Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Annotation: This project was part of an ongoing effort to identify and address issues related to developmental disabilities among Native American children in Wisconsin to assure that proper diagnostic and followup services are provided to this population. Tribes, State and local agencies, and volunteer organizations were involved in a collaborative effort to design and establish a long-term, community-based, high quality program in each tribal community in Wisconsin to serve the special health care needs of Native American children. The two main goals of the project were to: (1) Become an integral part of the tribal service systems, and (2) improve those systems in such a way that they address both the needs of developmentally disabled children and the issues related to the prevention of disabilities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161941.

Keywords: American Indians, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

Annotation: This article from Grantmakers In Health (GIH) describes a collaborative effort by funders to address gaps in postpartum care following the extension of Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months after birth. The piece discusses how a workgroup of funders—including Pritzker Children's Initiative, Merck for Mothers, and Community Health Acceleration Partnership—formed in 2023 to identify opportunities for improving postpartum care systems. The article includes a visual diagram that illustrates the multi-layered challenges in postpartum care on three levels: individual, community, and system. This concentric circle diagram shows how issues such as standards of care, access to quality care, care fragmentation, and policy misalignment (at the system level) interact with community-level challenges like administrative burden and workforce shortages, as well as individual-level factors including awareness of needs, social and economic barriers, and fear of medical debt. Through stakeholder interviews, the workgroup discovered significant fragmentation of services and the absence of comprehensive care standards beyond the traditional six-week postpartum period. In response, the funders issued a request for proposals aimed at creating a centralized hub to catalog and connect postpartum care initiatives, with the goal of developing comprehensive standards and addressing what they term the "postpartum cliff."

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Barriers, Collaboration, Funding, Health care reform, Library collection development, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, Requests for proposals, Service delivery systems, Standards

Annotation: This roadmap provides detailed information on policies and strategies that foster nurturing environments for infants and toddlers and reduce disparities in access and outcomes. Published annually, the roadmap is designed to help state leaders (1) Assess the wellbeing of its infants and toddlers and prioritize state policy goals; (2) Identify evidence-based policy solutions proven to impact policy goals; (3) Monitor states’ adoption and implementation of effective policies and strategies; and (4) Track the impact that policy changes have on improving the wellbeing of children and families and reducing disparities between racial and ethnic groups. A summary of each state’s progress is included.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• 2024
• 2023

Keywords: Child health, Data collection, Early childhood development, Family leave, Health care access, Health status disparities, Home visits, Infant health, MCH programs, Policy, Prenatal care, State initiatives, State policy

Annotation: This handout outlines a set of maternal and child health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Indicators for women of childbearing age and pregnant women are broken into three categories: access, utilization, and outcomes. Indicators for children are broken into four categories: access, utilization, process, and outcomes.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Annotation: This report provides results from the Center for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement’s Quality Indicators Advisory Team’s efforts to establish a set of maternal and child oral health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. The report provides indicators for women of child-bearing age and pregnant women and for children, as well as a user guide, and discusses implementation strategies, indicator limitations, and challenges in obtaining data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Data collection, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program development, Public health services, Quality assurance, Young children

Annotation: This PowerPoint presentation discusses health equity considerations in autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities (ASD/DD) services, emphasizing the importance of understanding both how and why disparities affect different groups based on race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and geographic location. It presents two key takeaways: first, that prevalence data must be viewed through an equity lens using frameworks like the Equitable Evaluation Framework, and second, that solutions often already exist within communities and require input from compensated local context experts and impacted leaders. The presentation illustrates these points through Wisconsin's community-centered approach and emphasizes the value of community expertise in identifying and scaling up existing assets. The slides include embedded videos and links to additional resources.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Staff development, Health care system, Process evaluation, Data collection, Wisconsin

Annotation: This presentation focuses on integrating Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to improve services for children and youth with special health care needs. It outlines the relationship between Title V MCH (Maternal and Child Health) programs and Help Me Grow initiatives, highlighting their shared focus on developmental screening and early intervention. The presenter, Paige Bussanich from the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP), explains how data integration can enhance cross-system collaboration and improve outcomes for children. The slides cover the structure of Title V programs, performance measurement frameworks, and current state efforts in data integration. The presentation also includes information about AMCHP's Title V Data Integration Toolkit and available technical assistance resources, with examples of successful state collaborations between Title V and Help Me Grow programs in Alabama, Vermont, and Wyoming. The final portion introduces data storytelling as a method to effectively communicate findings from integrated data systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Slide Deck Only

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, State CHSCN programs, Developmental screening, Vermont

Annotation: This report outlines a use case for Title V programs to leverage Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to analyze developmental screening data for children from birth through age 5. The document is part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit and focuses on two key questions: how many children are receiving developmental screenings using parent-completed tools, and how many are achieving five-domain developmental health based on these screenings. The document provides detailed guidance on analytic considerations, including the importance of defining which screening tools to analyze, understanding data sources within the ECIDS, and determining how to handle multiple screenings for individual children. A comprehensive list of recommended data elements is provided, including child identifiers, demographic information, and screening-related data. Examples of data visualization are provided using fictitious data, showing how to present overall screening rates and breakdowns by age categories.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Developmental screening, Data integration, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This report addresses the assets that dual language learners (DLLs) and English learners (ELs) bring to their education and the factors that support or may impede their educational success. The report also provides recommendations for policy, practice, and research and data collection focused on addressing the challenges in caring for and educating DLLs/ELs from birth to grade 12. Topics include the policy context, demography of the EL population, capacities and influences on language development, promising and effective practices and programs, the development of English language proficiency, DLLs/Els with disabilities, and building the workforce to educate ELs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-45537-4.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child care, Children, Data collection, Education, Home visiting, Infants, Language development, Learning, Policy development, Research, School readiness, Work force

