Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This action plan is based on an internal determination that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) must urgently assess and, if needed, change policies, programs, and processes the department administers. The plan discusses HHS’s shift in the culture, resources, and approaches available to staff to institutionalize a focus on equity, including health equity. The plan provides a summary of early accomplishments and discusses civil rights protections and language access, acquisitions (opportunities for small businesses owned by individuals from disadvantaged populations to apply for contracts within HHS procurement programs), grants, capacity building, and maternal mortality.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Civil rights, Federal programs, Health equity, Low income groups, Maternal mortality, Policy

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist state and local efforts to support immigrant children from birth through the elementary grades and promote educational equity and opportunity for all children. Contents include a glossary and background; legal guidelines; tips for early learning programs, elementary schools, and educators; and information about education and supportive service programs and resources. The second section of the guide is a handbook for parents on topics such as why quality early learning matters, tips on immunizations, information about civil rights and program eligibility, tips for addressing barriers, and opportunities for parents and guardians.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development, Washington, DC Telephone: (202) 401-0831 Secondary Telephone: (202) 401-7888 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• English

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Civil rights, Early childhood education, Elementary education, Elementary schools, Eligibility, Equal opportunities, Guardianship, Immigrants, Learning, Legal issues, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Annotation: This book focuses on how the prospects for health and well-being are influenced by social inequalities. Contents include an overview of the early history of public health and how some of the greatest achievements prefigure a contemporary health equity practice; the root causes of health inequities including class, racism, and gender inequity and heterosexism; profiles of health equity practice; elements of health equity practice that have emerged from the work of state and local health departments across the United States; and reflections on a future health equity practice.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $9.95 members; $19.95 nonmembers. Document Number: NA614.

Keywords: Civil rights, Equal opportunities, Gender discrimination, Public health agencies, Racial discrimination, Sexism, Social discrimination

Annotation: This journal issue includes articles that are related to ethical issues in interventions to prevent and control childhood obesity. Topics include protecting children from harmful food marketing, policy approaches, weight bias, children with special health care needs, public vs individual rights in childhood obesity interventions, the ethical basis for promoting nutritional health in public schools, ethical family interventions, state requirements and recommendations.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1545-1151.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Civil rights, Ethics, Families, Health promotion, Human rights, Intervention, Marketing, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public policy, Research, School heath, Social bias

Annotation: This workbook, which is intended for young people with disabilities, presents information that readers can use to understand their disability, explain their disability to others, and decide whether and how to disclose their disability. The workbook is divided into eight units: (1) self-determination -- the big picture, (2) disclosure -- what is it and why is it so important?, (3) weighing the advantages and disadvantages of disclosure, (4) rights and responsibilities under law, (5) acommodations, (6) postsecondary disclosure, (7) disclosure on the job, and (8) disclosure in social and community settings. Each unit contains a general statement of purpose, useful terminology, a discussion section, and activities to allow the reader to understand and practice the ideas presented throughout the unit. The workbook also includes a glossary.

Contact: National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth, c/o Institute for Educational Leadership, 4455 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Stuie 310, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (877) 871-0744 Secondary Telephone: (877) 871-0665 Web Site: http://www.ncwd-youth.info Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Civil rights, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Disabilities, Education, Individual responsibility, Informed consent, Legal responsibility, Work force, Workplace, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This manual provides an overview of the current state of language barriers to health care and of the array of federal and state legal provisions affecting the delivery of linguistically appropriate services to non-English speaking patients. The manual is divided into five sections which examine the following subject areas: the need for linguistically appropriate health care services, language access responsibilities under Federal laws, state law requirements, managed care and private accreditation organizations, and recommendations and conclusions. Ten appendices include a bibliography, minutes of a technical advisory group meeting, a structured interview guide, information and guidance from the Office of Civil Rights, a summary of state laws on linguistic and cultural needs, a section of California government code, and Medicaid managed care contract provisions.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Accreditation, California, Civil rights, Cultural factors, Federal legislation, Language barriers, Legal responsibility, Limited English speakers, Managed care, Manuals, Medicaid, State legislation

Annotation: This briefing book offers guidance to Congress, the administration, and state legislatures about which issues resonate with Hispanics, the nation's largest ethnic group. Topics include (1) civil rights, (2) economic mobility, (3) education, (4) health care, (5) housing, (6) immigration, and (7) NCLR's state and local policy activities. Population tables and references are included.

