Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (27 total).

Rutgers Occupational Training and Education Consortium. n.d.. Trauma training: Child development, trauma and the brain—The DYFS mental health screening program. Buhl, ID: National Family Preservation Network,

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: director@nfpn.org Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child welfare, Children's mental health, Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma

National Academy for State Health Policy. 2016. State strategies for promoting children's preventive services. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, multiple items.

Annotation: This series of maps and the accompanying chart illustrate state-specific Medicaid or Children’s Health Insurance Program performance-improvement projects, measures, or incentives promoting children’s preventive services. The series covers managed or accountable care performance-improvement projects; managed care performance measures; metrics or incentives in statewide Medicaid system transformation; other financial incentives; and non-financial incentives. Measures, projects, and incentives fall into the following six categories of services: behavioral health screenings, weight assessment, lead screening, immunizations, preventive oral health services, and well visits for children and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Adolescents, Body weight, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Financing, Health care reform, Measures, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Mental health, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Systems development

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP: Chart pack. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 75 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care service for children covered by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during the fiscal year. which generally covers care delivered during the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly reported measures. Topics include the child core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, behavioral health care, oral health services, and trends in state performance. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Children in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk children, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2015. Report to the Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 165 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. Topics include using Medicaid supplemental payments to drive delivery-system reform, Medicaid coverage of dental benefits for adults, the intersection of Medicaid and child welfare, behavioral health in the Medicaid program, and the use of psychotropic medications among Medicaid beneficiaries.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: macpac@macpac.gov Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development

Acoca L, Stephens J, Van Vleet A. 2014. Health coverage and care for youth in the juvenile justice system: The role of Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 14 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the health and mental health needs of girls and boys in the juvenile justice system and the role of Medicaid in addressing those needs. It focuses on the circumstances of those girls and boys who are placed in juvenile justice residential facilities, the discontinuity of Medicaid coverage for those youth, and the options for improving coverage, continuity of care and access to needed services post-discharge, including opportunities provided by the Affordable Care Act.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Health insurance, High risk adolescents, Juvenile justice, Medicaid, Mental health, Program improvement, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Youth

Sacks V, Murphey D, Moore K. 2014. Adverse childhood experiences: National and state level prevalence. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 11 pp. (Research brief)

Hazel WA. 2014. A healthy Virginia: Health care report. [Richmond, VA: Virginia Governor's Office], 32 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the governor's plan to increase access to health care in Virginia. Topics include planning for medical and behavioral health services, covering children, supporting enrollment in the federal marketplace, informing people about their health care options, making dependent coverage affordable for state employees with low incomes, providing comprehensive dental coverage to pregnant women, prioritizing the health of veterans, winning a State Innovation Model grant, creating behavioral health homes, and reducing prescription drug and heroin abuse. Contents include information about the importance of each topic and related goals, background, strategies for success, timeline, and measures of achievement.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Dental insurance, Drug abuse, Enrollment, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health objectives, Information dissemination, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Pregnant women, Program improvement, State programs, Statewide planning, Virginia

Alliance for Health Reform. 2013. Covering health issues: A sourcebook for journalists. Washington, DC: Alliance for Health Reform, 180 pp.

Annotation: This guide for journalists provides background information on health care policy issues including data and information about health care policy experts and how to contact them. Topics include the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, health care costs, health information technology, quality of care, health insurance exchanges, Medicare, Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program., dual eligibles, long-term services and support, disparities in health and health care, mental health and substance abuse, and public health and prevention. A list of acronyms and a glossary are included. The online version also features local news stories related to the topics.

Contact: Alliance for Health Reform, 1444 Eye St., N.W., Suite 910, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-2300 Fax: (202) 789-2233 E-mail: info@allhealth.org Web Site: http://www.allhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Long term care, Mass media, Medicaid, Medicare, Mental health, Prevention, Public health, Quality assurance, Substance abuse, Technology

Kenney GM, Coyer C, Anderson N. 2013. Racial and ethnic differences in access to care and service use for children with coverage through Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 28 pp. (Low-income working families, paper 23)

Annotation: This paper discusses evidence that black and Hispanic children with Medicaid/CHIP coverage may have more problems accessing care, relative to their white counterparts, in two areas: specialty and mental health care. It also discusses the need for further study to explore both the causes and the potential implications of these patterns.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Health care financing, Hispanic Americans, Medicaid, Mental health services, Special health care services

Golden O, Fortuny K. 2011. Improving the lives of young children: Meeting parents' health and mental health needs through Medicaid and CHIP so children can thrive. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 21 pp. (Brief 4)

Annotation: This brief discusses state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) choices that can help support the development of children by enhancing the delivery of mental health and medical services to their parents and families. Highlighting the correlation between the health of primary care givers (particularly when there is maternal depression), and the healthy development of children, the brief explains why two-generational services are important; examines the current Medicaid and CHIP policy framework; and looks at the changes that health reform will bring. The brief focuses on the following three policy opportunities for states: (1) increasing Medicaid coverage among eligible parents of young children; (2) increasing service receipt among parents; and (3) increasing receipt of family-based services when children are Medicaid-eligible but their parents are not. Included is a chart indicating the income eligibility for Medicaid/CHIP and the state-funded coverage among low-income pregnant women and working parents in each of the states.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicaid, Mental health, Mental health services, Parenting Skills, Parents, Policy development

Parisi L, Bruno R. 2010. Dental and mental health benefit: Improvements in CHIPRA. Washington, DC: Families USA, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes provisions in the Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009, explains what states must do to comply with the law, and discusses the options that states have to expand access to oral health and mental health care for children from families with low incomes. Topics include mandatory and optional dental benefits, optional wraparound coverage, quality and access to oral health care, and mental health parity. Action steps for states are included.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Benefits, Child health, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Dental care, Federal legislation, Mental health services, Oral health, Quality assurance, State programs

Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law. [2008]. The role of federal programs: Medicaid, SCHIP, and Medicare. Washington, DC: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 4 pp. (Healthcare reform issue brief)

Annotation: This brief provides background and offers policy recommendations about the role of Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program, and Medicare.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: communications@bazelon.org Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Costs, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Medicare, Mental health, Public policy, State Children's Health Insurance Program

Gershoff ET. 2008. Report on physical punishment in the United States: What research tells us about its effects on children. Columbus, OH: Center for Effective Discipline, 56 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a review of the empirical research to date on the effects physical punishment has on children. The report synthesizes 100 years of social science research and hundreds of published studies on physical punishment. The report defines physical punishment and discusses its prevalence in the United States and the status of Americans' approval for it, when it is likely to be used, research, effects on child behavior, risks, cultural perspectives, the legal status of physical punishment in the United States, human rights, and countries that have banned physical punishment.

Contact: Center for Effective Discipline, 327 Groveport Pike, Canal Winchester, OH 43110, Telephone: (614) 834-7946 Fax: (614) 321-6308 Web Site: http://www.stophitting.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child behavior, Children's rights, Corporal punishment, Cultural factors, Discipline, Families, Human rights, Legal issues, Mental health, Research

Lambert D, Ziller EC, Lenardson JD. 2008. Use of mental health service by rural children. [Portland, ME]: Muskie School of Public Service, University of Southern Maine, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report, based on data from the National Survey of America's Families, examines rural-urban differences in children's mental health service use, and which factors may mediate or reduce such differences. Areas examined include: (1) What is the mental health need of children, age 6 to 17? (2) What percentage of children, with an identified mental health need, used a mental health service in the past year? (3) What role does family income and type of insurance have on the use of mental health services by children?

Contact: Muskie School of Public Service, , P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104, Telephone: (207) 780-4430 Fax: (207) 780-4060 E-mail: Web Site: http://usm.maine.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Medicaid, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Demography, Insurance, National surveys, Public policy, Rural environment, Socioeconomic factors, State Children's Health Insurance Program

May J. 2006. Strategies for improving access to mental health services in SCHIP programs. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 8 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief discusses ways to improve access to mental health services for children enrolled in the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Specifically, the brief examines strategies and challenges faced by three state SCHIP programs operating in 2006: North Carolina, Rhode Island, and Utah. These states were chosen because they represent different kinds of SCHIP programs and different kinds of delivery systems. For each program, the brief presents an overview and strategies for integrating systems of care. The brief includes a conclusion and endnotes.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Health care systems, Mental health services, North Carolina, Rhode Island, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State programs, Utah

Howell E. 2004. Access to children's mental health services under Medicaid and SCHIP. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 7 pp. (Assessing the new federalism, series B, no. B-60)

Annotation: This brief fills some of the knowledge gaps about the unique roles of Medicaid -- the dominant payer for mental health services for poor children -- and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), a newer program whose role is still evolving. The brief first reviews coverage policy for mental health services for Medicaid and SCHIP. It then provides new information on the prevalence of mental health problems for Medicaid and SCHIP children, and their use of mental health services. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief is intended to help guide Medicaid and SCHIP policy regarding how to best serve children.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child mental health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Mental health services, Public policy, State Children's Health Insurance Program

Children's Defense Fund. 2003. Children's mental health resource kit: Promoting children's mental health screens and assessments. Washington, DC: Children's Defense Fund, 42 pp.

Annotation: This mental health resource kit is designed to help promote access to and increase availability of mental health screenings and assessments for children through Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program. The kit includes a variety of fact sheets and an action strategies and resources guide. The kit is intended to help readers gather information in their state and to lead them to other resources.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Assessment, Child health, Medicaid, Mental health, Resource materials, Screening, State Children's Health Insurance Program

U.S. General Accounting Office. 2002. Mental health services: Effectiveness of insurance coverage and federal programs for children who have experienced trauma largely unknown. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 108 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines information on the ability of children who have experienced trauma to obtain mental health services under Medicaid and SCHIP programs. It addresses (1) the extent to which private health insurance and the primary public programs that insure children -- Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)--cover mental health services needed by children exposed to traumatic events and (2) other federal programs that help children who have experienced trauma receive needed mental health services. Extensive appendices include the scope and methodology of the report; data on victimization and the SCHIP program; selected insurer's coverage information; selected laws regarding mental health coverage; selected federal grant programs; state crime victim compensation benefits; and comments from three federal agencies. Statistics are provided throughout the report in table and chart format.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-02-813.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Crime, Health insurance, Medicaid, Program evaluation, Service delivery, State children's health insurance program, State legislation, Statistical data, Trauma care, Victims

Rosenbaum S, Sonosky C, Shaw K, Mauery ER. 2002. Behavioral health and managed care contracting under SCHIP. Washington, DC: George Washington University, Center for Health Services Research and Policy, 35 pp. (SCHIP policy studies project; Policy brief no. 5)

Annotation: This policy brief examines behavioral health managed care contracting under separately administered State Children's Health Insurance Programs (SCHIP), i.e., programs that operate under the direct authority of Title XXI of the Social Security Act rather than as expansions of Medicaid. Charts present data on each state.

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: info@gwhealthpolicy.org Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavior disorders, Health care financing, Managed care, Mental health, State children's health insurance program, Substance abuse

Hutchins VL. 2001. Maternal and child health at the millennium: Looking back, moving forward. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 62 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides an overview of the federal Maternal and Child Health (MCH) program's evolution in consultation, technical assistance, policy development and dissemination, and data collection and analysis, from the establishment of the Children's Bureau in 1912 to the present. The publication uses four selected areas—newborn screening, mental retardation, heart disease, and school health/health of school age children—to illustrate how the MCH program development principles have incorporated scientific and technological advances into promoting the health of the nation's children and families. The publication discusses the problems that the MCH program will face in the future, including unresolved problems from the 20th century and new problems. References are included in the document. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Children, Children's Bureau, Families, Fathers, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Heart diseases, History, Infants, MCH programs, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Mental retardation, Neonatal screening, Parents, Pregnant women, Program development, School age children, School health, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.