Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This document presents the final text rule requiring local school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) in Oregon to be certified by the Oregon Health Authority before they can provide dental sealants. Contents include guidance on the requirements for certification, the application process for certification and recertification, monitoring of SBSPs, and decertification or pro- visional certification for programs that are out of compliance. Information about certification and clinical training is also available.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Certification, Dental sealants, Health services delivery, Oral health, Oregon, Preventive health services, Regulations, School age children, School districts, School health programs, Schools, Standards, State legislation, Training

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals describes recommendations and the rationale for applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of infants and young children ages 6 months through 5 years. The document also provides information about training and certification prerequisites and coding for fluoride-varnish application reimbursement in Louisiana.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Certification, Fluorides, Infants, Louisiana, Oral health, Primary care, Reimbursement, State programs, Training, Young children

Annotation: This book competencies and subcompetencies that can be used to assess health education knowledge at the entry and advanced level.

Contact: National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, , 1541 Alta Drive, Suite 303, Whitehall, PA 18052-5642, Telephone: (484)223-0770 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-3248 Fax: (484) 223-0799, (800) 813-0727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nchec.org $60.00 plus shipping and handling.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Certification, Competence, Continuing education, Health education, Professional standards review, Professional training, Resources for professionals, Self assessment, Work force

Annotation: This interactive map highlights state activity to integrate community health workers (CHWs) into evolving health care systems in key areas such as financing, education and training, certification, and state definitions, roles, and scopes of practice. The map includes enacted state CHW legislation and provides links to state CHW associations and other leading organizations working on CHW issues in states.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Associations, Certification, Community based services, Community health workers, Education, Financing, Health care systems, Organizations, Role, Service integration, State legislation, Training

Annotation: This report presents findings from an assessment of the level of engagement and roles of community health workers (CHW) among health care safety net providers in California, and their contributions towards the achievement of the Triple Aim objectives (reduced costs, improved patient experience, and improved population health). The report also discusses challenges and opportunities for expansion including recommendations for conducting a statewide CHW campaign; implementing a statewide CHW education, training, and certification infrastructure; and sustainable financing mechanisms. Case studies are also included.

Contact: California Health and Human Services Agency, Office of the Secretary, 1600 Ninth Street, Room 460, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (916) 654-3454 Web Site: http://www.chhs.ca.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Campaigns, Case studies, Certification, Client satisfaction, Community health workers, Costs, Financing, Paraprofessional education, Program improvement, State surveys, Statewide planning, Training

Annotation: This registry provides information about evidence-based positive youth development programs designed to promote the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Contents include surveys for matching children's strengths and needs to specific programs based on outcome areas, risk and protective factors, and developmental stage; the program review criteria fact sheet, checklist, and standard; a searchable database that provides each program's name, target population, financing strategies, rating (promising or model program), benefits and costs, impact, and summary; instructions for nominating a program; related publications; and other resources.

Contact: University of Colorado Boulder, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, 483 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309-4083, Telephone: (303) 492-1032 Fax: (303) 492-2151 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cspv.colorado.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Certification, Child development, Children, Databases, Developmental stages, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Model programs, Needs assessment, Prevention programs, Program planning, Protective factors, Registries, Research, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Surveys, Violence prevention

Annotation: This interactive 12-hour course is designed to help communities better understand mental illness and respond to psychiatric emergencies. Topics include the potential risk factors and warning signs for a range of mental health problems; the prevalence of various mental health disorders and the need for reduced stigma in communities; a 5-step action plan encompassing the skills, resources, and knowledge to assess the situation, to select and implement appropriate interventions, and to help the individual in crisis connect with appropriate professional care; and evidence-based professional, peer, social, and self-help resources available to help someone with a mental health problem.

Contact: National Council for Behavioral Health, 1400 K Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Certification, Community based services, Health education, Mental health, Public health, Substance use behavior, Training

Annotation: This report addresses the question of whether a stringent recertification process is necessary for New York's public health insurance programs to prevent significant numbers of families from retaining benefits for which they have become ineligible through changes to their incomes or household size. The report is divided into the following sections: (1) about the authors, (2) executive summary, (3) background, (4) study approach, (5) study methodology, (6) findings, (7) discussion and policy implications, (8) conclusion: how to reduce disenrollment at recertification. The report includes tables and figures. The report concludes with four attachments containing supplementary material.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Certification, Economic factors, Eligibility, Families, Low income groups, New York, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This document reports on a study of ten professional associations focusing on their plans for additional certification standards to include service to infants and toddlers related to the requirements of the Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986, Part H (P. L. 99-457, Part H), the kinds of training initiatives their association was planning, and what they were doing about existing personnel shortages.

• PDF

Keywords: Certification, Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986, Federal legislation, Health professionals, Part H

Annotation: This report presents data collected in December 1987 and January 1988 through a telephone survey of state certification officials and early childhood specialists and from a review of documents provided by state certification offices and other information. It discusses the patterns of certification found and the implications of recent changes. Overall, teacher certification is found to be in a state of rapid change.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org $5.00 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Certification, Early childhood educators, State government

Annotation: This report discusses what a certified nurse-midwife is, progress, contributions and problems in the field, the role of the Federal Trade Commission, and factors contributing to and hindering the successful practice of nurse-midwifery.

Contact: American College of Nurse-Midwives, 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-1800 Secondary Telephone: (888) MID-WIFE (643-9433) Fax: (240) 485-1818 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.midwife.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Certification, Childbirth, Nurse midwives

Annotation: This report examines the methodology used to ascertain the compliance of child care centers with Pennsylvania's health and safety requirements and program criteria. The Office of Children, Youth, and Families (OCYF) uses the Child Development Program Evaluation Licensing Scale (CPDE) to test for health and safety compliance. This test has no components that evaluate the quality of the services provided. This report compares the results of CDPE against results from the Early Childhood Environmental Rating Scale (ECERS) and the Caregiver Observation Form and Scale (COFS) to test for a correlation between high scores on the CPDE and quality child care services. The report also analyzes the results to determine if there were predictors between high scores and quality child development programs.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 255 290.

• Link

Keywords: Certification, Child care, Evaluation, Family child care, Health and safety, Pennsylvania, Quality assurance

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Certification, Child labor, Reports, School attendance, Trends

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Certification, Child labor, Farm workers, Industry, Migrants, Reports, School attendance

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Certification, Child labor, Legislation, Reports, Standards

Annotation: This publication presents the proceedings of a conference attended by state and local officials engaged in issuing or supervising the issuance of employment certificates for children. Topics include the problems and functions of an employment-certificate office, and the enforcement of laws with respect to school attendance, age standard, educational standard, physical standard, and a "best interests" or "necessity" standard. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Certification, Child labor, Conference proceedings, Standards

Annotation: This report presents standards of normal child development for use by physicians in examining children applying for work permits. The report includes a Record of Physical Examination for Employment Certificate with instructions to physicians for filling in the record, and an appendix of state laws relating to physical requirements for employment as of January 1921. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• 1921 Edition
• 1926 Edition

Keywords: Certification, Child development, Child labor, Legal issues, Physical examinations, Physical fitness, Reports, Standards