Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce the incidence of poor health characteristics among low-income, culturally diverse populations by promoting the involvement of primary care physicians (pediatricians) in early screening and intervention. Project goals included increasing the level of preventive health care for underserved children, reducing the severity of psychosocial problems, increasing physicians' sense of involvement as part of a team in providing services to project children and their families, and demonstrating a practical process for accomplishing these goals which can be replicated across the nation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152833.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Child Abuse and Neglect Preventive, Continuing Education, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPSDT, Hawaiians, Health Care, Health Supervision Guidelines, High risk children, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary Care, Psychological Problems, Well Child Care

Annotation: This project addressed the dramatic rise in homelessness and substance abuse, the relationship between the two problems, and the increasing number of homeless families. The Family Shelter Project provided leadership and coordination for a broad range of health, social, and educational services to be provided to pregnant women, mothers, and children in a therapeutic community which has been established within a city shelter for homeless families. In addition, the project established a professional development collaborative to enhance the capacity of health professionals and those in related professions to serve the homeless, particularly the substance-abusing maternity services population. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-216208.

Keywords: Child Abuse and Neglect, Collaboration of Care, Education of Health Professionals, Families, High risk groups, Homeless, Low income groups, Mothers, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Substance Abuse, Urban Populations

Annotation: This video provides information on (1) tooth anatomy, the differences between primary and permanent teeth, and how to care for a child’s teeth; (2) recognizing and preventing tooth decay, handling oral emergencies, and helping children get oral health care; (3) identifying signs and symptoms in the mouth of possible child abuse and neglect and knowing the steps to take if either is suspected; and (4) understanding how a pregnant woman’s oral health may change during pregnancy and how to care for a newborn’s mouth. Participants who complete the training can earn continuing education credits through the Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association, nursing continuing education contact hours, and dietitian continuing education units. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Video
• Description

Keywords: Ohio, Child abuse, Child neglect, Continuing education, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Professional training, State information, Videotapes

Annotation: This CDC fact sheet uses statistics and color graphs to describe the various types of child abuse and neglect, how big the problem is, what the consequences are, and how they can be prevented. It contains references information on how to contact the CDC for more information.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Emotional abuse, Physical abuse

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Dental care, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This document provides the statutory basis for identifying persons who are required to report child maltreatment under certain circumstances for all of the United States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. Lists include a description of the person required to report maltreatment, standards for making a report, privileged communications, and inclusion or other disclosure of the reporter’s identity.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Child welfare, Children, Legal definitions, Legal responsibility, Legislation, Maltreated children, Oral health, Standards

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Annotation: This final report presents a vision for realigning organizations, communities, and priorities to identify and support children at highest risk of abuse or neglect fatality. Contents include recommendations for addressing the needs of American Indian/Alaska Native children and reducing child abuse and neglect deaths in disproportionately affected communities, improving leadership and accountability, grounding decisions in better data and research, and enhancing multidisciplinary support for families. A report fact sheet, social media toolkit, public meeting materials, deliberations, and resources on child abuse and neglect fatalities and National Child Abuse Prevention Month are also available.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• Final Report
• Report Fact Sheet, Social Media Toolkit, Public Meeting Materials, Deliberations, Resources

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Child abuse, Child death, Child neglect, Children, Decision making, Family centered care, Injury prevention, Leadership, Multidisciplinary approach, National initiatives, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Strategic plans, Systems development, Welfare reform

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) associated with higher health care costs among adults. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Collectively, the studies included in the review report costs for three of 10 major ACEs: physical abuse, sexual abuse, and physical neglect. The appendices contain definitions of terms, search terms and databases used in the review, and a description of systematic reviews and relevant primary research studies included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Costs, Evaluation methods, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Trauma, Women

Annotation: This guide is designed to support service providers as they work with parents, caregivers, and children to prevent child maltreatment and promote social and emotional well-being. The guide focuses on protective factors that build family strengths and promote optimal development. Information is augmented with tools and strategies to help providers integrate protective factors into community programs and systems. The guide includes tip sheets for parents and caregivers in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Family support services, Injury prevention, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Service integration, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what P.A.N.D.A. is and provides information about warning signs of child abuse and child neglect, behavioral indicators of child abuse or neglect, and the importance of learning the facts about how a child’s injury occurred. Information for dental office staff about steps in identifying and reporting suspected abuse or neglect is included. The fact sheet also includes a number to call in case of suspected child or abuse or neglect in Arkansas.

Contact: Delta Dental of Arkansas, P.O. Box 15965, Little Rock, AR 72231, Telephone: (855) 407-2632 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.deltadentalar.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Child abuse, Child neglect, Oral health, State initiatives

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on substance abuse during pregnancy. A chart provides detail on state-by-state definitions of abuse and what guidance is recommended.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, State legislation, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This continuing-education course provides information on the dental assistant's role in identifying orofacial injuries resulting from abuse or neglect in the dental setting. Topics include child abuse and neglect, identifying abuse or neglect, child maltreatment, conditions that may mimic abuse, family violence, causes of family violence, intervening in family cases involving adults, and local and state initiatives to prevent family violence.

Contact: American Dental Assistants Association, 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 1730, Chicago, IL 60601-2211, Telephone: (312) 541-1550 Secondary Telephone: 877-874-3785 Fax: (312) 541-1496 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dentalassistant.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Dental assistants, Domestic violence, Injuries, Oral health

Annotation: This resource brief provides sources of information on child maltreatment, including crisis intervention, support services, advocacy groups, and organizations that focus on preventing or mitigating the physical, psychological, and emotional effects of abuse or neglect of a child under the age of 18. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child maltreatment, Crisis intervention, Electronic resources, Neglect, Prevention

Annotation: This report examines four home visiting models (Healthy Families America, Nurse Family Partnership, Parents as Teachers, and Safe Care augmented) to find evidence that the programs reduce child maltreatment. It gives data on the cost per family of the four programs and reports on evidence that some of the programs did reduce child maltreatment and were cost effective.

Contact: Casey Family Programs, 2001 Eighth Avenue, Suite 2700, Seattle, WA 98121, Telephone: (206) 282-7300 Fax: (202) 282-3555 E-mail: http://www.casey.org/ContactUs/EmailUs/[email protected]&officename=Casey%20Family%20%20Programs Web Site: http://www.casey.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Cost effectiveness, Home visiting

Annotation: This report presents an overview of research on child abuse and neglect conducted by the National Research Council (NRC) and recommends a framework to guide future research. It calls for a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to child abuse and neglect research that examines factors related to both children and adults across physical, mental, and behavioral health domains.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-28512-4.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Data, Research

Annotation: This guide describes resources on child maltreatment prevention including data, reports, toolkits, and programs to help state health departments expand and enhance their own child maltreatment prevention efforts. Topics include data and definitions; policies, laws and legislation; prevention and healthy childhood; outcomes and types of maltreatment; campaigns, programs, and toolkits; and organizations. Descriptions of research articles are excerpted from published abstracts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Injury prevention, MCH research, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children', Data, Family health, High risk children, Life change events, Maltreated children, Statistics, Trauma, s mental health

Annotation: This is a prerecorded multidisciplinary course for family members of children with disabilities and the professionals who support them about preventing abuse and neglect of children with disabilities. Topics include how widespread abuse and neglect of children with disabilities is, why children with disabilities are at greater risk of abuse and neglect, why it is difficult to identify abuse and neglect in children with disabilities, and roles in identifying and reporting abuse and neglect of children with disabilities. The 3-session course lasts approximately 90 minutes.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Infants, Injury prevention, Interdisciplinary approach, Multidisciplinary teams, Special health care needs, Training, Violence prevention