Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book explains the steps needed to plan and implement collaboration between community programs, agencies and individuals who provides services to children with disabilities and their families. This book was reprinted by the Georgetown University Child Development Center as a part of the Workbook Series for Providing Services to Children with Handicaps and Their Families.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community based services, Interagency cooperation

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This study sought to document, evaluate, and disseminate information about two community-based projects designed as models of collaborative interagency service provision for children and families. The project developed a set of recommendations for collaborative efforts, addressing procedure as well as policy and organization. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152890.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community-Based Health Care, Family centered, Fragmentation of Services, Health Professionals, Interagency cooperation, community based care

Annotation: Project AIMS worked to strengthen the capacity of Maine's service system (including P.L. 99-457 efforts) to meet the emotional health needs of young children (birth to 5 years old) and their families. The project objectives were to: (1) Establish a multidisciplinary network of project associates; (2) develop and field-test an emotional health brief assessment tool for children birth to 5 years old; (3) recommend to the service network methods of conducting comprehensive psychosocial assessments of children/families with emotional difficulties; and (4) strengthen treatment services which facilitate attachment, interaction, mastery, and support within families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158608.

Keywords: 99-457, Community-Based Health Services, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Emotional Health, High risk children, High risk groups: Families, L, P, Parent-Child Interaction, Screening Tools

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to improve the health care delivered to children with rheumatic diseases in New England. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158707.

Keywords: Arthritis, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Coordinated care, Interdisciplinary teams, Rheumatic diseases

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106358.

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: This project sought to develop a statewide system of community-based, comprehensive care/case management and family support services. Program strategies included developing a training curriculum for the skilled delivery of home-based family support services by medical professionals, paraprofessionals, and parents; piloting a respite providers' network; providing statewide training on the provision of family support services; and developing and disseminating a statewide directory of trained family support service providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158277.

Keywords: 99-457, Case Management, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Family-Based Health Care, Financing Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, L, P, Parents, Rural Population

Annotation: The goal of the project was to improve the functioning of special needs children and their families by providing locally based clinic and care coordination services in a rural area in Utah. The program objectives were to: (1) Involve parents of special needs children in developing a service plan for their child, (2) improve the implementation of service plans for rural special needs children, (3) improve coordination of services to rural special needs children, and (4) improve adequacy of services to these children. While maintaining current multidisciplinary clinic services, Children's Special Health Services worked through the local health department to place a nurse coordinator, secretary, social worker, and trained parent advocates in the local community. This team built upon existing local systems to improve the functional outcomes of the children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121834.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Advocacy, Children with Special Health care Needs, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Community Based Health Services, Parents, Rural Population, Service Coordination

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: The goal of this project was to reduce the incidence of low birthweight by improving the preconceptional health of women who were at high risk for delivering a low birthweight infant. High-risk women were identified at delivery and were followed for 2 years. Client services were then provided by community health workers, who made home visits and developed a risk reduction plan for each client. Intervention protocols were developed for each risk factor and involved referral to the appropriate resource, followup to ensure client compliance, and reinforcement of professional counseling or supplemental teaching. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196848.

Keywords: Community-Based Health Services, Florida, High risk groups, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Indigent Patients, Infant Mortality, Intervention, Low Birthweight, WIC Program

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce postneonatal mortality rates associated with inadequate parenting skills and poor utilization of prenatal and child health care services. Activities included establishment of a resource mothers program in which church women were trained to assist pregnant women in negotiating the health care and social services systems, and implementation of a teen peer counselor program. The project also established self-sustaining local coalitions to monitor and address problems that contribute to poor pregnancy outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196889.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Adolescents, Blacks, Clergy, Community-Based Health Services, High risk groups, High risk pregnancy, Infant Mortality, Low income groups, Postneonatal Mortality, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Religious organizations, Rural Populations

Annotation: This toolkit provides comprehensive guidance for healthcare organizations to enhance their climate resilience planning and emergency preparedness efforts. It presents strategies, actions, tools, and resources organized around key elements including risk assessment, health equity, community engagement, infrastructure vulnerabilities, healthcare collaboration, and communications. Developed by the Office of Climate Change and Health Equity in partnership with healthcare professionals, the toolkit includes case studies of successful climate resilience initiatives at healthcare facilities across diverse settings.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Model programs, Risk management

Annotation: This web page from the Wyoming Department of Health and Wyoming Medicaid provides information and resources for Wyoming Medicaid moms and new parents navigating health and benefits during the postpartum period. The resource offers guidance on timing and expectations for postpartum and newborn health checkups and details how to access an electric breast pump through the Healthy Babies, Happy Moms Program. For new families, the site provides safety information, including safe sleeping recommendations to reduce the risk of SIDS. The page also addresses maternal mental health and Substance Use Disorder (SUD), providing immediate assistance lines and links to community treatment providers. Furthermore, it highlights extensive free state programs, such as the Wyoming Hand in Hand home visitation program and the Parents as Teachers program, and lists resources for financial and coverage support, including SNAP, WIC, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and assistance with utility costs.

