Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit was created to support student-led advocacy to end or amend pouring rights contracts at public universities and create a healthier beverage environment on campus. The toolkit provides information about contracts and discusses the path forward and how to make the case for reforming pouring rights on campus. Sample communication materials are included.

Contact: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Campaigns, College students, Health promotion, Nutrition

Annotation: This report describes two projects to reduce the barriers of stigma and access to care for college students with mental health concerns: a digital ad awareness campaign and a campus-based initiative meant to expand existing services. Recommendations are included for those wishing to replicate these projects. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Young Invincibles, 1411 K Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 734-6519 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://younginvincibles.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, College health services, College students, Mental health services, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit for undergraduate faculty provides curricula templates and resources that can be used when integrating oral health into an undergraduate nursing program. Topics include microbiology, anatomy and physiology, pathophysiology, research methods, pharmacology, health assessment and promotion, fundamentals, nursing care of adults and older adults, nursing care of children, maternity and women’s health, community, psychiatric-mental health, leadership in nursing, and professional nursing. Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum is integrated throughout the toolkit.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: College students, Curricula, Health promotion, Nursing education, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This annual report presents data on school crime and student safety. The indicators in the report are based on information drawn from a variety of data sources including national surveys of students, teachers, principals, and postsecondary institutions. The report covers topics such as victimization, teacher injury, bullying and cyberbullying, school conditions, fights, weapons, availability and student use of drugs and alcohol, student perceptions of personal safety at school, and criminal incidents at postsecondary institutions. Indicators of crime and safety are compared across different population subgroups and over time. Data on crimes that occur away from school are offered as a point of comparison where available.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov Available from the website.

• 2021 Report
• Website

Keywords: Bullying, College students, Colleges, Crime, Data, Drug use, Environmental influences, Injuries, School age children, School safety, Schools, Trends, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This document for higher education officials, particularly alcohol and other drug program and student life staff, provides information and guidance on choosing interventions to address harmful and underage drinking in campus communities. Contents include a matrix and summary tables of individual- and environmental-level strategies. A strategy planning worksheet, frequently asked questions, and supporting resources are also included.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 15-AA-8017.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Colleges, Intervention, Prevention programs, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Students, Young adults

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Access to health care, College health services, College students, Community participation, Contraception, Intervention, Pregnancy prevention, Unplanned pregnancy, Young adults

Annotation: This book is geared toward helping students, instructors, and professionals in rehabilitation programs define, plan, facilitate, and support transition for young people with disabilities into adulthood and independent living. The book is divided into three major sections: (1) defining and planning transition, (2) facilitating and supporting transition, and (3) designing and implementing individualized transition plans. Topics also include secondary school restructuring, college and other postsecondary alternatives, assistive technology to enhance transition and work, and recent legislative acts in the field. Each chapter contains a list of learning objectives, a conclusion, and study questions. Figures and tables throughout the book provide statistical data, sample forms and checklists, and additional information to illustrate needs and capabilities. Appendices are provided with selected chapters. References and an index conclude the book

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-476-5.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Assessment, Assistive devices, Brain injuries, Careers, Children with special health care needs, Cognition disorders, College bound students, College students, Emotional instability, Families, High school students, Parent participation, Postsecondary education, School to work transitions, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Vocational education

Annotation: This web page provides materials for National Children's Mental Health Awareness Day on May 9, 2013. It gives advice to parents for adolescents who are headed to college or to work after college, and advice for the young adult, including warning signs for depression or mental health concerns. Links to additional resources are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, College bound students, Emotional development, Graduation, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This briefing paper outlines issues surrounding the screening of young athletes for their sickle disease carrier status (sickle cell trait), a genetic condition. The report discusses research findings and reports on health outcomes of individuals with sickle sell trait, public health implications of the National Collegiate Athletic Association rule on testing athletes for sickle cell trait, and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1080 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Athletes, College students, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Public policy, Research, Sickle cell trait, Testing

Annotation: This study presents a study of public investments in child education and development by three age groupings: the early learning years (birth through age 5), the school-aged years (ages 6-18), and the college-age years (ages 19-23). The study is based upon a detailed analysis of state, federal, and school district spending in 12 states across the country, conducted by organizations in those states with strong understanding of early childhood services and state budgeting. The study is designed to give policymakers and the public a better understanding of overall public investments in child education and development and the research on potential returns on investment from early learning programs. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the study. In addition to the main body, the study includes an executive summary, two appendices that contain 12-state data and individual state data, and endnotes.

Contact: Voices for America's Children, 1000 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-0777 Secondary Telephone: (866) 435-2970 Fax: (202) 289-0776 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Budgets, Child development, College students, Early childhood development, Financing, Public policy, School age children, School districts

Annotation: This book is a collection of essays that focus on providing adolescents health care in school settings. Among others, the individual essays cover the past, present, and future of school-based services; implementing the school-based health center model; merging primary care with managed care in the school health center; health care in college; evaluating and managing learning difficulties; the roles and responsibilities of the staff in school-based programs; school-based nutrition education, and providing mental health services.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-197-5.

