Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce the incidence of poor health characteristics among low-income, culturally diverse populations by promoting the involvement of primary care physicians (pediatricians) in early screening and intervention. Project goals included increasing the level of preventive health care for underserved children, reducing the severity of psychosocial problems, increasing physicians' sense of involvement as part of a team in providing services to project children and their families, and demonstrating a practical process for accomplishing these goals which can be replicated across the nation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152833.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Child Abuse and Neglect Preventive, Continuing Education, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPSDT, Hawaiians, Health Care, Health Supervision Guidelines, High risk children, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary Care, Psychological Problems, Well Child Care

Annotation: The State of Oklahoma has a limited and fragmented EMS system that has not adequately addressed the needs of its pediatric population. To decrease the negative outcomes of pediatric emergency care, this project: (1) Established a prehospital- and hospital-based data collection system to provide definition of emergency medical services for children (EMSC) and identify negative outcome factors; (2) developed and assisted a statewide consortium in support of EMSC issues; (3) provided pediatric prehospital and hospital care training to emergency medical technicians, nurses, and physicians; and (4) worked with Native Americas and Hispanic populations to prevent child abuse and related injuries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child Abuse, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Shaken Infant Syndrome

Annotation: This project addressed the dramatic rise in homelessness and substance abuse, the relationship between the two problems, and the increasing number of homeless families. The Family Shelter Project provided leadership and coordination for a broad range of health, social, and educational services to be provided to pregnant women, mothers, and children in a therapeutic community which has been established within a city shelter for homeless families. In addition, the project established a professional development collaborative to enhance the capacity of health professionals and those in related professions to serve the homeless, particularly the substance-abusing maternity services population. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-216208.

Keywords: Child Abuse and Neglect, Collaboration of Care, Education of Health Professionals, Families, High risk groups, Homeless, Low income groups, Mothers, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Substance Abuse, Urban Populations

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth ages 10-14 years. Based on evidence from 60 U.S. studies, it demonstrates effectiveness in reducing initiation and use of cannabis, alcohol, tobacco, illicit substances, and prescription drug misuse. The review examines intervention components including parent-child communication, rule setting, and monitoring, delivered through individual or group sessions, web-based modules, and printed materials. It includes detailed economic analyses showing cost-benefit ratios ranging from 3.9 to 8.9 across multiple programs and provides implementation guidance for various community settings and populations.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Literature reviews, Parent child relations, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This video provides information on (1) tooth anatomy, the differences between primary and permanent teeth, and how to care for a child’s teeth; (2) recognizing and preventing tooth decay, handling oral emergencies, and helping children get oral health care; (3) identifying signs and symptoms in the mouth of possible child abuse and neglect and knowing the steps to take if either is suspected; and (4) understanding how a pregnant woman’s oral health may change during pregnancy and how to care for a newborn’s mouth. Participants who complete the training can earn continuing education credits through the Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association, nursing continuing education contact hours, and dietitian continuing education units. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Video
• Description

Keywords: Ohio, Child abuse, Child neglect, Continuing education, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Professional training, State information, Videotapes

Annotation: This report presents information on methods for conducting cost-outcome analysis for a number of child, adolescent, and adult injury prevention and intervention programs, followed by data and analysis for specific program types. Topics include motor vehicle and pedestrian safety intervention, impaired driving and pedestrian intervention, open-flame and burn prevention, violence prevention, substance abuse intervention, and health services and miscellaneous injury prevention. Data tables, a glossary, and references are provided.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2014

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Burn prevention, Children, Cost benefit analysis, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Pedestrians, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Statistics, Substance abuse treatment, Violence prevention

Annotation: This document provides guidance on opioids for oral health professionals. It includes information about assessing children and adolescents, drugs to recommend before prescribing opioids, prescribing opioids with caution and being aware of the potential for misuse or abuse, and understanding laws, policies, and recommendations. The document also discusses providing post-operative instructions and creating a safe, friendly environment. Information about prescription-drug-monitoring programs and managing acute oral pain are included, along with tips for dentists to share with parents and an overview of research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Prescription drugs, Prevention

