Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit to support vaginal birth and reduce primary cesarean sections includes evidence-based tools and resources to support pregnant patients who transfer to the hospital from a community birth center and to effectively integrate midwifery care and doula support into the hospital setting. The toolkit serves as a “how to” guide to help educate and motivate maternity clinicians to apply best practices to support vaginal birth. Included are strategies to (1) improve the culture of care, awareness, and education for cesarean reduction; (2) support intended Vaginal Birth; (3) manage labor abnormalities and safely reduce cesarean births; and (4) use data to drive reduction in cesareans. Twenty appendices include checklists, guidelines, partograms, performance measures, and assessment tools for healthcare providers.

Contact: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, Stanford University Medical School Office Building, 1265 Welch Road, MS 5415, Stanford, CA 94305, Telephone: (650) 725-6108 Fax: (650) 721-5751 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cmqcc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary

Keywords: Birthing Centers, California , Cesarean section, Childbirth, Doulas, Hospitals Quality assurance, Labor, Midwives, Model programs, Pregnant women, Prevention, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This report presents trends in primary and repeat Cesarian delivery from 2016 to 2021, using data from the National Vital Statistics System. It finds that, although repeat Cesarian delivery decreased each year from 2016 to 2021, primary Cesarian rates increased for women under 40, for most race and Hispanicorigin groups, and for all gestational age. Color graphs and maps illustrate the changes by age, race, gestational age, US state, etc.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 2402, Hyattsville, MD 20782-2003, Telephone: (301) 458-4200 Fax: (301) 458-4022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncvhs.hhs.gov

• English

Keywords: Cesarean section, Gestational age, Hispanic Americans, Race, Repeat cesarean birth

Annotation: This website explains how Cesarian sections can saves lives, but the risk of infection and blood clots argue against C-sections in low-risk pregnancies. The site contains data on Cesarian section births among low-risk pregnant women with no prior births. Charts and tables with data from 2018 to 2021, along with the data methodology and links to evidence-based resources, show that the rates of this kind of C-section are increasing despite efforts to lower the numbers.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov

• English

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Low risk pregnancy

Annotation: This report records how, in a pilot program conducted by the Pacific Business Group on Health (PBGH), in partnership with the California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative (CMQCC), three hospitals in the state of California were able to lower the rate of low-risk first-time Cesarian sections by 20% in one year. Subsequently, the California Health Care Foundation (CHCF) funded a state-wide initiative built on the lessons learned to lower the rate of unnecessary Cesarian section births from 26.0% to 22.9 %, between 2015 and 2020. Initiatives to accomplish this goal included collecting and sharing accurate data, providing toolkits to providers, ensuring patient engagement, and supporting policies and payment/purchaser requirements. [Original pilot funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.]

Contact: California Health Care Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, #400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org

• English

Keywords: California, Cesarean section, Health equity, Minority groups

Annotation: This safety bundle provides information, actionable steps, and resources to assist clinicians in safely reducing the primary cesarean birth rate among their patients. Included are links to birthing tools, consensus guidelines, and a series of steps that can be adapted to a variety of health facilities.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link
• Printable Patient Safety Bundle

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Prevention , Safety, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This action plan lays out specific steps that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is taking to address the high maternal mortality rate in the United States. The document targets the following actions: reduce the maternal mortality rate by 50 percent in five years; reduce the low-risk cesarean delivery rate by 25 percent in five years; achieve blood pressure control in 80 percent of women of reproductive age with hypertension. In addition to describing the challenges of maternal mortality and the specific action steps, the report also provides a detailed list of current maternal health programs and initiatives with links for more information.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Hypertension, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women, Public policy

Annotation: This consensus study report reviews and evaluates maternal and newborn care in the United States; the epidemiology of social and clinical risks in pregnancy and childbirth; research on birth settings; and access to and choice of birth settings in America. Maternal and neonatal interventions and health outcomes are compared across birth settings, including hospitals, birthing centers, and home birth environments.