Keywords: Adolescents, College health services, College students, School based clinics, School health, School health programs, School health services

Annotation: These reports are produced annually to present the results of the Monitoring the Future survey which is taken to ascertain the levels of use and attitudes about licit and illicit drugs. Volume 1 contains information on secondary school students; volume 2 covers college students and young adults. Each volume includes a summary of the key findings and provides information on the prevalence of drug use, trends in drug use, and attitudes and beliefs about drugs.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Attitudes, Behavior, College students, Drug abuse, High school students, Recreational drug use, Surveys, Tobacco, Young adults

Annotation: This publication presents findings from evaluations of many school health programs from across the country. A brief overview of the components of comprehensive school health programs is followed by a discussion of the information contained in the program evaluation summaries. A chart summarizing all of the programs is then followed by brief descriptions of each individual program. The intended audience is health and education officials including school and community leaders who are interested in initiating and improving school health programs for students in public and private elementary and secondary schools as well as institutions of higher education. The appendices include Healthy People 2000 Objectives and the National Education Goals, a list of references, and a blank form which can be used to provide the agency with information on additional evaluated school health programs. Topics covered include health education, clinical services, counseling and mental health services, school environment, school food programs, physical education and fitness, faculty and staff health promotion, and community coordination.

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH029.

• Link

Keywords: College students, Community agencies, Evaluation, Health and safety education, Public health agencies, School health, School health education, School health services, Schools, Students, Teachers

Annotation: This paper discusses the extent of alcohol abuse on American college campuses and programs and tactics developed to deal with the problem. It provides information on health, social. and educational consequences; demographics; campus regulations; and programs and policies.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, College students, Demography, United States, Universities

Annotation: This briefing report reviews the U.S. education and training strategies and identifies likely weaknesses. It examines four countries' strategies: England, the Federal Republic of Germany, Japan, and Sweden, for preparing noncollege youth for employment. Findings indicate that the U.S. invests heavily in college education, but does not do equally well by its young people who seek immediate employment. The report also includes policy actions to be considered by the federal, state, and local governments, including ensuring that all children attain the academic skills necessary to perform effectively in post secondary education or the workplace, develop more school-employer linkages, and adopt effective education and training strategies nationwide to improve national productive capability and international competitiveness.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-90-88.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, College students, Education, Employment, Noncollege bound students, Youth

Annotation: This report provides data from an ongoing research and reporting program that studies the lifestyles and values of high school classes of 1975 through 1985. It includes data on trends in prevalence of illicit drug use in various categories. The 1989 edition of this publication is called "Drug Use, Drinking and Smoking: National Survey Results from High School, College and Young Adult populations, 1975-1988."

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: DHHS (ADM) 86-1450.

Keywords: College students, Drug use, High school students, Surveys, Young adults

Annotation: This report deals with the nutritional status of a group of entering college students at the Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art; many of the students hold full-time jobs, and many come from families with low incomes. The authors followed the nutritional status of the entering freshman class through its first year in school to determine whether poor nutrition might be a factor in the withdrawal of students from school and also to assess how the dietary intake and nutritional status of students from this institution compare with that of students from other colleges and universities. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Keywords: Colleges, Diet, Low income groups, Nutrition, Nutritional status, Research, Students, Universities

Annotation: This report describes current progress in research on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Topics covered include epidemiology, genetics and environment, neuroscience, medical consequences, fetal alcohol syndrome and other effects of alcohol on pregnancy outcome, adverse social consequences, diagnosis and assessment of alcohol use disorders, prevention, early and minimal intervention, and treatment.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available in libraries; some editions available from the web. Document Number: DHHS (ADM) 87-1579 (6th), DHHS (ADM) 90-1656 (7th), DHHS (ADM) 281-91-0003 (8th).

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age, Alaska natives, Alcohol use, American Indians, Attitudes, Blacks, Blood alcohol concentration, Brain injuries, Codes, College students, Community programs, Costs, Counseling, Crime, Demographics, Domestic violence, Drowning, Drug use, Education, Environment, Epidemiology, Ethnic groups, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Gender, Genetics, Hawaiians, Homeless persons, Industry, Injuries, Intervention, Legislation, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Motorcycles, Older adults, Pedestrians, Pregnant women, Prevention, Psychology, Questionnaires, Race, Railroads, Regulations, Seat belts, Social learning, Trauma

Annotation: This issue of the City Lights newsletter focuses on improving mental health in urban maternal and child health (MCH). The newsletter includes articles on the MCH influence on the mental health of college students, urban MCH leaders' assessment of local urban mental health services, adolescent suicide prevention strategies and resources, MCH leadership competencies, and 2007-2008 DaTA Institute applications, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, College students, Families, Health services, Infant health, Local programs, Mental health, Suicide prevention, Urban populations, Women', s health