Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (80 total).

Williams S. n.d.. Improving Community-Based Services for Special Needs Children and Their Families in Rural Utah [Final report]. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, 19 pp. pp.

Annotation: The goal of the project was to improve the functioning of special needs children and their families by providing locally based clinic and care coordination services in a rural area in Utah. The program objectives were to: (1) Involve parents of special needs children in developing a service plan for their child, (2) improve the implementation of service plans for rural special needs children, (3) improve coordination of services to rural special needs children, and (4) improve adequacy of services to these children. While maintaining current multidisciplinary clinic services, Children's Special Health Services worked through the local health department to place a nurse coordinator, secretary, social worker, and trained parent advocates in the local community. This team built upon existing local systems to improve the functional outcomes of the children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121834.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Advocacy, Children with Special Health care Needs, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Community Based Health Services, Parents, Rural Population, Service Coordination

Danielson C. n.d.. Healthy Foundations [Final report]. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, 51 pp.

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition. 2019. Check-up on oral health: A call to action. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition, 5 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the lifespan, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: http://www.chawisconsin.org/oral-health.php?pg=13 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Hawaii Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2016. Hawaii Smiles 2015: The oral health of Hawaii's children. Honolulu, HI: Hawaii Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report presents key findings from a state- wide oral-health-screening survey of students in third grade in Hawaii. Topics include tooth decay experience, untreated tooth decay, dental seal- ants, need for urgent oral health care, oral health disparities, and community water fluoridation. The report also describes the importance of good oral health and key strategies to improve oral health, including community-based prevention programs, screening and referral services, and restorative oral health care.

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 741-A Sunset Avenue, Room 208, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9022 Fax: (808) 733-9032 Web Site: http://health.hawaii.gov/mchb/home/child-wellness-programs Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Hawaii, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Referrals, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statewide planning, Water

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2016. Friends of Children Healthy People 2020 Grant Program for Chapters: Poverty and child health–Goals, outcomes, and future plans. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: American Academy of Pediatrics, 21 pp.

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

University of California, Los Angeles, First 5 LA, and Children Now. 2016. Strengthening dental care for children utilizing California's federally qualified health centers. Oakland, CA: Children Now, 14 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief provides information about the state of children's oral health in California, an overview of federally qualified health centers' (FQHCs') role in providing primary care and oral health care services to children, and recommendations for expanding the capacity of FQHCs to improve access to quality oral health care for children in California. The brief outlines recommendations for expanding programs to increase co-location of dental and medical clinics at FQHC sites; supporting programs to improve FQHCs' oral health capacity through medical-dental integration; and expanding investments in information technology and personnel to enhance care coordination.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: info@childrennow.org Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Children, Community based services, Community health centers, Dental care, Health care delivery, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Service integration, State programs, Statewide planning

Crall JJ, Illum J, Martinez A, Pourat N. 2016. An innovative project breaks down barriers to oral health care for vulnerable children in Los Angeles County. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 7 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief describes a project to improve oral health care for young children at 12 federally qualified health center clinic sites with co-located oral health and primary care services in Los Angeles County, California. Contents include program goals to reduce barriers to obtaining oral health care for infants and young children from birth through age 5 and strategies and interventions to meet program goals. Topics include infrastructure, practice-management technical assistance, training, quality-improvement learning collaboratives, community systems development, and policy analysis. Additional topics include the location and characteristics of participating clinics, the number of visits for children by project year and quarter, and policy implications.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: chpr@ucla.edu Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Clinics, Community health centers, County programs, Dental care, Infants, Local initiatives, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Service integration, Systems development, Technical assistance, Training, Work force, Young children

Hayes CP. 2016. Increasing access to oral health care in Missouri: One funder's approach. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 2 pp. (Views from the field)

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about a multiyear initiative to increase access to oral health care for children and adults in Missouri. Topics include increasing access to oral health services, increasing the number of providers, and expanding insurance coverage and acceptance. Additional topics include establishing the Missouri Coalition for Oral Health, hiring a state dental director, financing data collection, and disseminating and implementing a state oral health plan.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Coalitions, Community participation, Data collection, Financing, Grants, Health insurance, Missouri, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Statewide planning, Work force

Oral Health Colorado. 2015. Smart mouths, smart kids: Improving dental health for Colorado students. Nederland, CO: Oral Health Colorado, 1 v.