Annotation: These guidelines offer best practices, implementation strategies, and practical guidance for the design and development of services that meet the needs of children, youth, and their families experiencing a mental health crisis. The document provides strategies for different populations,, including young children, transition-age youth and young adults, youth with intellectual and developmental disabilities, LGBTQI+ youth, and rural and frontier communities. Each section includes a summary of implementation strategies, as well as links to programs and additional information. An appendix provides a table of core crisis principles.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Substance abuse treatment, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This CDC fact sheet uses statistics and color graphs to describe the various types of child abuse and neglect, how big the problem is, what the consequences are, and how they can be prevented. It contains references information on how to contact the CDC for more information.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Emotional abuse, Physical abuse

Annotation: This report from the National Center for Education Statistics is based on data from the School Crime Supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey of 2019. Students aged 12-18 years reported incidences of bullying on school property, and electronic bullying. Figures and graphs illustrate age, gender, etc., of students, location of bullying incidents, type of bullying, and how incidents differed from year to year.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Physical abuse, Statistics, Verbal abuse

Annotation: This fact sheet defines bullying and the consequences that can occur, discusses prevention options and provides references for more information. It uses graphs and statistics to illustrate the seriousness of the issue, explain the impact of bullying, and lists types of prevention initiatives.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Physical abuse, Verbal abuse

Annotation: This report from the state of Delaware updates the 2011 manual of the same name. Using colorful illustrations, it defines domestic violence, the scope of the problem, symptoms and behaviors that victims of abuse may display, and how healthcare providers can provide screening and support for their patients. The document contains best practice tips, checklists, graphs and sections dedicated to domestic violence experienced by children and youth.

Contact: Delaware Domestic Violence Coordinating Council , 900 N. King Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, DE 19801, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dvcc.delaware.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Minority groups, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This Grantee Lessons Learned brief highlights common themes and unique examples gathered by grantees during Children's Bureau-led site visits to other jurisdictions with promising approaches to community-based primary prevention.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Evidence based programs, Maltreated children, Model programs, Primary prevention

Annotation: This systematic review examined the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; in addition, references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review identified 29 trials that met inclusion criteria; 26 of the trials were general prevention trials that focused on nonpregnant youth covering the ages 10 through 24 years. The review found low strength of evidence on the benefits of behavioral counseling interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical substance use in young people.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Families, Interventions, Literature reviews, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: Because youth in foster care have a higher propensity for drug use, this report was written to inform child welfare professionals, treatment providers, families, and community members on the signs of drug use and the risk factors that and impact of substance abuse. The report also provides links and information on various prevention and treatment initiatives, including those determined to be culturally sensitive.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug use behavior, Foster care, Foster children, Substance abuse prevention, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and other adults contains graphs, statistics and general information about underage drinking, and helps them identify warning signs and the sorts of injuries that may result from alcohol abuse. This NIH resource also informs parents how their role can positively impact the use of alcohol in their children, and how they can find interventions that work.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This report from the Injury Center of the CDC provides an in-depth look at ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences). It enumerates some of the occurances that can be considered ACEs (such as abuse and neglect), the possible long-term effects (including mental health challenges, chronic diseases, and the loss of opportunities), and six strategies that can prevent ACEs (strengthening economic supports for families, interventions, etc.). The report also enumerates the Injury Center's four strategic goals and the objectives that will help them attain those goals. References point the reader to futher reading.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse prevention, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress, Violence prevention

Annotation: This guide is designed to help individuals and organizations in every community strengthen families and prevent child abuse and neglect. Topics include strengthening individuals, families and communities; working with families using the protective factors; using protective factors as a framework for a community partnership; protecting children from abuse and maltreatment; tip sheets for parents and caregivers; and resources. The tip sheets are presented in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Community participation, Families, Maltreated children, Materials for consumers, Primary prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Dental care, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma