Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Annotation: This manual provides guidance in delivering oral health services to people who are unable to secure those services on their own (safety net). It provides information and resources about professional practices that are accepted as being correct or most effective (best practices). Topics include data for tracking and monitoring and what the data reveal, the profit-and-loss statement, scheduling, managing broken appointments and emergencies, billing and collections, developing a sliding fee discount schedule, documentation of sliding fee discount schedule eligibility, payer mix, quality management, treatment plan completion, medical dental integration, staffing, leadership and team building, and program evaluation.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinic administration, Health services delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Program evaluation, Program management, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This handbook outlines guidance for health centers to receive reimbursement for community-based oral health services in California. Topics include the need for community-based oral health care, background and a brief history of health centers, federal expectations for community-based services, payment for health centers, federally qualified health center visit definitions, federal-scope-of-project issue considerations, providing services as an intermittent clinic, and federal Tort Claims Act considerations, and state-scope-of-service considerations.

Contact: Center for Oral Health, 309 East Second Street, Pomona, CA 91766-1854, Telephone: (909) 469-8300 Fax: (510) 380-6637 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerfororalhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Clinic administration, Community based services, Community health centers, Dental care, Legislation, Reimbursement, State initiatives

Annotation: This report summarizes findings on the potential of practice-management consulting to strengthen community oral health practices. The report is based on an evaluation of a project to ascertain the effectiveness of an intensive year-long engagement of individualized assistance aimed at improving the long-term sustainability of safety net dental clinics. Contents include information about the project’s participating clinics and providers, implementation, and results. The consulting model, considerations for future work, and recommendations are also presented. The appendices address clinic case studies, attributes and data, goals and outcomes, communities, and interview participants.

Contact: Harder+Company, 299 Kansas Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 522-5400 Fax: (415) 522-5445 Web Site: http://www.harderco.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Clinic administration, Consultation, Cost effectiveness, Evaluation, Families, Fiscal management, Models, Operations research, Oral health, children

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines health center oral health programs’ use of diagnostic codes and the benefits of and barriers to using them and discusses whether safety-net oral health programs would benefit from using the codes. Next steps in promoting evidence-based dentistry are also discussed.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinic administration, Health care delivery, Medical records, Oral health, Public health dentistry

Annotation: These resources are designed for those interested in starting and operating clinics that deliver oral health care services to individuals and families in Ohio regardless of their ability to pay. The resources include data sources and publications; a map and list of oral health professional shortage areas; distance learning curricula; a list of oral health grantmaking organizations; clinical guidelines, policies, and positions; job postings; information about the National Health Service Corps Loan Repayment Program; information on Medicaid and Ohio's dental practice act and rules; discussion lists and e-newsletters; a database of safety net dental clinics in Ohio; and links to related organization websites.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinic administration, Dental clinics, Distance education, Financing, Health care delivery, Ohio, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Web sites, Work force

Annotation: The purpose of this guide is to walk the reader through the steps required to become a federally certified rural health clinic (RHC) and to complete the necessary financial audit to determine the clinic's per visit rate. The goals of RHCs are to improve access to primary health care in rural, underserved communities and to promote a collaborative model of health care delivery using physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. The guide includes the following sections: (1) overview of the RHC Program, (2) getting started -- does your site qualify?, (3) feasibility analysis -- is the RHC program for you?, (4) how to file the RHC application, (5) preparing for the RCH certification inspection, (6) completing the cost report, and (7) RCH coding and billing issues. The guide includes five appendices: (1) state survey and certification agencies, (2) state offices of rural health, (3) criteria for designation as an HPSA or MUA, (4) sample policy and procedures manual, and (5) other resources.

Keywords: Auditing, Clinic administration, Clinic characteristics, Clinical coding, Collaboration, Costs, Federal government, Federal programs, Health care delivery, Nurse practitioners, Office visits, Physician assistants, Physicians, Primary health care, Rural health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This document describes the U.S Bureau of Primary Health Care's expectations for all health center programs covered under section 330 of the Public Health Service Act as amended by the Health Centers Consolidation Act of 1996 (P.L. 104-299). Topics include mission and strategy, clinical program, governance, and management and finance.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinic administration, Community health centers, Federal programs, Financing, Health services delivery, Legislation, Management, Oral Health, Primary care, Underserved populations

Annotation: This report describes the organization, method of work, and practical value of habit clinics for preschool age children. Topics covered include feeding, enuresis, temper tantrums, delinquency, convulsions, and feeble-mindedness. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinic administration, Habits, Preschool children, Program evaluation, Reports