Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This advocacy tool describes how the federal budget process works, why it's important, and how to become involved in the process. Based on a model developed by the Center for Community Change, the tool provides a timeline of events that typically take place during the federal budget process and opportunities for action during each stage. The tool also provides links to video messages about the federal budget process and a glossary of policy and advocacy terms.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Budgeting, Budgets, Child advocacy, Federal government, Policy

Annotation: This series of reports describe federal funding for chronic disease prevention programs in six states (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, South Carolina, and Washington) and the potential impact on the individuals served by these programs if federal funds are reduced or eliminated. The report addresses programs and impacts in the following areas: breast, cervical, and colon cancer; diabetes; domestic violence and sexual assault; heart disease and stroke; oral health; and tobacco.

Contact: Coalition of National Health Education Organizations, Normal, IL 61790-5220, Telephone: (309) 438-2324 Fax: (309) 438-2450 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnheo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Alaska, Block grants, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, Program budgeting, Public health services, South Carolina, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This report presents information on activities conducted by 10 states that received funding in 2006 and 2007 as a follow-up to state oral health action plans developed at Head Start oral health forums held since 2000. The report includes a list of sample activities conducted; a chart showing how many states conducted each type of activity, amounts of additional or matching funds received, and which organizations contributed the funds; and information about the need for additional resources. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Community action, Financial support, Head Start, Oral health, Program budgeting, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Annotation: This issue provides a toolkit for the creation, implementation, and evaluation of behavior change communication (BCC) programs to improve people's health and wellbeing, a BCC budget table, and guidance on creating an audience profile. The issue also provides checklists for ensuring quality program materials and for working with the news media to reach the public, and a table for evaluating progress towards an objective.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs, 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Fax: (410) 659-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhuccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior modification, Family planning, Health programs, Health promotion, Program budgeting, Program planning, Service coordination

Annotation: This report presents information on activities conducted by 16 states that received funding in 2004 and 2005 from the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors (ASTDD) as a follow-up to state Head Start oral health action plans developed at forums held since 2000. The report includes a list of sample activities conducted; a chart showing how many states conducted each type of activity, amounts of additional or matching funds received, and which organizations contributed the funds; and information about the need for additional resources. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Community action, Financial support, Head Start, Oral health, Program budgeting, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes the results of a 2002 survey of all states and the District of Columbia to identify state Medicaid spending trends, how states are responding to these trends, and their overall fiscal conditions. Chapter topics include an introduction and background in recent Medicaid spending trends; the survey methodology; survey results in these categories: by year, state children's health insurance program, administrative budgets, treatment option and state Olmstead Plan implementations, and outlook. Cost containment efforts by Iowa, Oklahoma, Missouri, and Mississippi are profiled. The report also includes five appendices: (1) survey instrument; (2) 2002 state legislative regular and special session calendar; (3) factors contributing to Medicaid expenditure growth in 2002: state survey; (4) cost containment actions taken in 50 states and the District of Columbia in FY 2002; and (5) cost containment actions taken in 50 states and the District of Columbia in FY 2003.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Washington, DC Office/Public Affairs Center, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.kff.org/about/bjcc/bjcc_floor.cfm Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: : Medicaid, Budgeting, Cost containment, Health insurance, Iowa, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, State programs, State programs, State surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report addresses universal newborn hearing screening (UNHS). The report itself provides a brief explanation of the 13 points that need to be addressed in implementing and operating a successful early identification of hearing loss program for newborns. These points include: (1) enlisting support for the program, (2) determining an appropriate protocol, (3) procedural issues, (4) communicating with parents and staff, (5) training screeners, (6) keeping referral rates low, (7) managing data and patient information, (8) financing the program, (9) caring for equipment and supplies, (10) reporting, (11) completing audiological diagnosis and follow up, (12) coordinating with state systems, and (13) considering legislative mandates. The first volume of appendices are printed in a separate loosleaf volume, and contain information supporting the 13 points. The second volume of appendices are in a bound volume. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN020 (appendices 2nd vol.), MCHL027 (appendices), MCHK125 (report).

