Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

Joint Steering Committee for Revision of AACR, American Library Association. 2005. Anglo-American cataloguing rules (2nd ed., 2002 rev. with 2005 update ). Chicago, IL: American Library Association, 1 v.

Annotation: These amendments to the Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules, second edition, 2002 revision, with 2005 updates, contain updates to standard cataloging practices.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: library@ala.org Web Site: http://www.ala.org $95.00, for non-members, plus shipping and handling; . Document Number: ISBN 978-0-8389-3530-3.

Keywords: Cataloging, Information services, Manuals

National Research Council, Committee on an Information Technology Strategy for the Library of Congress. 2000. LC21: A digital strategy for the Library of Congress. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 265 pp.

Annotation: This book offers the Library of Congress support and guidance on how the library can fulfill its role of serving Congress in the digital age and document and preserv the history of American creativity in building a collection with truly worldwide scope. Topics include cooperation among libraries, the rise of electronic format documents, cost issues, a brief history of the Library of Congress and its service to Congress and the nation, the building and organizing of print and digital collections, and management issues and information technology infrastructure of the Library of Congress. Book chapters include: (1) digital revolution, library evolution, (2) the Library of Congress: from Jefferson to the twenty-first century, (3) building digital collections, (4) preserving a digital heritage, (5) organizing intellectual access to digital information: from cataloging to metadata, (6) the Library of Congress and the world beyond its walls, (7) management issues, and (8) information technology structure. A bibliography is provided. The book includes four appendices, which contain biographies of committee members, a list of briefers at the plenary meeting and site visits, a list of letters received, and a list of acronyms.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07144-5.

Keywords: Cataloging, Computers, Data, Information, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library of Congress, Library services, Management, Online systems

Special Libraries Association. 1999. Content management: Putting knowledge to work. Washington, DC: Special Libraries Association, 86 pp.

Annotation: This book is a compilation of papers and presentations from the 1998 State-of-the-Art Institute on content management. Topics include: acquiring content; licensing knowledge; copyright; managing content; information architecture and metadata; competencies in cataloging in the virtual environment; knowledge mapping; and intranets.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Contact Phone: (202) 939-3633 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: sla@sla.org Contact E-mail: books@sla.org Web Site: http://www.sla.org $40.00 list; SLA members $32.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-497-6.

Keywords: Cataloging, Copyright, Databases, Evaluation, Information, Information sources, Knowledge management

Kellerman FR. 1997. Introduction to health sciences librarianship: A management handbook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Publishers, 217 pp. (The Greenwood library management collection)

Annotation: This book describes how to plan and manage the operations of a health sciences library. It covers the role of biomedical journals in the dissemination of medical information and the role of the library in providing access to them; indexing and abstracting services; using MEDLINE and other electronic bibliographic networks; the tasks associated with developing the collection, acquiring and cataloging materials, and computerizing biomedical information; reference services and sources, and the general working environments of health sciences librarians.

Contact: Greenwood Publishing Group, Customer Service Department, 130 Cremona Drive , Santa Barbara, CA 93117, Telephone: (805) 968-1911 E-mail: customer-service@greenwood.com Web Site: http://www.greenwood.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-313-29761-4.

Keywords: Cataloging, Health sciences libraries, Information networks, Information systems, Library collection development, Library services, Management, Reference services

Schultz LM. 1995. A beginner's guide to copy cataloging on OCLC/Prism. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 288 pp.

Annotation: This manual describes how to catalog materials in the OCLC information network using their latest interface, PRISM. It provides background information on copy cataloging, a process in which bibliographical records are found on an information utility such as OCLC, the records are verified and modified by a library, and then are down-loaded into their local computer. This manual indicates how paraprofessional library staff can be trained to examine and modify records to do this.

Keywords: Cataloging, Information networks, Manuals, OCLC, Paraprofessional education

Bowker J, Star SL, eds. How classifications work: Problems and challenges in an electronic age. Library Trends. 47(2):185-340. Fall 1998,

Annotation: This special issue of "Library Trends" focuses on how the globalization of the information user community impacts on the development and use of information classification systems and their vocabulary. This is a technical work for library and information professionals. Topics covered include: controlled vocabulary; intellectual access; grounded theory versus faceted classification; marginalized knowledge domains; politics in classification systems; cooperation in the electronic library; and agency and structure in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).

Contact: University of Illinois Press, 1325 South Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820, Telephone: (217) 333-0950 Fax: (217) 244-8082 E-mail: uipress@uillinois.edu Web Site: http://www.press.uillinois.edu/ $18.50 including shipping and handling.

Keywords: Cataloging, Classification, Databases, Indexes, Information, Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Language, Library services, Online databases, Professional education

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.