Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (20 total).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2014. The health consequences of smoking: 50 years of progress–A report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 943 pp., exec. summ. (22 pp.).

Annotation: This report chronicles the consequences of 50 years of tobacco use in the United States. Topics include the relationship between smoking and health outcomes; smoking-attributable morbidity, mortality, and economic costs; patterns of tobacco use among children, adolescents, and adults; status of and future directions in tobacco control; and a vision for ending tobacco-caused death and disease.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2014. Let's make the next generation tobacco-free: Your guide to the 50th anniversary Surgeon General's report on smoking and health. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 20 pp.

Annotation: This consumer guide details the effects of smoking including nicotine addiction and serious disease. It also contains facts on the benefits of quitting smoking and free resources that are available to smokers who want to quit. The guide is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Consumer education materials, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Philadelphia Child Death Review Teams. 2013. Child death review report 2009-2010. [Philadelphia, PA]: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Medical Examiner's Office, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report describes and discusses child deaths that occurred in Philadelphia in 2009 and 2010 and that were reviewed by the Philadelphia Child Death Review Team. The report provides background and an overview of child deaths reviewed during the period and discusses infant deaths, natural deaths, unintentional injury deaths, and intentional injury deaths.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 1401 JFK Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Telephone: (215) 686-45200 Fax: (215) 686-5212 Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Cause of death, Child neglect, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Infant death, Intentional injuries, Poisoning, SIDS, Unintentional injuries

Murphy SL, Xu J, Kochanek KD. 2013. Deaths: Final data for 2010. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 107 pp. (National vital statistics reports; v. 61, no. 4)

Annotation: This report presents final 2010 data on U.S. deaths, death rates, life expectancy, infant mortality, and trends by selected characteristics such as age, sex, Hispanic origin, race, state of residence, and cause of death.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

Keywords: Cause of death, Death, Infant mortality, Life expectancy, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends

Singh GK. 2010. Child mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Large racial and socioeconomic disparities have persisted over time. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 8 pp. (75 Title V anniversary celebration)

Annotation: This report analyzes long-term trends in mortality among children and adolescents ages 1-4 and ages 5-14 in the United States from 1935 through 2007. The authors consider race and ethnicity, sex, cause of death, family poverty level, and state of residence and use both historical and the latest nations vital statistics data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mortality, Cause of death , Child mortality, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Families, Geographic factors, Health status disparities, History, Poverty, Racial factors, Statistical data, Trends

Arizona Department of Health Services. 2010. Infant death investigation checklist: Arizona report form (rev. ed.). [Phoenix, AZ]: Arizona Department of Health Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report form serves as a master checklist for those performing an infant death investigation in the state of Arizona. Included are detailed questions and check box responses related to the infant, parents or other primary caregiver(s), and the caregiver at the time of death (including their relationship to the infant, history of substance use, and childcare background). The form includes questions about the caregiver's first response to the death; the appearance of the infant when found; the physical surroundings at the time of death; and other circumstances surrounding the incident. Included are numerous check boxes related to the infant's sleep environment. The form also includes questions and checklists related to the child's birth and recent medical history. The additional document is an introduction to the checklist and a set of recommendations regarding death scene investigations and officer demeanor.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Cause of death, Death, Death scene investigation, Forms, Infant death, Protocols, State initiatives

California Sudden Infant Death (SIDS) Program. [2005]. Protocols [for SIDS]. Gold River, CA: California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program, 9 items.

Annotation: This web resource provides information about protocols related to reporting information pertaining to a SIDS death, including coroner protocols, autopsy and death scene protocols, and public health nurse protocols. Downloadable documents to help coroners and medical examiners determine the mode, manner, and cause of death when an infant dies suddenly and unexpectedly are provided, along with downloadable forms and documents to help public health nurses adhere to protocols.

Contact: California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program, California Department of Health Services, CA Telephone: (415) 502-2825 Secondary Telephone: (800) 369-SIDS E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://californiasids.cdph.ca.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Cause of death, Infant death, Protocols, SIDS

Public Health Policy Advisory Board. 2001. Health and the American child: A focus on mortality among children—Update: 2001. Washington, DC: Public Health Policy Advisory Board, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an updated statistical portrait of child mortality rates and trends from 1995 to 1998. It includes an executive summary; implications of the findings for the public health community; and numerous tables. The tables present mortality data by age, race, and gender. The appendix provides key findings from a UNICEF report and compares U.S. statistics with international data.

