Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report includes information about the purpose of oral health surveillance systems and the value for health jurisdictions in establishing such systems that take into account six general topics: primary audience, communication message, communication channel, message marketing, cultural sensitivity, and evaluation. The importance of translating data into clear, understandable language while also interpreting and revealing the meaning of the results is emphasized. Other topics include background and rationale, guidelines and recommendations, best practice criteria, research evidence, and practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communications, Health systems, Oral health, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This worksheet serves as a template for organizing and strategizing key communication messages. It's particularly focused on promoting female referees but can be adapted for various topics. The 3-page format includes graphs and outlines to help communication professionals effectively describe their audience, segmentations, and delivery mechanisms. By clearly defining the audience, choosing the right delivery mechanisms, and evaluating the implementation, communication professionals can enhance their outreach and impact.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Adolescent health, Communications

Annotation: This worksheet is designed to help organize and articulate a communications strategy focused on improving adolescent health, specifically increasing the number of adolescents receiving well visits at health clinics. It serves as a strategic guide for effectively communicating the importance of well visits for adolescents. It can be used to address the concerns of various audiences (parents, health clinic practitioners, etc.) and aims to foster greater participation in preventive health care.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Adolescent health, Communications

Annotation: This guide provides school administrators, program directors, civic leaders, and other stakeholders with tools to improve the sustainability of school-based approaches that promote students’ cognitive, social, and emotional health and educational success. Contents include practical steps for integrating evidence-based student supports into state and local systems. The guide breaks down policy advocacy steps into four interconnected prongs (mapping assets, building an action team, connecting with the policy environment, and communications) for mobilizing key allies, developing an action plan based on existing resources, accessing viable financing and regulatory strategies, and exploring communications strategies.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Cognitive development, Communications, Communities, Community action, Financing, Mental health, Policy development, Regulations, School health, Schools, Service integration, Students, Sustainability

Annotation: This guide provides tips for organizations and individuals communicating about mental health and suicide on social media to reduce stigma, increase help-seeking behavior, and help prevent suicide. Topics include social media strategy, content considerations on mental health and suicide prevention, language and images, building online engagement, privacy and safety concerns, addressing suicide-related posts by others, and additional resources.

Contact: Entertainment Industries Council, 1856 Old Reston Ave, Suite 215, Reston, VA 20190, Telephone: (703) 481-1414 Secondary Telephone: 800-783-3421 Fax: (703) 481-1418 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.eiconline.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Confidentiality, Electronic communications, Media, Mental health, Social interaction, Social responsibility, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of the factors, programs, and regulations supporting exclusive breast milk feeding data documentation, measurement, and reporting in electronic health records (EHRs) during the birth of a newborn. The guide is designed for software designers, analysts, developers, and implementers, as well as clinicians implementing standards-based EHRs. Topics include the health potential of exclusive breast milk feeding; regulations driving quality measurement using health information technology; implementation guidance including scope, assumptions, and key concepts; breast milk feeding reporting and/or designation programs; future areas of development; and breast milk and breastfeeding resources.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Electronic communications, Measures, Medical records, Model programs, Quality assurance, Recordkeeping, Records management, Resources for professionals, Standards, Technology transfer

Annotation: This guide provides information for practitioners seeking to strengthen Latino parents' ability to talk about sex with their pre-adolescent children. The guide provides guidance in four areas: (1) the content of communication, (2) the context of communication, (3) the timing of parental discussions, and (4) the frequency of parental discussions. The guide also reviews potential barriers to discussion, such as religion and acculturation, that practitioners may encounter when working with Latino families. Finally the guide discusses the importance of strong parent-adolescent relationships and of parental monitoring and supervision.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Child behavior, Communications, Parent child relations, Parenting attitudes, Parenting skills, Parents, Prevention

Annotation: This reference covers traditional public health responsibilities--assessing the burden of disease, preventing and controlling health threats, and developing policies and constituencies to improve health--in a contemporary framework that reflects the ongoing transition from a public to a population health perspective. Topics include the basics of administration including organizational design law, human resources, budgeting and financing, marketing, and communications; newly defined and emerging areas such as health information management, geographic information systems, performance measurement and improvement, ethics, leadership, and community partnerships; and effective managerial decision-making.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Administration, Assessment, Communications, Decision making, Ethics, Financing, Information systems, Leadership, Legal issues, Management, Measures, Planning, Prevention, Public health programs, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This compendium provides culturally relevant resources and actions that health insurance plans, physicians and clinicians, and health care organizations can integrate into organization-wide initiatives and incorporate in everyday communications with health care consumers. Topics include types of health information requested by consumers; consumer views and attitudes on the collection of data by race, ethnicity, and primary language by health insurance plans, hospitals, and others; a review of research on improving access and cross-cultural communications; recommendations to improve consumer knowledge and awareness of health disparities and culturally and linguistically appropriate health care messages and services. The compendium includes lists of resources, tools, and Web sites designed for consumers and health care professionals to improve health communications, and increase the rates of preventive screenings and medication adherence.

Contact: America's Health Insurance Plans, 601 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., South Building, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 778-3200 Fax: (202) 331-7487 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aahp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communications, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health care delivery, Oral health, Physician patient relations

Annotation: This fact sheet offers a list of selected resources and materials to help parents begin talking with their children about sex. Recommendations are arranged according to the following categories: (1) Web sites for parents, (2) Web sites for young people, (3) books and videotapes, and (4) organizations.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Children, Communications, Consumer education materials, Parent child relations, Resource materials

Annotation: This book focuses on programs that involve some use of communication technology and have incorporated the transmission or exchange of messages within interventions designed to influence behavior to improve health among diverse populations. Using case studies in the areas of diabetes, mammography, and mass communication campaigns, this book examines the way messages can be adapted to the unique informational needs of their audiences to achieve maximum impact. Creative strategies and guidelines for reaching diverse audiences are presented. Additional topics include communications theory, new communication applications and technologies, and a new definition of diversity. Each chapter concludes with recommendations. The appendices include a list of consultants and biographical sketches of contributing authors. References and an index are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07271-9.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Communication skills, Communications, Cultural diversity, Health promotion, Mass media, Media campaigns, Public service announcements

Annotation: This report discusses the application of telecommunications and information technology to the delivery of rural health care and the development of rural health care infrastructure. Additional topics include a primer on telecommunications and information technology; telehealth and user support; and regulatory, legal, and quality assurance issues. The report includes references and a glossary of telecommunications terms.

Contact: Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, Western Cooperative for Educational Telecommunications, 3035 Center Green Drive, Suite 200, Boulder, CO 80301-2204, Telephone: (303) 541-0200 Fax: (303) 541-0291 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://wiche.edu/ $8.00.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Communications, Distance education, Evaluation, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health education, Information networks, Internet, Professional training, Quality assurance, Regulations, Research, Rural health, State programs, Technology, Telecommunications, Teleconferences, Telemedicine, Videoconferences

Annotation: These toolkits are designed to help health communication professionals craft and defend effective health behavior change messages, develop a strategy for using social media, and create an effective evaluation strategy. Contents include information about the purpose, intended audience, use, and recommended system specifications.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication skills, Electronic communications, Health behaviors, Health education, Multimedia, Program planning