Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This project sought to achieve comprehensive, coordinated, community-based services for children with special health needs and their families through improved collaboration among parents and public and private agencies at all levels within the service delivery system. Activities included maintaining a network of States, facilitating coalitions within States, brokering technical assistance, organizing conferences, and developing materials on topics such as the financing of services, service provision to culturally diverse groups, rural services, and collaboration between mental health professionals and other health care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147130.

Keywords: Child Care, Chronically Ill, Collaboration of Care, Community-Based Health Care, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Financing, Grandparents, Medicaid, Networks, Parent Support Groups, Parents, Rural Population

Annotation: This project worked with the Technical Assistance for Parent Programs Project and the U.S. Office of Special Education Resources in order to increase and enhance parent involvement in the health care of children with disabilities and special health needs. The project sought to (1) prepare parents to assume an integral role in the health care of their children with disabilities; (2) promote effective communication and collaboration among health care professionals and parents in order to enhance health services for children; and (3) develop a national support system to ensure that parents have access to essential information and peer support. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152940.

Keywords: 99-457 Financing Intervention, Early Association for the Care of Children', Health Professionals, L, Parent Education Parent Professional Communication Peer Support P, Parents, s Health (ACCH) Parent Networks

Annotation: The overall goal of the Arizona EMSC project was to reduce childhood mortality and morbidity by (1) providing broad-based training and education in pediatric emergency care to medical personnel involved in the prehospital and early hospital emergency medical care, and (2) helping establish childhood injury prevention programs throughout the State. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121909.

Keywords: Bicycle Helmets, Bicycle Safety, Car seats, Drowning, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Injury Prevention, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Seat Belts

Annotation: The State of Oklahoma has a limited and fragmented EMS system that has not adequately addressed the needs of its pediatric population. To decrease the negative outcomes of pediatric emergency care, this project: (1) Established a prehospital- and hospital-based data collection system to provide definition of emergency medical services for children (EMSC) and identify negative outcome factors; (2) developed and assisted a statewide consortium in support of EMSC issues; (3) provided pediatric prehospital and hospital care training to emergency medical technicians, nurses, and physicians; and (4) worked with Native Americas and Hispanic populations to prevent child abuse and related injuries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child Abuse, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Shaken Infant Syndrome

Annotation: This project was a partnership between families and their medical home to develop a demonstration model for care coordination for environmentally at-risk infants and toddlers in low-income culturally diverse urban and rural settings. The families were being served as part of the eligible population under P.L. 99–457, with an individualized family support plan (IFSP) developed for each family. The target population included many families of different ethnic origins. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133969.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Children with Special Health care Needs, Cultural Diversity, Families, Family Centered Health Care, Family Support Programs, Hawaiians, Health Promotion, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Low Income Population, PL 99-457, Parents, Preschool Children, Primary Care, Rural Population, Service Coordination, Urban Population

Annotation: This brief summarizes several initiatives to advance health and/or racial equity in home visiting. Some examples include: Home Visiting Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network 2.0 (HV CoIIN 2.0) Health Equity Collaborative, Michigan Home Visiting Initiative (MHV), and Massachusetts Racial Equity Movement. The brief also highlights the National Leadership Academy for the Public's Health (NLAPH) program.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Ethnic groups, Family support services, Health equity, Home visiting, Model programs, Race, Social factors

Annotation: This yearbook presents 2021 data on early childhood home visiting and provides an up-to-date look at home visiting in action. The report answers critical questions about where home visiting programs are located; the number of families and children being served by home visiting programs; home visiting models; the staffing of home visiting programs; and what is happening in the states. The yearbook includes data on virtual home visits during the COVID-19 pandemic. The National Home Visiting Resource Center uses model, state, and administrative data sources, along with publicly available information, to present the national home visiting landscape.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health

Annotation: This recorded webinar provides background information on the global maternal mortlaity crisis and highlights opportunities for birth workers to intervene and alleviate the crisis. Guest presenters from international maternal and child health organizations give an overview of their practice to support pregnant and birthing people, and prevent maternal deaths. Special guests: Andrew Herrera, MPH, MBA, Executive Director of Curamericas; Mario Rodriguez Valdez Ramirez, Executive Director of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Juany Valdez, Head Nurse of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Nick Pearson, Founder and Co-Executive Director of Jacranda Health; Chanel Porchia-Albert, Founder of Ancient Song Doula Services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Doulas, International health, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, Pregnancy, Prevention, Social support

