Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit to support vaginal birth and reduce primary cesarean sections includes evidence-based tools and resources to support pregnant patients who transfer to the hospital from a community birth center and to effectively integrate midwifery care and doula support into the hospital setting. The toolkit serves as a “how to” guide to help educate and motivate maternity clinicians to apply best practices to support vaginal birth. Included are strategies to (1) improve the culture of care, awareness, and education for cesarean reduction; (2) support intended Vaginal Birth; (3) manage labor abnormalities and safely reduce cesarean births; and (4) use data to drive reduction in cesareans. Twenty appendices include checklists, guidelines, partograms, performance measures, and assessment tools for healthcare providers.

Contact: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, Stanford University Medical School Office Building, 1265 Welch Road, MS 5415, Stanford, CA 94305, Telephone: (650) 725-6108 Fax: (650) 721-5751 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cmqcc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary

Keywords: Birthing Centers, California , Cesarean section, Childbirth, Doulas, Hospitals Quality assurance, Labor, Midwives, Model programs, Pregnant women, Prevention, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist school officials in understanding how human trafficking impacts schools; recognizing the indicators of possible child trafficking; and developing policies, protocols, and partnerships to address and prevent the exploitation of children. Topics include child sex trafficking, child labor trafficking, deconstructing perceptions and a victim-centered approach, risk factors and predictors, what to do about suspected trafficking, recruitment, impact on learning environment, and community involvement. The guide contains a sample protocol for school districts and describes U.S. government entities combating human trafficking, publications and resources, training, services, and terms and definitions.

Contact: National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-5000 Fax: (202) 403-5001 Web Site: http://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child labor, Child sexual abuse, Community action, Learning, Policy development, Protective factors, Protocols, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, School age children, Schools, Training

Annotation: This brief discusses the health risks and costs associated with early elective deliveries (EED),federal and national initiatives to support full-term pregnancies, and health plan and health plan foundation approaches to reducing EED. Topics include the potential negative health consequences of EED; average payments for maternal and newborn care and payment reform; and hospital, provider, patient, and member education initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Costs, Federal initiatives, Foundations, Health education, Health plans, Induced labor, Intervention, National initiatives, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Reimbursement

Annotation: This document provides guidance on and strategies for reducing rates of early elective delivery (EED). Topics include the current landscape for eliminating EED, barriers to reducing EED and strategies to overcome them, challenges and barriers to monitoring performance and progress toward eliminating EED, key strategies to promote readiness for EED activities, and measurement guidance. Additional contents include educational tools, resources, and exemplars to support EED elimination efforts, as well as instructions for accessing relevant data.

Contact: National Quality Forum, 1030 15th Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 783-1300 Fax: (202) 783-3434 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.qualityforum.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Hospitals, Induced labor, Measures, Obstetrical care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This video for consumers explains why it's important to mother and baby's health to wait at least 39 weeks of pregnancy to deliver if the mother or child's health is not in danger. The video is available in a full-length version (4 min.,10 seconds), as well as 60-and 30-second versions. The initiative web page provides additional information for moms to be and for health professionals, including tools to help spread the word such as an infographic, ecards, and badges to put on a personal web site, blog, or organizational web site.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Video
• Initiative Website

Keywords: Childbirth, Gestational age, Induced labor, National initiatives, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Risk factors

Annotation: This book covers the 100-year history of the U.S. Children's Bureau dedicated to the welfare of the nation's children. Topics include involvement in issues such as infant mortality, dependent children, child labor hours and conditions, child abuse and neglect prevention, foster care, and adoption services. Contents include collaboration, assistance to states and tribes, research and data, getting the word out, and leadership. A website also presents the Children's Bureau history. A version of the printed history is also available in Spanish at https://cb100.acf.hhs.gov/sites/all/themes/danland/danblog/files/Story_of_CB_Spanish.pdf.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adoption, Child abuse, Child labor, Child neglect, Child welfare, Children, Federal agencies, Foster care, History, Infant mortality, Infants, Spanish language materials, U. S. Children', Welfare reform, Welfare services, s Bureau

Annotation: This report is part of a series that examine the rates at which 13 elective procedures are delivered in different communities across the state of California. The report examines the geographic variation in elective childbirth procedures, including elective induction, cesarian sections (C-sections), and vaginal birth after cesarian (VBAC). Each procedure is defined, and the risks and benefits are addressed. Comparative statistics on the rate and type of elective procedures performed in each of the state's hospital service areas (HSAs) is presented in table format. The data is from the period 2005-2009 and is based on the patients’ place of residence.

