Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This blog post explains how states are sustaining, developing, and partnering with the community health worker (CHW) workforce and describes how states are leveraging Medicaid strategies to finance CHWs. Included is a link to a 50-state Medicaid tracker that provides details on state CHW models, including certification and training, Medicaid reimbursement, other funding mechanisms, state legislation, and key partnerships.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health aides, Community health workers, Health policy, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This report examines how state and territorial health agencies can advance sustainable financing for community health worker (CHW) programs as COVID-19-related grant funding expires and new Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement opportunities emerge. It presents strategies for state/territorial health agencies to establish clear CHW policies, support effective implementation of Medicaid and Medicare CHW policies, help community-based organizations develop sustainable funding models, and align CHW training and certification programs with financing opportunities. The report includes examples from multiple states' approaches to CHW program sustainability and provides detailed appendices on state staffing structures, relevant federal grants, and CHW-related strategies in state health improvement plans.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Financing, Health agencies, Medicaid, Medicare, Models, Policy development, State initiatives

Annotation: This article from Health Affairs Forefront examines lessons learned from California's experience with perinatal community health workers (CHWs) and provides recommendations for policy makers designing similar programs. It discusses how perinatal CHWs can help address disparities in maternal health outcomes by providing culturally appropriate support throughout pregnancy and postpartum periods. The authors, drawing from 15 years of experience in California's Medicaid system, outline key considerations including adequate reimbursement rates, payment flexibility for services provided in both clinical and community settings, program coordination to prevent inefficiencies, standardized data collection methods, and support systems to prevent CHW burnout. The document includes specific examples from programs at San Francisco General Hospital and Los Angeles County, and discusses implications for state Medicaid programs participating in CMS's new Transforming Maternal Health Model.

Contact: Health Affairs, 1220 19th Street, NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, California, Community health workers, Maternal health, Models, Payment, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This webinar focuses on integrating community health workers (CHWs) into maternal mental health services. Cosponsored by Funders for Maternal Mental Health, the webinar explores how CHWs can help address maternal mental health conditions, which affect 1 in 5 expectant and postpartum mothers and disproportionately impact women of color and those living in poverty. Speakers include experts from the National Academy for State Health Policy, The Children's Partnership, California Department of Health Care Services, and Connecticut Office of Health Strategy. The session examines state financing strategies, implementation experiences from California and Connecticut, and opportunities for philanthropy to support CHW integration into healthcare systems through Medicaid and other public financing mechanisms.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Health equity, Maternal health, Mental health, State initiatives

Annotation: his webinar explored breast cancer disparities and their impact on different communities. Health centers play a critical role in providing comprehensive care, especially in tackling disparities in breast cancer screenings and care among underserved communities. Viewers will discover how Community Health Workers (CHWs) can bridge gaps and facilitate screenings and care. Learn practical strategies and best practices to implement CHW programs within your practice effectively.

Contact: National Nurse-led Care Consortium, 1500 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102 , Web Site: https://nurseledcare.phmc.org/

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Data collection, Health care disparities, Prevention, Screening, Social deterimants of health, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue brief explains how Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services can help address maternal health inequities. It identifies four key policy areas affecting access to these services: workforce issues including certification requirements, payment challenges such as inadequate reimbursement rates, data collection needs, and delivery system reforms through managed care models. The document outlines state examples and policy opportunities to improve Medicaid coverage, with recommendations focused on standardizing training requirements, increasing reimbursement, enhancing data infrastructure, and exploring innovative payment models. The brief serves as background for developing a 5-year national strategic plan to expand access to evidence-based maternal health services through Medicaid.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy

Annotation: This report synthesizes key learnings from an 8-session virtual learning series held between December 2022 and July 2023 focused on implementing Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services. It presents findings in four main areas: partnerships between payers and providers, administrative supports, training and certification requirements, and workforce development. The document outlines specific recommendations for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to create sustainable benefits that center community-based perinatal support providers' needs and advance birth equity. The report includes detailed speaker quotes, examples from multiple states' implementation efforts, and links to full session materials and recordings from the learning series.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Medicaid, Perinatal services, Professional education, State agencies

Annotation: This online report examines state policies for expanding Medicaid coverage of community health worker (CHW) services, including approaches to authorizing payment and encouraging use of CHWs within Medicaid programs. It presents findings from KFF's 22nd annual Medicaid budget survey conducted in 2022, which found that over half of responding states (29 of 48) allowed Medicaid payment for CHW services as of July 2022. The document details various coverage mechanisms including state plan authority, ACA Health Home options, managed care arrangements, and Section 1115 demonstration waivers. It provides specific examples of recently implemented state plan amendments and discusses state plans to expand CHW programs in fiscal year 2023, including new certification requirements and efforts targeting maternal health. The report includes a U.S. map showing state CHW coverage policies and a detailed table comparing features of state plan amendments in California, Louisiana, and Nevada.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Medicaid, National surveys, Payment, Public policy, State legislation, State surveys

Annotation: This report examines how community health workers (CHWs) navigate maternal and infant health services in Ohio, based on interviews and focus groups conducted in spring-summer 2023. It describes how CHWs work to reduce mortality rates through mental health support, education, and resource connections, while facing challenges like work-life balance, low wages, and poor coordination with medical providers. The document outlines solutions including improved provider communication, addressing systemic racism, and advocating for sustainable funding. Key findings draw from 13 key informant interviews and three focus groups with CHWs, supervisors, trainers, and other stakeholders working in Ohio's maternal and infant health programs.