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources on assessing the feasibility of initiating school- linked oral health services and designing and building a sustainable school oral health pro- gram. Contents include resources for generating ideas, assessing community needs, creating a budget, developing a business plan, providing a rationale for activities, framing an idea, build- ing a program, and maintaining and sustaining a successful school oral health program. The toolkit also includes a data application (a targeted and focused electronic health record) that can be used to monitor children’s oral health status over time.

Contact: Oral Health Colorado, P.O. Box 1335, Nederland, CO 80466, Telephone: (303) 258-3339 E-mail: deborah@oralhealthcolorado.org Web Site: http://www.oralhealthcolorado.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Low income groups, Minority groups, Oral health, Preventive health services, Relationships, Rural population, School aged children, School linked programs, State programs, Sustainability

Bolin JN, Bellamy G, Ferdinand AO, Kash B, Helduser, eds. 2015. Rural Healthy People 2020: A companion document to Healthy People 2020–Volume one. College Station, TX: Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health, Southwest Rural Health Research Center, 135 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Topics include access to quality health services, nutrition and weight status, the burden of diabetes, mental health and mental disorders, substance abuse trends, heart disease and stroke, physical activity, older adults, updates and challenges in maternal and child health, and tobacco use in rural America.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2015. HRSA oral health: Across the agency. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Healthy Schools Campaign. 2015. Addressing the health-related causes of chronic absenteeism: A toolkit for action. Chicago, IL: Healthy Schools Campaign, multiple items.

Annotation: This document focuses on preparing educators—particularly school district decision-makers—with knowledge and practical guidance for creating meaningful change to address health-related chronic absenteeism. Topics include background on chronic absenteeism and student health; identifying community health needs and data sources; and case studies, best practices, and proven school-based interventions to address the health conditions shown to have an especially significant impact on chronic absenteeism. Focus areas are asthma, oral health, behavioral health, food insecurity and acute illness. Additional topics include building effective partnerships and capacity to support student health.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Access to health care, Acute care, Asthma, Collaboration, Community action, Disease management, Health care delivery, Hunger, Mental health, Oral health, Policy development, Public private partnerships, School age children, School based management, School districts, Schools, Students, Sustainability

Palfrey JS, Ogilus N, Rosen-Reynoso M. 2014. Community health workers and children with special health care needs. Boston, MA: National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from an environmental scan to identify programs that are engaging community health workers (CHWs) and/or community outreach strategies to enhance services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) from Latino families. The report describes disparities in access to and quality of health services for CSHCN of Latino backgrounds, interventions to decrease racial and ethnic disparities, CHW deployment, and what CHWs can accomplish. Additional contents include the methodology and criteria for the scan, descriptions of exemplary programs, and a discussion of principles and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the HSC Foundation]

Contact: National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services, c/o Institute for Community Inclusion, University of Massachusetts, Boston, 100 Morrissey Boulevard, Boston, MA 02125, Telephone: (617) 287-4370 E-mail: communitybasedsrvcs@umb.edu Web Site: http://communitybasedservices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children with special health care needs, Community health services, Community health workers, Competence, HIspanic Americans, Medical home, Model programs, Quality assurance, Sociocultural factors

Breton NM, Nguyen CA, Schoessler S. 2014. The ABC's of oral health at school: Assessment, best resources and community based initiatives. [Reno, NV]: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 1 video (25 min., 59 sec.).

