Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project sought to demonstrate that a system of reimbursable, cost-effective, home-based support services can be implemented for families with chronically ill children. The project objectives were to facilitate the provision of home-based care for chronically ill children through the following activities: (1) Developing a regional network of medically skilled respite providers; (2) establishing self-help mutual support groups for chronically ill children and their parents and siblings; (3) training professionals, paraprofessionals, and volunteers; and (4) disseminating project findings and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158699.

Keywords: Arthritis, Asthma, Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Congenital Heart Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Families, Feeding Disorders, Hemophilia, Home-Based Health Care, Kidney Disease, Leukemia, Low income groups, Muscular Dystrophy, Nurses, Respiratory Technologies, Respite Care, Sick Kids (Need) Involved People (SKIP), Sickle Cell Disease, Support Groups, Tay-Sachs Disease, Ventilator Dependence

Annotation: This project provided comprehensive services (including early diagnosis, continuity of treatment, and case management by an interdisciplinary team) to juveniles with connective tissues diseases. Activities included providing services in forty-eight counties in Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia; collecting clinical, treatment, and demographic data on all patients; and developing regional networks of health professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161883.

Keywords: Adolescents, Appalachians, Chronically Ill, Connective Tissue Diseases, Data Collection, Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, Patient Education, Rehabilitation, Rheumatic Diseases, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report focuses on the oral health needs of Texas adults (ages 18 and older). It provides an analysis of data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System survey (BRFSS), 2012–2018. It also discusses the impact of smoking and chronic diseases, including diabetes, heart disease, and cardiovascular disease on dental visits and on partial and total tooth loss. Information on visits to the hospital emergency room because of oral health problems is also included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Diabetes, Health care utilization, Oral health, Smoking, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This report discusses the relationship between oral health and behavioral health and the consequences that lack of awareness about the importance of oral health and access to comprehensive oral health care can have for people living with chronic conditions, including diabetes and heart and lung diseases, and for those with behavioral health conditions. The connection between oral health and mental health is discussed, along with the importance of improving oral health coverage and integrating overall health care, mental health care, and oral health care.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Health insurance, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the role of school nurses in improving student academic achievement and decreasing absenteeism by helping students with chronic health conditions manage their condition. Topics include providing direct care such as giving children medications, providing case management, and advocating for students and their families to help them get the resources and support they need.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Elementary schools, Families, Family support services, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Program coordination, Role, School age children, School nurses, Students

Annotation: This document provides talking points on ways to eliminate dental caries in children. Topics include the consequences of poor oral health on children and their families; costs for families and states; the role of primary care health professionals and other health professionals in providing oral health care; and the need for affordable, comprehensive dental coverage.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Oral health

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This website provides resources from a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to improve health and control health care costs. Topics include high-burden health conditions and associated interventions that prevent chronic and infectious diseases by increasing coverage, access, use, and quality; and how to align evidence-based preventive practices with emerging value-based payment and delivery models. Contents include a fact sheet and evidence summaries on reducing tobacco use, controlling high blood pressure, preventing health care-associated infections, controlling asthma, preventing unintended pregnancy, and controlling and preventing diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coalitions, Collaboration, Consumers, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Infectious diseases, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Relationships, Third party payers

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

Annotation: This brief for state policymakers presents strategies for addressing the problem of early childhood caries (ECC) in participants enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). The brief defines ECC, describes the disproportionate impact of ECC on children ages 2–5 from families with low incomes and from minority households, and outlines ways that states can promote ECC prevention and management within Medicaid and CHIP policies. Topics include emphasizing prevention, assessing and addressing risk, educating and engaging parents, and supporting providers.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Health care disparities, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Minority groups, Oral health, Policy development, State programs, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue brief for state policymakers describes the problem of early childhood caries (ECC) and the leadership needed to address the problem. Topics include the proportion of children with untreated ECC, the disproportionate impact of untreated ECC on children from families with low incomes, and the important role of state leaders (including Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program managers) in assessing policy and implementing next steps. Topics include emphasizing prevention, promoting risk assessments and individualized care plans for children at high risk for ECC, and educating and engaging parents.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Disease management, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Health care disparities, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, State programs, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue brief for state oral health program managers presents strategies for preventing and managing early childhood caries in children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). The brief also provides examples of state efforts to implement prevention, risk-assessment, care-plan, and quality-improvement strategies in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Health care disparities, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, State programs, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Annotation: These toolkits are designed to help health professionals manage pediatric-to-adult transitions of care for their clients with various chronic endocrine conditions including growth hormone deficiency and type 1 diabetes. Topics include assessing client skills, client self-assessment, recommended approach to planning for pediatric practices, and recommended approach to receiving a new client. Forms, clinical summaries, client fact sheets, dosing guides, and and other resources are included. Toolkits for childhood cancer, congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and Turner syndrome are forthcoming.

Contact: Endocrine Society, 2055 L Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 971-3636 Web Site: http://www.endo-society.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health services, Adolescents, Assessment, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Disease management, Endocrine diseases, Forms, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, Transition planning

Annotation: This statistical brief presents data from the Household Component of the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey on medical expenditures associated with the five most costly conditions for children ages 0–17 in 2011. Topics include mental disorders, asthma/chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, trauma-related disorders, acute bronchitis and upper respiratory infections, and otitis media.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Acute diseases, Adolescents, Asthma, Bronchitis, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Infants, Mental disorders, Otitis media, Pediatric care, Pulmonary disorders, Respiratory diseases, Statistics, Trauma

Annotation: This report highlights key findings from a qualitative exploratory study about asthma care for African American and Latino children ages 4-14 from families with low incomes in Washington, DC. Topics include poor housing, the lack of health professionals in low-income neighborhoods, the gap between acute and chronic care, barriers to asthma management, and lessons for improving asthma care and children's asthma outcomes. The appendices contain information about the study sample, recruitment, lessons learned, and focus group and one-on-one interview discussion guides.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Blacks, Children, Chronic diseases and disabilities, Critical care, Disease management, Hispanic Americans, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Research

Annotation: This web page provides links to 10 case studies developed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials highlighting how state chronic disease directors and MCH programs are working together to deliver chronic disease prevention programs to MCH populations using either preconception health or the lifecourse health perspectives as the theoretical underpinnings. The page also links to slides from a webinar on how collaboration between maternal and child health, chronic disease, and other state and local health divisions can shift departmental focus from treatment to early prevention.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease, MCH programs

Annotation: This handbook is intended to serve as a ready reference for practicing clinicians on the requirements and metabolism of specific nutrients, methods of assessing nutrition status, and the nutrition support of healthy infants, children, and adolescents, as well as children with acute and chronic illness. Topics that arise frequently in pediatric practice, such as breastfeeding, the impact of diet on long-term health, the use of fast foods and vegetarian diets, food technology and novel foods or ingredients that may become available to consumers, and food labeling are also covered in individual chapters.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-816-3.

Keywords: Acute diseases, Adolescents, Child health, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Food, Food labeling, Food preferences, Infant nutrition, Manuals, Nutrients, Nutrition assessment, Nutritional status, Pediatrics, Technology, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This website provides information about public health issues that affect both Mexico and the United States. The site offers information about connections between Mexico and the United States and about health conditions of concern to both the United States and Mexico (including vaccine-preventable infectious diseases, vector-borne diseases, zoonotic diseases, illnesses spread through food and water, tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS, pandemic influenza and other global health emergencies, and chronic health conditions) as well as about the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's role in the partnership between the United States and Mexico. Information about the U.S.-Mexico border region and other interesting facts is also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Infectious diseases, Influenza, International health, Mexico, Prevention, Public health, Tuberculosis, Vaccines