Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: The purpose of the Oklahoma Pediatric Injury Control Project was to increase the functional capacity of the Maternal and Child Health Service of the Oklahoma State Department of Health to address the problem of pediatric injuries. The objectives of the project address the leading causes of childhood mortality in Oklahoma - motor vehicle crashes, submersions and burns. The overall methodology focused on utilization of intra- and interagency coalitions. Specific strategies included car seat loaners programs, drowning and burn prevention education activities, and smoke alarm programs. The project successfully carried out objectives related to prevention of motor vehicle injuries, drowning and burns. By empowering collaborating agencies and programs, the project has assured continuation of a focus on prevention of pediatric injuries in Oklahoma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161569.

Keywords: Burns, Car Seats, Child, Community-Based Education Programs, Drowning, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicle crashes, Parents, Poisons, Safety

Annotation: This project developed a model integrated service system of educational, health, and social service programs for families of Hawaiian children (prenatal to age 5 years) who are disproportionately at risk for health, social, and educational handicaps. Four Native Hawaiian Family Based Education Centers were established, with three core educational components: A home visiting program, a traveling preschool program, and a center-based preschool. Activities included conducting an extensive assessment of community needs and developing ongoing ties with institutions of higher learning in the State. Strong health promotion and social service programs complemented the educational focus, and a case management system helped families assess their own goals in each of these areas. Community participation and ownership of the program were critical components. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147023.

Keywords: Community-Based Education Programs, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Education, Family-Based, Hawaiians, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Learning Disabilities, Low Birthweight, Parents, Prenatal Care

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides comprehensive guidance for healthcare organizations to enhance their climate resilience planning and emergency preparedness efforts. It presents strategies, actions, tools, and resources organized around key elements including risk assessment, health equity, community engagement, infrastructure vulnerabilities, healthcare collaboration, and communications. Developed by the Office of Climate Change and Health Equity in partnership with healthcare professionals, the toolkit includes case studies of successful climate resilience initiatives at healthcare facilities across diverse settings.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Model programs, Risk management

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This report describes the Family Connects Chicago program, a free in-home nurse visiting service available to all Chicago families with newborns born at participating hospitals. It explains how the program offers physical checkups for birthing parents and infants, connects families with community resources, and addresses health disparities, particularly the higher rates of maternal and infant mortality among Black families in Chicago. The report highlights FCC's 2023 results, including 2,649 nurse visits across 77 Chicago community areas, with 96% of participating families finding the program helpful. It features a map showing completed home visits by region and discusses the six Community Alignment Boards that help FCC understand and meet neighborhood-specific needs. The report includes photographs of diverse families with newborns and contains information about participating hospitals, program impacts, and ways to get involved or learn more about the program.

Contact: Family Connects Chicago , Chicago Department of Public Health , Chicago, IL E-mail: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/contact.html Web Site: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/family-wellness/family-connects.html

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Family support services, Home visiting, Illinois, Maternal health, Model programs, Newborn infants, Nurses, Postpartum care

Annotation: This manual provides a comprehensive overview of the Community Guide systematic review methods that serve as the basis for Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) recommendations and findings. The manual was developed to broadly explain how the CPSTF and the Community Guide Office conduct the Community Guide reviews. The manual is divided into two parts that include links to sample materials and full-text publications for more information. Part one describes the ten steps in the effectiveness review process; part two outlines the nine steps in the economic review process.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, Evaluation methods, Model programs, Program evaluation, Research reviews

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives

Annotation: This report from AMCHP discusses how Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) programs can develop diverse partnerships to improve health outcomes and address social determinants of health. It presents several case studies demonstrating successful collaboration strategies, including: Arkansas's partnership with African American fraternities (Brothers United) to promote safe sleep practices and reduce infant mortality disparities; Utah's adaptation of the national MotherToBaby program to provide pregnancy and breastfeeding information in rural areas; Mississippi's collaboration with faith-based organizations to provide dental services through a mobile unit; and South Dakota's Park Prescription initiative that partners with healthcare providers to promote physical activity in state parks. Each case study illustrates different partnership strategies: intentional collaboration with community partners, leveraging national initiatives for local impact, integrating programming within faith-based communities, and aligning efforts across government and health systems to address health disparities and improve access to care for underserved populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Federal MCH programs, Block grants, Case studies, Infant mortality, Race, Collaboration, Community based programs, Mississippi, South Dakota, Arkansas, Utah