• Link

Keywords: Hearing screening, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Program budgeting, Program development, Program management, Referrals, Reports, State legislation, State programs, Training

Annotation: This manual suggests ways that state and local governments can reform those systems which provide educational and other health and social services for children; it covers the rationale and suggests methodologies for doing so. It outlines principles to guide the reform process; it covers policy options in four interrelated topics: generating revenue, budgeting, building public private partnerships, and creating incentives. It concludes with a chapter which focuses on techniques that can be used to build political and public support for the reform effort.

Contact: Finance Project, 1401 New York Avenue, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-4200 Fax: (202) 628-1293 E-mail: [email protected] Available in libraries.

Keywords: Budgeting, Children, Decision making, Education, Government financing, Health services, Local governments, Manuals, Policy development, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Reform, Social services, State governments

Annotation: This guide describes how to design, implement, and evaluate a comprehensive prevention and treatment program for women involved in or in danger of perinatal substance abuse. It is based on experiences of the CSAP Pregnant and Post-partum Women and their Infants (PPWI) demonstration projects. Aimed at teachers, community health workers, and doctors, the guide discusses the mechanics of implementing the program and dealing with clients, not the content of counseling sessions. It includes many references, resource lists, brief guides, and reproducible forms.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, High risk populations, Infants, Mothers, Pregnancy outcome, Program budgeting, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Smoking during pregnancy, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women

Annotation: This report documents a seminar where information was shared about existing violence prevention policies, legislation, resources, success stories, and state initiatives. Those attending developed a long-range, coordinated state policy agenda and action plan for safe schools. The keynote speech, Minnesota's plan of action, selected community examples, and the summaries of the attending states' action planning session are included in this report.

Keywords: Budgeting, Budgets, Iowa, Juvenile delinquents, Juvenile justice, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Regional programs, School safety, South Dakota, Violence prevention

Annotation: This study of reports of intended expenditures from state Title V programs seeks to provide background information about the programs; establish a baseline for project evaluation; identify common areas of strengths and weaknesses in preparation of the reports; identify potential areas of need for technical assistance; and identify possible models for report documents. A copy of the coding form used in evaluating the reports is appended. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Program budgeting, Program evaluation, Program planning, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This workbook focuses on power-brokering, at the state level, for support of programs for the care of children with disabilities and chronic illnesses. It is intended as a primer for public and private advocates at the state level and gives practical guidance on how to intervene effectively in the legislative and executive appropriation and budget process. It helps identify the key players in state government, suggests ways to develop an issue for consideration, indicates strategies for gaining support, and provides information regarding the use of appropriate influence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Budgeting, Child advocacy, Child advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Lobbying, Policy development, Political processes, State aid, Workbooks

Annotation: This manual was designed to aid Region II Head Start staff in fulfilling the specific oral health goals and requirements of the Head Start Program Performance Standards. These program performance standards call for the implementation of a plan to ensure that each child receives appropriate oral health care, and for the provision of an oral health education component. The manual is divided into chapters focusing on the health services advisory committee, enrollment, record keeping and tracking, working with dentists, financing oral health care and budgeting, special programs, oral health education, oral health emergencies, and fluorides. Appendices include consent forms and letters, a glossary of oral health terms, oral health education resource materials, and resource sections specific to New York and New Jersey. The manual is intended to be a resource for daily use and is presented in a loose-leaf format to allow the user to add new information when necessary. The forms and suggestions contained in the manual were developed in consultation with Head Start personnel, oral health consultants, and representatives of various provider groups.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Budgeting, Consent, Dental care, Dentists, Education, Financing, Fluorides, Head Start, Manuals, New Jersey, New York, Oral health, Personnel, Recordkeeping, Resource materials

Annotation: These proceedings discuss administrative problems in crippled children services (CCS), selling CCS programs, county government and barriers to selling health programs, selling a program in the legislature, program administrator's commodity, legal aspects of standards for medical care goods and services in the Crippled Children Program, standard setting in medical care programs, expenditure controls in a medical care program, estimating program trends, budget presentation, administrative costs in a CCS program, case management for CCS, the responsibility of administration for case management, the role of the public health nurse in case management of CCS cases, supervision and training of personnel, analysis and improvement in health service offices, and evaluation in CCS programs.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Budgeting, Case management, Child health programs, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, County government, Personnel, Program evaluation, Public health nurses, Standards, State legislatures