Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (35 total).

Immunization Action Council. 2013. Hepatitis B: What hospitals need to do to protect newborns. St. Paul, MN: Immunization Action Council,

Annotation: This document provides guidance for hospitals and parents on the importance of implementing a hepatitis B birth dose policy. Contents include case reports on reducing medical errors and materials to help hospitals address the problem, including a fact sheet and guidance and sample text for developing admission orders. The document also contains information statements, a handout, and childhood immunization record cards for parents. Contact information and additional resources are included. A related handout and 45-minute webinar are available from the Give Birth to the End of Hep B campaign website.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, , 1573 Selby Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case reports, Disease prevention, Health policy, Hepatitis B, Hospitals, Medical errors, Newborn infants, Parents, Postnatal care, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Vaccines

Illinois Department of Human Services. 2012. The reduction of infant mortality in Illinois: The Family Case Management Program and Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children—2011 annual report. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Human Services, 21 pp.

Annotation: This annual report provides information about the Family and Case Management Program and WIC Program in Illinois for FY 2011. The programs strive to reduce infant mortality while also providing other services. Topics include program descriptions, financing, service delivery systems, caseload, performance, outcomes, and racial disparities in infant mortality.

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Case management, Families, Family support programs, Final reports, Programs, Financing, Health care systems, High risk groups, Illinois, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Parent support programs, Prevention, Racial factors, Service delivery systems, State programs, Women', s health

Issel LM. [2008]. Using evidence for prenatal case management structure: Final report. Chicago, IL: School of Public Health, University of Illinois at Chicago, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a project to understand the role that the organizational environment plays in the prenatal case management (PCM) program, a community-based, health-related service provided to medically or socially high risk pregnant women for the purpose of improving birth and early infancy outcome. Topics include characterizing the types of existing PCM program models based on staff mix, and extent to which the model is a professional nursing PCM program model; identifying relationships of organization and program internal environment variables to the PCM program model used, case manager use of different types of interventions, and variables and intervention use to program outcomes. Contents include a description of the nature of the research, the project's purpose and scope, and the nature of the findings; a review of the literature; study design and methods; details of the findings; and a discussion and interpretation of the findings. The report concludes with a list of products created during the project and references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Case management, Final reports, MCH research, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Genetic Services Policy Project. [2008]. Genetic Services Policy Project final report. Seattle, WA: Genetic Services Policy Project, 199 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes work performed from 2004-2008 as part of the Genetic Services Policy Project (GSPP). It discusses the delivery of genetic services in the United States, gives policy briefs and vignettes of several conditions (breast cancer, cystic fibrosis, multiple congenital anomalies, sickle cell disease, and type 2 diabetes), and discusses the role of cost-effectiveness analysis in decision making about genetic services. In addition it provides an analysis of media messages about genetics and discusses personal genomics services and direct access genetic tests, as well as the changing health care world. Recommendations are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genetic Services Policy Project , University of Washington, 1107 NE 45th Street, Suite 400 , Seattle, WA 98105 , Telephone: (206) 685-2371 Fax: (206) 543-9345 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/genpol/about/ Available from the website.

Full Report

Keywords: Case studies, Cost effectiveness, Final reports, Genetic services

Rosenbach M, Irvin C, Merrill A, Shulman S, Czajka J, Tremholm C, Williams S, Limpa-Amara SS, Katz A. 2007. National evaluation of the State Children's Health Insurance Program: A decade of expanding coverage and improving access—Final report. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research, 223 pp.

Annotation: This final report summarizes the main evaluation findings of over 12 reports that Mathematica Policy Research, Inc., produced as part of the Center for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) national evaluation of the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). The report is divided into six chapters. Chapter 1 is an introduction. Chapter 2 synthesizes the findings related to SCHIP. Chapter 3 analyzes state progress toward reducing the number and rate of uninsured children from families with low incomes. Chapter 4 presents evidence on the effects of SCHIP on access to care for children from families with low incomes. Chapter 5 describes lessons from the field based on case studies in eight states. Chapter 6 discusses implications of the evaluation. The report includes three appendices: (1) the executive summary of the background report used to prepare CMS's report to Congress, (2) methods for the analysis of trends in insurance coverage, and (3) study methods. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Case studies, Evaluation, Final reports, Low income groups, Research, State Children', State programs, Trends, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Stephens KU. [2006]. Great Expectations New Orleans Healthy Start: Final impact report. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations Foundation, 73 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Great Expectations Foundation program implementation of a Healthy Start Family Resource model, a research and demonstration program based in New Orleans, serving neighborhoods characterized by extreme poverty, low educational levels, high rates of adolescent pregnancies, high dropout rates, and concentrated areas of public housing. The project period was 2001-2004.Topics include the prevalence of adolescent pregnancy; elevated infant mortality rates and the risk factors that correlate with elevated infant mortality rates such as low birthweight; and increasing service coordination between agencies and physically locating them in the same building or very near other community-based providers. Report contents include an introduction providing background on the program and site; a description of service initiation; a review of service accomplishments; an outline of program mentoring, consortium and collaboration development; a summary of the consortium program impact; and other Healthy Start components. Appendices include local evaluation findings and data tables used in the project. A CD-ROM is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Case studies, Community coordination, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Intervention, Local MCH programs, Louisiana, Low birthweight infants, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Service coordination

Anthony J, Brown A, Ferreria M, Hopewell A, Ledsky R, Silva S. 2006. Evaluation of the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems Grant Program: Final report. Washington, DC: Health Systems Research, ca. 175 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems (SOHCS) grant programs set up to address infrastructure needs to improve the unmet needs and oral health disparities experienced by many families from low socioeconomic groups that were documented in the U.S. Surgeon General's report, Oral Health in America. Qualitative information on strategies used by states and territories was gathered, and evaluators were asked to investigate the activities and strategies conducted by grantees, including strategies used to overcome barriers, develop partnerships, and facilitate planning processes. Report contents include an executive summary, an introduction to and overview of oral health issues, an overview of the SOHCS evaluation process, grantee planning activities, implementation considerations, grantee activities, successes and challenges, and sustainability. Additional sections review grantee feedback and key findings and conclusions. Appendices include a logic model, the evaluation interview guide, nine case study summaries, and a codebook for qualitative data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Collaboration, Families, Final reports, Health services delivery, Infants, Oral health, Parents, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Underserved communities

Lyons A. 2005. Camden Healthy Start Project: Impact report. Pennsauken, NJ: Southern New Jersey Perinatal Cooperative, 61 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This impact report focuses on the Camden Healthy Start project during the period June 1, 2001, to May 31, 2005. The project developed a partnership with prenatal providers to identify pregnant women at risk and in need of case-management services in this New Jersey community, which includes a high percentage of low-income residents. The report includes the following sections: (1) overview of racial and ethnic disparities, (2) project implementation, (3) project management and governance, (4) project accomplishments, (5) project impact, (6) local evaluation, and (7) fetal and infant mortality review. Budget information is included, and the report contains three appendices that include charts, protocols, and copies of referral forms. Additional numerous marketing materials are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Case management, Community based services, Community programs, Final reports, Healthy Start, High risk groups, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, MCH services, New Jersey, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

Wynn J. 2002. Chicago Healthy Start impact report: Peer monitoring replication phase. Chicago, IL: Illinois Department of Human Services, 70 pp.

Annotation: This impact report describes the Chicago Healthy Start Program, which administers the Chicago Healthy Start Family Centers, a collaborative effort between a community-based case management and social services agency and a primary health care center. The project period was from October 1, 1997, through May 31, 2001. Topics covered include (1) service initiation, (2) service accomplishments, (3) mentoring, (4) consortium and collaboration, and (5) other Healthy Start components. A local evaluation is included. The report includes five attachments: (1) service accomplishments presented in tabular form, (2) a brief overview of the program and primary findings, (3) an open house evaluation form, (4) a project area consortium roster, and (5) a table listing the status of hospital contacts for the fetal infant mortality review project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Families, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant Health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Mentors, Prevention programs, State initiatives

West K. 2002. Northeast Wichita Healthy Start Initiative impact report. Wichita, KS: Sedgewick County Health Department, 1 v.

Annotation: This impact report describes the Northeast Wichita Healthy Start Initiative, the purpose of which was to reduce infant mortality in targeted areas of Sedgewick County, Kansas. The report briefly describes service initiation, case management and care coordination, client recruitment and outreach, service accomplishments, consortium and collaboration, consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components. An evaluation report is included. The bulk of the report consists of six appendices: (1) a contract proposal, (2)a focus group results comparison, (3) focus group results, (4) a clinical data collection sheet, (5) a list of performance indicators, and (6) reporting tables for 2001 and 2002. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Northeast Wichita Healthy Start Initiative, Witchita-Sedgwick County Department of Community Health, 1900 East Ninth Street, Wichita, KS 67214, Telephone: (316) 268-3441, ext. 8425 Fax: (316) 268-8340

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Kansas, Low income groups, Outreach, Prevention programs, Recruitment, State initiatives

Guidry JJ. [2001]. Great Expectations New Orleans Healthy Start—Impact report, 1997-2001. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations Foundation, 45 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Great Expectations Foundation program implementation of a Healthy Start Family Resource model, a research and demonstration program based in New Orleans, serving neighborhoods characterized by extreme poverty, low educational levels, high rates of adolescent pregnancies, high dropout rates, and concentrated areas of public housing. Topics include the prevalence of adolescent pregnancy; elevated infant mortality rates and the risk factors that correlate to elevated infant mortality rates such as low birthweight; and increasing service coordination between agencies and physically locating them in the same building or very nearby other community-based providers. Report contents include an introduction providing background on the program and site, a description of service initiation, a review of service accomplishments, an outline of program mentoring, consortium and collaboration development, a summary of the consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components. Appendices include local evaluation findings and data tables used in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site:

Halfon N, Sareen H, Cuthbertson B, Schneider MV, Shannon M, Franke T. 2001. The Healthy Start initiative in California: Final report. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families, and Communities, Program for Integrated School and Community Solutions, 127 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to analyze the extent to which Healthy Start grantees in California have achieved sustainability and to examine those factors that serve as key determinants of sustainability. The report provides background information on the Healthy Start Initiative and describes the methodologies used to gather information on Healthy Start grantees. The report also offers descriptive information on the grantees, identifies characteristics significantly associated with sustainability, and offers conclusions from the findings. The report includes an executive summary. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report and in the appendices. The report is bound with a separate report that discusses site visits to six exemplary Healthy Start sites in California.

Contact: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities, University of California, Los Angeles, 10990 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 900, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-2583 Fax: (310) 312-9210 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthychild.ucla.edu Available at no charge.

Keywords: California, Case studies, Children, Community programs, Final reports, Financing, Grants, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Infants, Initiatives, Model programs, Prevention programs, Research

Shani Z. 2001. Camden Healthy Start Project: Second Replication Phase Period—Final report. Pennsauken, NJ: Southern New Jersey Perinatal Cooperative, 49 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This replication report focuses on the Camden Healthy Start project from September 1997 through June 2001 to improve maternal and child health, reduce infant mortality, and reduce the incidence of low birth weight infants. Report contents include the project identification, narrative, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and followup, and support and resources needed to replicate the program. Appendices include only the adolescent program evaluation report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Case management, Final reports, Healthy Start, High risk groups, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, MCH services, New Jersey, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

Donlen J. 2001. Atlantic City Healthy Start (HIS Infrastructure/Capacity Building): Final report. Pennsauken, NJ: Southern New Jersey Perinatal Cooperative, 58 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Atlantic City Healthy Start Program, based in Atlantic City, New Jersey, during the period July 1, 1999, through June 30, 2000. The purpose of the program was to reduce infant mortality in Atlantic City, especially among minority populations. The report, which contains an abstract, is divided into the following sections: (1) purpose of project and relationship to Social Security Act Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) support and resources needed to replicate. A needs assessment questionnaire and a barriers of care community service tool are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Shore R. 1998. Ahead of the curve: Why America's leading employers are addressing the needs of new and expectant parents. New York, NY: Families and Work Institute, 86 pp., exec. summ. (20 pp.).

Annotation: This report discusses three work-family issues: employed parents with children under the age of six, employed parents with young children reporting significant work-family conflict, and children's brain development. Two major studies form the basis of the report. The first is a nationally representative study of employees and a nationally representative study of employers with 100 or more employees. These two studies document the new realities faced by employed mothers and fathers and how the business community has responded. Finally, this report incorporates numerous case studies. It describes what some of America's leading companies of every size are doing to stay ahead of the curve in the arena of families and work.

Contact: Families and Work Institute, 267 Fifth Avenue, Floor 2, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 465-2044 Fax: (212) 465-8637 Web Site: http://www.familiesandwork.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-888324-25-2.

