating through the available tools and resources.

Contact: Health Outreach Partners, 405 14th Street, Suite 909, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 268-0091 Fax: (510) 268-0093 E-mail: http://outreach-partners.org/contact Web Site: http://outreach-partners.org/

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community organizations, Health equity, Models, Outreach, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This toolkit introduces community-based strategies for addressing vaccine equity, drawing lessons from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials' Vaccine Equity Project. It provides guidance on partnering with community organizations, tailoring outreach to diverse populations, and implementing evidence-based practices to increase vaccination rates among racial and ethnic minority groups and in rural areas. The document outlines key strategies, shares case studies and insights from community action agencies, and includes a comprehensive resource section with tools for advancing vaccine equity. It emphasizes the importance of trust-building, addressing social determinants of health, and planning for program sustainability. The toolkit is intended for state and territorial health agencies and other organizations working to improve equity in public health initiatives.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community participation, Health equity, Outreach, Vaccination

Annotation: This report presents best practices from community health centers that have implemented innovative care-coordination strategies for medical and dental integration. It provides an introduction to The Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, and discusses patient outreach, appointment making, data collection, and integration activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community health workers , Data collection, Oral health, Outreach, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This assessment of Idaho's oral health workforce is divided into three sections. Section 1 discusses Idaho's current oral health workforce and includes information on characteristics of Idaho, access to oral health care, supply and distribution of dentists and dental hygienists, and education and training. Section 2 discusses Idaho's ability to provide oral health care to populations that are underserved and includes information about those populations, health professional shortage areas, access to oral health care by geographic location, Idaho's Medicaid workforce, and community outreach and initiatives. Section III discusses the future of Idaho's workforce and provides information about workforce projections, opportunities for workforce advancement, and workforce planning.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community outreach, Geographic factors, Health education, Idaho, Medicaid, Oral health, State information, State initiatives, Training, Work force

Annotation: This curriculum is designed for front line health workers (FLHWs) (e.g., community health workers, health educators, case managers, care coordinators, public health workers, peer health promoters) who provide oral health outreach, advocacy, patient education, care coordination, health care navigation, and social support for the communities they serve. The curriculum consists of four modules; the first is an introduction, and the remaining three focus on the oral health of children, women (including pregnant women), and adults. A facilitator handbook and resources for FLHWs are also included.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health services, Community health workers, Community outreach, Curricula, Health educators, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service coordination

Annotation: This mobile app/platform is designed to help youth and others make progress towards the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDB) through mapping, mobilization, and measurement. Topics include ending poverty and hunger, good health, quality education, gender equality, clean water and sanitation, renewable energy, good jobs and economic growth, innovation and infrastructure, reduced inequalities, sustainable cities and communities, responsible consumption, climate action, life in water and on land, peace and justice, and partnerships. Contents include portals for groups and organizations to document opportunities for taking action and for reporting progress towards SDG goals. A video on how to use the app/platform and a toolkit for organizing communities are also available.

Contact: Creative Associates International, 5301 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (202) 966-5804 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.creativeassociatesinternational.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Community action, Goals, Information systems, Maps, Mobile application, Multimedia, Online systems, Outreach, Sustainability, Youth

Annotation: This fact sheet for people who assist health care consumers living in rural areas provides information about health insurance eligibility and enrollment barriers and what assisters can do to bolster education and outreach efforts in rural areas. Scenarios and resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Communication, Community participation, Costs, Family support services, Health insurance, Outreach, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Rural populations, Transportation, Trust

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation to assess the implementation and effectiveness of Text4baby, a free text messaging program for pregnant women and new mothers with an infant up to age one. The program is designed to improve maternal and child health among underserved populations in the United States. Topics include awareness, participation, health information knowledge, and behavior among women receiving prenatal care from four community health centers. The evaluation also addressed the role of the public-private partnership and lessons learned about the use of text messaging to provide health information during pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infant health, Knowledge level, Maternal health, Mobile applications, Outreach, Participation, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This report outlines key initiatives aimed at preventing oral disease and reducing the proportion of children and adults with untreated oral disease. Contents include an overview of each initiative and related goals. Topics include preventing oral disease, providing oral health education and care, and strengthening and expanding the public/private oral health safety net.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community coordination, Dentistry, Financing, Goals, Health care utilization, Healthy People 2020, Oral health, Outreach, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Sustainability, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit provides recommendations for schools and community partners for preventing chronic absence and outlines key steps for implementing a Priority Early Outreach for Positive Linkages and Engagement (PEOPLE) strategy. Topics include identifying students and families most at risk and helping them build positive relationships that promote regular attendance in conjunction with a broader approach to nurturing a school-wide culture of attendance. The appendix offers specific tips to help district, school, and community leaders advance the approach.