Annotation: This report identifies key policy flexibilities enacted during the COVID-19 public health emergency. It summarizes stakeholders' perspectives about the impact of the pandemic and policy flexibilities on children and youth with special health care needs and their families and providers. The authors present recommendations for continuing or ceasing temporary policy changes after the public health emergency, as well as new policies and actions to best support children and youth with special heath care needs and their families.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Medicaid, Mental health, Telehealth, Virus diseases, Work force

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of research-based practices and policies that state leaders can use to support meaningful family engagement in children's early learning, which ultimately improves child and family outcomes. The document provides links to Federal statutes and policies that require family engagement, evidence-based strategies for promoting family engagement, barriers to fostering family engagement, and problem-solving methods to overcome barriers. In addition, the brief provides examples of successful programs from different states.

Contact: SRI International, 333 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025-3493, Telephone: (650) 859-2000 Web Site: https://www.sri.com

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood education, Family centered services, Family health, Family support programs

Annotation: This report provides practical recommendations for providers, payers, and policy makers to consider in adopting approaches to transform child health care delivery. The report is a product of the Accelerating Child Health Transformation initiative, which works to identify, test, and disseminate a comprehensive and adaptable set of blueprints that can be used to transform child health care services to lead to improved child and family well-being, as well as racial equity. The Center for Health Care Strategies identified three key strategies that are integral to child health care transformation: adopting anti-racist practices and policies to advance health equity; co-creating equitable partnerships with patients, families, and providers; and identifying family strengths and addressing health-related social needs to promote resilience.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Family centered services, Family health, Family support programs, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Policy development

Annotation: This yearbook presents 2020 data on early childhood home visiting, focusing on where home visiting programs are located, the number of families and children being served by home visiting, home visiting models, and examples of state-level programs. The yearbook includes data on virtual home visits during the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, this updated version uses revised data language with an equity focus. The National Home Visiting Resource Center uses model, state, and administrative data sources, along with publicly available information, to present the national home visiting landscape.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting

Annotation: This report illustrates four pillars of care: child care and early education, adult and elder care, family caregiving and self care, and professional caregiving. It addresses (1) how existing care systems support households; (2) what the greatest unmet care needs are for households; (3) how design principles can better address care needs; and (4) what promising policy proposals and opportunities exist to improve household financial security.

Contact: Aspen Institute, One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036-1133, Telephone: (202) 736-5800 Fax: (202) 467-0790 Web Site: http://www.aspeninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Costs, Early childhood education, Elder care, Financial support, Public policies

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1150 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a systematic review of home visiting research to determine which home visiting program models have sufficient evidence to meet U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) criteria for an "evidence-based early childhood home visiting service delivery model." The brief also summarizes the evidence of effectiveness for the 20 program models that met DHHS criteria. Topics include favorable and sustained program impacts on primary and secondary outcome measures and whether or not the model has been replicated.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Parenting, Research, School readiness, Sustainability, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on the financial hardships facing families raising children on the autism spectrum. It discusses disability and sociodemographic characteristics of children with autism spectrum disorders, levels of family financial hardship, and safety net program use. Recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Family support services, Financial barriers, Financial support, Statistics

Annotation: This report presents key perspectives, lessons learned, and policy recommendations for state- and federal-level initiatives that center around the work of doulas and midwives in addressing the nation’s maternal health crisis.The report discusses racial disparities in maternal and infant morbidity and mortality and describes how birth workers can help reduce health risks, particularly among black and indigenous individuals giving birth. Information and perspectives shared by doulas and midwives interviewed for the report fall into three major categories: 1) the role and importance of community-based birth workers and the re-centering of the community in pregnancy-related care; 2) guidelines for health care system integration and the role of government; and 3) the creation of a progressive vision for pregnancy-related care in the United States.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives , American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Childbirth, Community health services, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Midwives, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Racial factors, Racism, Risk factors, Social support

Annotation: This brief reports on the functions of a central referral system, the Help Me Grow model, as a resource for families, community-based organizations, and health care providers to connect families to a variety of services and local resources that benefit young children. Based on interviews and focus groups with parents, pediatric primary care providers, community providers, and Help Me grow local staff, the brief offers perspectives on first steps in the referral process, identifying needs, and asking for help. It is one in a series of briefs evaluating community approaches to preventing or mitigating toxic stress.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Families, Models, Referrals, Service delivery systems, Social support, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children