Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Primary Care and Rural Health. n.d.. Brushing basics activity book for healthy teeth and gums. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Primary Care and Rural Health, 8 pp.

Annotation: This activity book provides information about keeping children’s teeth healthy. It includes information about brushing, flossing, avoiding sugary foods and drinks, eating fruits and vegetables daily, and visiting the dentist. Activities for children, such as coloring pages, dot-to-dots, and a song, are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Coloring books, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health

Alabama Department of Public Health, Oral Health Office with Troy University. 2016. Smile Savers activity books. Montgomery, AL: Alabama Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 v.

Annotation: These activity books provide information about oral health and promote oral health to children. One book is for children from kindergarten to grade 4, and the other is for children in grades 5 and up. Activities include coloring, crossword puzzles, word games, and comics that can be colored.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, Oral Health Branch, Family Health Services Bureau, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Suite 1350, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5675 Secondary Telephone: (334) 206-2950 Web Site: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/oralhealth/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: , Coloring books, Comic books, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Oral health

Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health. 2011. Ride the healthy teeth trail. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This coloring book focuses on ways to prevent tooth decay in children. Topics include toothbrushing with fluoridated toothpaste, flossing, good nutrition, and dental visits. The coloring book is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Coloring books, Dental care, Dental caries, Fluorides, Health behavior, Materials for children, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Self care, Spanish language materials

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 2009. Bright Futures activity book. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 16 pp.

Annotation: This activity book is designed to teach young children about health and safety topics including nutrition, fitness, self-expression, and oral health. Several of the activities are intended to be shared with family and community members. The activity book is also in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling..

Keywords: Child health, Coloring books, Health supervision, Materials for children, Spanish language materials

Manning C, Lund D, Burns K, illus. 2009. I know someone who died (3rd ed.). Oklahoma City, OK: In-Sight Books, 24 pp.

Annotation: This book provides activities such as coloring, reading, and writing as a friendly butterfly gently discusses loss and grief in ways children can understand. Ages 3–8.

Keywords: Bereavement, Children', Coloring books, Coping, Death, Grief, Materials for children, Young children, s literature

Caldwell TH, Todaro AW, Gates AJ, eds. 1989. Community provider's guide: An information outline for working with children with special health needs. New Orleans, LA: Children's Hospital, 185 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended for providers who work with children who have special health needs. It contains two main sections. The first one provides a brief description of chronic health conditions and communicable diseases. The second contains recommendations for training and preparation of care providers and parents including comprehensive checklists for care of the most chronic health problems. Smaller sections provide information for educators, individual education plans, and coloring books about either male or female self-catheterization. Three accompanying pamphlets deal with antibiotics, constipation, and weight management. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Hospital, Chronic Illness Program, 200 Henry Clay Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118, Telephone: (504) 899-9511 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Caregivers, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coloring books, Community programs, Parents, School personnel, Training materials, Urinary catheterization

Farberow NL, Gordon NS. 1979. Manual for child health workers in major disasters. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Mental Health, 106 pp.

Annotation: This manual was conceived as a supplement to the Training Manual for Human Service Workers in Major Disasters to address the specific needs of children following a disaster. The book discusses phases of disasters, basic principles of crisis services for children, attachment and separation theory, age related reactions of children to disasters through age 17, general steps in the helping process, the role of the family, common feelings and behaviors, special problems and their management, children with special needs, and helping techniques, the role of the mental health professional, and burnout of mental health professionals. An annotated bibliography of pertinent material on disasters appears at the end of this monograph. The appendices list agencies that provide assistance in disasters and examples of coloring books and brochures.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Brochures, Children, Coloring books, Disasters