Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (520 total).

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2020. State Medicaid & CHIP telehealth tooklit: Policy considerations for states expanding use of telehealth (COVID-19 version). Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 2 items.

Annotation: This toolkit provides states with statutory and regulatory infrastructure issues to consider as they evaluate the need to expand their telehealth capabilities and coverage policies. It covers (1) patient populations eligible for telehealth, (2) coverage and reimbursement policies, (3) providers and practitioners eligible to provider telehealth, (4) technology requirements, and (5) pediatric considerations. This toolkit also includes a compilation of frequently asked questions (FAQs) and other resources available to states. An accompanying checklist of policy questions serves as a tool for states to assess telehealth in their state.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicaid, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Children's Dental Health Project. 2019. Medicaid dental guidance to states: An opportunity to aim for equity. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to assist advocates in capitalizing on information in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report explains why the bulletin is important and discusses opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Access to health care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State agencies

U.S. Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services. 2018. Aligning dental payment policies and periodicity schedules in the Medicaid and CHIP programs. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicare Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This bulletin discusses the importance of state Medicaid programs and Children’s Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) properly implementing dental periodicity schedules to ensure children’s access to dental coverage. Topics include background on tooth decay in children, dental coverage for children enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, proper implementation of dental periodicity schedules, and state action to ensure dental periodicity and fee schedule alignment and flexibility.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State programs

Rosenthal J, Henderson M, Dolatshahi J, Hess C, Tobias C, Bachman S, Comeau M. 2017. Public insurance programs and children with special health care needs: A tutorial on the basics of Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) (upd.). Boston, MA: Catalyst Center; Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 55 pp.

Annotation: This tutorial provides an overview of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), populations these programs serve, changes the programs are undergoing under health care transformation, and opportunities to improve services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) through communication and collaboration with Medicaid and CHIP staff. The tutorial begins with an overview of how definitions of CSHCN may vary by agency or program, followed by major topic areas, including recommendations for Title V programs to build successful partnerships with public insurance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: mcomeau@bu.edu Web Site: http://cahpp.org/project/the-catalyst-center Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Children's Health Insurance Program, EPSDT, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Title V programs

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2017. Children's health insurance program overview. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 1 v.

Annotation: This website provides information about the history and current status of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), including information about coverage for pregnant women. State examples and additional resources about federal and state CHIP policy are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal initiatives, Legislation, Policy development, Pregnant women, State programs

Brooks T, Wagnerman K, Artiga S, Cornachione E, Ubri P. 2017. Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017: Findings from a 50-state survey. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data on Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017, and identifies changes in these policies in the past year. It documents the role Medicaid and CHIP play for children and families with low incomes and the evolution of these programs under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and renewal processes, and premiums and cost sharing. Trend and state-by-state tables are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, State surveys, Trends

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs

U.S. Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services. 2016. Dental and oral health services in Medicaid and CHIP. [Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services], 30 pp.

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on children's use of dental services in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. It includes state-specific performance data for two measures: preventive dental services and dental treatment services. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality-monitoring and qaulity-improvement efforts related to oral health care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children’s Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

Insure Kids Now. 2016. Improving oral health. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children's Health Insurance Program, Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2016. Provider networks: Comparison of child-focused network adequacy standards between CHIP and private health plans. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the inclusion of pediatric providers, including children's hospitals, in Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and qualified health plans (QHPs). Topics include federal and selected state CHIP and QHP adequacy standards, the extent to which selected issuers of CHIP plans and QHPs include children's hospitals and otherwise help ensure access to pediatric specialists, and how the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and selected states monitor CHIP plan and QHP compliance with adequacy standards.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-16-219.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children's Health Insurance Program, Health insurance, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Standards, Work force

Greenberg B, Saglimbeni M. 2016. NYS School-Based Comprehensive Oral Healthcare Services Project: Final report 2011–2015. Albany, NY: New York State Department of Health; Menands, NY: Health Research, 25 pp. incl. appendices.

Annotation: This report describes a project to improve the oral health of school-age children in an area in New York where there is a health professional shortage and most residents have low incomes. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Links to a cover letter and combined enrollment form; links to video programs; and the process, out- come, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Model programs, New York, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, Schools, Service integration, Systems development

National Academy for State Health Policy. 2016. State strategies for promoting children's preventive services. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, multiple items.

Annotation: This series of maps and the accompanying chart illustrate state-specific Medicaid or Children’s Health Insurance Program performance-improvement projects, measures, or incentives promoting children’s preventive services. The series covers managed or accountable care performance-improvement projects; managed care performance measures; metrics or incentives in statewide Medicaid system transformation; other financial incentives; and non-financial incentives. Measures, projects, and incentives fall into the following six categories of services: behavioral health screenings, weight assessment, lead screening, immunizations, preventive oral health services, and well visits for children and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Adolescents, Body weight, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Financing, Health care reform, Measures, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Mental health, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Systems development

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP: Chart pack. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 75 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care service for children covered by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during the fiscal year. which generally covers care delivered during the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly reported measures. Topics include the child core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, behavioral health care, oral health services, and trends in state performance. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Children in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk children, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. State Medicaid & CHIP profiles. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. Perinatal care in Medicaid and CHIP. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 5 pp. plus appendices.

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on perinatal care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Contents include state-specific performance data on 5 of the 10 perinatal care measures in the Child and Adult Core Sets. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality monitoring and improvement efforts related to prenatal and postpartum care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports. Topics include timeliness of prenatal care, frequency of ongoing prenatal care, postpartum care rate, live births weighing less than 2,500 grams (low birthweight), and central-line-associated blood stream infections in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Measures, Medicaid managed care, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Utilization review

Reusch C, Alker J. 2016. Fulfilling the promise of children's dental coverage. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project and Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families, 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on dental insurance coverage for children and adolescents and ways to improve children’s and adolescents’ oral health. The brief describes marketplace coverage under the Affordable Care Act and coverage financed through the Children’s Health Insurance Program and Medicaid. Topics include affordability and consumer protection, child-focused benefits, and data and evaluation. The brief concludes with a list of 12 recommendations for policymakers at the state and federal levels to strengthen dental coverage and ensure that children and adolescents receive needed oral health care.

Contact: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: childhealth@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Data collection, Dental insurance, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Program evaluation, State programs

Hensley-Quinn M, Cardwell A, Riley T. 2016. Potential options and policy questions for improving exchange coverage for children. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 11 pp.

Annotation: This brief for state policymakers examines the role of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) within the context of coverage sources available through the Affordable Care Act (ACA), including potential changes and coverage differences, and options for maintaining affordable and comprehensive children's coverage. Topics include using CHIP as a benchmark plan, offering CHIP through exchanges as a child-only plan, using CHIP funds to further subsidize exchange coverage, and creating children's coverage demonstrations.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, State programs

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2015. Children's oral health. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource examines children’s oral health and the role that state legislators can play in improving it. Topics include the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program, access to services, work force issues, and prevention and awareness.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Work force

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2015. Report to the Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 165 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. Topics include using Medicaid supplemental payments to drive delivery-system reform, Medicaid coverage of dental benefits for adults, the intersection of Medicaid and child welfare, behavioral health in the Medicaid program, and the use of psychotropic medications among Medicaid beneficiaries.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: macpac@macpac.gov Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development

National Academy for State Health Policy. 2015. Medical homes and patient-centered care. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 1 v.

Annotation: This series of interactive maps feature state efforts to advance medical homes for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) participants. The maps feature states with medical home activity for Medicaid/CHIP since 2006, states with an active role in a multi-payer medical home initiative, states pursuing Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Section 2703 health homes, states aligning medical home payments with national or state-developed qualification standards, and states making payments to community-based teams or networks to support primary care practices.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Health care reform, Medicaid, Medical home, Primary care, Reimbursement

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.