Keywords: Business, Case studies, Child development, Personnel, Reports, Work family issues, Working parents, Young children

Geller S, Handler A, Kennelly J. 1998. Case-study evaluation: CDC/HRSA Maternal and Child Epidemiology Program (MCHEP) 1990-1996. Chicago, IL: University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health, 38 pp.

Annotation: This final report explains the background, methodology, and results of the Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program (MCHEP). MCHEP evaluation employed a case study approach to assess participating states' epidemiologic capacity. The appendix includes an instrument to measure benchmarks of effective state MCH epidemiology.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health, 1603 West Taylor Street SPH-PI , Chicago, IL 60612-4394, Telephone: (312) 996-6620 Contact Phone: (312) 996-5954 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Case studies, Epidemiology, Final reports, MCH programs, Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program, State MCH programs

Saunders SE. 1998. Chicago Healthy Start impact report: Phase I. Chicago, IL: Office of Family Health, Illinois Department of Human Services, 305 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This impact report describes the Chicago Healthy Start Program, which administers the Chicago Healthy Start Family Centers, a collaborative effort between a community-based case management and social services agency and a primary health care center. The project period was 1994 -- 1997. Topics covered include (1) service initiation, (2) service accomplishments, (3) mentoring, (4) consortium and collaboration, and (5) other Healthy Start components. A local evaluation is included. The report includes five attachments: (1) service accomplishments presented in tabular form, (2) a brief overview of the program and primary findings, (3) an open house evaluation form, (4) a project area consortium roster, and (5) a table listing the status of hospital contacts for the fetal infant mortality review project. Appendices include several evaluation reports. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Families, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant Health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Mentors, Prevention programs, State initiatives

Timmons JC, McIntyre JP Jr, Whitney-Thomas J, Butterworth J. 1997. "Who's going to do this when I'm not around?": Parents of young adults with special health care needs speak out on transition. [Boston, MA]: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Massachusetts Initiative for Youth with Disabilities, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the experiences and concerns of 6 Massachusetts adolescents and young adults with special health care needs (ages 11 to 22) and 30 family members. The study seeks to understand the issues and needs that young adults and their families face during the transition from school to adult life. The results of six focus groups and three detailed case studies illustrate the variety of challenges and solutions that individuals with special health care needs and their families experience. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Contact Phone: (617) 624-5955 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Case studies, Families, Focus groups, Massachusetts, Reports, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Naparstek AJ, Dooley D, Smith R. 1997. Community building in public housing: Ties that bind people and their communities. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Urban Revitalization, 100 pp.

Annotation: This report addresses community building as an approach to combating poverty. The report is written for public housing managers as well as individuals and organizations concerned with the physical and social revitalization of American communities. The report explains the community building approach and supplies examples of how it has succeeded in several cities. It gives step-by-step guidance that housing managers can follow to work more closely with residents and become involved in the possibilities of community building.

Contact: HUD USER, P.O. Box 23268, Washington, DC 20026-3268, Telephone: (800) 245-2691 Secondary Telephone: (800) 245-2691 Contact Phone: (800) 245-2691 Fax: (202) 708-9981 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.huduser.org Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HUD-7813.

Link

Keywords: Case studies, Community programs, Poverty, Public housing, Reports

Juarez and Associates and CSR. 1997. Technical assistance to eight Healthy Start grantees: Final report. Los Angeles, CA: Juarez and Associates, 109 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the nature and extent of Healthy Start project services delivered to pregnant and postpartum Hispanic women and their infants as well as the strategies used by Healthy Start projects to attract Hispanics in need of their services. Locations identified include Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Essex County (NJ), Milwaukee, Northwest Indiana, New York City (South Bronx), and Oakland. Report sections include an introduction, statement of the problem, methodology, results, and conclusions and recommendations. The appendices include site summaries, focus group reports, and a bibliography. Each site summary includes information on the organization, consortium, demographics and service population, services, and barriers or special needs for Latinos in that site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Juárez and Associates, Inc., Corporate Headquarters, 12139 National Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064, Telephone: (310) 478-0826 Fax: (310) 478-0826 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.juarezassociates.com/

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Final reports, Health services delivery, Healthy Start, Hispanic Americans, Infant mortality, MCH services, Outreach, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Prevention programs