Keywords: Age groups, Cause of death, Child health, Child mortality, Children, Infant mortality, Infants, Mortality rates, Public health, Racial factors, Statistics, Trends

Public Health Policy Advisory Board. 1999. Health and the American child: Part 1 — A focus on mortality among children: Risks, trends, and priorities for the twenty-first century. [Washington, DC]: Public Health Policy Advisory Board, ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a summary of the patterns and trends of the major contributors to death in children, highlighting important risk factors, relevant interventions, available resources, and recommendations for further reducing child mortality. The report is intended for policy makers, opinion leaders, and the public. It includes chapters on the following: (1) a profile of America's children; (2) mortality patterns in 1995; (3) trends in overall mortality; (4) trends in specific causes of death; (5) actual causes of death; (6) special topics such as suicide, violence, asthma, bronchitis, and cancer; (7) economic and social factors; (8) cost-effectiveness of interventions to lower risk; and (9) resources for children's health.

Keywords: Adolescents, Asthma, Bronchitis, Cancer, Cause of death, Child death, Child health, Child mortality, Children, Economic factors, Health policy, Public health, Risk factors, Social factors, Suicide, Trends, Violence

Gardner P, Rosenberg HM, Wilson RW. 1996. Leading causes of death by age, sex, race and Hispanic origin: United States, 1992. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics; Washington, DC: for sale by U.S. Government Printing Office, 102 pp. (Vital and health statistics: Series 20, Data from the national vital statistics system; no. 29)

Annotation: This report presents leading cause of death data using alternative age classifications. Rankings are shown separately for white, black, and Hispanic males and females.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 96-1857.

Keywords: Cause of death, Statistics

North Carolina Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, Division of Maternal and Child Health Minority Infant Mortality Reduction Project, Office of Minority Health, and the FIRST STEP Campaign. 1996. Our families, our future. Raleigh, NC: [Baby Love Plus–Eastern North Carolina], 32 pp., 1 video (14 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This video and its discussion guide were created as part of a statewide public awareness media campaign for North Carolina's Minority Infant Mortality Reduction Project. The campaign's goal was to increase public awareness of the increased risks of infant mortality that African American families face and of the things that can be done to reduce the risks. In the video, five women share their experiences, each with a different birth outcome and life situation. It also provides information on low birthweight, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and the recommended sleeping position for an infant. The discussion guide provides resources for facilitating a community group discussion of the video. It includes definitions, data about infant mortality in North Carolina, information about why babies die and who is most at risk, and things women can do before and during pregnancy to reduce the risks.

Contact: Baby Love Plus, 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604, Telephone: (919) 733-4984 Available at no charge.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Cause of death, Child death review, Community participation, High risk groups, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Media campaigns, Minority groups, North Carolina, Prenatal care, Prevention, Sleep position, Videotapes

Arizona Department of Health Services, Community and Family Health Services, Child Fatality Review Program. 1994-. Arizona Child Fatality Review Team: Annual report. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, Child Fatality Review Program, annual.

Annotation: This annual report summarizes the activities of the Arizona Child Fatality Review Team for the year covered. It includes an executive summary and introduction, presents major findings on causes of death to children and adolescents, outlines accomplishments and challenges and presents policy recommendations. Data are included for motor vehicle crashes; drownings; smoke inhalation and burns; violence related deaths due to suicide, child abuse, homicide, and shooting deaths; and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Appendices include state statutes, statistical tables on the leading causes of death, lists of state and local team members, and a publications list.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Child Fatality Review Program, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/cfr.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Arizona, Burns, Cause of death, Child abuse, Child death review, Children, Demographics, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Fires, Homicide, Mortality, Motor vehicle injuries, Program descriptions, SIDS, Statistics, Suicide, Violence

Warren CW, Harris WA, Kann L. 1993. Mortality trends, causes of death, and related risk behaviors among U.S. adolescents. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,, 192 pp. (Adolescent health: State of the nation monograph series; no. 1)