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 15, 2014, describes oral health issues among children and adolescents and how school nurses can identify and use evidence-based resources to promote oral health and improve access to oral health care. Topics include conducting risk assessments, planning and implementing prevention programs, and mobilizing community partners to leverage resources and advocate for oral health in school-age children and adolescents.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Community action, Health promotion, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Program planning, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health programs, School nurses, Schools

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program. 2014. Oral health program activities in New Hampshire–2014 update. Concord, NH: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document describes data collection and analysis activities conducted by New Hampshire's state oral health program. Contents include information about the oral health status of students in second and third grade in schools participating in prevention programs, as well as findings on community-based preventive and restorative oral health services provided to children from families with low incomes. Information about adult oral health perceptions, access to oral health services, and oral health status are also included.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-3852, Telephone: (603) 271-4535 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4535 Fax: (603) 271-4506 E-mail: http://business.nh.gov/EmailContact/EmailContact.aspx?a=cdpc&b=Chronic%20Disease%20Prevention%20and%20Control Web Site: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/oral/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health services, Health status, New Hampshire, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, School age children, School health programs, Screening, State surveys

Zero to Three. (2013). Improving access to early identification and intervention: 211 LA County developmental screening and care coordination. [Washington, DC]: Zero to Three, 6 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on the efforts of 211 L.A. County's Developmental Screening and Care Coordination Program, which works to encourage partnerships between health professionals and community organizations to identify children at risk for developmental delays. The brief provides information about the program and about the importance of identifying developmental delays early. A personal story about a parent and child who received help from the program is also included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Health services, Infant development, Infants, Infants with developmental disabilities, Screening, Diagnosis, Treatment, Service coordination, Young children

Child Health Investment Partnership of Roanoke Valley. 2013. [Begin With a Grin]: Final report and abstract. Roanoke, VA: Child Health Investment Partnership of Roanoke Valley, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a program to prevent oral disease and address barriers to early oral health care for infants and young children from families with low incomes in Roanoke Valley, Virginia, by conducting in-home education and screening, applying fluoride varnish, and providing referrals. The report discusses the program’s goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, outcomes, product dissemination and use, and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Screening, Access to health care, Community initiatives, Fluorides, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Low income groups, Oral health, Referrals, Virginia, Young children

Child Welfare Information Gateway. 2013. Supporting your LGBTQ youth: A guide for foster parents. Washington, DC: Child Welfare Information Gateway, 11 pp. (Factsheet for families)

Annotation: This fact sheet for families provides information about how foster parents can support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The fact sheet provides background information about LGBTQ youth and discusses LGBTQ youth and the child welfare system, creating a welcoming home for youth, and supporting youth in the community.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Bullying, Child welfare agencies, Community programs, Foster children, Foster parents, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Prevention, Schools, Social services, Youth, Youth development

National Migrant and Seasonal Head Start Collaboration Office. 2013. Effective partnerships guide: Improving oral health for migrant and seasonal Head Start children and their families. [Washington, DC]: Office of Head Start, National Migrant and Seasonal Head Start Collaboration Office, 47 pp.

Annotation: This document is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. Contents include steps and considerations for effective partnering. Topics include the importance of oral health, comprehensive oral health care, financing, collaborative planning, and best practices.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

UPMC Insurance Services Division. 2013. Perspectives on the Allegheny County Maternal and Child Health Care Collaborative. Pittsburgh, PA: UPMC Insurance Services Division, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the involvement of key partners and presents the personal stories of those central to the efforts of the Allegheny County Maternal and Child Health Care Collaborative to address parental depression and child development delay. The collaborative aims to improve health care services and delivery and outcomes for Medicaid-eligible mothers in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, and their children. The report discusses the evolution of the collaborative and its phases, presents results, discusses transforming systems of community care and elements that make the project sustainable, and presents caregivers' perspectives. [Record in process]

Contact: UPMC Insurance Services Division, US Steel Tower, 600 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219, Web Site: http://www.upmchealthplan.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Collaboration, Community programs, Depression, Developmental disabilities, Families, Fathers, Health services, Interagency cooperation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Mothers, Parents, Programs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.