Contact: Wyoming Department of Health, 401 Hathaway Building, Fourth Floor, Cheyenne, WY 82002 , Telephone: (307) 777-7656 Secondary Telephone: (866) 571-0944 Fax: (307) 777-7439 Web Site: http://wdh.state.wy.us

• Link

Keywords: State programs, Community based services, Infant care, Low income groups, Maternal health, Mental health, Newborns, Postpartum care, Wyoming

Annotation: This statement focuses on the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation (CWF). Contents include evidence showing that CWF programs are an effective, cost-saving, and safe intervention for preventing tooth decay and promoting oral health across the lifespan. The effectiveness of CWF compared with other methods of fluoride delivery is discussed, along with the return on investment of CWF, both for families and for the health care system as a whole. Risks that may accompany CWF are addressed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Cost effectiveness, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Life course, Oral health, Safety, Water

Annotation: This policy snapshot examines community-based doula policies across states as part of the 2024 Prenatal-to-3 State Policy Roadmap, identifying doulas as one of 12 evidence-based policies that impact the prenatal-to-3 system of care. The document explains that community-based doulas are trained social service professionals who provide non-clinical emotional, physical, and informational support to expectant parents from pregnancy through the postpartum period, and when integrated into larger support systems can improve child health outcomes, parenting behaviors, and birth outcomes. It identifies two key policy levers for states: expanding access through Medicaid coverage and reimbursement of doula services, and bolstering workforce sustainability through financial support for training and development. The snapshot shows which states cover and reimburse community-based doula services under Medicaid and which states provide financial support for doula training.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Doulas, Medicaid, Policy development, Reimbursement, State policies, Statistics, Work force, trends

Annotation: This report describes the Family Connects Chicago program, a free in-home nurse visiting service available to all Chicago families with newborns born at participating hospitals. It explains how the program offers physical checkups for birthing parents and infants, connects families with community resources, and addresses health disparities, particularly the higher rates of maternal and infant mortality among Black families in Chicago. The report highlights FCC's 2023 results, including 2,649 nurse visits across 77 Chicago community areas, with 96% of participating families finding the program helpful. It features a map showing completed home visits by region and discusses the six Community Alignment Boards that help FCC understand and meet neighborhood-specific needs. The report includes photographs of diverse families with newborns and contains information about participating hospitals, program impacts, and ways to get involved or learn more about the program.

Contact: Family Connects Chicago , Chicago Department of Public Health , Chicago, IL E-mail: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/contact.html Web Site: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/family-wellness/family-connects.html

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Family support services, Home visiting, Illinois, Maternal health, Model programs, Newborn infants, Nurses, Postpartum care

Annotation: This guide provides information for participants in Project ECHO, a case-based learning and community-of-practice model that supports oral health care, including specialty care, so that patients can receive care close to where they live. The guide provides background on the project, including its core principles, information on how it works, benefits for partners, its goals, the structure of an ECHO session, the curriculum, participant requirements, and the evaluation process. Information on case presentations and logistics is included.

Contact: Well-Ahead Louisiana, Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health, 628 N. Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, Telephone: 844-522-4323 Web Site: https://wellaheadla.com Available from the website.

• Guide
• Flyer

Keywords: Community based services, Community health services, Curriculum, Evaluation, Learning, Oral health

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 1.15 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focusing on integrating behavioral health supports in community settings through community health workers (CHWs) and patient navigators. The document examines the essential role of CHWs in addressing healthcare disparities and improving maternal health outcomes, presenting evidence of their effectiveness in increasing access to care and supporting positive health behaviors. It provides detailed information about the current state of the CHW workforce, including demographic data, state-level Medicaid coverage policies, and key barriers such as lack of standardized training and sustainable funding. The brief outlines specific innovations being implemented across states and offers evidence-based strategies for developing and supporting CHW programs, with particular attention to examples from state maternal health initiatives in North Carolina and Maryland.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral disciplines and activities, Community health workers, Community-based services, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Service integration, State initiatives

Annotation: This report examines innovative approaches to perinatal and child health services within Medicaid programs to support communities and advance health equity. The document profiles various initiatives focused on improving maternal and child health outcomes through the prenatal-to-three framework. Key areas covered include advancing a culturally congruent perinatal workforce through doula programs, partnering with maternal and child home visiting programs, integrating community input in program design, coordinating care for mothers with opioid use disorder, and investing in high-quality perinatal and child healthcare services. The research was supported by the Pritzker Children's Initiative and developed with input from a national advisory committee comprising clinical, scientific, and policy experts representing diverse healthcare organizations, academic institutions, and policy centers.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child health services, Community based services, Health equity, Initiatives, Medicaid, Outreach, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Research

Annotation: This website provides a platform for the aging and disability communities to post information and resources about the home and community-based services (HCBS) settings rule and steps each state is making to comply with the rule. Contents include resources, dates and deadlines, documents, news, and other information organized by state. Additional contents include official resources and information from the federal government about the HCBS rule including guidance and a settings requirements and compliance toolkit.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Compliance, Disabilities, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Information sources, Medicaid, Networking, Public private partnerships, Transition planning