Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Wenzel S, Kosofsky BE, Harvey JA, Iguchi MY, Steinberg P, Watkins KE, Shaikh R. 2001. Prenatal cocaine exposure: Scientific considerations and policy implications. Santa Monica, CA: Rand , 39 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of the current state of knowledge regarding the effects of cocaine on the developing brain of the fetus and offers policy considerations for addressing the issues that arise from cocaine use by pregnant women. Three preventive strategies are outlined; primary (before and during pregnancy), secondary (to identify pregnant women who use drug and minimizing their drug use), and tertiary (to reduce the adverse consequences of substance exposure to children exposed in utero). The report also includes additional sources, and references.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: correspondence@rand.org Web Site: http://www.rand.org $10.00, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8330-3001-9.

Keywords: Cocaine, Drug affected infants, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal development, Neonatal addiction, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abusing pregnant women

Johnston LD, O'Malley PM, Bachman JG, Schulenberg JE. 2000-. Monitoring the Future: National results on adolescent drug use—Overview of key findings, 20__. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan, Institute for Social Research, annual.

Annotation: This annual report analyzes the results of an annual, national survey on drug use among 8th, 10th and 12th graders. Trends of use, perceived risk, disapproval, and availability frame the discussion for each substance examined, and tables illustrate the discussion.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohols, Amphetamines, Cocaine, Drug education, Hallucinogens, Heroin, High risk adolescents, Illicit drugs, Inhalants, Marijuana, Narcotics, National surveys, Risk taking, Sedatives, Statistics, Steroids, Substance abuse, Youth

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, National Institute on Drug Abuse. 1996. National pregnancy and health survey: Drug use among women delivering live births: 1992. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Drug Abuse, ca. 300 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the findings of the National Pregnancy and Health Survey which was taken in 1992 to determine the prevalence of substance abuse among women who delivered live-born babies during a 12-month period. The report includes background information, describes the objectives and design of the survey, and presents and discusses the findings. Data on the following categories are included: overall estimates of substance use any time during the pregnancy, including prior to and during the pregnancy; sociodemographic patterns of use; and for specific substances: any illicit drug, marijuana, cocaine, crack cocaine, alcohol, tobacco, and substances used in combination. The report focuses at length on the design, implementation, and reporting procedures used in carrying out the survey.

Keywords: Alcohol, Cocaine, Crack cocaine, Demographics, Illicit drugs, Marijuana, Perinatal health, Prenatal health, Prevalence, Statistics, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Surveys, Tobacco, Women

Gehlert S, Lickey S, Hope-Wegener D, eds. 1994. Social work research in maternal and child health: Independent projects by master's-level trainees. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago, Maternal and Child Health Training Program, 165 pp.

Annotation: This volume is a collection of reports about five research projects undertaken by social work trainees pursuing their master's degrees. The introduction traces developments in social work that began over a century ago and indicates their correlates in current practices in maternal and child health. The research projects included deal with new practices in integrating pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV education and prevention services; an analysis of early adolescents' perceptions and beliefs about parenting and parenting skills; a study on Latino adolescents' perceptions about how parenthood will affect the course of their lives; an annotated bibliography establishing the current knowledge base on pregnancy and cocaine use; and a study on racial disparities in birth outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Chicago, Maternal and Child Health Training Program, 969 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescents, Child health, Cocaine, Drug use during pregnancy, Educational programs, HIV, Hispanic Americans, Maternal health, Parenting, Parenting skills, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Racial factors, Research, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social work, Statistics

Brown SS, ed. 1991. Children and parental illicit drug use: Research, clinical, and policy issues: Summary of a workshop. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 24 pp.

Annotation: This booklet summarizes the issues raised at the Workshop on Children and Parental Illicit Drug Use sponsored by the National Forum on the Future of Children and Families. Participants discussed the extent of illicit drug use among pregnant women and among the families in which children develop; the effects of drug use on fetuses, newborns, and older children; and the various intervention programs and policies developed to cope with the growing problems that illicit drug use poses for children and families.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHD076.

Keywords: Cocaine, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug affected infants, Parenting, Parents, Teratology

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1991. Drug abuse: The crack cocaine epidemic—Health consequences and treatment. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 44 pp.

Annotation: This briefing report provides background information on the extent of the crack cocaine epidemic, health consequences of crack use, and drug abuse treatments available for crack addicts. Graphs, charts, and tables are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-91-55FS.

Keywords: Child health, Crack cocaine, Maternal health, Substance abuse

Elementary School Center. 1991. Educating children from the world of crack: Realities and myths concerning children prenatally exposed to drugs and alcohol—Background readings. New York, NY: Elementary School Center, ca.100 pp.

Annotation: This notebook contains a set of background readings about children who have been prenatally exposed to drugs and alcohol. It was prepared for a summer institute of the same title, which was sponsored by the New York City Department of Health, New York City Public Schools, Westchester County Drug Task Force, U.S. Public Health Service, Region II, Training Center for Health Professionals and the Resource Access Project, Department of Human Services and Education, New York University. Chapters include an introduction, a fact sheet, and cover the child, the environment, the home, the school, programs/grapplings, and references/miscellany.

Keywords: Education, Child health, Crack cocaine, Drug affected children

Snowbabies. 1989. Snowbabies: The innocent victims. Altamonte Springs, FL: Snowbabies, 1 videotape (24 minutes, 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape portrays a classroom lecture by the founder of Snowbabies, Inc., a mother who abused drugs and alcohol as an adolescent and young mother, then changed her life to stop substance abuse and to try to educate others about the harmful effects of drugs and alcohol. She talks about her life and discusses what drugs and alcohol do to babies. Scenes of drug-affected newborns in an intensive care nursery are included. The tape is accompanied by a pamphlet which discusses the problem of addicted babies and how drug use by the mother and father affects newborns. The pamphlet also lists suggested discussion questions to use with school children, treatment centers and health professionals.

Contact: Snowbabies, P.O. Box 162856, Altamonte Springs, FL 32716-2856, Telephone: (407) 339-4041 Contact Phone: (407) 331-5577 $50.00 plus $5.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Cocaine, Drug addiction, Neonatal addiction, Teratology, Videotapes

March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. 1988. Maternal nutrition: Contemporary approaches to interdisciplinary care. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation, 10 v.

Annotation: This teaching curriculum is composed of 10 modules, each designed to be conducted as a seminar for a small interdisciplinary group of maternal health care professionals. Each set of curriculum materials is valued at over $400.00 and is packaged in 10 three-ring binders and includes 800 printed pages, a videotape, and over 400 slides. The course, developed at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, emphasizes the relationship of good nutrition both preconceptionally and during pregnancy to optimal pregnancy outcomes and addresses many topics including preconceptional nutrition, nutrition during pregnancy, high risk pregnancy, substance abuse, cultural influences on eating, guiding women to healthful food choices, counseling skills, community resources advocacy, and evaluating nutrition interventions. The titles of the ten modules are: 1. The Seamless Web of Influences: Linking Nutrition in Pregnancy with Birth Outcomes; 2. Planning for the Future: Preconceptional Health Care; 3. Eating for Health Outcomes: Nutrition during Pregnancy; 4. Special Diets for Special People: Nutrition Care for the Mother at Risk; 5. Better Living Without Chemistry: Smoking, Drinking, and Drugs in Pregnancy; 6. Pizza, Pickles, and Pica: Cultural Influences on Eating; 7. From Nutrient Needs to " What's for Dinner?:" Guiding Women to Healthful Food Choices; 8. Sharpening Counseling Skills: Working Together to Change Eating Habits; 9. The Community Connection: Resources for Pregnant Women; 10. So What's the Difference?: Measuring the Impact of Nutrition Interventions. Additional materials were added to the modules in February 1990.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Price unknown. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC119.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Alcohol, Caffeine, Cocaine, Cultural factors, Food habits, Gestational diabetes, High risk pregnancy, Interdisciplinary approach, Marijuana, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition counseling, Preconception care, Pregnancy induced hypertension, Quality assurance, Substance abuse, Teamwork, Tobacco, Vegetarianism

Rogers PD, ed. 1987. Chemical dependency. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders Company, 270 pp. (Pediatric clinics of North America; v.34, no. 2)

Annotation: This book contains 18 articles on adolescents and drug and/or alcohol use. The articles were written for physicians who encounter adolescents in their practice. The information is intended to help physicians in their approach to the adolescent who may be abusing psychoactive substances and may, indeed, be chemically dependent.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcoholic beverages, Cocaine, Drug dependence, Drug use, Hallucinogens, Marijuana, Narcotics, Screening, Smoking

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.