Contact: National Council of La Raza, 1126 16th Street, NW. Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-1670 Fax: (202) 776-1792 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nclr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Civil rights, Economic factors, Education, Ethnic factors, Federal government, Health care, Hispanic Americans, Housing, Immigration, Local initiatives, Public policy, State legislatures

Annotation: This paper discusses the Olmstead court decision that it is discrimination for a state needlessly to institutionalize an individual with a disability, focusing specifically on children with serious emotional disturbances. It discusses principles to guide an Olmstead planning process for these children, values and principles of a system of care, the current status of Olmstead planning for children, and questions that must be answered in developing a comprehensive plan for children that is responsive to their civil and human rights. The paper is designed to give guidance to family advocates and state policymakers interested in statewide, systemic reform.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org $6.00 plus shipping.

Keywords: Affective disorders, Child mental health, Civil rights, Community based services, Mental health services

Annotation: This book describes racial segregation and discrimination in health care in the United States from 1920 to the end of the twentieth century. The first part of the book describes choices that produced the health care civil right struggle, including the background and evolution of the country's divided health care system, early battles to integrate hospitals at the national policy level, events in North Carolina where key legal precedents were set, the enforcement of the 1964 civil rights legislation in the implementation of Medicare, and subsequent decline and dissipation of attention to civil rights issues in pubic health. The second part discusses the accomplishments and uncompleted agenda of the civil rights movement as it pertains to health care, impact on services provided to the elderly, and alternative strategies for dealing with the current situation.

Contact: University of Michigan Press, 839 Greene Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-3209, Telephone: (734) 764-4388 Fax: (734) 615-1540 Web Site: http://www.press.umich.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-472-10991-X.

Keywords: Blacks, Civil rights, Health services, Racial discrimination

Annotation: This handbook provides adolescents and young adults who have chronic conditions or disabilities information on how they can make the transition to independent living; it shares the personal narratives of those who have special health needs. Topics covered include learning self assurance, dealing with feelings about health and medicine, making plans based upon an honest assessment of the special health condition, using communication skills, advocating for civil rights, responding to the need for love and affection, and pursuing opportunities in education and employment. Appendices list federal, state, and local resources that can provide assistance to adolescents, young adults, and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Civil rights, Education, Emotional development, Employment, Federal programs, Life skills, Local programs, Personal narratives, Psychosexual development, Resource materials, Self esteem, Special health care needs, State programs, Transition to independent living, Vocational rehabilitation, Young adults

Annotation: This booklet sets forth minimum rules and regulations for residential child care facilities for the state of Colorado. The following main sections are included: (1) general information, (2) definitions, (3) application and investigation, (4) licenses, (5) enforcement, (6) confidentiality of records, and (7) civil rights.

Keywords: Child care, Civil rights, Colorado, Confidentiality, Group homes, Licensing, Records, Regulations, Standards

Annotation: This report summarizes the findings of the Project on Classification of Exceptional Children undertaken in 1972 at the request of Elliot Richardson, then secretary of Health, Education and Welfare. It deals with social functions of categories and labels, diagnostic categories, proposed model for classifying children, possible negative effects of treatment programs, the legal status, integration of services for exceptional children, and recommendations. The report ends with 2 appendices: one on suggestions for parents and professionals and the other a list of project participants, grouped by their specialties; and a list of references.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Civil rights, Classification, Developmental disabilities, Diagnostic tests, Family support services, Health screening, Labeling, Substance use screening

Annotation: This collection of papers was specially prepared for Conference participants to provide them with specific background information on each major theme of the Conference. These themes are the current scene including young adults, suburbia, city housing and mobility; beliefs and values including religious development, values and ideals; health, education, employment, and leisure services; special problems of minorities, civil rights, migrants, marriage and divorce, and multi problem families; children with developmental disabilities and behavior problems; and community action.

Keywords: Adults, Behavior problems, Children, Children with developmental disabilities, Cities, Civil rights, Community action, Conferences, Divorce, Dysfunctional families, Education, Employment, Health, Marriage, Migrants, Minority groups, Religion, Social values, Suburban population, United States, Youth