Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure is for parents taking home their newborn that has been discharged from the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). It defines sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and provides advice on safe sleep positioning and environments for the infant at home. Topics also include the increased risk factors for SIDS of infants that have needed special care at birth, the importance of breastfeeding, not sharing a bed with an infant by parents or siblings, "tummy time", proper bedtime clothing and temperature, the use of a pacifier, and a safe crib. It mentions differences between how things were done in the NICU and how they should be done at home.

Contact: American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians, 528 Raven Way, Naples, FL 34110, Telephone: (239) 431-5425 Fax: (239) 431-5536 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaspp.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, High risk infants, Hospitals, Infant health, Injury prevention, Neonatal intensive care units, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This toolkit for oral health professionals provides an overview of oral health literacy and why it matters, as well as tools for improving dental practices’ ability to communicate clearly and effectively. Resources include a guidebook, a dental-practice-assessment checklist, a tip sheet explaining the teach-back method, a brochure explaining what to expect during a dental visit, and an oral-health-literacy action plan for dental practices.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brochures, Communication skills, Guidelines, Health literacy, Oral health

Annotation: This toolkit provides oral health resources that health professionals can share with pregnant women and new mothers. The print resources, which include the complete toolkit, brochures, posters, and infographics, are available in Arabic, Cambodian, English, French, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Taiwanese. Videos are available in English and in Spanish. The resources offer information about where to obtain oral health care by state and about how to care for gums and teeth during pregnancy and infancy.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infants, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: parents and pregnant women about the importance of fluoride for keeping teeth healthy. The brochure includes links to resources that can help parents and pregnant women learn more about fluoride, how to get dental coverage in Maryland, and how to find a dentist for a child. Information about Maryland’s Medicaid Dental Program is included. The poster emphasizes that drinking fluoridated water helps prevent tooth decay in children. The brochure and the poster are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Fluoride, Health insurance, Maryland, Oral health, Parents, Posters, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials, State programs

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep the mouths of infants and toddlers healthy. The information is divided by age: birth to 3 months, 6–9 months, 12–18 months, 24 months, and 36 months. The brochure is written in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecting Smiles, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2100 Bull Street, Charleston, SC 29201, Web Site: https://connectingsmilessc.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This video for pregnant women focuses on maintaining good oral health before, during, and after pregnancy. Topics include the importance of pregnant women understanding the value of maintaining their oral health, changes during pregnancy that can affect a women’s oral health, how a woman’s oral health can affect the oral health of her unborn child, and the safety and importance of getting oral health care during pregnancy. Tips on how to prepare for dental visits during pregnancy, as well as information about nutrition during pregnancy and what to do for women who experience nausea, are also provided. A brochure reinforcing the information in the video is available. The video is available in English and in Spanish; the brochure is written in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecting Smiles, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2100 Bull Street, Charleston, SC 29201, Web Site: https://connectingsmilessc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help dental practices ensure that they are in compliance with Medicaid requirements. Resources include a fact sheet, a handout, a resource guide, a video on compliance, and a brochure on dental pediatric practice best practices.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brochures, Compliance, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Resources, Videos

Annotation: This brochure for new parents describes what is known about sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and provides advice on risk reduction. Tips include breastfeeding, pacifier use, avoid overheating baby, informing other who care for baby of SIDS risks, quitting and avoiding smoking around baby, and placing baby for sleep on their back, without blankets or toys in a safe crib in the parents' room.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Section of Women's, Children's, and Family Health, 3601 C Street, Suite 322, Anchorage, AK 99503-5923, Telephone: (907) 269-3400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 799-7570 Fax: (907) 269-3465 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alaska, Breastfeeding, Brochures, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, Smoking

Annotation: This set of materials is from the Washington State Postpartum Depression Awareness Campaign called Speak Up When You're Down, which is designed to help women and their families about the signs, symptoms, and treatment of postpartum depression. It includes answers to common questions, suggested books and online resources, a brochure in English and Spanish, and a poster.

