Search Results: MCHLine

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Prevention, Screening, Trends, Vaccines, Virus diseases, Women', Young adults, s health

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This guideline offers guidance on secondary prevention of cervical cancer. Contents include key recommendations for screening; triage; and treatment of women with precursor lesions. Recommendations for special populations, such as women who are HIV positive, immunosuppressed, pregnant, postpartum, or women who have had hysterectomies are also addressed. Topics include developing infrastructure for HPV testing, diagnosis, and treatment in settings without current mass screening; cost and policy implications, guideline implementation, and future directions.

Contact: American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2318 Mill Road, Suite 800, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (571) 483-1300 Fax: (703) 299-1044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asco.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Cervical cancer, DNA testing, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, International health, Medical treatment, Oral cancer, Oral health, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Primary care, Triage, Women', s health

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cervical cancer, Health education, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Annotation: This issue brief reviews Medicaid's role in covering preventive care for women, presents key findings related to women's health from a survey of Medicaid officials in all 50 states and the District of Columbia that collected baseline data on state coverage of preventive services before Affordable Care Act implementation (ACA), and discusses implications for women enrolled in Medicaid following the implementation of ACA. The brief provides background and discusses survey findings in the categories of Medicaid coverage of adult preventive services (breast and cervical cancers, reproductive health and family planning, chronic conditions predominantly affecting women, and pregnancy-related services) and the future of Medicaid; ACA, and preventive services.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Family planning, Health care reform, Health services, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This set of web pages provide information about state activity surrounding the issue of whether girls should be be required to be vaccinated against the Human Papillomavirus (HPV). Information is included on causes and symptoms of HPV, the nature of the debate, and available vaccinations. State actions related to this issue are presented, and links to resources are provided.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Reproductive health, State legislation, Women', s health

Annotation: This report identifies the prevalence, major health disparities, costs of care, and available preventive health care services in health care settings for women. The report outlines the economic underpinnings of disease and chronic conditions and the economic costs to the health care system and to the U.S. economy of chronic illness in women. The report presents the study methods and findings on chronic diseases and conditions as well as health behaviors and risks.

Contact: Jacobs Institute of Women's Health, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4184 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jiwh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes, HIV infection, Health behavior, Health care costs, Health services delivery, Mental health, Obesity, Osteoporosis, Prevention, Risk factors, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This report is a follow-up a study conducted in 2006 that ranked 25 evidence-based clinical preventive services recommended by the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices. The report (1) documents the use of preventive care across the United States, (2) estimates the health benefits for the U.S. population of increasing the use of preventive services from current utilization rates to 90 percent, (3) quantifies disparities in use of preventive care by comparing use of services by racial and ethnic groups to the white, non-Hispanic population; and (4) gives special attention to cancer screenings by estimating the lives that would be saved if breast, cervical, and colorectal cancer screening rates increased from current rates to 90 percent among selected racial and ethnic groups. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes one appendix: data sources and gaps on use of 25 clinical preventive services for general state or national populations.

Contact: Partnership for Prevention, 1015 18th Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-0009 Fax: (202) 833-0113 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.prevent.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Ethnic factors, Health care services, Prevention, Racial factors, Screening tests

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about health disparities in the United States, particularly in the areas of infant mortality, preterm birth, low birthweight, SIDS, maternal mortality, breast cancer, cervical cancer, HIV/AIDS, and heart disease among women. The brief also discusses ways in which midwives are working to reduce disparities in reproductive health and midwifery education, practice, and activism. A summary and endnotes are included.

Contact: American College of Nurse-Midwives, 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-1800 Secondary Telephone: (888) MID-WIFE (643-9433) Fax: (240) 485-1818 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.midwife.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Heart diseases, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Maternal mortality, Midwives, Preterm birth, Racial factors, SIDS, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the services Medicaid provides to low-income women. Services discussed include reproductive services, medical and supportive services for women with disabilities, breast and cervical cancer treatment, and long-term care. The fact sheet also discusses impending Medicaid reform and opportunities for grantmakers. A list of sources is included.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Disabilities, Health services, Long term care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Reform, Reproductive health, Treatment, Women', s health

Annotation: This is a summary of a paper written to highlight policy and program areas needing to be addressed to ensure the continuous improvement of health care and services related to perinatal and women's health over the coming decade. The paper discusses three examples of a woman's reproductive health status: infections, breast and cervical cancer, and cesarean sections. Epidemiological trends, demographics, risk factors, predictors for disease, interventions, policy and practice issues, and research needs are discussed. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cancer, Cervical cancer, Cesarean section, Demography, Epidemiology, Infections, Intervention, Policy development, Prediction, Program development, Reproductive health, Research, Risk factors, Women', s health

Annotation: This is a summary of a paper written to highlight policy and program areas needing to be addressed to ensure the continuous improvement of health care and services related to perinatal and women's health over the coming decade. This paper discusses key issues in women's health that need study and consideration. A table illustrates how ten core public health functions are operationalized for selected health issues specific to women: perinatal care, breast and cervical cancer, and partner violence. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Child health, Domestic violence, Intervention, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program development, Public health services, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper presents the results of a survey taken in New York City to determine the access to services providing pap smears as a screening test for cervical cancer. Information on colposcopy screening, a follow up test available to women with a suspicious pap smear, is also included. The survey tested for the availability of services for women speaking English or Spanish and for low-income women. The methodology is reviewed, data gathered in the survey are presented in tables, and the results of the survey are presented and discussed.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Cervical cancer, Economic factors, Hispanic Americans, Insurance, Language barriers, New York, Pap smears, Screening, Spanish language, Statistics, Surveys, Women

Annotation: This report provides the details of the National Strategic Plan for ensuring that every woman, for whom it is deemed appropriate, receive regular screening for breast and cervical cancers, prompt followup if necessary, and certainty that tests are performed in accordance with current recommendations for quality assurance. The plan is designed to achieve and surpass the Healthy People 2000 goals pertaining to breast and cervical cancers. The report also discusses implementation of the strategy, and provides a summary of treatment guidelines.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (404) 488-4751 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Federal initiatives, Statistics, Strategic plans

Annotation: This book is the consensus report of the Institute of Medicine's Committee on Monitoring Access to Personal Health Care Services. The committee, mandated to develop indicators for monitoring health care access, chose objectives in the following areas: infant mortality/low birthweight infants, preschool immunization, breast and cervical cancer, quality of life issues for those with chronic diseases, and treatment for acute illness. They also proposed that indicators be developed for monitoring family violence, emergency services, prescription drugs, and access to care by the disabled and elderly. The book includes appendices on HIV and drug abuse treatment, health care for the homeless, referral-sensitive surgeries, and ambulatory-care-sensitive conditions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization programs, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Quality assurance, Standards, Statistics, Substance abuse treatment