Annotation: This statistical report presents data on mortality rates and causes of death for adolescents (ages 10 - 24) in the U.S. and in each state. The causes of death include motor vehicle crashes, homicide, suicide, and other injuries. The data, largely derived from the compressed mortality file of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, are presented in charts and graphs. The individual state profiles include data on risk behavior, such as riding with a drinking driver, use of seat belts, possession of a weapon, physical fighting, attempted suicide, or episodic heavy drinking, when such data are available from state surveys. Appendices include more detailed statistics on mortality rates broken down by cause, age group, state, and race.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG050; CDC 099-4112.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent mortality, Adolescents, Cause of death, Risk taking, Statistics, Suicide

U.S. Congress, House of Representatives, Select Committee on Children, Youth, and Families. 1990. Children's well-being: An international comparison. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 149 pp. (101st Congress, 2d Session, Committee Print)

Annotation: This report present the majority and minority views and the text of a study of the same name which was prepared in 1990 by Frank Hobbs and Laura Lippman of the Center for International Research, Bureau of the Census, U.S. Department of Commerce. Information and data are presented on the populations and demographics of youth internationally, on family characteristics, marriage and fertility patterns, economic conditions, health indicators, injuries and mortality, and education and employment. The study compares conditions affecting the well-being of children, adolescents, and young adults in developed and developing countries. and the findings are discussed with particular reference to the United States.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Cause of death, Children, Demographics, Developed countries, Developed nations, Developing countries, Education, Employment, Fertility, Health status, Injuries, International data, Marital status, Mortality, Socioeconomic factors, Young adults

American Academy of Pediatrics. 1988. Speak up for children. Washington, DC: American Academy of Pediatrics, 25 pp.

Annotation: These papers discuss access to health care for American children, injury prevention, child care, causes of death among adolescents, alcohol and tobacco utilization among adolescents, adolescent sexuality, runaway and homeless adolescents, abuse of adolescents, biomedical research in pediatrics, AIDS, and parental leave.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Contact Phone: (202) 662-7640 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Price unknown.

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Adolescent mortality, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Cause of death, Child abuse, Child care, Children, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Parental leave, Pediatrics, Research, Runaways, Tobacco use

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1953. Childhood mortality from accidents, 1949. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 5 pp. (Children's Bureau statistical series; no. 17)

Annotation: This report outlines accidental child death in 1949. Charts provide information on (1) childhood mortality rates from accidents and other causes, (2) the main causes of childhood accidents, and (3) places in which childhood accident deaths occur. Additional topics include classification of causes, accidental suffocation, race and sex differences, and transport accidents.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cause of death, Child death review, Child mortality, Statistical data

Wolff G. 1948. Childhood mortality from rheumatic fever and heart diseases. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Children's Bureau, 63 pp.

Annotation: This study of differential mortality from rheumatic fever and heart diseases in childhood discusses and provides statistics regarding their relative importance among other leading causes of death, age differential, race and socioeconomic differential, sex differential, and geographic variations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Age factors, Cause of death, Child mortality, Children, Geographic factors, Heart diseases, Racial factors, Rheumatic fever, Sex factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics

Tandy EC. 1935. Comparability of maternal mortality rates in the United States and certain foreign countries: A study of the effects of variations in assignment procedures, definitions of live births, and completeness of birth registration. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 24 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 229)

Annotation: This report deals with the similarities and differences in methods of assigning cause to death certified to be associated with pregnancy and childbirth in the United States and 16 foreign countries and discusses the effect of the differences in assignment upon the comparability of the official maternal mortality rates. It includes a brief discussion of the effect of variations in the definition of live births and in the completeness of birth registration. The report includes a recommendation regarding the desirability of international uniformity in the assignment procedure. This is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cause of death, Comparative analysis, Data collection, Maternal mortality, Reports

Woodbury RM. 1925. Causal factors in infant mortality. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 245 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 142)

Wolff G. Childhood mortality from accidents by age, race, and sex and by type of accident . [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau , 25 pp. (Children's Bureau publication 311)

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a study of the death rates for specific types of accidents among children and adolescents based on data from the Bureau of the Census for the years 1939, 1940, and 1941. Age, gender, and racial differentials for various types of accidents are included.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mortality, Cause of death, Child mortality, Injuries, Mortality rates, Statistics
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.