Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The principle aim of this project was to demonstrate a coordinated, community-based program model for the screening, evaluation, and treatment of children from birth to five years of age with developmental disabilities, children at risk for them, and for their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152932.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Developmental disorders, Early intervention, Family centered care, Interagency cooperation, community based care

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the unique rural challenges related to opioid use disorder and the experiences of families in crisis and recommendations for federal action. Topics include the opioid epidemic as a national problem with rural differentials, opioid abuse trends in rural communities, substance abuse and child welfare, the role of federal block grants, and barriers to treatment and services. Opportunities for creating a stronger treatment system for opioid use disorders are also addressed including the role of support services, care coordination and mental health workers to address current shortages in rural communities, increasing the availability of treatment programs, and research. A case study from Indiana is included.

Contact: National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, 5600 Fishers Lane, 17W59D, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-0835 Fax: (301) 443-2803 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/rural/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child welfare, Crisis intervention, Drug addiction, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Health policy, Interagency cooperation, Mental health, Opiates, Policy development, Program coordination, Rural population, Service coordination, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance use disorders, Systems development, Work force

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Guide

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education materials, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Evaluation, Language development, Language disorders, Research, Screening, Screening tests, Speech development, Speech disorders, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from interviews and meetings with maternal and child (MCH) health program directors and other stakeholders about future directions for the Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental and Related Disabilities (LEND) and Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics (DBP) training programs. Contents include recommendations for strategic action in the following five areas: training pipelines for LEND and DBP programs; models of training and clinical care that are accessible and can be sustained; opportunities for trainees to learn and apply principles of MCH leadership training; collaboration with Title V and other partners; and policies and practices important to LEND and DBP programs, individuals with disabilities and their families, and the professionals who serve them. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior development, Child development disorders, Collaboration, Developmental disabilities, Developmental pediatrics, Leadership, MCH training programs, Model programs, Pediatric neurology, Policy development, Strategic plans, Title V programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of some of the provisions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) that help improve access to coverage and care for children who are deaf or hard of hearing (D/HH). Topics include how consumer protections in the ACA impact children who are D/HH, provisions that help children who are D/HH receive needed health benefits, how implementation of the ACA varies by state, how the ACA supports hearing screening of infants and young children, coverage for hearing screening, and how programs and families can help improve future policies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah Sate University, 2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322, Telephone: (435) 797-3584 Web Site: http://www.infanthearing.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer protection, Deafness, Health care reform, Health insurance, Hearing disorders, Infants, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Screening, Special health care needs

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find mental health care, services, and support and websites about emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges in kids and teens. A separate section presents websites about babies and young kids. Another lists websites for teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior development, Behavior disorders, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Emotional development, Family support services, Mental health, Psychological needs, Social behavior

Annotation: This report provides initial findings of a search of state and other documents related to developmental screening activities and of the Title V Information System online database to identify states with priority needs and performance measures related to developmental screening and early identification, with a focus on children with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. It describes the Autism Cares Act and strategies to increase developmental screening and improve systems. It discusses issues of data collection, measurement, and infrastructure; coordinating systems and services; and challenges and barriers. State highlights are provided. An accompanying fact sheet lists state performance measures and objectives related to developmental screening and early identification.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Report

Keywords: Autism spectrum disorders, Child development disorders, Developmental screening, State programs

Annotation: This paper, which focuses on the Infant Health and Development Program, a randomized multisite study of 985 low-birthweight infants and their families, examines the following three questions: (1) What are the different patterns of home visits? (2) Which child, maternal, and family demographic characteristics and qualities of the home visit are associated with these home-visitation patterns? (3) Are higher frequency patterns of home visits associated with positive effects for children's cognitive and behavioral outcomes and mothers' depression, social support, and knowledge of child development? The authors also examine the significance of the home environment. The paper includes a literature review and a description of the study method, measures, data analysis, and results.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child behavior, Cognitive development, Depression, Early childhood development, Families, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant development, Infants, Low birthweight infants, Low income groups, Mothers, Parent support programs, Postpartum depression, Programs, Young children