Annotation: The Title V Data Integration Toolkit is designed to assist states in integrating Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). This toolkit provides best practices, frameworks, and use case examples to facilitate discussions on early childhood data integration at various levels, including state, county, tribal, and urban contexts. It aims to enhance maternal, child, and infant health through tailored programs based on integrated data. The toolkit is designed to complement other data integration resources, such as the SLDS ECIDS Toolkit and the DaSy Data System Framework, offering additional tools and links for further exploration.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Early childhood education, Early childhood development

Annotation: This document for state health departments provides guidance on developing a state health assessment. Contents include four modules on identifying and engaging system stakeholders; collecting and analyzing health status data; collecting and analyzing stakeholder and community input data; and summarizing, presenting, and communicating findings. Each module provides information about relevant Public Health Accreditation Board standards, measures, and guidance; ideas for structuring the process and conducting assessment activities; specific examples and lessons learned from states; sample tools and links to additional resources; and a summary of key products, deliverables, or processes resulting from the module activities.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name, Organization, And Email Address

Keywords: Assessment, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Health status, State health agencies, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This fact sheet for policymakers and advocates describes how to use state plumbing codes to modernize school drinking water infrastructure and improve overall child health. Topics include moving beyond the traditional drinking fountain, drinking water infrastructure policies, water fountain requirements, bottle fillers and bottle-filler policies including special considerations for elementary schools, using facilities data to drive policy change, and water filtration considerations. Survey questions that school facilities can use to collect drinking water infrastructure information and sample policy language are provided.

Contact: ChangeLab Solutions, 2201 Broadway, Suite 502, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 302-3380 Web Site: http://changelabsolutions.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Data collection, Facilities, Models, Plumbing codes, Policy development, School districts, Schools, Standards, Water

Annotation: This report describes a project to enlist the advice of advocacy and health professional groups on ways data can help improve the nation's oral health. The report also summarizes recommendations for collecting oral health data on the U.S. population. Contents include background; information about the project process, including participant feedback on the methods and outcomes; and next steps for improving health-measurement systems. A matrix of key oral health measures across the lifespan and a list of participating organizations are also included.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Data collection, Health status, Measures, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Process evaluation, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Surveys, Systems development

Annotation: This document describes federal activities and resources to support diversity and cultural competency within the maternal and child health (MCH) work force. Topics include agency-wide strategic planning to improve health equity; pipeline training program requirements for collecting data on the race and ethnicity of trainees and faculty and the degree to which programs have incorporated cultural and linguistic competence into policies, guidelines, contracts, and training; and resources to support programs in advancing and sustaining cultural and linguistic competence such as technical assistance, peer mentoring, and collaboration.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Data collection, Ethnic groups, Goals, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Information dissemination, MCH training programs, Measures, Mentors, Peer groups, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Race, Technical assistance, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on dental insurance coverage for children and adolescents and ways to improve children’s and adolescents’ oral health. The brief describes marketplace coverage under the Affordable Care Act and coverage financed through the Children’s Health Insurance Program and Medicaid. Topics include affordability and consumer protection, child-focused benefits, and data and evaluation. The brief concludes with a list of 12 recommendations for policymakers at the state and federal levels to strengthen dental coverage and ensure that children and adolescents receive needed oral health care.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Children', Data collection, Dental insurance, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Program evaluation, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report examines the use of measures to improve health care quality across the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS's) programs and private payers, with a focus on reducing burden. Topics include what is known about the extent and effects of quality-measure alignment, key factors that can contribute to misalignment, and efforts to address misalignment. Recommendations for (1) prioritizing development of electronic quality measures and related data elements for the core measures DHHS and private payers have agreed to use and (2) comprehensively planning efforts to develop more meaningful quality measures are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-5.

• Full Report
• Highlights

Keywords: Data collection, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Information systems, Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Systems development, Third party payers

Annotation: This brief explores state-based efforts to collect and use social determinants of health (SDOH) data including what data health plans and providers are required to collect. Topics include early state efforts to define SDOH and collect information; state efforts to select SDOH measures; using SDOH data at the patient and population level; challenges to collecting, sharing, and using SDOH information; and considerations for advancing SDOH measurement approaches.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Data collection, Data linkage, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Financing, Health behavior, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Policy development, Reimbursement, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Service delivery systems, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, State programs

Annotation: This resource for policymakers and health service planners outlines global standards for quality health care services for adolescents. The resource comprises 4 volumes containing standards and criteria, an implementation guide, tools to conduct quality and coverage measurement surveys to collect data about compliance with the global standards, and scoring sheets for data analyses. A policy brief is also available.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health services, Adolescents, Data analyses, Data collection, International health, Measures, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, Standards