Annotation: This issue brief highlights four community-based maternal care programs from across the country and describes how these model programs can help reduce maternal health disparities. The brief includeds background information, a description of the care model, and outcome measures for each of the model programs and offers recommendations to support and expand such programs.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models , Perinatal care

Annotation: This report focuses on the Title V Data Integration Toolkit's use case for analyzing community-based services data through Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). It emphasizes the importance of coordinated and integrated community-based services for children and families, highlighting how data integration can help Title V programs track referrals, monitor progress, and inform decision-making. The report suggests that Title V programs should request a current list of data sources from ECIDS to understand what data can be included in each analysis, and encourages Title V programs to adapt the information to fit their state's specific needs and potentially analyze data by various factors such as time, geographic area, or demographic variables. Overall, this use case aims to help Title V programs leverage ECIDS data to gain insights into community-based services, their utilization, and their impact on children's readiness for kindergarten and overall well-being.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Community based services, Children', s health, MCH training

Annotation: This report examines the status of federal public health funding for states, state public health funding, and key health facts. Topics include an overview of federal funding for states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), CDC's Public Health and Prevention Funding for states, Health Resources and Services Administration's funding by state, state public health funding, key health facts, rising epidemics, effective investments to curb crises and cut costs, and recommendations.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Detailed State-by-state Data

Keywords: Community based services, Data analysis, Federal programs, Government financing, Grants, Health statistics, Prevention programs, Public health infrastructure, State programs

Annotation: This guide for community based service programs (CBOs) provides tools and resources that can be used or adapted to strengthen CBOs' capacity to provide culturally competent service delivery programs. Topics include defining and understanding cultural competency, choosing interventions for diverse populations, conducting a needs assessment, measurement considerations for diverse populations, collaboration through a diversity lens, work force diversity, and budgeting. Each section discusses existing resources that organizations can use to develop or improve their ability to provide culturally competent programs. Tables within each of the sections provide links to specific resources that correspond to particular needs.

Contact: National Research Center on Hispanic Children & Families, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hispanicresearchcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Community programs, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Financing, Measures, Needs assessment, Organizational change, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of a national preconception outreach and education initiative for young men and women and clinicians. Contents include media metrics following the launch of national consumer website and social media platform to increase the visibility of preconception health messages and provide young adults with essential, evidence-based information to improve their health, reduce their risks, and improve birth outcomes. Topics include launch results and analytic snapshot and information about the related grantee and preconception peer educator ambassador programs. Additional contents summarize the impact of a partnership to integrate preconception health into routine clinical care using a learning collaborative, peer-reviewed publications, a website, traditional media, social media, expanded conversations, conferences and webinars, and a national newsletter.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Mass media, Measures, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This electronic resources describes school-based gardening interventions in combination with nutrition education to increase children's vegetable consumption. Gardening interventions provide children with hands-on experience planting, growing, and harvesting fruits and vegetables in an effort to increase their willingness to consume fruits and vegetables. Interventions include outside gardens, microfarms, container gardens, and other alternative gardening methods; interventions may also include nutrition education or a parental component. The website offers information gleaned from a systematic review of 14 studies published between January 2005 and October 2015 that examined gardening interventions conducted with children aged two to 18 years. There are links to Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 and the CDC's Comprehensive Framework for Addressing the School Nutrition Environment and Services.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Community programs, Families, Fruit, Health promotion, Literature reviews, Local programs, Nutrition, School based programs, Vegetables

Annotation: This document presents information on community water fluoridation (CWF) and describes related services provided by the Ohio Department of Health. Topics include technical assistance and resources to promote CWF, fluoridation-assistance programs, monitoring fluoridation quality, Ohio’s fluoridation law, Ohio cities exempt from mandatory fluoridation, the status of CWF in Ohio, and facts about CWF.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Community based services, Fluorides, Legislation, Ohio, Oral health, State programs, Technical assistance, Water