Contact: California HealthCare Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Cesarian section, Childbirth, Geographic regions, Induced labor, Infant health, Reproductive health, State surveys, Vaginal birth after Cesarian section, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide is designed to help pregnant women talk with their health care professional about elective induction of labor. It helps answer these questions: (1) What is elective induction? (2) What are the possible problems with elective induction? And (3) What don't we know yet about elective induction? Included are important things to consider and questions to ask your doctor or midwife. The guide does not cover labor induction for medical reasons. It is a companion publication to the clinician's guide, Elective Induction of Labor. The guide is available in English and Spanish. An audio (MP3) version and other related publications are also available.

Contact: AHRQ Publications Clearinghouse, U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, P.O. Box 8547, Silver Spring, MD 20907-8547, Telephone: (800) 358-9295 Secondary Telephone: (888) 586-6340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov/news/pubcat/pubcat.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. no. 10-EHC004-A (English); 10-EHC004-B (Spanish).

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Induced labor, Infant health, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: These presentation slides outline the roles doulas can play in understanding the need for better birth outcomes, the doula/client relationship and its impact on birth, the doula's role within a hospital's healthcare team, and financial considerations and funding opportunities.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Labor, Maternal health, Patient care teams, Pregnancy, Social support

Annotation: This brochure provides information to help pregnant women make informed choice about whether to have labor induced for non-medical reasons. The brochure explains what elective induction is, reviews possible problems, and discusses what is not yet known about elective induction. Topics also include why women might and might not want to induce labor, changes during labor, when it is not safe to induce labor, and Cesarean section. Things for pregnant woman to think about and questions for them to ask their doctor or midwife are also included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 10-EHC004-A (English); 10-EHC004-B (Spanish) .

• English Version (2009)
• Spanish Version (2010)

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Consumer education materials, Induced labor, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward consumers, presents highlights from the Maternity Experiences Survey, a large Canadian survey conducted in 2006 and 2007 to learn about the experiences of Canadian women with pregnancy, labor and birth, and the early months of motherhood. The booklet also discusses recent research and recommendations. Topics include pregnancy, labor and birth, and after the baby is born. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: Public Health Agency of Canada, 130 Colonnade Road, A.L. 6501H, Ottowa, Ontario, CANADA K1A 0K9, E-mail: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/contac-eng.php#general Web Site: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-100-11861-1.

• PDF

Keywords: , Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Labor, Mothers, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information from the Maternity Experiences Survey (MES), a large Canadian survey conducted in 2006 and 2007 to learn about the experiences of Canadian women. The report presents findings on all major topics covered by the MES, grouped into three chapters covering pregnancy, labor and birth, and postpartum. Findings by maternal age, maternal education, parity (i.e., primiparous or multiparous), type of birth (i.e., vaginal or cesarean) and household income level (i.e., at or below vs. above the low income cut-off) are also presented.

Contact: Public Health Agency of Canada, 130 Colonnade Road, A.L. 6501H, Ottowa, Ontario, CANADA K1A 0K9, E-mail: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/contac-eng.php#general Web Site: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-100-10828-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Infant health, Labor, Mothers, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about the outcomes of elective induction of labor. The report discusses four key questions: (1) what evidence describes the maternal risks of elective induction vs. expectant management?, (2) what evidence describes the fetal/neonatal risks of elective induction vs. expectant management?, (3) what is the evidence that certain physical conditions/patient characteristics are predictive of a successful induction of labor?, and (4) how is a failed induction defined? Methods, results, and conclusions are provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-E005.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Induced labor, Infant health, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide for clinicians summarizes clinical evidence comparing the safety of elective induction of labor at term with expectant management (waiting for spontaneous labor in a term pregnancy). The guide offers information about maternal and fetal outcomes when elective induction of labor is used and discusses the potential for harms and benefits. It does not address induction of labor for medical indications, nor does it compare the effectiveness of different labor induction methods. The source material for the guide is based on a systematic review of research studies published between 1964 and 2007.

