Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth ages 10-14 years. Based on evidence from 60 U.S. studies, it demonstrates effectiveness in reducing initiation and use of cannabis, alcohol, tobacco, illicit substances, and prescription drug misuse. The review examines intervention components including parent-child communication, rule setting, and monitoring, delivered through individual or group sessions, web-based modules, and printed materials. It includes detailed economic analyses showing cost-benefit ratios ranging from 3.9 to 8.9 across multiple programs and provides implementation guidance for various community settings and populations.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Literature reviews, Parent child relations, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This video provides information on (1) tooth anatomy, the differences between primary and permanent teeth, and how to care for a child’s teeth; (2) recognizing and preventing tooth decay, handling oral emergencies, and helping children get oral health care; (3) identifying signs and symptoms in the mouth of possible child abuse and neglect and knowing the steps to take if either is suspected; and (4) understanding how a pregnant woman’s oral health may change during pregnancy and how to care for a newborn’s mouth. Participants who complete the training can earn continuing education credits through the Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association, nursing continuing education contact hours, and dietitian continuing education units. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Video
• Description

Keywords: Ohio, Child abuse, Child neglect, Continuing education, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Professional training, State information, Videotapes

Annotation: This report presents information on methods for conducting cost-outcome analysis for a number of child, adolescent, and adult injury prevention and intervention programs, followed by data and analysis for specific program types. Topics include motor vehicle and pedestrian safety intervention, impaired driving and pedestrian intervention, open-flame and burn prevention, violence prevention, substance abuse intervention, and health services and miscellaneous injury prevention. Data tables, a glossary, and references are provided.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2014

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Burn prevention, Children, Cost benefit analysis, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Pedestrians, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Statistics, Substance abuse treatment, Violence prevention

Annotation: This document provides guidance on opioids for oral health professionals. It includes information about assessing children and adolescents, drugs to recommend before prescribing opioids, prescribing opioids with caution and being aware of the potential for misuse or abuse, and understanding laws, policies, and recommendations. The document also discusses providing post-operative instructions and creating a safe, friendly environment. Information about prescription-drug-monitoring programs and managing acute oral pain are included, along with tips for dentists to share with parents and an overview of research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Prescription drugs, Prevention

Annotation: These guidelines offer best practices, implementation strategies, and practical guidance for the design and development of services that meet the needs of children, youth, and their families experiencing a mental health crisis. The document provides strategies for different populations,, including young children, transition-age youth and young adults, youth with intellectual and developmental disabilities, LGBTQI+ youth, and rural and frontier communities. Each section includes a summary of implementation strategies, as well as links to programs and additional information. An appendix provides a table of core crisis principles.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Substance abuse treatment, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This Grantee Lessons Learned brief highlights common themes and unique examples gathered by grantees during Children's Bureau-led site visits to other jurisdictions with promising approaches to community-based primary prevention.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Evidence based programs, Maltreated children, Model programs, Primary prevention

Annotation: This systematic review examined the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; in addition, references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review identified 29 trials that met inclusion criteria; 26 of the trials were general prevention trials that focused on nonpregnant youth covering the ages 10 through 24 years. The review found low strength of evidence on the benefits of behavioral counseling interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical substance use in young people.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Families, Interventions, Literature reviews, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: Because youth in foster care have a higher propensity for drug use, this report was written to inform child welfare professionals, treatment providers, families, and community members on the signs of drug use and the risk factors that and impact of substance abuse. The report also provides links and information on various prevention and treatment initiatives, including those determined to be culturally sensitive.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug use behavior, Foster care, Foster children, Substance abuse prevention, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and other adults contains graphs, statistics and general information about underage drinking, and helps them identify warning signs and the sorts of injuries that may result from alcohol abuse. This NIH resource also informs parents how their role can positively impact the use of alcohol in their children, and how they can find interventions that work.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This report from the Injury Center of the CDC provides an in-depth look at ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences). It enumerates some of the occurances that can be considered ACEs (such as abuse and neglect), the possible long-term effects (including mental health challenges, chronic diseases, and the loss of opportunities), and six strategies that can prevent ACEs (strengthening economic supports for families, interventions, etc.). The report also enumerates the Injury Center's four strategic goals and the objectives that will help them attain those goals. References point the reader to futher reading.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse prevention, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress, Violence prevention

Annotation: This guide is designed to help individuals and organizations in every community strengthen families and prevent child abuse and neglect. Topics include strengthening individuals, families and communities; working with families using the protective factors; using protective factors as a framework for a community partnership; protecting children from abuse and maltreatment; tip sheets for parents and caregivers; and resources. The tip sheets are presented in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Community participation, Families, Maltreated children, Materials for consumers, Primary prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Dental care, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This report contains a comprehensive plan for states and local governments to address the problem of underage drinking. It outlines the goals of the ICCPUD (Interagency Coordinating Committee for the Prevention of Underage Drinking) and how it intends to facilitate cooperation among member institutions and provide information and resources on the prevention of underage drinking. This paper reports on the progress made toward achieving targets identified in 2006 for achievement in 2009 by ICCPUD, and lays out goals for 2021 and specific objectives on how to attain them.

Contact: Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/iccpud#:~:text=Underage%20Drinking%20Report-,The%20Interagency%20Coordinating%20Committee%20on%20the%20Prevention%20of%20Underage%20Drinking,prevent%20and%20reduce%20underage%20drinking.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Annotation: This guide describes organizations, policy and legislation, prevention programs, publications, and webinars focused on prescription drug overdose prevention among youth and young adults. Contents include descriptions of reports, guides, toolkits, campaigns, website, iinitiatives, and research studies. Each item includes a short description and a link to the resource itself. Information about child safety and neonatal abstinence syndrome are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Drug effects, Infants, Legislation, Multimedia, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Policy development, Prescription drugs, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Safety, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs, Young adults

Annotation: This final report presents a vision for realigning organizations, communities, and priorities to identify and support children at highest risk of abuse or neglect fatality. Contents include recommendations for addressing the needs of American Indian/Alaska Native children and reducing child abuse and neglect deaths in disproportionately affected communities, improving leadership and accountability, grounding decisions in better data and research, and enhancing multidisciplinary support for families. A report fact sheet, social media toolkit, public meeting materials, deliberations, and resources on child abuse and neglect fatalities and National Child Abuse Prevention Month are also available.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• Final Report
• Report Fact Sheet, Social Media Toolkit, Public Meeting Materials, Deliberations, Resources

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Child abuse, Child death, Child neglect, Children, Decision making, Family centered care, Injury prevention, Leadership, Multidisciplinary approach, National initiatives, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Strategic plans, Systems development, Welfare reform

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the unique rural challenges related to opioid use disorder and the experiences of families in crisis and recommendations for federal action. Topics include the opioid epidemic as a national problem with rural differentials, opioid abuse trends in rural communities, substance abuse and child welfare, the role of federal block grants, and barriers to treatment and services. Opportunities for creating a stronger treatment system for opioid use disorders are also addressed including the role of support services, care coordination and mental health workers to address current shortages in rural communities, increasing the availability of treatment programs, and research. A case study from Indiana is included.

Contact: National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, 5600 Fishers Lane, 17W59D, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-0835 Fax: (301) 443-2803 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/rural/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child welfare, Crisis intervention, Drug addiction, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Health policy, Interagency cooperation, Mental health, Opiates, Policy development, Program coordination, Rural population, Service coordination, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance use disorders, Systems development, Work force

Annotation: This handbook provides child care programs and schools with information on health, safety, and development issues. Topics include healthy living and health promotion including oral health promotion, policies and procedures, child development and guiding children's behavior, injury prevention and infection control, guidelines for childhood injuries, managing childhood illnesses and infestations, managing chronic medical conditions and special health care needs, and child abuse. Handouts, resources, and sample forms are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Child safety, Children, Consultation, Disease management, Health promotion, Infection control, Injuries, Injury prevention, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs

Annotation: This guide is designed to support service providers as they work with parents, caregivers, and children to prevent child maltreatment and promote social and emotional well-being. The guide focuses on protective factors that build family strengths and promote optimal development. Information is augmented with tools and strategies to help providers integrate protective factors into community programs and systems. The guide includes tip sheets for parents and caregivers in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Family support services, Injury prevention, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Service integration, Spanish language materials