Contact: The Center for Community Solutions, 1300 E. 9th Street, Suite 1703, Cleveland, OH 44114, Telephone: (216)781-2944 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitysolutions.com/

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Infant health services, MCH Services, Ohio , State programs

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 1.15 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focusing on integrating behavioral health supports in community settings through community health workers (CHWs) and patient navigators. The document examines the essential role of CHWs in addressing healthcare disparities and improving maternal health outcomes, presenting evidence of their effectiveness in increasing access to care and supporting positive health behaviors. It provides detailed information about the current state of the CHW workforce, including demographic data, state-level Medicaid coverage policies, and key barriers such as lack of standardized training and sustainable funding. The brief outlines specific innovations being implemented across states and offers evidence-based strategies for developing and supporting CHW programs, with particular attention to examples from state maternal health initiatives in North Carolina and Maryland.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral disciplines and activities, Community health workers, Community-based services, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Service integration, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , COVID-19, Community health centers, Community health workers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases

Annotation: This brief provides information about certification programs for community health workers (CHWs) and describes what services CHWs can provide. The brief provides background and discusses how states can determine whether and how to pursue certification. An interactive map showing whether each state has a state-operated program, a privately operated program, a program under development, a program under consideration, or no program is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health, Community health workers, Health care disparities, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Training

Annotation: This report presents best practices from community health centers that have implemented innovative care-coordination strategies for medical and dental integration. It provides an introduction to The Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, and discusses patient outreach, appointment making, data collection, and integration activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community health workers , Data collection, Oral health, Outreach, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This recorded webinar provides background information on the global maternal mortlaity crisis and highlights opportunities for birth workers to intervene and alleviate the crisis. Guest presenters from international maternal and child health organizations give an overview of their practice to support pregnant and birthing people, and prevent maternal deaths. Special guests: Andrew Herrera, MPH, MBA, Executive Director of Curamericas; Mario Rodriguez Valdez Ramirez, Executive Director of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Juany Valdez, Head Nurse of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Nick Pearson, Founder and Co-Executive Director of Jacranda Health; Chanel Porchia-Albert, Founder of Ancient Song Doula Services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Doulas, International health, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, Pregnancy, Prevention, Social support

Annotation: This trainer's manual provides guidance for delivering a two-session training program to help community health workers identify, support, educate and refer clients with maternal depression. The manual includes step-by-step instructions for facilitating group activities, discussion prompts, and practice scenarios focused on client-centered communication skills, engagement techniques, and educational messaging. It contains detailed appendices with implementation guidance for remote delivery, handouts in English and Spanish, and mental health resources. The training emphasizes building rapport, normalizing discussions of maternal depression, and practicing skills through role-play.

Contact: Cicatelli Associates, 505 Eighth Avenue, Suite 1900, New York, NY 10018, Telephone: (215) 594-7741 Fax: (212) 629-3321 Web Site: https://www.caiglobal.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Depression, Education, Maternal health, Postpartum depression, Professional training

Annotation: This manuscript presents findings from a literature review examining the implementation of community health workers (CHWs) to improve birth outcomes among Black and Latina women who have experienced adverse childhood experiences (ACEs). The document analyzes how nurse-trained CHWs can decrease healthcare costs and improve maternal-child health outcomes through education and support services. It outlines evidence that CHWs help reduce preterm births and low birth weight infants, particularly through home visits and culturally appropriate care. The review includes systematic reviews, qualitative research studies, prospective cohort studies, and longitudinal analyses published between 2017-2022, focusing on populations experiencing low income and poor birth outcomes.

Contact: University of San Francisco, School of Nursing and Health Professions , 2130 Fulton Street, San Francisco , CA 94117-1080, Telephone: (415)422-5555 Web Site: https://www.usfca.edu/nursing

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Cultural competence, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, MCH Services, Preterm birth, Prevention, Vulnerability

Annotation: This guide discusses best practices in (1) recruiting and hiring community health workers (CHWs) and peers for the communities they are serving and providing them with professional development opportunities, (2) integrating CHWs and peers into health centers, and (3) retaining CHWs and peers. The guide also discusses the value of CHWs and peers and screening for social determinants of health. Findings from health center workforce focus groups are presented, and practical considerations related to the COVID-19 pandemic are discussed. A case study is included.

Contact: CSH, 61 Broadway, Suite 2300, New York, NY 10006, Telephone: (212) 986-2966 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.csh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health, Community health workers, Disease transmission, Health screening, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Virus diseases

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned that can help states build, sustain, or expand partnerships with community health workers (CHWs). It discusses engaging CHWs and other community-based stakeholders in policymaking to inform CHW programs and identify communities’ needs and strengths, leveraging experience from the COVID-19-pandemic response, and transitioning work with CHWs to advance other policies and financing approaches. It also discusses investing in CHWs to ensure sustainability, including through reimbursement of services, building career paths, and strengthening CHW networks.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community Health Workers, Community health, Disease transmission, Financing, Health services, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Reimbursement, Virus diseases

Annotation: This curriculum is designed for front line health workers (FLHWs) (e.g., community health workers, health educators, case managers, care coordinators, public health workers, peer health promoters) who provide oral health outreach, advocacy, patient education, care coordination, health care navigation, and social support for the communities they serve. The curriculum consists of four modules; the first is an introduction, and the remaining three focus on the oral health of children, women (including pregnant women), and adults. A facilitator handbook and resources for FLHWs are also included.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health services, Community health workers, Community outreach, Curricula, Health educators, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service coordination

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives