Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines how state and territorial health agencies can advance sustainable financing for community health worker (CHW) programs as COVID-19-related grant funding expires and new Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement opportunities emerge. It presents strategies for state/territorial health agencies to establish clear CHW policies, support effective implementation of Medicaid and Medicare CHW policies, help community-based organizations develop sustainable funding models, and align CHW training and certification programs with financing opportunities. The report includes examples from multiple states' approaches to CHW program sustainability and provides detailed appendices on state staffing structures, relevant federal grants, and CHW-related strategies in state health improvement plans.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Financing, Health agencies, Medicaid, Medicare, Models, Policy development, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide provides direction to state Medicaid agencies and local educational agencies (LEAs) that deliver school-based services to allow LEAs to obtain full payment for services to increase access to care for students enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). It discusses the scope and delivery of Medicaid services in schools; CHIP and school-based services; and requirements for billing, claiming, and accounting for school-based services medical and administrative costs. It includes strategies, tools, and best practices in administering these services.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child Health Insurance Program, Community agencies, Manuals, Medicaid, School districts, School health services

Annotation: This report synthesizes key learnings from an 8-session virtual learning series held between December 2022 and July 2023 focused on implementing Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services. It presents findings in four main areas: partnerships between payers and providers, administrative supports, training and certification requirements, and workforce development. The document outlines specific recommendations for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to create sustainable benefits that center community-based perinatal support providers' needs and advance birth equity. The report includes detailed speaker quotes, examples from multiple states' implementation efforts, and links to full session materials and recordings from the learning series.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Medicaid, Perinatal services, Professional education, State agencies

Annotation: This report focuses on the Title V Data Integration Toolkit's use case for analyzing community-based services data through Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). It emphasizes the importance of coordinated and integrated community-based services for children and families, highlighting how data integration can help Title V programs track referrals, monitor progress, and inform decision-making. The report suggests that Title V programs should request a current list of data sources from ECIDS to understand what data can be included in each analysis, and encourages Title V programs to adapt the information to fit their state's specific needs and potentially analyze data by various factors such as time, geographic area, or demographic variables. Overall, this use case aims to help Title V programs leverage ECIDS data to gain insights into community-based services, their utilization, and their impact on children's readiness for kindergarten and overall well-being.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Community based services, Children', s health, MCH training

Annotation: This paper provides a framework for health care organizations to improve health equity in the communities they serve. Topics include making health equity a strategic priority, developing structure and processes to support health equity work, deploying specific strategies to address the multiple determinants of health on which health care organizations can have a direct impact, decreasing institutional racism within the organization, and developing partnerships with community organizations to improve health and equity. The paper also describes practical issues in measuring health equity, presents a case study of the Henry Ford Health System, and includes a self-assessment tool for health care organizations to assess their current state related to each component of the framework.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Improvement , 20 University Road, Seventh Floor , Cambridge , MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 301-4800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0831 Fax: (617) 301-4830 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihi.org Available from the website.

• Download (free) Requires Registration

Keywords: Community participation, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health care delivery, Health disparities, Health systems agencies, Inclusion, Measures, Organizational change, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Self evaluation, Social bias

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This report presents five case studies of state, local, and tribal health agency efforts to shift their thinking and their work from focusing on health disparities to advancing health equity. Contents include efforts to address the root causes of health inequities in Colorado, Oregon, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Topics include racism and unequal distribution and access to resources such as a living wage, health care, and quality education and housing.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Collaboration, Community based services, Equal opportunities, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Public health infrastructure, Service integration, State programs, Systems development

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the strategies being used to expand preventive services and the opportunities for state public health departments to influence and lead such efforts. Topics include how preventive services are currently provided in the community, understanding the Medicaid landscape in states, Medicaid state plan amendments and waivers, increasing access to preventive services through emerging professions, preventive services rule change (what the rule changes and how the regulatory change can improve community prevention efforts), opportunities to expand preventive services through community benefit program, and key points for state health departments on expanding community-based prevention services. Resources are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Community health services, Medicaid, Preventive health services, Program development, Program improvement, Regulations, State health agencies

Annotation: This document reports the nation’s progress toward addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health and health care. The report outlines the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) disparities action plan goals and strategies, describes a sample of the specific actions being taken across HHS agencies to reduce these disparities, and highlights major accomplishments to date.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Goals, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Progress reports

Annotation: This website provides leaders and stakeholders with expert-vetted tools and resources to support collaborative, impactful community health improvement work. Contents include a database of interventions focused on the following four action areas: socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, and clinical care.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community organizations, Databases, Health systems agencies, Intervention, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Systems development

Annotation: This document describes a tool designed to assist community leaders and stakeholders in making decisions about how to invest in their community and address community health needs. Topics include how to find interventions for seven target risk factors related to the leading causes of illness and death in the United States. The fact sheet also describes how to find interventions by target population, by target outcome or indicator, by intervention setting/location, by intervention type, and by assets (people or organizations, physical or virtual space). Information about data sources for interventions is included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community organizations, Databases, Health systems agencies, Intervention, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Systems development

Annotation: This video examines adaptive leadership as a practical framework for leading consequential change in the midst of significant market and sociopolitical transformation. Topics include how local health officials and their staff are exploring innovative partnerships with other agencies in health care and beyond and identifying new ways of operating within and influencing the economic and social conditions of the health system.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Health care reform, Health systems agencies, Leadership, Local health agencies, Organizational change, Policy development, Political systems, Public private partnerships, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, Systems development, Transitions

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and recommendations from a meeting held on January 24, 2014, in Arlington, Virginia, to identify priorities around safe infant sleep and develop an action plan to address those priorities. Contents include background on safe sleep; a summary of best practices; and recommendations and next steps for federal partners, state health departments, community organizations, and others. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Infant death, Infants, Meetings, Model programs, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Program improvement, SIDS: Injury prevention, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

Annotation: This case study highlights how state- and community-based organizations in Alabama, New York, and Texas used the root cause analysis (RCA) process to identify the social conditions (risk and protective factors) influencing adolescent pregnancy in their communities and create action plans to address these factors. Topics include using RCA to engage youth and diverse stakeholders, using RCA to develop a strategic plan, lessons learned from the RCA process, and recommendations.

Contact: John Snow, Inc., 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1211, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: (617) 482-0617 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jsi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alabama, Case studies, Community action, Community based agencies, New York, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors, State agencies, Strategic plans, Texas

Annotation: This fact sheet for families provides information about how foster parents can support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The fact sheet provides background information about LGBTQ youth and discusses LGBTQ youth and the child welfare system, creating a welcoming home for youth, and supporting youth in the community.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Bullying, Child welfare agencies, Community programs, Foster children, Foster parents, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Prevention, Schools, Social services, Youth, Youth development

Annotation: This webinar series provides information for states and their collaborative partners to improve access to oral health services for children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program. Topics include developing state oral health action plan using state data, successful beneficiary outreach strategies, quality improvement processes, engaging more dentists to care for young children, dental sealants, and promoting oral health through the Medicaid benefit for children and adolescents. An informational bulletin about the series, presentation slides, audiorecordings, and related resources are available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Dental Care Page Listing This Program
• CMCS Informational Bulletin Describing The Series

Keywords: Children, Children', Community action, Data, Dental sealants, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, Planning, Program improvement, State agencies, s health insurance program

Annotation: This report describes the results of an environmental scan commissioned by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to gain a better understanding of the issues involved in creating formal collaborative relationships between local health departments residing in different communities. The report examines the types of relationships that currently exist between health departments—how they are structured, how and why they were created, and how well they are working. It also looks at the language used by stakeholders to define and describe these relationships. The report, which is based on information gathered during site visits and in-person visits with key stakeholders, summarizes barriers to improving public health capacity through cross-jurisdictional relationships and highlights considerations towards moving forward with cross-jurisdictional collaboration.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, County health agencies, Local government, Public health infrastructure, Relationships

Annotation: This document, which is geared toward state and community collaborative groups, discusses 10 system-linkage elements that child welfare, substance abuse treatment, and juvenile court dependency systems, as well as other agencies and providers working with these systems, can use to collaborate with one another. Topic include the elements of system linkages; the mission, underlying values, and principles of collaboration; screening and assessment; engagement and retention care; services to children of parents with substance use disorders; efficient communication and sharing information systems; budgeting and program sustainability; training and staff development; working with related agencies; joint accountability and shared outcomes; and resources and tools for elements of system linkages.

Contact: Children and Family Futures, 4940 Irvine Boulevard, Suite 202, Irvine, CA 92620, Telephone: (714) 505-3525 Fax: (714) 505-3626 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cffutures.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Child welfare agencies, Children, Collaboration, Communication, Community programs, Families, Financing, Juvenile courts, Parents, Screening, Service delivery systems, State programs, Substance abuse treatment, Training

Annotation: This online toolkit contains downloadable resources highlighting programs and practices to help local health departments with their work related to maternal and child health and adolescent health. The toolkit is divided into the following categories: programs, publications, toolbox, public health advocacy, press room, and membership. Users may also request help (including help finding a tool), bookmark tools, and submit tools.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, City agencies, Community agencies, Internet, MCH, Maternal health, Programs, Public health, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This site provides access to a January 17, 2008 audio webcast that addresses communication and collaboration between community health centers and public health departments. Topics also include state level policy issues and collaborations that extend beyond traditional boundaries of public health, an overview of local level collaborations throughout Michigan, and the experiences of a collaboration between a community health center and local public health department in Emporia, Kansas. An interactive question and answer period follows. Addition presentation materials are available from the site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Community health centers, Kansas, Michigan, Public health services, State health agencies