Contact: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2352 Fax: (202) 334-1412 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Birthing centers, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Health facilities, Home childbirth, Hospitals, Infant care, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternity hospitals, Measures, Midwifery, Policy , Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Risk factors, Social factors, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This document provides key information to identify perinatal health issues and help guide decision-making by the Washington State Department of Health and the Department of Social and Health Services. The indicators were derived from Washington State birth, fetal death, and death certificate data, the First Steps Database, and the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System. The report includes highlights, a list of areas of concern, and series of key indicator tables. A list of sources is included.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, Assessment Unit, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3533 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• 2018 Data

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Cesarean section, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Medicaid, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Smoking during pregnancy, Statistics, Washington, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief and evidence review summarize the literature on evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies to promote the safety and effectiveness of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. They provide background information on oral health during pregnancy, discuss key research methods and results, and present key findings and implications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to decrease the proportion of cesarean deliveries among low-risk first-time mothers. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: , Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief describes efforts to reduce non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks and methods that Title V programs can use to improve birth outcomes. Contents include information about the health and financial implications of non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks gestation; key priorities at the national level; and example strategies in California, Oklahoma, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Texas. Information about the role of Title V as conduit, expert advisor, expediter, and funder of initiatives is included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Collaboration, Costs, Health care reform, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Measures, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Risk factors, Role, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #2: Low Risk Cesarean Deliveries--percent of cesarean deliveries among low-risk first births. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This website provides tools for optimizing the outcomes of labor safely and reducing the risk of primary cesarean delivery among lost-risk women. The site describes the American College of Nurse-Midwives' Healthy Birth Initiative: Reducing Primary Cesareans Project; presents statistics on primary cesarean sections; and links to additional resources and tools to help reduce non-medically indicated cesarean sections, share decision-making with patients, promote and support physiologic birth; and improve the quality of maternity care. Clinical guidelines for the care of women during each stage of labor are also provided.

Contact: American College of Nurse-Midwives, 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-1800 Secondary Telephone: (888) MID-WIFE (643-9433) Fax: (240) 485-1818 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.midwife.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cesarean sections, Childbirth, Guidelines, Midwifery, Prevention, Safety, Social support, Vaginal birth

Annotation: These consensus guidelines provide information for clinicians on the safe prevention of primary cesarean delivery. Developed jointly by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine (SMFM), the document includes background information on cesarean delivery; discusses the importance of balancing risks and benefits of vaginal and cesarean sections; describes indications for primary cesarean delivery, presents, clinical management questions and answers; and provides inks to more than 100 reference citations. C-section trenda data is also included.

• Link

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Guidelines , Prevention, Safety, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This report describes state-specific trends on primary cesarean delivery rates for states that had implemented the 2003 U.S. Standard Certificate of Live Birth, with particular focus on changes from 2009 to 2012. Primary cesareans are defined as a first cesarean delivery regardless of parity. State-specific changes in primary cesarean delivery by gestational age are also explored.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Gestational age, Statistical data, Trends

Contact: Alive & Thrive, FHI 360, 1825 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 884-8754 Fax: (202) 464-3966 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aliveandthrive.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Cesarean section

Annotation: This brief discusses the health risks and costs associated with early elective deliveries (EED),federal and national initiatives to support full-term pregnancies, and health plan and health plan foundation approaches to reducing EED. Topics include the potential negative health consequences of EED; average payments for maternal and newborn care and payment reform; and hospital, provider, patient, and member education initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Costs, Federal initiatives, Foundations, Health education, Health plans, Induced labor, Intervention, National initiatives, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Reimbursement

Annotation: This document provides guidance on and strategies for reducing rates of early elective delivery (EED). Topics include the current landscape for eliminating EED, barriers to reducing EED and strategies to overcome them, challenges and barriers to monitoring performance and progress toward eliminating EED, key strategies to promote readiness for EED activities, and measurement guidance. Additional contents include educational tools, resources, and exemplars to support EED elimination efforts, as well as instructions for accessing relevant data.

Contact: National Quality Forum, 1030 15th Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 783-1300 Fax: (202) 783-3434 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.qualityforum.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Hospitals, Induced labor, Measures, Obstetrical care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This technical assistance brief discusses strategies for accessing vital records for quality measurement and improvement efforts related maternal and infant health care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. The brief also gives guidance and describes resources available to states for linking vital records and Medicaid/CHIP data to increase states' capacity to report two measures in the core set of children's health care quality measures: low birth weight rate and Cesarean section rate.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cesarean section, Children', Data linkage, Low birthweight, Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Technical assistance, Vital statistics, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes trends in low-risk cesarean delivery rates in the United States from 1990 through 2013. Trends in low-risk cesarean delivery by state of residence, gestational age, age of mother, and race and Hispanic origin of mother are examined.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Statistical data, Trends