Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goals of this regional pediatric data surveillance system were to: (1) Convert a regional manual data collection system (developed with a previous EMSC grant) to a computerized one using existing data bases at each hospital and modern computer technology; (2) expedite centralized data acquisition via diskettes/modems; (3) expand the data set to include data about prehospital and inpatient utilization and outcomes; (4) enhance the accuracy of the data by using ICD-9 coding for final diagnoses; and (5) provide the data to area hospitals and health agencies for local and regional improvements in care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121925.

Keywords: Clinical coding, Computers, Data, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children

Annotation: This document provides federally available data, detailed data notes, stratifier information, and Statistical Analysis System coding for national maternal and child health–related outcome and performance measures. Topics include preventive medical and dental visits, cesarean deliveries, perinatal regionalization, breastfeeding, safe infant sleep, developmental screening, hospitalization for nonfatal injuries, physical activity, bullying, medical home, transitions to adult health care, smoking, and adequate insurance.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Data sources, Measures

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes and Codes on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature (CDT) codes are. It also lists various CPT and CDT codes for oral health services provided in primary care settings. Answers to frequently asked questions are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Health services, Oral health, Primary care

Annotation: This guide is intended to help dental offices navigate issues related to coding and billing for virtual appointments during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses coding for a variety of services, provides sample coding scenarios, and offers answers to frequently asked questions. HIPAA and telecommunication technology are also addressed. A checklist of considerations for practices in providing virtual services during the COVID-19 pandemic is included, along with sample language for informed consent forms for virtual services, tips for performing virtual evaluations, and billing policies by payer.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Dental Benefits, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (800) 621-8099 Secondary Telephone: 312-440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Spanlsh language materials, Virus diseases

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals describes recommendations and the rationale for applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of infants and young children ages 6 months through 5 years. The document also provides information about training and certification prerequisites and coding for fluoride-varnish application reimbursement in Louisiana.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Certification, Fluorides, Infants, Louisiana, Oral health, Primary care, Reimbursement, State programs, Training, Young children

Annotation: This guide is designed to help pediatricians and other health professionals improve the implementation of oral health services in the medical home through the Brush, Book, Bed program by linking oral health information to messages about reading to children and setting a regular bedtime. The program is aimed at parents of infants and children ages 6 months to 6 years. Topics include workflow, training and resources, talking points, supplies and tips, dental referral, and coding for oral health services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Infants, Literacy, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pediatric care, Reading, Safety, School age children, Service integration, Sleep, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures targeting the goal of addressing prevention and disease management for dental caries in children. Topics include utilization, cost, and quality of dental services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review and the review process. including information about elevated risk, data-quality concerns, continuous enrollment, dental sealants for children ages 6–9, and issues and updates related to coding.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment

Annotation: This resource is designed to help pediatricians and others implement the Affordable Care Act pediatric preventive services provision to ensure that children receive screenings, assessments, and services recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics' Bright Futures guidelines. Contents include visit coding documents for infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence to help pediatricians obtain coverage of and payment for preventive services, to help insurers and policymakers better understand how to cover and pay separately for each service provided, and to assist stakeholders in advocating for payment for services provided in the periodicity schedule. A webinar is also available.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link
• April 9, 2014, Webinar

Keywords: Advocacy, Bright Futures, Clinical coding, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric care, Pediatricians, Preventive health services, Reimbursement

Annotation: These worksheets are designed to help clinic managers, integrated care project directors, and billing/coding staff at community mental health centers and community health centers identify available current procedural terminology (CPT) codes they can use in their state to bill for services related to integrated primary and behavioral health care. The worksheets link CPT codes with state-specific diagnostic codes and associated professional credentials needed to submit a successful, payable claim. Links to instructional videos covering a range of billing and coding topics and an archived webinar on billing for integrated health services are also available.

Contact: SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, 1701 K Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: integration@thenational council.org Web Site: http://www.integration.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Community health centers, Medicaid, Mental health services, Primary care, Regulations, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Service integration, State programs, Training

Annotation: This guide provides information to help pediatricians support adoptive and foster families who are coping with trauma. The guide helps pediatricians identify traumatized children, educate families, and empower families; provides coding tips that pediatricians may use for evaluations involving screening and anticipatory guidance related to trauma and other mental health or developmental concerns; provides a discharge form to give to families; and includes a guide for parents about parenting after trauma.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Child development, Children, Clinical coding, Coping, Families, Family support services, Foster children, Foster parents, Mental health, Parenting skills, Screening, Trauma

Annotation: This document is designed to help oral health professionals implement recommendations for treating tobacco use and dependence. Topics include perceived barriers to tobacco use treatment; a brief intervention; medications, coding, billing, and reimbursement; patient-education materials; and organizational resources.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, 1400 Broadway, Helena, MT 59620-0901, Telephone: (406) 444-4542 Fax: (406) 444-2606 Web Site: http://dphhs.mt.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Disease prevention, Intervention, Model programs, Montana, Oral health, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit provides materials and resources for improving the care of newborns, focusing on risk for severe hyperbilirubinemia, breastfeeding support, and coordination of care. The toolkit is designed for pediatric health professionals who care for newborns in the office and hospital settings. The kit includes several print documents and a CD-ROM with readiness checklists, follow-up letters, assessment and documentation tools, coding resources, parent handouts, and more. Parent handouts are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Non-member price $79.95, plus shipping and handling; Member price $69.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Breastfeeding support, CD-ROMs, Clinical coding, Hyperbilirubinemia, Newborn infants, Resource materials, Service coordination, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report examines the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPPA) administrative standardization and the process of modifying the standardized codes for children with Medicaid coverage found to be at-risk for developmental problems. Implications of HIPAA standardization for payment of Medicaid-covered early childhood preventive and developmental services are assessed, drawing on findings from a 50-state, point-in-time review of readily available state HIPAA compliance documents conducted in December 2004. Topics include a early child health care; insurance coverage; claims reimbursement; a definition of preventive and developmental services; a review of the relationship between coverage, payment, and quality of care; reimbursement; HIPAA; and a review of the study methodology. Examples from several states are used to illustrate reductions or potential reductions in coverage, maintenance of similar levels of coverage, and expansions in coverage. Notes and and an appendix containing a coding taxonomy conclude the report.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development services, Child health, Clinical coding, Confidentiality, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medical records, Records management, Reimbursement

Annotation: The purpose of this guide is to walk the reader through the steps required to become a federally certified rural health clinic (RHC) and to complete the necessary financial audit to determine the clinic's per visit rate. The goals of RHCs are to improve access to primary health care in rural, underserved communities and to promote a collaborative model of health care delivery using physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. The guide includes the following sections: (1) overview of the RHC Program, (2) getting started -- does your site qualify?, (3) feasibility analysis -- is the RHC program for you?, (4) how to file the RHC application, (5) preparing for the RCH certification inspection, (6) completing the cost report, and (7) RCH coding and billing issues. The guide includes five appendices: (1) state survey and certification agencies, (2) state offices of rural health, (3) criteria for designation as an HPSA or MUA, (4) sample policy and procedures manual, and (5) other resources.

Keywords: Auditing, Clinic administration, Clinic characteristics, Clinical coding, Collaboration, Costs, Federal government, Federal programs, Health care delivery, Nurse practitioners, Office visits, Physician assistants, Physicians, Primary health care, Rural health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This electronic resource provides a database of pharmaceutical and medical abbreviations and acronyms, plus a database of pharmaceutical companies, medical associations, hospitals, drugs, equipment, ICD9 codes. Links to a variety of medical and health resources are also provided.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Acronyms, Dictionaries, Drugs, Electronic publications, Medical reference books, Online databases, Pharmaceuticals

Annotation: This report summarizes a conference held in New Orleans, Louisiana, November 1-2, 1995, which focused on developing standards for the clinical vocabulary used in primary care with a view to standardizing the collection of health services research data. Among other materials, this report includes the keynote address, an overview of coding and nomenclature, the report of consensus, and an overview of the process.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Contact Phone: (800) 358-9295 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: AHCPR 96-0069.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical coding, Conference proceedings, Language, Primary care, Standards

Annotation: These proceedings stem from a meeting held May 18-20, 1994 which was designed to allow members of the International Collaborative Effort to improve comparability and quality of injury data. Sections address levels and trends in injury mortality and morbidity in selected participating countries, sources of injury related data and special methodological problems, current problems in producing comparable international mortality and morbidity statistics, data needs, linkage issues and coding issues.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (301) 436-7039 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 95-1252.

• PDF

Keywords: Australia, Canada, Clinical coding, Denmark, England, France, Injury surveillance systems, International classification of diseases, International data, Israel, Morbidity, Mortality, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, Statistical reference sources, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad, United States