Contact: Attendance Works, Web Site: http://www.attendanceworks.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Community action, Community participation, Family school relations, Family support, Outreach, Peer support programs, Policy development, Relationships, School age children, School attendance, Students

Annotation: This booklet is one of three in a series that presents step-by-step planning and evaluation methods for community-based outreach. The booklet focuses on getting started with community-based outreach and covers the following topics: (1) finding partners for health information outreach, (2) learning more about the outreach community, and (3) inventorying resources and assets. Take-home messages, references, a case study, and worksheets to assist with outreach planning are included. The booklet also includes two appendices: (1) network opportunities and (2) identifying innovators and early adopters. The booklets are designed to supplement Measuring the Difference: Guide to Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach and to support evaluation workshops.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Evaluation, Health education, Outreach, Planning

Annotation: This booklet is one of three in a series that presents step-by-step planning and evaluation methods for community-based outreach. The booklet focuses on including evaluation in outreach project planning and covers the following topics: (1) develop an outcomes-based project plan (2) develop an outcomes assessment plan, (3) develop a pre-project assessment plan, and (4) develop a process assessment plan. Take-home messages, references, a case study, and worksheets to assist with outreach planning are included. The booklet also includes three appendices: (1) how to use a logic model at different stages of your project, (2) sample data resources, and (3) evaluation methods. The booklets are designed to supplement Measuring the Difference: Guide to Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach and to support evaluation workshops.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Evaluation, Health education, Outreach, Planning

Annotation: This booklet is one of three in a series that presents step-by-step planning and evaluation methods for community-based outreach. The booklet focuses on collecting and analyzing evaluation data and discusses both qualitative and quantitative methods. Take-home messages, references, a case study, and worksheets to assist with outreach planning are included. The booklet also includes three appendices: (1) design your data collection methods, (2) ways to improve response rates for electronic surveys, and (3) examples of commonly used qualitative methods. The booklets are designed to supplement Measuring the Difference: Guide to Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach and to support evaluation workshops.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Evaluation, Health education, Outreach, Planning, Qualitative evaluation, Quantitative evaluation, Statistical data

Annotation: This electronic guide contains ready-to-use outreach models, training and evaluation materials, links to reliable health information resources, sources for “Free Stuff, ” statistics and funding, and more. It is useful for health ministries that are just being formed as well as for those that have been in operation, along with other faith-based organizations, community groups, and outreach librarians. Topics include advice on starting a health ministry, health disparities and the underserved, health literacy, useable models and programs, materials and resources, outreach partnership advice, community assessment, health statistic resources, and funding tips and opportunities.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Building 38, Room B1-E03, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (800)338-7657 Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Community health services, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Public private partnerships, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This guide provides strategies and outreach materials to help coaches ensure that children get the health coverage they need. The guide is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Connecting Kids to Coverage Challenge, which calls upon leaders in government, schools, and communities across the country to reach out and enroll all children eligible for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Contents include tips for getting the word out, potential partner organizations, getting media coverage and preparing a media pitch, and resources.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Athletes, Children', Community outreach, Mass media, Medicaid, National initiatives, Public awareness campaigns, Students, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief outlines Massachusetts community health centers' efforts to provide outreach and enrollment assistance under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act to low-income, uninsured Americans.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Enrollment, Health insurance, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State initiatives, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This paper presents findings on public health insurance eligibility and enrollment improvement efforts, past foundation investments, and current and historic efforts to streamline eligibility and enrollment processes. Topics include characteristics of an effective eligibility and enrollment process, the mandates and investments under federal health reform intended to improve the consumer experience of applying for or renewing publicly subsidized health insurance coverage, how foundations have supported improvements in the eligibility and enrollment processes for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program in the past and lessons learned from these efforts, and potential foundation investment priorities to ensure full use of the coverage continuum.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community participation, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foundations, Health care reform, Health insurance, Outreach, Uninsured persons

Annotation: The ten guidelines presented in this document are grouped into three broad categories: person-focused, community-focused, and program-focused. Under each guideline, several possible strategies for implementation are suggested. Guideline topics include access to care, health education, outreach-centered case management, behavioral health support, clinical outreach, eligibility assistance, community-based outreach, advocacy, community collaboration, and program planning and evaluation. The guidelines and accompanying strategies are intended to provide direction for how to most effectively use outreach to increase access to and utilization of comprehensive primary health care services in underserved communities.

Contact: Health Outreach Partners, 405 14th Street, Suite 909, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 268-0091 Fax: (510) 268-0093 E-mail: http://outreach-partners.org/contact Web Site: http://outreach-partners.org/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Communities, Community based services, Community health services, Guidelines, Outreach, Underserved communities