Contact: AHRQ Publications Clearinghouse, U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, P.O. Box 8547, Silver Spring, MD 20907-8547, Telephone: (800) 358-9295 Secondary Telephone: (888) 586-6340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov/news/pubcat/pubcat.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. no. 10-EHC004-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Induced labor, Infant health, Pregnancy outcome, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This supplemental issue of the Journal of Perinatal Education focuses on the Coalition for Improving Maternity Services' initiative for improving maternity services and promoting normal birth. It describes principles underlying the Mother-Friendly Childbirth Initiatives, identifies the ten steps of Mother-Friendly Care and the evidence basis for the ten steps in separately authored articles. The appendix includes an article discussing the rationales and systematic reviews of both home birth and freestanding birth centers. Additional discussion and commentary is provided.

Contact: Lamaze International, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036 , Telephone: (202) 367-1128 Secondary Telephone: (800) 368-4404 Fax: (202) 367-2128 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lamaze.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Birthing centers, Consumer satisfaction, Delivery rooms, Health services delivery, Home childbirth, Labor, Mothers, Physician patient relations, Pregnancy

Annotation: This report quantifies the overall costs of health care services for having a baby, including all prenatal care services, delivery-related services, and postpartum services for the mother. To quantify these costs, the authors analyzed health care claims data for a large group of individuals with employer-sponsored health insurance to understand health spending on maternity-related professional service, hospitalization, laboratory, imaging, drugs, and out-of-pocket costs. The report provides an overview of the study methodology, including a description of the data sources, a definition of the study population, the process used to identify maternity-related services, the analyses that were conducted, and results. An abstract is included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Diagnostic imaging, Hospitalization, Laboratories, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prescription drugs, Research

Annotation: This toolkit for health professionals focuses on the public health challenges of clandestine methamphetamine laboratories (meth labs). The content is presented in two parts. The first part contains a primer on meth and clandestine meth labs, information sheets on different segments of the population affected by meth, a community action guide, and a resource directory. The second part contains information on acute meth lab exposures and toxicity, evaluation of children exposed to meth labs, and environmental considerations in cleaning up meth labs. The toolkit is available as an electronic document or on CD-ROM.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org Available from the website; also available on CD-ROM.

• Link

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Guidelines, Illicit drugs, Laboratories, Legal issues, Methamphetamines, Oral health, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: This self-care guide has two parts: one providing information about pregnancy, labor, and delivery and the other about health problems and common complaints during pregnancy. The sections present the problem or complaint, list the causes, list the treatments, present a list of questions to ask when visiting a health care provider, list symptoms when a health care provider should be called, and list self care tips. The guide ends with a glossary of necessary terms. It is illustrated with drawings.

Contact: American Institute for Preventive Medicine, 30445 Northwestern Highway, Suite 350, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-3102 , Telephone: (800) 345-2476 Secondary Telephone: (810) 539-1800 Fax: (810) 539-1808 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthylife.com/ $5.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Childbirth, Exercise, Labor, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Prenatal development, Prenatal education, Therapeutics

Annotation: This resource guide, written for health practitioners, public health departments, academic centers, and libraries, contains information about women's perinatal health care issues of various cultures including African American, Amish (Old Order), Cambodian, Chinese, Cuban, Hmong, Jamaican, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Mexican, Mormon, Native American, Pakistani, and Seventh-Day Adventist. Each section contains information and history about the culture, health and illness, pregnancy and prenatal care, labor and delivery, postpartum and newborn care, family planning, death and burial rites, and perinatal health care issues highlighted for each of these topics, and references. Charts offered in the preface provide statistical data on infant mortality and recommended standards. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-58110-097-3.

Keywords: Childbirth, Cultural diversity, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Family planning, Infant death, Labor, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Religion