Contact: Washington State Department of Early Learning, Olympia, WA Telephone: (866) 482-4325 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.del.wa.gov/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Families, High risk groups, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, Treatment, Women', s health

Annotation: This brochure explains to new parents the importance of newborn hearing screening and provides a form for recording testing results. It also contains milestones in the first year for parents to watch for to indicate normal speech, language, and hearing. Te brochure is available in English, Spanish, and Russian.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Hearing screening, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This publication explores creating a reproductive life plan that helps women and men set personal goals about having or not having children. It contains information about how to make a plan, what one looks like, questions to explore, and links to sample plans. Additional links to birth control and pregnancy planning information are listed. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Family planning, Pregnancy, Reproduction, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure outlines a dental sealant program for young children in Michigan. It explains what dental sealants are, how they are applied, which teeth should be sealed, tooth decay and prevention, and costs related to sealants. The brochure is available in English, Spanish, and Arabic. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brochures, Dental sealants, Michigan, Non English languages, Oral health, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This document provides a list of programs that have been evaluated and found to be successful in changing adolescent sexual behavior, including delaying sexual initiation, improving contraceptive use, and reducing adolescent pregnancy. For each program, the document lists selected program effects, contact information, and links to additional program and evaluation information. The document offers advice on how to choose a program, catalogs the characteristics of effective programs, and offers some words of caution about what an effective program actually can accomplish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Brochures, Intervention, Program descriptions

Annotation: This publication has information about a baby's sleep patterns in the first several months, quiet sleep, active sleep, and tips for sleepy parents. It is available in Arabic, Chinese, English, Korean, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infants, Newborn infants, Non English language materials, Parent education, Sleep stages, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure for mothers in Alaska discusses the importance of family planning between pregnancies or birth spacing. It outlines benefits including making a complete physical recovery for the mother, prolonged breastfeeding for the new baby, and more attention for older siblings.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, 350 Main Street, Room 404, P.O. Box 110601, Juneau, AK 99811-0601, Telephone: (907) 465-3030 Fax: (907) 465-3068 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Brochure
• Posters

Keywords: Alaska, Birth intervals, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This brochure and poster contain messages about the importance and safety of oral health care during pregnancy and infancy. The materials explain how mothers can avoid passing to their infants the bacteria that can cause tooth decay. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: California Dental Association Foundation, 1201 K Street, Suite 1511, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdafoundation.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Order Form

Keywords: Brochures, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Infants, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure describes a brief history of the Children's Bureau and presents information about its mission, training and technical assistance, funding, research, monitoring, and special initiatives.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brochures, Child advocacy, Child health, Child welfare, Federal agencies, History

Annotation: This booklet discusses the unique mental health needs of women and girls and provides tips on recognizing signs of mental problems and where to seek help. Topics include the continuing stigma related to mental illness or disorders, adolescent suicide prevention, eating disorders, pregnancy and postpartum depression, menopause, trauma, violence, and abuse. A resource guide lists agencies and organizations as well as helplines.

Contact: National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, Telephone: (800) 729-6686 Secondary Telephone: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abuse, Adolescent mental health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Hotlines, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Postpartum depression, Suicide prevention, Trauma, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: This brochure for parents explains the importance of placing baby on her back for sleep. It discusses topics such as how sleeping on the back helps lower the risk of SIDS, the risk for choking, tips for helping baby fall asleep and return to sleep, as well as what to do when baby rolls over during sleep. Additional tips for a safe sleep environment and the importance of "tummy time" for play are also provided. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Infants, Newborn infants, Parent education, Prevention programs, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure provides tips for reducing the risk of sudden infant death syndrome, or cot death. It discusses how to position baby for sleep and smoking prevention in baby's area; warns against sharing a bed, couch, or sofa, with baby and avoiding overheating; and gives additional tips. The brochure has been translated into simplified Chinese, Latvian, Polish, and Portuguese.

Contact: Lullaby Trust, 11 Belgrade Road, London, England SW1V 1RB, Telephone: (020) 7802-3200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lullabytrust.org.uk Available from the website.

• Brochure

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Environmental exposure, Infant death, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position