Annotation: This book is geared toward helping students, instructors, and professionals in rehabilitation programs define, plan, facilitate, and support transition for young people with disabilities into adulthood and independent living. The book is divided into three major sections: (1) defining and planning transition, (2) facilitating and supporting transition, and (3) designing and implementing individualized transition plans. Topics also include secondary school restructuring, college and other postsecondary alternatives, assistive technology to enhance transition and work, and recent legislative acts in the field. Each chapter contains a list of learning objectives, a conclusion, and study questions. Figures and tables throughout the book provide statistical data, sample forms and checklists, and additional information to illustrate needs and capabilities. Appendices are provided with selected chapters. References and an index conclude the book

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-476-5.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Assessment, Assistive devices, Brain injuries, Careers, Children with special health care needs, Cognition disorders, College bound students, College students, Emotional instability, Families, High school students, Parent participation, Postsecondary education, School to work transitions, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Vocational education

Annotation: This book covers the importance of sleep to growth and development and addresses proper sleep and the challenges parents face in getting their children to sleep. Topics include ages, stages, and phases for all ages of children; bedtime routines and rituals; dealing with fears, nightmares, night terrors, sleep apnea; allergies and asthma; headaches, leg pains, seizures, abdominal or gastrointestinal issues, in addition to developmental disabilities or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorders. Sleep safety and risk factors for sudden infant death are also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $16.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Infants, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep apnea syndromes, Sleep disorders, Sleep position, Sleep stages

Annotation: This report discusses the effectiveness of mid-level developmental assessment (MLDA) for children in Connecticut who are at risk for developmental or behavioral problems. MLDA is defined as the expedient assessment of a child with a behavioral or developmental health concerns identified through screening. The report provides information about three MLDA programs, discusses the results of MLDA, and provides considerations for building an MLDA system.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child development, Development disabilities, Developmental screening, High risk children, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This working paper focuses on how experiences in early childhood can affect mental health and on the significance of emotional and behavioral difficulties that emerge during a child's early years. The paper discusses scientific evidence related to mental health and early childhood experiences, addressing common misconceptions, the science-policy gap, and implication for policy and programs.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Intervention, Mental disorders, Mental health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Treatment, Young children

Annotation: This report examines the extent of hearing loss among children, settings in which deaf and hard-of-hearing children are educated, factors that help them acquire language and literacy skills, and challenges to providing appropriate interventions for them. Background on the issue is also provided.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Deafness, Early childhood education, Education, Hearing disorders, Language development, Literacy, Literacy education

Annotation: In this Webcast focusing on children's emotional, behavioral, and developmental well-being, Dr Rheem Ghandour, a public health analyst from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, discusses the prevalence of emotional, behavioral, and developmental conditions at the national and state levels. Dr. James Perrin, professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, and director of the Center for Child and Adolescent Health Policy at Mass General Hospital for Children, discusses evidence of the increasing rates of emotional, behavioral, and developmental conditions among children, with a focus on autism. Finally, Dr. Jane Foy, professor of pediatrics for Wake Forest University School of Medicine and chairperson for the American Academy of Pediatrics Task Force on Mental Health, discusses the role that the public health community plays in addressing pediatric mental illness and provides resources that the task force developed. Presenter information, an agenda, resources, and a program archive are available.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center, Altarum Institute, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 842-2000 Fax: (202) 728-9469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov/researchdata/mchirc Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Behavior problems, Child development, Child health, Emotional instability, Mental disorders, Mental health, Multimedia, Public health

Annotation: This chartbook presents a range of indicators on the health and well-being of children who have been diagnosed with emotional, behavioral, or developmental conditions on the national level. For each state, the book shows the prevalence of seven conditions (grouped together) and the major demographic characteristics of children who have at least one of the conditions. The analyses delineate relationships among the conditions, children's socioeconomic characteristics, and access to health care. Technical appendices at the end of the book present information about the survey methodology, sample, and questions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00318.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Behavior problems, Child mental health, Developmental disabilities, National surveys, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This working paper focuses on how early exposure to circumstances that produce persistent fear and chronic anxiety can have lifelong consequences by disrupting the architecture of the brain and on how to implement interventions to prevent and treat the harmful effects of exposure to extreme, fear-eliciting circumstances. The paper discusses what science tells us, correcting popular misrepresentations of science, the science-policy gap, and policy implications.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child maltreatment, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Intervention, Mental disorders, Mental health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Treatment, Young children

Annotation: This brochure provides information about vision in infants and young children (birth to age 24 months). The brochure offers information on why good vision is important during this period and discusses steps in infant and young child vision development, signs of eye and vision problems, what parents can do to help with vision development, and the first eye examination.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision tests, Young children